Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO - 1996 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 174 complaints filed for the 1996 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1996 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1996 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Equipment (8) Seat Belts (4) Steering (8) Unknown Or Other (9)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (4) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (59) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes Air (3) Suspension (3) Visibility (4)
Engine (1) Fuel System Gasoline (17) Service Brakes Hydraulic (49) Tires (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (46) Power Train (11)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

3/22/2004 - WILLOUGHBY, OH
DUE TO INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET LEAK (THIS IS THE FOURTH TIME FOR THIS PROBLEM ON THIS VEHICLE) I HAD TO STOP TO ADD COOLANT IN ORDER TO SAFELY DRIVE THE VEHICLE. HAD I NOT NOTICED THE PROBLEM THIS POTENTIALLY COULD HAVE LEFT ME STRANDED ON THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY. AFTER GETTING TO A SAFE LOCATION I HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO A DEALER FOR REPAIR. ALSO, AS I STATED ABOVE THIS IS MY FOURTH TIME DEALING WITH THIS ISSUE; IN ADDITION, I KNOW OF PERSONALLY 3 OTHER VEHICLES WITH THE SAME ENGINE THAT HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM AND THEY TOO HAVE CHANGED THE INTAKE GASKET SEVERAL TIMES.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/22/2004 - WILLOUGHBY, OH
DUE TO INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET LEAK (THIS IS THE FOURTH TIME FOR THIS PROBLEM ON THIS VEHICLE) I HAD TO STOP TO ADD COOLANT IN ORDER TO SAFELY DRIVE THE VEHICLE. HAD I NOT NOTICED THE PROBLEM THIS POTENTIALLY COULD HAVE LEFT ME STRANDED ON THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY. AFTER GETTING TO A SAFE LOCATION I HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO A DEALER FOR REPAIR. ALSO, AS I STATED ABOVE THIS IS MY FOURTH TIME DEALING WITH THIS ISSUE; IN ADDITION, I KNOW OF PERSONALLY 3 OTHER VEHICLES WITH THE SAME ENGINE THAT HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM AND THEY TOO HAVE CHANGED THE INTAKE GASKET SEVERAL TIMES.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

3/15/2004 - DETROIT, MI
I HAD TO REPLACE THE LOWER INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET DUE TO ANTIFREEZE LEAK, AND NOW THE HEAD GASKET IS LEAKING ANTIFREEZE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/15/2004 - NORTH JUDSON, IN
BRAKES DO NOT WORK DURING INCLIMATE WEATHER. LOSES A QUART OF OIL PER 500 MILES. BLOWS BY SMOKE THROUGH EXHAUST WHEN STARTING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

1/15/2004 - NORTH JUDSON, IN
BRAKES DO NOT WORK DURING INCLIMATE WEATHER. LOSES A QUART OF OIL PER 500 MILES. BLOWS BY SMOKE THROUGH EXHAUST WHEN STARTING.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: GASOLINE: BELTS AND ASSOCIATED PULLEYS

11/24/2003 - PHOENIX, AZ
DEFECTIVE TIMING BELT - TIMING BELT FAILS COMPLETELY AT 25,700 MILES, LESS THAN HALF THE MILEAGE LISTED IN OWNER DOCUMENTATION (60000 MILES, NO TIME GIVEN). FAILURE AT HIGHER SPEEDS COULD RESULT IN LOSS OF ENGINE POWER, RESULTING IN LOSS OF CONTROL DUE TO LOSS OF POWER STEERING AND BRAKE FUNCTION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: CONTROL UNIT/MODULE

5/3/2003 - KITTY HAWK, NC
I OWN A 1996 Z34 WITH 78000 MILES ON IT. IN THE LAST MONTH MY ANTI LOCK LIGHT KEPT COMING ON IN THE DASH ALSO THE LOW TRACK WOULD COME ON SOMETIMES I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER YESTERDAY 5-2-03 TO HAVE IT CHECKED OUT, THEY FOUND COMPUTER SCAN BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH OPEN. LEFT REAR SENSOR, LEFT REAR EXCESSIVE SPEED VARIATION, LEFT REAR OPEN SHORT THEY ORDERED A LEFT REAR HUB AND SENSOR AT MY COST I HAD TO PAY UP FRONT 469.19 FOR THE PART TO BE ORDERED ALSO 65.00 FOR THE LABOR PLUS WHEN THE PART COMES IN I HAVE TO PAY ANOTHER 130.00 FOR R/R THE LEFT REAR HUB . ABOUT A MONTH AGO WHILE PULLING OUT OF THE PARKING LOT AT WORK THE LEFT REAR WHEEL LOCK UP AND STARTED TO SKIP MY FELLOW EMPLOYEES CAME OVER TO MY CAR AND ASK WHAT HAD HAPPENED AN IF I WANTED THEM TO FOLLOW ME HOME AFTER MOVING ANOTHER 10 FEET IT UNLOCKED IT SELF IF THIS WOULD HAVE HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY WHO KNOWS WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED HAS ANYONE ELSE HAD THIS EXPERIENCE WITH THE 1996 CHEVROLET Z34 ABS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

4/15/2003 - KINGSTON, PA
BRAKING PROBLEMS: I OWN A 1996 CHEVY MONTE CARLO AND I HAVE RECENTLY BEEN EXPERIENCING BRAKING PROBLEMS. THE LOW TRACK LIGHT COMES ON PERIODICALLY AND I LOSE ALMOST ALL OF MY BRAKES. IT IS VERY DIFFICULT TO STOP AND I FEEL THIS NEEDS TO BE INVESTIGATED, IT SEEMS THAT I AM NOT THE ONLY CONSUMER WITH BRAKING CONCERNS AND PROBLEMS. SOMEONE IS GOING TO GET KILLED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, AIR: ANTILOCK

2/9/2003 - LONG BEACH, NY
I WAS RECENTLY DRIVING MY 1999 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO LS (VIN # [XXX]) ON THE HIGHWAY DURING A HEAVY RAINSTORM. I KEEP NOTICING THAT THE BRAKES FELT LIKE THEY WERE NOT WORKING WHEN I APPLIED BRAKE PRESSURE. AFTER A SHORT WHILE THE BRAKES WOULD BEGIN TO FEEL AS THOUGH THEY WERE FUNCTIONING AND THE CAR WOULD SLOW DOWN. AFTER NOTICING THIS PROBLEM, I SEARCHED FOR RECALLS ON MY VEHICLE AND CONTACTED MY DEALER. THE DEALER'S RECORDS SHOWED THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS ON MY VEHICLE. HOWEVER, THE NHTSA WEB SITE INDICATED TWO PROBLEMS. ONE WAS A RECALL, WHICH APPLIES ONLY TO VEHICLES MANUFACTURED DURING A SPECIFIC TIME PERIOD. THE OTHER NOTICE WAS FOR A SAFETY IMPROVEMENT CAMPAIGN (APPARENTLY DIFFERENT FROM A RECALL). THE NHTSA NUMBER FOR THIS CAMPAIGN IS 011014000. THE NHTSA WEBSITE STATES THAT THIS CAMPAIGN ONLY APPLIES TO THE Z34 VERSION OF THE 1996 MONTE CARLO. THE PROBLEM THAT IS DESCRIBED IS EXACTLY WHAT I HAVE EXPERIENCED WHEN DRIVING MY LS MONTE CARLO IN WET CONDITIONS. IT APPEARS TO ME THAT THE Z34 AND THE LS VERSIONS OF THE 1996 MONTE CARLO HAVE IDENTICAL FENDER WELLS AND LINERS AND WOULD EXPERIENCE IDENTICAL WET BRAKING PROBLEMS, THEREBY REQUIRING THE SAME FENDER LINER MODIFICATION. THUS, THIS SAFETY PROBLEM IS NOT LIMITED TO THE ONLY Z34 MODEL AND THIS CAMPAIGN SHOULD BE EXTENDED TO ALL 1995-1999 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO VEHICLES. I WOULD LIKE THE MANUFACTURER TO MODIFY MY VEHICLE SO THAT I WILL NOT EXPERIENCE WET BRAKE FADING AND BE ABLE TO PROPERLY STOP MY CAR WHEN DRIVING IN WET CONDITIONS. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

9/11/2002 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
TRANSMISSION SLIPS. WHEN TRYING TO ENTER THE FREEWAY, THERE IS NO PULL, I'VE NEARLY BEEN HIT TWICE BECAUSE OF THIS. TOLD THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THEY COULDN'T DUPLICATE PROBLEM SO THEY WOULDN'T FIX IT. EVERYONE I KNOW WHO OWNS THIS SAME YEAR AND MODEL HAS EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM. ONE PERSON COMPLAINED ENOUGH THAT THE DEALERSHIP SAID YES THERE WAS A RECALL ON A PART IN THE TRANS.MISSION,AND THEY REPLACED IT. I CAN'T GET G.M. TO VERIFY THIS. ALSO, THE TRUNK LID HAS NO HYDRAULICS TO KEEP THE LID UP AND IF THE WIND IS BLOWING JUST RIGHT, IT SLAMS SHUT. IT HAS HIT ME IN THE HEAD TWICE AND ONCE ON THE BRIDGE OF MY NOSE AND ALSO, IT HAS COME DOWN ON MY BROTHERS NOSE. I SURE HOPE YOU CAN HELP.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds