Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2017 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 79 complaints filed for the 2017 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2017 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2017 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (9) Structure (3) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (10) Exterior Lighting (8) Service Brakes (5) Tires (1) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Engine (18) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Steering (18) Traction Control System (1) Visibility (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/17/2019 - NEW RINGGOLD, PA
WHEN DRIVING THIS VEHICLE AT NIGH, THE HEADLIGHT PROJECTION IS SO POOR THAT VISIBILITY IS RESTRICTED TO ABOUT 40 FEET IN FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. WE'VE EXPERIENCED NUMEROUS CLOSE CALLS DUE TO POOR HEADLIGHT PROJECTION. COMPLAINTS ON THE INTERNET ECHO OUR COMPLAINT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/16/2019 - PACE, FL
I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE IN THE MAIL ON 06/27/19 STATING THAT I NEEDED TO BRING MY CAR IN TO HAVE THE COMPUTER UPDATED TO PROTECT THE ENGINE FROM EXCESSIVE CONNECTING ROD BEARING DAMAGE. I WENT IN TO HAVE THE SERVICE DONE ON 7/1/19. WHEN I CAME TO PICK IT UP THE REPRESENTATIVE TOLD ME THAT THE UPDATE MAY OR MAY NOT HAVE RESOLVED THE ISSUE AND THAT MY CAR AT ANY TIME IN THE FUTURE COULD GO INTO WHAT THEY CALLED SAFE MODE. HE EXPLAINED WHAT THAT WAS AND I TRULY DID NOT WANT TO TAKE THE CAR HOME. I NO LONGER FELT SAFE DRIVING IT. I CONTACTED CUSTOMER CARE BY PHONE, CORPORATE BY EMAIL AND HAVE BEEN TOLD THE SAME THING OVER AND OVER AGAIN. THEY CAN ONLY DO SOMETHING IF THE CAR MALFUNCTIONS. I HAD SCHEDULED A TRIP TO MONTGOMERY THE DAY AFTER I HAD TAKEN MY CAR IN TO TAKE MY 80+ YEAR OLD PARENTS TO SEE MY SISTERS NEW HOME. I ENDED UP HAVING TO RENT A CAR BECAUSE I DID NOT WANT TO TAKE THE CHANCE ON ENDING UP STRANDED ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WITH MY PARENTS. THERE IS APPARENTLY A HARNESS THAT THEY CAN PUT ON IF THE CAR MALFUNCTIONS AND I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY THEY DO NOT JUST DO THAT IF THERE IS A POSSIBLE PROBLEM THAT COULD OCCUR. I NO LONGER FEEL SAFE IN MY VEHICLE AND FEEL THAT I WILL HAVE TO RENT A CAR EVERY TIME I HAVE TO TRAVEL. I FEEL TOTALLY HELPLESS IN THIS SITUATION.

View Details

STEERING

7/15/2019 - BULLHEAD CITY, AZ
TAKATA RECALL. PULLING ONTO HIGHWAY TURNING LEFT RED STEERING WHEEL WARNING LIGHT AND TRACTION HAZARD LIGHT CAME ON AND IMMEDIATELY STEERING LOCKED UP AND UNABLE TO MAKE TURN

View Details

ENGINE

7/9/2019 - SHREVEPORT, LA
ENGINE CUTS OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC WOULD NOT ALLOW ME TO MOVE GEAR SHIFT REPORTED ISSUE SINCE OCTOBER 2018. CAR RECENTLY HAD 3 RECALLS THAT WERE REPAIRED HOWEVER ENGINE IS STILL SHUTTING OFF AND GEAR SHIFT WON+T MOVE AND ENGINE LIGHT IS ON AND OFF. I GOT A DIAGNOSTIC AND IT HAD 3 CODES OF INTAKE MANIFOLD AND VALVE. I BOUGHT THE CAR LIKE THIS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/28/2019 - RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA
HEAD/TAIL LAMPS FLICKER (RAPIDLY) ON/OFF WHILE THE LIGHT STOCK IS IN THE AUTO MODE. OCCURS RANDOMLY DAY/NIGHT EITHER STATIONARY OR MOVING. LIGHTS DO NOT FLICKER WHEN LIGHT STOCK IS IN ON MODE.

View Details

STEERING

6/27/2019 - SPRING VALLEY, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2017 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE STEERING SEIZED AND THE POWER STEERING ASSIST WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT MANAGED TO STEER THE VEHICLE TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED BY AAA TO PENSKE HYUNDAI (8850 GROSSMONT BLVD, LA MESA, CA 91942, (619) 464-1440) TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 25,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/18/2019 - ROCK HILL, SC
VEHICLE IN MOTION AND STEERING ALL BUT LOCKS UP - VERY DIFFICULT TO CONTROL STEERING WHEEL. ONCE TURNED OFF IT WAS OK ONLY TO HAPPEN AGAIN A FEW DAYS LATER. I TRAVEL MINIMUM 48 MILES ROUND TRIP PER DAY (WEEKDAYS) TO WORK

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/17/2019 - ATWOOD, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2017 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR BEGAN TO FLASH AND REMAINED LIT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,879.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/13/2019 - OSWEGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2017 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE HESITATED WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO GERALD HYUNDAI OF NORTH AURORA (209 HANSEN BLVD, NORTH AURORA, IL 60542, (877) 781-4106) AND NAPLETON'S VALLEY HYUNDAI (4333 OGDEN AVE, AURORA, IL 60504, (630) 851-2500) TO BE DIAGNOSED, BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND PROVIDED CASE NUMBER: 15823638. THE CONTACT WAS REFERRED TO THE LOCAL DEALER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,494.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/26/2019 - WEIRTON, WV
WHILE DRIVING ON INTERSTATE 70 IN OHIO MY SHARKFIN BLEW OFF. I WAS GOING AROUND 75 MPH. NO VEHICLE WAS IN FRONT OF ME. I HEARD A VERY LOUD NOISE WHICH LASTED A FEW SECONDS. WITHIN 10 MILES I STOPPED MY CAR A SERVICE STATION AND DISCOVERED MY PLASTIC SHARK FIN COVER HAD BLOWN OFF. NOTHING HIT THE CAR. NO BLOOD, NO SCRATCHES. WHEN I REPORTED IT TO THE DEALERSHIP THEY SAID I MUST HAVE TAKEN IT THROUGH A CAR WASH. I HAVE HAD 3 SONATAS AND HAVE NEVER TAKEN ONE THROUGH A CAR WASH. WHEN I FIRST GOT TO THE DEALERSHIP THE RECEPTIONIST AT THE SERVICE DEPT. SAID THEY HAD BEEN HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THAT PART, BUT THE SERVICE MANAGER TRIED DENYING IT. I HAVE BEEN TALKING TO OTHER SONATA OWNERS AND SOME HAVE EXPERIENCE A SIMILAR PROBLEM.WHEN I REPORTED IT TO HYUNDAI THEY FAILED TO TAKE ACTION. THE PHOTOS WILL SHOW THAT THE VERY SMALL SCREWS IN THE ELECTRICAL COMPONENT THAT ATTACH TO THE PLASTIC SHARK FIN COVER HAVE VERY LITTLE PENETRATION INTO THE SHARK FIN COVER. INCIDENT HAPPENED ON MAY 9, 2019, REPORTED IT ON MAY 10. I ENDED UP PAYING $353.03 FOR THE PART AND INSTALLATION. I AM SUGGESTING THAT THE WIND AT 75 MPH LIFTED THE PLASTIC COVER BECAUSE IT SOUNDED LIKE A RIPPING SOUND LIKE ONE SCREW AT A TIME. NOT ONLY DID IT CAUSE ME TO TAKE MY EYES OF THE ROAD, BUT THE PART FLYING BACK COULD HAVE POSED A SERIOUS SAFETY TO ANOTHER DRIVER DRIVING BEHIND ME. AND LIKE I MENTIONED THIS HAS HAPPENED TO OTHER OWNERS. I BELIEVE IT IS A DESIGN FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds