Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2018 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 87 complaints filed for the 2018 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2018 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2018 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Lane Departure (1) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (11) Equipment (2) Power Train (11) Structure (5) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (4) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (13) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Service Brakes (7) Unknown Or Other (11) Wheels (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/17/2019 - SIOUX FALLS, SD
ON TWO OCCASIONS MY TRANSMISSION WOULDN'T ENGAGE WHEN I SHIFTED IT FROM "PARK" TO "DRIVE." MY CAR STARTED ROLLING LIKE IT WAS IN NEUTRAL. I SLAMMED ON MY BRAKES AND AFTER ABOUT 3 - 5 SECONDS THE TRANSMISSION ENGAGED AND I WAS ABLE TO ACCELERATE AS NORMAL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/17/2019 - SIOUX FALLS, SD
ON TWO OCCASIONS MY TRANSMISSION WOULDN'T ENGAGE WHEN I SHIFTED IT FROM "PARK" TO "DRIVE." MY CAR STARTED ROLLING LIKE IT WAS IN NEUTRAL. I SLAMMED ON MY BRAKES AND AFTER ABOUT 3 - 5 SECONDS THE TRANSMISSION ENGAGED AND I WAS ABLE TO ACCELERATE AS NORMAL.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/10/2019 - LIVERPOOL, NY
USING NAVIGATION WITH PHONE THROUGH INFOTAINMENT DISPLAY CAN SWITCH TO BLINDING BRIGHTNESS AT NIGHT. USING PHONE NAVIGATION (BOTH GOOGLE MAPS AND WAZE) AT NIGHT WILL START WITH NORMAL BRIGHTNESS WHICH CAN BE CONTROLLED BY THE DIMMING KNOB. IF A PHONE CALL OR TEXT IS RECEIVED THE DISPLAY GOES TO FULL BRIGHTNESS AND CANNOT BE DIMMED THIS CAUSED ME TO SWERVE OFF OF THE ROAD IT WAS SO BLINDING THE CONDITION CAN ALSO BE SIMULATED BY ENGAGING THE BACKUP CAMERA AT NIGHT THIS WAS REPORTED TO MY DEALER OVER A YEAR AGO IN THE CASE OF THE PHONE CALL THE VEHICLE WAS MOVING THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN MENTIONED ON MULTIPLE FORUMS SO I BELIEVE THIS IS RELATED TO THE SOFTWARE AND NOT AN ISOLATED INCIDENT

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/10/2019 - LIVERPOOL, NY
USING NAVIGATION WITH PHONE THROUGH INFOTAINMENT DISPLAY CAN SWITCH TO BLINDING BRIGHTNESS AT NIGHT. USING PHONE NAVIGATION (BOTH GOOGLE MAPS AND WAZE) AT NIGHT WILL START WITH NORMAL BRIGHTNESS WHICH CAN BE CONTROLLED BY THE DIMMING KNOB. IF A PHONE CALL OR TEXT IS RECEIVED THE DISPLAY GOES TO FULL BRIGHTNESS AND CANNOT BE DIMMED THIS CAUSED ME TO SWERVE OFF OF THE ROAD IT WAS SO BLINDING THE CONDITION CAN ALSO BE SIMULATED BY ENGAGING THE BACKUP CAMERA AT NIGHT THIS WAS REPORTED TO MY DEALER OVER A YEAR AGO IN THE CASE OF THE PHONE CALL THE VEHICLE WAS MOVING THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN MENTIONED ON MULTIPLE FORUMS SO I BELIEVE THIS IS RELATED TO THE SOFTWARE AND NOT AN ISOLATED INCIDENT

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD

5/29/2019 - MINNETONKA, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE PASSENGER SIDE WINDSHIELD EXPLODED WITHOUT WARNING OR AN IMPACT. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 21,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/24/2019 - TRAVERSE CITY, MI
THERE ARE 2 PROBLEMS WHICH ARE INTERRELATED 1) WHEN STOPPED AT A STOP LIGHT THE VEHICLE DOES NOT REPOND WHEN THE GAS IS APPLIED TO MOVE FORWARD WHEN THE LIGHT TURNS GREEN. THEN, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY LURCHES INTO GEAR. 2) THE "D" FOR DRIVE ON THE DASHBOARD FLASHES INDICATING AN ERROR CODE HAS BEEN WRITTEN TO THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE. WHEN I TOOK MY VEHICLE IN FOR REPAIR BECAUSE THIS WAS HAPPENING THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THAT THERE WAS NO ERROR CODE ON THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE SO THEY DO NOT HAVE A WAY TO DIAGNOIS WHAT IS HAPPENING AND THAT THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM AND WERE ADVISED BY THE MANUFACTURER TO NOT MAKE ANY REPAIRS BECAUSE THAT MAY NOT SOLVE THE PROBLEM. THE DEALERSHIP INDICATED THE MANUFACTURER FELT THIS MAY BE DUE TO A SOFTWARE PROBLEM AND MAY NEED TO COMPLETE A SOFTWARE UPDATE AT SOME FUTURE POINT IN TIME. HOWEVER, I'VE SEEN POSTS FROM OTHER CHEVY EQUINOX OWNERS WITH MODELS DATING BACK TO 2014 WITH THIS SAME HESITANCY AND JERKING ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/24/2019 - TRAVERSE CITY, MI
THERE ARE 2 PROBLEMS WHICH ARE INTERRELATED 1) WHEN STOPPED AT A STOP LIGHT THE VEHICLE DOES NOT REPOND WHEN THE GAS IS APPLIED TO MOVE FORWARD WHEN THE LIGHT TURNS GREEN. THEN, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY LURCHES INTO GEAR. 2) THE "D" FOR DRIVE ON THE DASHBOARD FLASHES INDICATING AN ERROR CODE HAS BEEN WRITTEN TO THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE. WHEN I TOOK MY VEHICLE IN FOR REPAIR BECAUSE THIS WAS HAPPENING THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THAT THERE WAS NO ERROR CODE ON THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE SO THEY DO NOT HAVE A WAY TO DIAGNOIS WHAT IS HAPPENING AND THAT THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM AND WERE ADVISED BY THE MANUFACTURER TO NOT MAKE ANY REPAIRS BECAUSE THAT MAY NOT SOLVE THE PROBLEM. THE DEALERSHIP INDICATED THE MANUFACTURER FELT THIS MAY BE DUE TO A SOFTWARE PROBLEM AND MAY NEED TO COMPLETE A SOFTWARE UPDATE AT SOME FUTURE POINT IN TIME. HOWEVER, I'VE SEEN POSTS FROM OTHER CHEVY EQUINOX OWNERS WITH MODELS DATING BACK TO 2014 WITH THIS SAME HESITANCY AND JERKING ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/6/2019 - LAKE BUTLER, FL
I AM DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY WHEN I GET A WARNING SAYING SERVICE BRAKES. I WENT TO HIT MY BRAKES AND I HAD NONE AT ALL! I ALMOST HIT A CAR BECAUSE IT WAS GETTING OFF THE RAMP AND HIT ITS BRAKES. I HAD TO GO OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO KEEP FROM HITTING IT. I FOUND OUT THAT THE BRAKE VACUUM PUMP WENT OUT. I KNOW THAT GM IS DOING A INVESTIGATION ON THIS. MY CAR IS NOW AT THE DEALERSHIP GETTING REPAIRED. I DON'T WANT THIS TO HAPPEN TO SOMEONE ELSE. I HAD NO WARNING AT ALL THAT MY BRAKES WAS NOT GOING TO WORK. THANK GOD I WAS ABLE TO GET STOPPED WITHOUT BEING IN A ACCIDENT. THIS IS A BIG SAFETY HAZARD!!!!!

View Details

WHEELS

4/26/2019 - TUSCALOOSA, AL
I HAVE BEEN HAVING ISSUES WITH THE TIRES , AT FIRST I HAD A SCREW IN THE BACK PASSENGER TIRE . THE DEALERSHIP DID FIX THAT, THEN I HAD TO TAKE THE VEHICLE BACK BECAUSE THE SAME TIRE KEPT LOOSING AIR THEN IT WAS THE VALVE STEM, NOW THE TIRE ON THE BACK PASSENGER SIDE IS SHOWING THAT IT IS LOW AND I HAVE HAD TO GO TO THE DEALERSHIP, THEY ARE GIVING ME GRIEF ABOUT THESE DAMN TIRES ! I DON+T KNOW IF IT IS SOMETHING GOING ON WITH THE SENSORS OR IF THEY JUST NEED TO GO ON AND REPLACE THESE TIRES SINCE I AM ON THE NEW TIRES FOR LIFE PROGRAM BUT EVERY TIME I HAVE TO GO TO THE DEALERSHIP I END UP WITH ATTITUDE FROM THEM AND A MIGRAINE FROM HAVING TO DEAL WITH SOME SMART ASS THAT IS TELLING ME THAT I CAN+T GET A NEW TIRE UNTIL THEY DETERMINE THAT I CAN OR IF IT IS A SENSOR ISSUE I+M GONNA HAVE TO PAY FOR IT! NO SIR !!! THIS VEHICLE IS BRAND DAMN NEW !!! I WILL GET A LAWYER AND I WILL SEE CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP AND WHOMEVER IN COURT AND Y+ALL CAN BUY THIS CRAP CAR BACK! EITHER FIX THIS ISSUE OR WE CAN DO THIS ANOTHER WAY

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

4/22/2019 - STATESVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE SUN ROOF SHADE CLIP FRACTURED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE FACE, WHICH DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. ON THREE OCCASIONS, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO RANDY MARION CHEVROLET BUICK CADILLAC (220 W PLAZA DR, MOORESVILLE, NC, (866) 906-8109) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SHADE CLIPS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 17,500.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds