Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2018 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 38 complaints filed for the 2018 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2018 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2018 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Service Brakes (4) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (3) Power Train (13) Steering (2) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (10) Seat Belts (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/8/2019 - SUWANEE, GA
UNCONTROLLED ENGINE SPEED INCREASE. WHEN DEPRESSING THE CLUTCH AND TAKING MY FOOT OFF THE GAS TO SHIFT, THE ENGINE RPM INCREASED FROM APPROX. 2500 TO 4000 RPM. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES AFTER THE CAR HAS WARMED UP. THIS HAPPENED AT HIGHWAY SPEED SHIFTING FROM 3 TO 4TH AND 4TH TO 5TH. AFTER THIS HAPPENED A FEW TIMES, I CAPTURED THE ISSUE ON VIDEO WHILE MY SON WAS DRIVING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/1/2019 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
2018 FORD FOCUS SE SEDAN RECALLS. I RECENTLY GOT A 2018 FORD FOCUS SE SEDAN IN NOVEMBER OF 2018. IT PERIODICALLY HESITATES WHEN I ACCELERATE AND I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF DRIVING THE OTHER DAY ON MY WAY HOME AND NOT ONLY DID IT HESITATE WHEN I BEGAN TO ACCELERATE ON A 30 MPH STREET BUT IT ALSO BEGAN TO SLIP AND DID NOT WANT TO MOVE FOR ABOUT 5 SECONDA WHEN I WAS PRESSING ON THE GAS, IT WAS BEGINNING TO SLOW DOWN INSTEAD OF MAINTAINING THE SPEED IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN WHEN I WAS PRESSING THE GAS PEDAL. I WAS ON A CITY STREET WHEN THIS HAPPENED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/1/2019 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
2018 FORD FOCUS SE SEDAN RECALLS. I RECENTLY GOT A 2018 FORD FOCUS SE SEDAN IN NOVEMBER OF 2018. IT PERIODICALLY HESITATES WHEN I ACCELERATE AND I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF DRIVING THE OTHER DAY ON MY WAY HOME AND NOT ONLY DID IT HESITATE WHEN I BEGAN TO ACCELERATE ON A 30 MPH STREET BUT IT ALSO BEGAN TO SLIP AND DID NOT WANT TO MOVE FOR ABOUT 5 SECONDA WHEN I WAS PRESSING ON THE GAS, IT WAS BEGINNING TO SLOW DOWN INSTEAD OF MAINTAINING THE SPEED IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN WHEN I WAS PRESSING THE GAS PEDAL. I WAS ON A CITY STREET WHEN THIS HAPPENED.

View Details

ENGINE

2/25/2019 - LAS VEGAS, NV
I BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE IN OCTOBER OF 2018. THE TRANSMISSION HAS STARTED TO FAIL, WITH SHUDDERING, STALLING AND JUMPING AT ACCELARATIONS. THIS IS THE SECOND FOCUS MODEL THAT I HAVE HAD DIFFICULTIES WITH.

View Details

ENGINE

1/22/2019 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
THE 2018 FORD FOCUS TI STARTED TO GIVE ME PROBLEMS WHEN BRAKING AND ACCELERATING, THE FIST WAS WHEN TAKING OFF AT A STOP LIGHT, THE FOCUS ACCELERATED MORE WHEN SLOWING DOWN AND BRAKING TO A CAR IN FRONT OF ME, IT WAS LIKE I WAS HITTING GAS PEDAL AND BRAKE AT THE SAME TIME. AFTER THAT ON THE SAME DAY I WAS DRIVING UP A HILL AND IT WAS ACCELERATING WITH OUT PRESSING ON THE GAS PEDAL I HIT THE BRAKES AGAIN AND IT FINALLY STOPPED, WHEN I GOT TO MY DESTINATION I PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND AGAIN PRESS THE BRAKE IT REVVED UP TO 3000 RPMS AND DID NOT STOP UNTIL I PRESS THE RUN/STOP BUTTON. THE NEXT DAY I WAS DRIVING AND DID A HARD STOP IT ABOUT STALLED WITH RPMS GOING DOWN TO 400 AND FLUCTUATING UP TO 1200 RPMS, WITH ALL THIS WAS GOING ON MY BRAKES FELT SOFT THEN HARD, THE TRANSMISSION ALSO CLICKED TWO TIMES WHEN HARD STOPPING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/22/2019 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
THE 2018 FORD FOCUS TI STARTED TO GIVE ME PROBLEMS WHEN BRAKING AND ACCELERATING, THE FIST WAS WHEN TAKING OFF AT A STOP LIGHT, THE FOCUS ACCELERATED MORE WHEN SLOWING DOWN AND BRAKING TO A CAR IN FRONT OF ME, IT WAS LIKE I WAS HITTING GAS PEDAL AND BRAKE AT THE SAME TIME. AFTER THAT ON THE SAME DAY I WAS DRIVING UP A HILL AND IT WAS ACCELERATING WITH OUT PRESSING ON THE GAS PEDAL I HIT THE BRAKES AGAIN AND IT FINALLY STOPPED, WHEN I GOT TO MY DESTINATION I PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND AGAIN PRESS THE BRAKE IT REVVED UP TO 3000 RPMS AND DID NOT STOP UNTIL I PRESS THE RUN/STOP BUTTON. THE NEXT DAY I WAS DRIVING AND DID A HARD STOP IT ABOUT STALLED WITH RPMS GOING DOWN TO 400 AND FLUCTUATING UP TO 1200 RPMS, WITH ALL THIS WAS GOING ON MY BRAKES FELT SOFT THEN HARD, THE TRANSMISSION ALSO CLICKED TWO TIMES WHEN HARD STOPPING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/22/2019 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
THE 2018 FORD FOCUS TI STARTED TO GIVE ME PROBLEMS WHEN BRAKING AND ACCELERATING, THE FIST WAS WHEN TAKING OFF AT A STOP LIGHT, THE FOCUS ACCELERATED MORE WHEN SLOWING DOWN AND BRAKING TO A CAR IN FRONT OF ME, IT WAS LIKE I WAS HITTING GAS PEDAL AND BRAKE AT THE SAME TIME. AFTER THAT ON THE SAME DAY I WAS DRIVING UP A HILL AND IT WAS ACCELERATING WITH OUT PRESSING ON THE GAS PEDAL I HIT THE BRAKES AGAIN AND IT FINALLY STOPPED, WHEN I GOT TO MY DESTINATION I PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND AGAIN PRESS THE BRAKE IT REVVED UP TO 3000 RPMS AND DID NOT STOP UNTIL I PRESS THE RUN/STOP BUTTON. THE NEXT DAY I WAS DRIVING AND DID A HARD STOP IT ABOUT STALLED WITH RPMS GOING DOWN TO 400 AND FLUCTUATING UP TO 1200 RPMS, WITH ALL THIS WAS GOING ON MY BRAKES FELT SOFT THEN HARD, THE TRANSMISSION ALSO CLICKED TWO TIMES WHEN HARD STOPPING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/19/2018 - FORT COLLINS, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS AND SHIFTING GEARS, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WOULD BECOME STUCK. ALSO, WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS STUCK AND THE ENGINE REVVED. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT CALLED LOVELAND FORD (999 E EISENHOWER BLVD, LOVELAND, CO 80537, (970) 744-7101) AND WAS INFORMED THAT THEY WERE BOOKED FOR SERVICE UNTIL DECEMBER 6, 2018. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 9,500.

View Details

STEERING

11/10/2018 - FINDLAY, OH
THE STEERING STARTED MAKING A GRINDING NOISE AND THE VEHICLE BECAME HARD TO STEER. AFTER PARKING THE CAR AND COMING BACK TO IT AFTER A MEETING IT WAS NOT POSSIBLE TO STEER THE CAR AND IT WAS TOWED TO A DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIR. THE CAR ONLY HAD 55248 MILES ON IT. DIAGNOSED AS THE STEERING GEAR ASSEMBLY.THE STEERING SHOULD NOT FAIL MAKING THE CAR UNSAFE TO DRIVE, ESPECIALLY WITH LOW MILEAGE. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST QUALITY ISSUE WITH THIS CAR TO AFFECT ITS DRIVABILITY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/5/2018 - ALEXANDRIA, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 FORD FOCUS. WHILE THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING, THE FUEL GAUGE FAILED TO PROVIDE AN ACCURATE READING. OCCASIONALLY, THE VEHICLE ALSO FAILED TO START. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES AND ADVISED THE CONTACT TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO A DEALER. THE CONTACT WAS ALSO REFERRED TO NHTSA. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 14,333.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds