Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE SPORT - 2018 HYUNDAI SANTA FE SPORT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 27 complaints filed for the 2018 HYUNDAI SANTA FE SPORT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2018 HYUNDAI SANTA FE SPORT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2018 HYUNDAI SANTA FE SPORT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Engine (10) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (6)
Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (2) Service Brakes (2) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

6/22/2019 - ARCADIA, CA
I SUBMITTED A COMPLAINT ON JUNE 11, #11219391 BUT HAVE RECEIVED NO RESPONSE, AND IT DOES NOT SHOW AS A FILED COMPLAINT. PLEASE ADVISE THE STATUS OF THIS COMPLAINT. THANKS

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/12/2019 - UNION, NJ
IN AUGUST OF 2018, MY 3 MONTH OLD SANTA FE SPORT CAUGHT FIRE AND WAS COMPLETELY DESTROYED. I WAS DRIVING ON THE NJ TURNPIKE HEADED TO OBX FOR VACATION. I WAS FOLLOWING MY SISTER DOWN WHEN THEY STOPPED TO LET THEIR DOG OUT AT A REST AREA. I PULLED INTO THE SPACE NEXT TO THEM AND AS SOON AS I TURNED THE CAR OFF, IT WENT UP IN FLAMES. BY THE TIME THE FIRE DEPT ARRIVED IT WAS ENGULFED AND I LOST EVERYTHING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/11/2019 - ARCADIA, CA
I RENTED THE VEHICLE FROM ENTERPRISE RENT A CAR ON MAY 28. IT SEEMED TO RUN FINE THEN AND ON THE MORNING OF MAY 29. BUT ABOUT 3.45P.M. I WAS DRIVING ON CITY STREETS IN ARCADIA TO MY DOCTOR'S APPOINTMENT WHEN I SAW A CAR AHEAD OF ME SUDDENLY PUT ON ITS BRAKE LIGHTS. I PRESSED MY BRAKES, BUT MY CAR DID NOT SLOW. I HAD TO SWERVE AROUND THE CAR AHEAD OF ME. SHORTLY THEREAFTER, THE BRAKES STARTED WORKING AGAIN. AT THE NEXT TRAFFIC LIGHT, I MADE A LEFT BEHIND ANOTHER CAR. AT THE NEXT TRAFFIC LIGHT, I WAS GOING TO MAKE A RIGHT BEHIND THE CAR AHEAD OF ME. IT WAS STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT. I WAS ABOUT 50 YARDS AWAY, WHEN I PRESSED ON MY BRAKES, BUT THE CAR DID NOT SLOW. I PRESSED AS HARD AS I COULD, BUT THE CAR KEPT GOING AND GOING AND REAR-ENDED THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. IT THEN JUMPED BACK AND HIT THE OTHER CAR AGAIN. IT WAS A FRIGHTENING EXPERIENCE. TO THE BEST OF MY RECOLLECTION, I HAVE NOT CAUSED A TRAFFIC ACCIDENT IN MORE THAN 30 YEARS. THE OTHER DRIVER AND I PULLED OVER AND EXCHANGED INFORMATION. BADLY SHAKEN, I DROVE TO MY DOCTOR'S OFFICE AND TOLD HIM ABOUT IT. UPON LEAVING HIS OFFICE, I WAS DRIVING SLOWLY IN HIS PARKING LOT BECAUSE OF THE BRAKES,, BUT THE BRAKES WOULD NOT WORK AGAIN. THIS TERRIFIED ME AS THE TRAFFIC ON THE ROAD AHEAD WAS FULL OF CARS. AS I WENT OVER A SPEED BUMP, THE BRAKES CAME BACK ON. I DROVE HOME AT ABOUT 15 MPH, AND ABOUT 100 YARDS BEHIND ANY OTHER CAR. I WAS VERY AFRAID. I PARKED MY CAR AT HOME. THE NEXT DAY, I CALLED ENTERPRISE TO HAVE THEM TOW THE CAR AWAY. AAA CAME AND DID THAT ON MAY 30.

View Details

ENGINE

6/7/2019 - CUNNINGHAM, KS
WHILE DRIVING MY PRACTICALLY NEW 2018 HYUNDAI SANTA FE SPORT WITH 11,653 MILES, IT SUDDENLY JERKED OUT OF CRUISE AT 65 MPH AND THE DASHBOARD LIT UP ALONG WITH THE TOUCH SCREEN THAT SAID TO CALL CUSTOMER CARE IMMEDIATELY. A NICE MAN AT THE OTHER END OF THE PHONE CHECKED MY CAR AS I WAS DRIVING BUT COULD FIND NOTHING AFTER RUNNING THE DIAGNOSTIC. HE SAID I SHOULD BE ABLE TO DRIVE IT ABOUT ANOTHER 300 MILES BUT SHOULD GET TO MY DEALERSHIP AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. I TOLD HIM I WAS OVER 300 MILES FROM HOME SO HE HELPED LOCATE A HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP CLOSER AND I HEADED THAT WAY WHILE STILL TALKING TO THE CUSTOMER CARE GUY. AS I WAS GETTING ON THE ON-RAMP TO TRAVEL I-35, THE CAR JERKED AND ACTED LIKE IT LOST POWER AND I PULLED OVER. THE GUY CALLED A TOW TRUCK TO COME AFTER THE CAR AND HAVE IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. MY CAR WENT TO THE NEAREST DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY RAN A DIAGNOSTIC AND COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING EITHER AND SAID THEY HAD TO WAIT ON HYUNDAI CORPORATE TO AUTHORIZE THEM TO CHECK THE ENGINE. THAT TOOK SEVERAL MORE DAYS BUT ONCE THEY RECEIVED THE AUTHORIZATION, THEY DROPPED THE OIL PAN AND FOUND METAL SHAVINGS IN THE OIL WHICH INDICATED MY ENGINE WAS BLOWN AND WOULD NEED A REPLACEMENT. INITIALLY, THEY SAID IT MIGHT TAKE UP TO 6 WEEKS. AFTER SEVERAL PHONE CALLS HYUNDAI FINALLY ASSIGNED ME A CASE NUMBER AND A CASE MANAGER. THE CASE MANAGER WAS WORTHLESS, WOULD NOT RETURN MY CALLS OR SEND ANY UPDATES ABOUT THE STATUS OF MY VEHICLE. FINALLY, HYUNDAI CORPORATE ASSIGNED ME ANOTHER CASE MANAGER AND AFTER LOOKING AT MY STATE'S LEMON LAWS, I ASKED THEM TO BUY MY CAR BACK FROM ME. THE SECOND CASE MANAGER SENT ME A LETTER ASKING FOR SOME DOCUMENTATION AND TOLD ME THEY WOULD SEND A RE-PURCHASE OFFER. THAT WAS OVER A MONTH AGO AND I STILL HAVE HEARD NOTHING FROM HYUNDAI. IT HAS NOW BEEN 83 DAYS SINCE MY CAR QUIT WITH NO RESOLUTION IN SIGHT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/3/2019 - BYRON, GA
THE BRACKET HOLDING THE CHARCOAL CANISTER BROKE AND THE UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE VEHICLE WAS DAMAGED

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/3/2019 - BYRON, GA
THE BRACKET HOLDING THE CHARCOAL CANISTER BROKE AND THE UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE VEHICLE WAS DAMAGED

View Details

ENGINE

4/1/2019 - LAUDERDALE LAKES, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 HYUNDAI SANTA FE SPORT. WHILE ACCELERATING FROM A STOP, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT HAD TO RESTART THE VEHICLE AND THE BATTERY WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. COCONUT CREEK HYUNDAI (4960 NORTH FL-7, COCONUT CREEK, FL 33073, (888) 441-7737) DIAGNOSED THE VEHICLE, BUT COULD NOT FIND A FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 8,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/8/2019 - YORK, PA
WENT TO DINNER WITH MY HUSBAND 2/28/2019. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STARTED FLASHING. THE CAR BEGAN TO BUCK AND HESITATED. WE WERE GOING 35MPH. WE GOT TO RESTAURANT, I CALLED JACK GIAMBALVO HYUNDAI SERVICE. I WAS TOLD TO GET VEHICLE TO DEALERSHIP ASAP. MY ENGINE IS BLOWN DUE TO MANUFACTURE DEFECT. I AM BEING TOLD IT COULD BE 3-6 MONTHS OR MORE TILL HYUNDAI CAN GET A NEW ENGINE. I NEED A RELIABLE VEHICLE,JACK GIAMBALVO HYUNDAI IS REFUSING A LOANER CAR UNTIL HYUNDAI APPROVES. I AM NOW GOING INTO MY SECOND WEEK WITH A RENTAL I CAN'T AFFORD, BECAUSE MY VEHICLE WAS USED FOR WORK PURPOSES. PLEASE HELP!!!!!!😞😞😞😞

View Details

ENGINE

3/6/2019 - LAUDERDALE LAKES, FL
MY CAR IS 6MONTHS OLD WITH 7600 MILES ON IT. I STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT. MY CAR BEGAN TO SHAKE/SHUDDER AND THEN SHUT OFF. I HAD TO TRY AND RESTART IT 4 TIMES BEFORE IT SUCCESSFULLY RESTARTED. THIS HAPPENED ON A CITY STREET, THANKFULLY RIGHT BEFORE GETTING ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/6/2019 - LAUDERDALE LAKES, FL
MY CAR IS 6MONTHS OLD WITH 7600 MILES ON IT. I STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT. MY CAR BEGAN TO SHAKE/SHUDDER AND THEN SHUT OFF. I HAD TO TRY AND RESTART IT 4 TIMES BEFORE IT SUCCESSFULLY RESTARTED. THIS HAPPENED ON A CITY STREET, THANKFULLY RIGHT BEFORE GETTING ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds