Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2018 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 38 complaints filed for the 2018 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2018 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2018 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Service Brakes (4) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (3) Power Train (13) Steering (2) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (10) Seat Belts (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3 
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/5/2018 - ALEXANDRIA, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 FORD FOCUS. WHILE THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING, THE FUEL GAUGE FAILED TO PROVIDE AN ACCURATE READING. OCCASIONALLY, THE VEHICLE ALSO FAILED TO START. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES AND ADVISED THE CONTACT TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO A DEALER. THE CONTACT WAS ALSO REFERRED TO NHTSA. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 14,333.

View Details

ENGINE

10/30/2018 - SMITHFIELD, NC
I WAS DRIVING NORMALLY AND THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN WITH NO WARNING (LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WENT OFF) THEN CAME BACK UP. NOT LONG AFTER THIS, I CAME ACROSS AN ARTICLE THAT SUGGESTED A CURRENT RECALL COULD BE TO BLAME FOR THIS BUT MY VIN IS NOT INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL. IT SHOULD BE. (DATE OF OCCURRENCE IS APPROXIMATE.)

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/30/2018 - SMITHFIELD, NC
I WAS DRIVING NORMALLY AND THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN WITH NO WARNING (LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WENT OFF) THEN CAME BACK UP. NOT LONG AFTER THIS, I CAME ACROSS AN ARTICLE THAT SUGGESTED A CURRENT RECALL COULD BE TO BLAME FOR THIS BUT MY VIN IS NOT INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL. IT SHOULD BE. (DATE OF OCCURRENCE IS APPROXIMATE.)

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/30/2018 - SMITHFIELD, NC
I WAS DRIVING NORMALLY AND THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN WITH NO WARNING (LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WENT OFF) THEN CAME BACK UP. NOT LONG AFTER THIS, I CAME ACROSS AN ARTICLE THAT SUGGESTED A CURRENT RECALL COULD BE TO BLAME FOR THIS BUT MY VIN IS NOT INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL. IT SHOULD BE. (DATE OF OCCURRENCE IS APPROXIMATE.)

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/25/2018 - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
THE VEHICLE FAILS TO ACHIEVE MORE THAN 25 MPG ON A FULL 12 GALLON FUEL TANK WITH 100% GASOLINE. THERE IS A GASOLINE ODOR AT TIMES WHEN THE VEHICLE IS SHUT OFF AFTER BEING DRIVEN FOR MULTIPLE HOURS. THE VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH A 1 LITER ECOBOOST MOTOR THAT WAS PURCHASED NEW WITH 3K MILES ON IT. THE CURRENT ODOMETER READING IS 12,600. ON OCTOBER 21ST, 2018 I ACHIEVED 19 MPG ON A FULL TANK OF GASOLINE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/25/2018 - MIDDLETOWN, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 FORD FOCUS. WHILE THE CONTACT WAS IN STOP-AND-GO TRAFFIC, THE VEHICLE SHOOK AND CRACKING NOISES WERE HEARD FROM THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BOB RUTH FORD (877-818-1593, LOCATED AT 700 N U.S. 15, DILLSBURG, PA 17019) AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT HE NEEDED TO JUST GET USED TO THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND ADVISED THE CONTACT TO GO TO ANOTHER DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO HOFFMAN FORD (717-657-1600, LOCATED AT 5200 JONESTOWN RD, HARRISBURG, PA 17112) WHERE A DIAGNOSTIC TEST WAS RECOMMENDED AT THE CONTACT'S EXPENSE. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER AND WAS INFORMED THAT THEY WOULD COVER THE DIAGNOSTIC COST. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 200.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/8/2018 - BLOOMFIELD, MO
A FEW WEEKS AFTER I HAD GOTTEN MY CAR ON MAY 12TH 2018 I NOTICED GRINDING, JERKING, FELT ALMOST AS IF IT WERE TRYONG TO STALL AND THAT THERE WAS ALOT OF PLAY IN THE TRANSMISSION WHEN ROTATING TIRES, I TOOK THE CAR TO THE WLFORD DEALERSHIP IN SIKESTON MISSOURI THEY CLAIM THAT THEY DIDNT NOT HEAR, SEE, OR FEEL ANYTHING. BUT DID NOT PUT THE CAR ON THE RACK OR ANYTHING THEY JUST DROVE IT AROUND THE BLOCK. THEY THREW A FIT ABOUT GIVING ME A LOANER AND WERE DOING THERE BEST TO PREVENT ANY WORK BEING DONE ON THE CAR. THEY CLAIM THAT THIS WAS NORMAL I DONE SOME RESEARCH AND OTHERS HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH THIS POS POWERSHIFT AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. WELL ITS NOW 4 MONTHS DOWN THE ROAD AND THE CAR IS ONLY GETTING WORSE IT IS JERKING BAD, GRINDING, CLINKING, CLACKING, POOR THROTTLE RESPONSE, BARELY ABLE TO GET UP A HILL, THE WHOLSE TRANSMISSION IS T. THESE CARS ARE MAD CHEAP AND SOLD AT AN OVERPRICED AMOUNT, I WILL NOT BE BUYING ANYTHING FROM FORD AGAIN. BUT FOR HOW MUCH I PAID, THERE WILL BE A NEW TRANSMISSION OR SOMEONE GIVING A NEW CAR IF THIS T KEEPS UP. 2018 FORD FOCUS WORST POS ON THIS PLANET DO NOT BUY IT. WHO WAS THE DUMB TO EVEN THINK THAT A COUPLE OF SOLENOIDS AND A COMPUTER COULD CONTROL A MANUAL TRANSMISSION IN AN AUTOMATIC GEARBOX???? ITS NOT POWERSHIFT EITHER CAUSE THIS CAR HAS NO POWER WHATSOEVER IT FEELS LIKE IT HAS 50HP AND 2LBS TQ. 3RD GEAR IS THE ONLY GET UP AND GO GEAR ALL THE OTHER ONES ARE SLUGGISH AN YOU HAVE TO PUT THE PEDAL ALMOST ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR JUST TO GO ANYWHERE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/24/2018 - MELROSE, FL
I'M UNSURE IF MY VEHICLE HAS THE DEFECTIVE TAKATA INFLATORS: MY VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION, UNDER POWER AND TRAVELING GREATER THEN 32 MPH EXITING A HIGHWAY ONTO A CITY STREET. WHILE TURNING LEFT, I EITHER TURNED TO WIDE OR THE OTHER VEHICLE TURNED TO CLOSE AND MY DRIVER SIDE FRONT QTR IMPACTED THE PASSENGER FRONT QTR OF THE OTHER VEHICLE. THE IMPACT ENERGY WAS SO SIGNIFICANT THAT THE DAMAGE WAS ON THE LEFT FRONT QTR, THE FRONT AND IT TRANSFERRED THROUGH THE VEHICLE AND MY PASSENGER SIDE LOOKS MORE DAMAGED THEN THE DRIVERS SIDE. SO MUCH SO THAT THE PASSENGER DOOR WOOD NOT OPEN. I HIT MY HEAD ON THE STEERING WHEEL, WAS VIOLENTLY THRASHED AROUND IN THE VEHICLE AND THEN HIT MY HEAD ON THE DRIVER WINDOW. THE IMPACT WAS SO SIGNIFICANT THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS COMPLETELY DESTROYED, THE ENGINE BROKE FREE FROM ITS MOUNTS, THE COOLING SYSTEM FAILED AND EVEN MY TITANIUM GLASSES WERE BROKEN WHEN I HIT MY HEAD. YET, THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AND THE VEHICLE HAD ONLY 4197 MILES ON IT - BRAND NEW!!! I'VE CONTACTED FORD, FILED A CLAIM AND THEY WERE NEARLY USELESS IN HELPING WITH EVALUATING THE AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT FAILURE. THEY EVEN CONNECTED ME TO DEALERSHIPS TO HAVE THE VEHICLE TAKEN TO, ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT THEY DIDN'T EVEN HAVE TECHNICIANS, TOWING OR EVEN A BODY SHOP. I'VE CALLED SEVERAL TIMES AND RESTATED THE CONCERNS AND SPOKE TO A COUPLE OF CALL CENTER PEOPLE WITHOUT ANY HELP AND EVEN TRIED THE ONLINE CHAT TOOL AND IT KEEP FREEZING UP. THE VEHICLE IS A TOTAL LOST, I HAVE HEAD, NECK AND TISSUE TRAUMA. I'VE EXPLAINED THIS TO THE CALL CENTER AND THEY BASICALLY HAVE BEEN UNHELPFUL....I HAVE NEARLY 30 YEARS IN AUTOMOTIVE AND THE BAGS SHOULD HAVE DEPLOYED AND KEEP ME FROM INJURY!!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/5/2018 - PUYALLUP, WA
EXPLODING SUNROOF - TRAVELING SOUTH ON I-5 AT A SPEED OF 60MPH IN TACOMA TODAY (7/5/2018) IN MY BRAND NEW 6 MONTH OLD 2018 FOCUS RS AND JUST PASSED 56TH STREET EXIT. SUDDENLY WITH WHAT SOUNDED LIKE A GUN SHOT, THE SUNROOF EXPLODED AND I WAS COVERED WITH GLASS AS THE SUNROOF COVER WAS OPEN. FORTUNATELY I HAD A HAT ON OTHERWISE THE VERY SMALL SHARDS MIGHT HAVE GOTTEN INTO MY HAIR, EYES AND FACE. PULLED OF THE HIGHWAY AND TOOK A COUPLE PICTURES. THE DAMAGES FROM THE EXPLODING GLASS CAUSED ADDITIONAL DAMAGES TO THE ROOF AND WING OF THE CAR. THIS IS CURRENTLY ESTIMATED AT OVER $2600 IN DAMAGES. NOT TO MENTION THE CLEAN UP THE THE INTERIOR CAR WILL NEED. THANK GOD MY KIDS WEREN'T IN THE BACK SEAT AS THEY WOULD HAVE GOT THE BRUNT OF THE GLASS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

6/25/2018 - MIDDLETOWN, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WATER WAS LEAKING INTO THE TRUNK AND ONTO THE FLOOR IN THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. ADDITIONALLY, THE REAR SEAT BELT BOLTS DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO MIDDLETOWN FORD (1750 NORTH VERITY PARKWAY, MIDDLETOWN, OH 45042) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WELL TO THE FRAME WAS MISSING. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE DEALER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE SEAT BELT FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO THE LOCAL DEALER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,930.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds