Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-350 - 2017 FORD F-350 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 135 complaints filed for the 2017 FORD F-350

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2017 FORD F-350. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2017 FORD F-350, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (6) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Steering (73) Unknown Or Other (5) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (6) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (3) Wheels (23)
Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (55)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY: TAILGATE

7/19/2019 - CONCORD, NC
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2017 FORD F-350. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TAILGATE POPPED OPEN INTERMITTENTLY. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO FLOOD FORD OF EAST GREENWICH (2545 S COUNTY TRL, EAST GREENWICH, RI 02818, (833) 651-8957) WHERE THEY FOUND STRAPS AND AN AIR MATTRESS STUCK IN BETWEEN THE TAILGATE. THE LATCH WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,700.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/19/2019 - WARRENTON, VA
TRUCK TAILGATE RANDOMLY OPENS WHEN VEHICLE IS BEING DRIVEN. I HAVE OWNED THIS TRUCK FOR 6 MONTHS AND THE RANDOM OPENING HAS OCCURED 4 TIMES WHEN DRIVING. WITHOUT ANY NOTICE OR WARNING THE TRUCK TAILGATE OPENS WHEN THE VEHICLE IS BEING DRIVEN. THE MOST RECENT OCCURRENCE CAUSED THE LOSS OF CARGO ON THE HIGHWAY. IT APPEARS THE FOB IS SOMEHOW DOUBLE CLICKED WHEN IN THE DRIVER'S POCKET CAUSING THE TAILGATE TO OPEN (FOB HAS TAILGATE REMOTE OPENING FEATURE). THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERN SINCE THE VEHICLE OPERATOR HAS NO WAY OF KNOWING THE TAILGATE HAS OPENED. THERE SHOULD BE AN INTERLOCK THAT PREVENTS THE AUTOMATIC OPENING OF THE TAILGATE WHEN THE VEHICLE IS BEING DRIVEN.

View Details

WHEELS

7/17/2019 - BUSHNELL, FL
THE TRUCK EXPERIENCES AIR LEAKING FROM ALL OF THE ALUMINUM WHEELS AT THE VALVE STEM. THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN TO THE DEALER SEVEN (7) TIMES FOR TIRES LOSING AIR. IT HAS REQUIRED SIX (6) VALVE STEM REPLACEMENTS. SOME HAVE BEE REPLACED TWICE. MY UNDERSTANDING IS THAT THE METAL VALVE STEMS USED ON THE 2017 SUPER DUTY TRUCKS WITH TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM FAULTY WHERE THE STEM MEETS THE ALUMINUM RIM RESULTING IN CONTINUAL LOSS OF AIR. THE STEEL WHEELS (DUALLY) ON THE INSIDE REAR DO NOT LEAK AIR. ALTHOUGH THERE IS A MONITORING SYSTEM, AIR MAY NOT BE AVAILABLE RESULTING LOSS OF AIR IN THE TIRES AND DRIVING UNDER LOAD (THE TRUCK IS DESIGNED FOR TOWING HEAVY LOADS - WE TOW A 5TH WHEEL TRAILER) WITH UNDERINFLATED TIRES. INTERNET RESEARCH SHOWS THIS IS A COMMON UNADDRESSED PROBLEM FOR 2017 AND NEWER F350 DUAL WHEEL TRUCKS USING 17"X6.5" POLISHED ALUMINUM 8 LUG 5 HOLE WHEELS. THE PROBLEM STARTED APPROXIMATELY 10 MONTHS AFTER THE TRUCK WAS BOUGHT NEW AT 5,000 MILES AND CONTINUED EVER SINCE.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: TAILGATE: LATCH

7/10/2019 - MANASSAS, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2017 FORD F-350. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE TAILGATE UNLATCHED INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT NOTICED THE FAILURE WHILE LOOKING AT THE BACKUP CAMERA. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,900.

View Details

WHEELS

7/9/2019 - LA PLATA, MD
WHEELS ON THIS VEHICLE ARE ALUMINUM ALLOY WITH STEEL VALVE STEMS. BECAUSE THESE ARE TWO DIFFERENT METALS THEY ARE CAUSING A CORROSION PROBLEM WHICH IN TURN IS CAUSING THE TIRES TO LOSE AIR PRESSURE. IF DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS I BELIEVE THAT IF THE WHEELS AND TIRES WERE TO LOOSE PRESSURE QUICKLY THAT THIS COULD LEAD TO A CATASTROPHIC ACCIDENT. I HAVE READ OF MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS OF THIS SAME PROBLEM ON THE INTERNET BUT FORD HAS DONE NOTHING TO ADDRESS THE ISSUE. CORROSION APPEARS TO BE NOT ONLY INSIDE THE VALVE STEMS BUT ALSO ON THE WHEELS. REPLACING THE VALVE STEM WILL DO NOTHING TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM AS IT WILL ONLY OCCUR AGAIN AND AGAIN. I BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE IN MAY OF 2018 (NEW) AND IT HAS BEEN OCCURRING EVER SINCE. I CONTINUALLY HAVE TO FILL THEM WITH AIR. TOOK IT INTO FORD UNDER WARRANTY BUT THE ISSUE WAS NOT CORRECTED.

View Details

STEERING

7/8/2019 - MOUNT VERNON, WA
I WAS PULLING A 12,000 LBS 5TH WHEEL TRAILER ON A HIGHWAY MOUNTAIN PASS WHEN I WENT OVER AN EXPANSION JOINT AT ABOUT 55 MPH AND THE VEHICLE STARTED A DEATH WOBBLE. THE VEHICLE VIOLENTLY STARTED SHAKING AND I STRUGGLED TO MAINTAIN CONTROL OF THE TRUCK AND TRAILER BARELY BEING ABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE ON THE SHOULDER BEFORE GOING OVER A CLIFF WITH MY FAMILY IN THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE VEHICLES BEHIND ME THAT HAD TO SLAM ON THEIR BRAKES TO KEEP FROM HITTING US.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/8/2019 - MOUNT VERNON, WA
I WAS PULLING A 12,000 LBS 5TH WHEEL TRAILER ON A HIGHWAY MOUNTAIN PASS WHEN I WENT OVER AN EXPANSION JOINT AT ABOUT 55 MPH AND THE VEHICLE STARTED A DEATH WOBBLE. THE VEHICLE VIOLENTLY STARTED SHAKING AND I STRUGGLED TO MAINTAIN CONTROL OF THE TRUCK AND TRAILER BARELY BEING ABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE ON THE SHOULDER BEFORE GOING OVER A CLIFF WITH MY FAMILY IN THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE VEHICLES BEHIND ME THAT HAD TO SLAM ON THEIR BRAKES TO KEEP FROM HITTING US.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/5/2019 - GARDNERVILLE, NV
I'VE EXPERIENCED 5 "DEATH WOBBLE" INCIDENTS ON MY F350 WITH LESS THAN 10K MILEAGE. THIS PROBLEM ALWAYS HAPPENS AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS CROSSING OVER UNEVEN BRIDGE EXPANSION STRIPS ON A DIAGONAL. THE LAST TIME THIS HAPPENED, I WAS IN THE NUMBER TWO LANE DRIVING AT FREEWAY SPEED IN BUSY TRAFFIC. I HAD TO SLOW DOWN BELOW 30 MILES AN HOUR TO REGAIN CONTROL OF THE TRUCK. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS ISSUE THAT SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH FORD SUPERDUTY 4X4 TRUCKS. IT'S THE SECOND TIME I'VE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIR. FIRST TIME, FORD REPLACED THE STEERING DAMPENER. NOW THEY ARE CHANGING TIE-ROD ENDS. NTSB REALLY NEEDS TO LOOK AT THIS DANGEROUS SITUATION AND FORCE FORD TO STOP NICKEL DIMING REPAIRS AND FIX THIS PROBLEM ONCE AND FOR ALL.

View Details

STEERING

7/5/2019 - GARDNERVILLE, NV
I'VE EXPERIENCED 5 "DEATH WOBBLE" INCIDENTS ON MY F350 WITH LESS THAN 10K MILEAGE. THIS PROBLEM ALWAYS HAPPENS AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS CROSSING OVER UNEVEN BRIDGE EXPANSION STRIPS ON A DIAGONAL. THE LAST TIME THIS HAPPENED, I WAS IN THE NUMBER TWO LANE DRIVING AT FREEWAY SPEED IN BUSY TRAFFIC. I HAD TO SLOW DOWN BELOW 30 MILES AN HOUR TO REGAIN CONTROL OF THE TRUCK. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS ISSUE THAT SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH FORD SUPERDUTY 4X4 TRUCKS. IT'S THE SECOND TIME I'VE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIR. FIRST TIME, FORD REPLACED THE STEERING DAMPENER. NOW THEY ARE CHANGING TIE-ROD ENDS. NTSB REALLY NEEDS TO LOOK AT THIS DANGEROUS SITUATION AND FORCE FORD TO STOP NICKEL DIMING REPAIRS AND FIX THIS PROBLEM ONCE AND FOR ALL.

View Details

STEERING

6/30/2019 - FLINT, TX
MY TRUCK HAS THE SO CALLED "DEATH WOBBLE" WHEREAS HITTING CERTAIN BUMPS THE TRUCK'S STEERING IS UNCONTROLLABLE. IT HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES WITH MINE. I ALMOST HIT THE CAR NEXT TO ME THE LAST TIME IT HAPPENED, GOING 70 MPH DOWN THE HIGHWAY. IT WILL NOT STOP UNTIL I SLAM ON THE BRAKES. THIS SEEMS TO BE A HUGE PROBLEM WITH FORD, BUT THEY WILL JUST TELL YOU IT'S THE TIRES BEING OUT OF BALANCE. I KNOW THAT THIS ISN'T THE CASE, HOWEVER, I REPLACED ALL SIX TIRES AT THE FORD DEALERSHIP, BUT IT HAS HAPPENED AGAIN. I CANNOT UNDERSTAND WHY A SAFETY RECALL HAS NOT BEEN ISSUED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds