Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2017 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 112 complaints filed for the 2017 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2017 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2017 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Exterior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (1) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (10) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Suspension (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Power Train (60) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (15) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (22)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/20/2019 - WHITINSVILLE, MA
LIKE ALL OTHERS WHO OWN HONDA HYBRID MY IMA BATTERIES FAILED LONG BEFORE THEY SHOULD HAVE NOW WITH MASSIVE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM IN CAR DRAINS 12V BATTERY AND YOU END UP WITH NO BRAKES OR STEERING IN TRAFFIC AND SUBJECT TO SERIOUS INJURY OR DEATH WHY NO RECALL WHEN THIS IS HAPPENING TO EVERYONE WHO OWNS THIS HYBRID SINCE IT WAS INTRODUCED IN 2001 SHAMEFUL OVERSIGHT BY YOUR AGENCY.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/20/2019 - BUFFALO, NY
HAD MY HYUNDAI FOR ABOUT A YEAR NOW. THERE ARE VERY SERIOUS ISSUE WITH EXTERIOR LIGHTING, BRAKES LIGHTS, REAR LIGHTS. BREAK LIGHTING ASSEMBLY AND WIRING HARNESS MELTS AND BURNS TO A BLACK CRISP, BULBS BURST DUE TO SEVERE OVERHEATING DURING "NORMAL OPERATION" OF THE VEHICLE. SAFETY AND FIRE HAZARD WITH REAR TAIL LIGHT LAP ASSEMBLY, BULB BURNS EXTREMELY HOT RIGHT THROUGH PLASTIC HOUSING UNIT. UNABLE TO REPLACE BULBS BECAUSE LIGHTING ASSEMBLY MELTS TO THE SOCKET'S CORE AND THE SOCKET MELTS OVER THE BULB METAL BASE. EXPECT EXTREME DAMAGE PROHIBITING REPLACEMENT OF ANY BULBS. AFTER BEING PULLED OVER REPEATEDLY, INFORMED EXTERIOR LIGHTS WERE EVEN AFTER JUST CHANGING THEM.. LIGHT BULBS BURN HOT RAPIDLY, MELT TO THE SOCKET MAKE IT UNABLE TO GET ANY REPLACEMENT LIGHT BULBS TO WORK BECAUSE ENTIRE UNIT IS THEN DAMAGED, BURNT AND MELTED. BULB WILL NOT FIT BECAUSE PLASTIC UNIT HAS MELTED FROM CIRCULAR TO INWARD. LIGHTS FAIL WITHOUT THE OWNER EVER KNOWING UNTIL ITS TOO LATE. I'VE BEEN PARKED AT MALL POLICE OFFICER INFORMED ME LIGHT WAS OUT, DRIVING ON HIGHWAY PULLED OVER 7 TIMES GIVEN WARNING, REPAIR ORDERS DUE TO LIGHTS OUT, PULLED OVER ON SIDE STREET, ROAD AND LIGHTS JUST GO OUT ON HIGHWAY. BY THE TIME BULB GOES OUT ITS BURNED THE ENTIRE UNIT THROUGH WIRING, ANYTHING TOUCHING OR AROUND IT. CHANGE LIGHTS EVERY 2, 3 WEEKS. WHEN CHANGING THEM I NOTICE DAMAGE WORSENING, METAL AND BULB ARE BURNT TO A CRISP. WHEN I REPLACE ON SIDE, A WEEK OR TWO LATER I HAVE TO CHANGE THE OTHER SIDE. CREATING A TRICKLE AFFECT. ONCE ONE GOES OUT. ANOTHER GOES OUT AND SO FOURTH. YOU LITERALLY HAVE TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE HOUSING UNIT WHICH IS VERY EXPENSIVE. SAME REPEATS.. DID NOT WORK. MY FRONT EXTERIOR LIGHT ARE NOW OUT AS OF A WEEK AGO. MEANING I ONLY HAVE 1 WORKING LIGHT. I WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD IT WOULD BE 300 PER SIDE TO GET IT FIXED BECAUSE I NEED NEW ELECTRICAL WIRING ! SERIOUSLY !

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/20/2019 - BUFFALO, NY
HAD MY HYUNDAI FOR ABOUT A YEAR NOW. THERE ARE VERY SERIOUS ISSUE WITH EXTERIOR LIGHTING, BRAKES LIGHTS, REAR LIGHTS. BREAK LIGHTING ASSEMBLY AND WIRING HARNESS MELTS AND BURNS TO A BLACK CRISP, BULBS BURST DUE TO SEVERE OVERHEATING DURING "NORMAL OPERATION" OF THE VEHICLE. SAFETY AND FIRE HAZARD WITH REAR TAIL LIGHT LAP ASSEMBLY, BULB BURNS EXTREMELY HOT RIGHT THROUGH PLASTIC HOUSING UNIT. UNABLE TO REPLACE BULBS BECAUSE LIGHTING ASSEMBLY MELTS TO THE SOCKET'S CORE AND THE SOCKET MELTS OVER THE BULB METAL BASE. EXPECT EXTREME DAMAGE PROHIBITING REPLACEMENT OF ANY BULBS. AFTER BEING PULLED OVER REPEATEDLY, INFORMED EXTERIOR LIGHTS WERE EVEN AFTER JUST CHANGING THEM.. LIGHT BULBS BURN HOT RAPIDLY, MELT TO THE SOCKET MAKE IT UNABLE TO GET ANY REPLACEMENT LIGHT BULBS TO WORK BECAUSE ENTIRE UNIT IS THEN DAMAGED, BURNT AND MELTED. BULB WILL NOT FIT BECAUSE PLASTIC UNIT HAS MELTED FROM CIRCULAR TO INWARD. LIGHTS FAIL WITHOUT THE OWNER EVER KNOWING UNTIL ITS TOO LATE. I'VE BEEN PARKED AT MALL POLICE OFFICER INFORMED ME LIGHT WAS OUT, DRIVING ON HIGHWAY PULLED OVER 7 TIMES GIVEN WARNING, REPAIR ORDERS DUE TO LIGHTS OUT, PULLED OVER ON SIDE STREET, ROAD AND LIGHTS JUST GO OUT ON HIGHWAY. BY THE TIME BULB GOES OUT ITS BURNED THE ENTIRE UNIT THROUGH WIRING, ANYTHING TOUCHING OR AROUND IT. CHANGE LIGHTS EVERY 2, 3 WEEKS. WHEN CHANGING THEM I NOTICE DAMAGE WORSENING, METAL AND BULB ARE BURNT TO A CRISP. WHEN I REPLACE ON SIDE, A WEEK OR TWO LATER I HAVE TO CHANGE THE OTHER SIDE. CREATING A TRICKLE AFFECT. ONCE ONE GOES OUT. ANOTHER GOES OUT AND SO FOURTH. YOU LITERALLY HAVE TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE HOUSING UNIT WHICH IS VERY EXPENSIVE. SAME REPEATS.. DID NOT WORK. MY FRONT EXTERIOR LIGHT ARE NOW OUT AS OF A WEEK AGO. MEANING I ONLY HAVE 1 WORKING LIGHT. I WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD IT WOULD BE 300 PER SIDE TO GET IT FIXED BECAUSE I NEED NEW ELECTRICAL WIRING ! SERIOUSLY !

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/20/2019 - HARRISBURG, MO
VEHICLE TRANSMISSION STALLS WHILE DRIVING, TO INCLUDE IN INTERSECTIONS. MY DAUGHTER DRIVES THIS CAR, WE HAVE HAD IT IN FOR SERVICE WHICH THEY SAID THEY FIXED. WITHIN 2 DAYS, IT WAS DOING THE SAME PROBLEM. WE ARE NOT AT ALL PLEASED WITH FORD FOR EVEN SELLING US THIS VEHICLE KNOWING IT HAS HAD TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS FOR SEVERAL YEARS!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/20/2019 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
MY RECALL HAS BEEN FIXED AND NOT UPDATED ON SYSTEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/19/2019 - RED HOOK, NY
WHEN IN MOTION, TRAVELING FORWARD IN DRIVE. THE CAR WILL BEHAVE AS IF IT HAS SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL -- NOT RESPONDING TO PRESSURE ON THE ACCELERATOR AND REVVING UP TO AS MANY AS 6000 RPM. THE CAR WILL BEHAVE THIS WAY EVEN IN CRUISE-CONTROL MODE. WHEN AT LAST THE CAR BEGINS RESPONDING TO ACCELERATOR PRESSURE, IT LURCHES ABRUPTLY. IN ADDITION, WHEN MAKING A TURN FROM A STOP (E.G., A LEFT-HAND TURN FROM A LIGHT THAT HAS JUST TURNED GREEN), THE CAR WILL NOT BEGIN MOVING WITH ANY CONSISTENCY ACCORDING TO ACCELERATION; OFTEN, IT REVS EITHER SHORTLY AFTER MOVING OR WITHOUT ANY MOVEMENT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/19/2019 - RED HOOK, NY
WHEN IN MOTION, TRAVELING FORWARD IN DRIVE. THE CAR WILL BEHAVE AS IF IT HAS SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL -- NOT RESPONDING TO PRESSURE ON THE ACCELERATOR AND REVVING UP TO AS MANY AS 6000 RPM. THE CAR WILL BEHAVE THIS WAY EVEN IN CRUISE-CONTROL MODE. WHEN AT LAST THE CAR BEGINS RESPONDING TO ACCELERATOR PRESSURE, IT LURCHES ABRUPTLY. IN ADDITION, WHEN MAKING A TURN FROM A STOP (E.G., A LEFT-HAND TURN FROM A LIGHT THAT HAS JUST TURNED GREEN), THE CAR WILL NOT BEGIN MOVING WITH ANY CONSISTENCY ACCORDING TO ACCELERATION; OFTEN, IT REVS EITHER SHORTLY AFTER MOVING OR WITHOUT ANY MOVEMENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/19/2019 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
WITHIN MONTHS AFTER BUYING THE CAR (IN OCT 2017) I NOTICED IT HESITATES AND SHUTTERS AT LOW SPEEDS WHEN DRIVING THROUGH CITY LIMITS ACCOMPANIED WITH A GARGLING SOUNDS. IT JERKS HARD DURING ACCELERATION ON THE HIGHWAY ARE NOTICEABLE BECAUSE THERE IS PROMINENT HESITATION. I TOOK IT TO A FORD DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD IT WAS THE CLUTCH AND FIXED THE ISSUE THIS WAS SEPT 2018. THE CAR DROVE WELL FOR A FEW MONTHS AND THEN IT BEGAN TO SHUTTER AGAIN. YET AGAIN, I'VE TAKEN THE CAR TO FORD TO HAVE THIS REPLACE THE CLUTCH IN JULY 2019. THIS SHOULD NOT BE AN ISSUE FOR A CAR THAT WAS BRAND NEW. AT WHAT POINT DOES THIS BECOME AN ISSUE OF ACCOUNTABILITY... WHEN INJURY OCCURS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/19/2019 - ARGOS, IN
THE VEHICLE HAS THE SAME TRANSMISSION SHUDDER ISSUE AS MANY OTHERS HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT. SHIFTING FROM 1ST TO 2ND GEAR THERE SEEMS TO BE A LULL LIKE THE VEHICLE ISN+T SURE WHAT IT WANTS TO DO. I DIDN+T NOTICE IT HAPPENING IN THE WINTER TOO MUCH. HOWEVER, ONCE IT GOT WARMER, IT SEEMS LIKE IT HAPPENS NEARLY EVERY STOP LIGHT OR IN LOW SPEED ZONES WHERE IT+S SHIFTING BETWEEN 1ST AND 2ND FREQUENTLY. I ALSO HEAR A METAL CLANGING SOUND ON SLOWDOWNS OFTEN ENOUGH TO SEEM LIKE IT+S AN ISSUE WORTH MENTIONING. IT+S BEEN HAPPENING SINCE AROUND 8K MILES AND I AM AT 45K ON THE VEHICLE. I WILL BE HAVING IT LOOKED AT NOW SINCE THE WARRANTY WILL BE COMING UP AND I DON+T WANT THIS ISSUE TO LINGER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/18/2019 - ALTHA, FL
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2017 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED AND HESITATED WHILE DRIVING WITHOUT WARNING. ALSO, THE GAUGES ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL FAILED TO FUNCTION PROPERLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CHIPOLA FORD (4242 LAFAYETTE ST, MARIANNA, FL 32446, (850) 482-4043) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT A COMPUTER UPDATE WAS NEEDED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THEY REPAIRED THE VEHICLE; HOWEVER, THE CONTACT FELT OTHERWISE BECAUSE SHE WAS NOT PROVIDED A BILL OF SERVICE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds