Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO - 1996 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 174 complaints filed for the 1996 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1996 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1996 CHEVROLET MONTE CARLO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Equipment (8) Seat Belts (4) Steering (8) Unknown Or Other (9)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (4) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (59) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes Air (3) Suspension (3) Visibility (4)
Engine (1) Fuel System Gasoline (17) Service Brakes Hydraulic (49) Tires (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (46) Power Train (11)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: MODULE

11/17/1999 - LEWISBURG, OH
WHILE DRIVING ENGINE CHECK LIGHT COMES ON. TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALER, AND THEY SAID THAT COOLANT WAS LEAKING ON THE SPARK PLUGS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, AIR: ANTILOCK

11/9/1999 - RANDOPH, MA
MY BRAKES HAD TO BE REPLACED AT 22,000 APPROX AND 46,000 AND EACH TIME I WAS TOLD THE REASON WAS POOR METAL--BY A MECHANIC AND SERVICE DIRECTOR--THE PADS WERE GONE AND THE ROTORS EATEN AWAY. I'VE BEEN DRIVING FOR CLOSE TO 50 YEARS W/O HAVING EXPERIENCED ANYTHING LIKE THIS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

11/3/1999 - CLARKSVILLE, TN
VEHICLE IS OVERHEATING AND THERE IS A CRACKED ENGINE HEAD GASKET. ALSO, ENGINE WON'T CRANK. VEHICLE HAS BEEN SERVICED FOR OVERHEATING, AND THE PROBLEM HAS RETURNED.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

10/5/1999 - FOLEY, AL
ANOTHER VEHICLE RAN INTO THE CONSUMER'S VEHICLE AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED, AND DRIVER'S SIDE/ PASSENGER'S SIDE AIR BAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

10/5/1999 - FOLEY, AL
ANOTHER VEHICLE RAN INTO THE CONSUMER'S VEHICLE AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED, AND DRIVER'S SIDE/ PASSENGER'S SIDE AIR BAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

10/5/1999 - FOLEY, AL
ANOTHER VEHICLE RAN INTO THE CONSUMER'S VEHICLE AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED, AND DRIVER'S SIDE/ PASSENGER'S SIDE AIR BAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: ROTOR

8/30/1999 - INDPLS, IN
FRONT BRAKE ROTORS WARPED, REPLACED BOTH CALIPERS AND ROTORS DUE TO WARPING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/26/1999 - EAST PEORIA, IL
ENGINE CHECK LIGHT KEEPS COMING ON & STAYING ON AFTER STARTING VEHICLE. HAD TAKEN TO DEALER AT LEAST 10 TIMES FOR PROBLEM. EACH TIME MECHANIC REPAIRED VEHICLE, BUT ENGINE CHECK LIGHT CONTINUES TO COME ON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: ALTERNATOR/GENERATOR/REGULATOR

8/5/1999 - SAULT STE. MARIE, MI
VEHICLE SUPPOSEDLY HAS 100,000 MILE SPARK PLUGS INSTALLED, BUT SPARK PLUG CABLES FAILED BELOW 60,000 MILES. CONTACTED CHEVROLET AND THEY TOLD ME IT WAS BECAUSE HOW I HAD THEM ROUTED, AND I HAD NEVER MOVED OR TOUCHED THEM SINCE I HAD BOUGHT THE CAR NEW. I WAS REALLY UPSET WITH THEIR EXPLANATION, OR "EXCUSE". AND TO HAVE AN ALTERNATOR GO BAD AT 76,000 MILES, I DON'T THINK SO.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: CABLES

8/2/1999 - ROCKY MOUNT, VA
ACCELERATOR CABLE HAS BROKEN TWICE, AT 33,000 MILES AND AT 49,000 MILES, CAUSING LOSS OF CONTROL.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds