Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2000 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 263 complaints filed for the 2000 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (65) Equipment (4) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Tires (26)
Child Seat (2) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (30) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (38) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (13) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (48) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/11/2019 - NORTH OLMSTED, OH
WHILE DRIVING AT BOTH CITY AND HIGHWAY CONDITIONS CAR WILL LOSE ALL POWER AND SHUT DOWN AND COAST TO A STOP.. WILL START UP AGAIN AFTER 5 TO10 EFFORTS TO START. THIS IS INTERRMITTENT PROBLEM. YOU CANNOT PREDICT WHEN IT WILL HAPPEN OR HOW OFTEN IT WILL OCCUR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/11/2019 - NORTH OLMSTED, OH
WHILE DRIVING AT BOTH CITY AND HIGHWAY CONDITIONS CAR WILL LOSE ALL POWER AND SHUT DOWN AND COAST TO A STOP.. WILL START UP AGAIN AFTER 5 TO10 EFFORTS TO START. THIS IS INTERRMITTENT PROBLEM. YOU CANNOT PREDICT WHEN IT WILL HAPPEN OR HOW OFTEN IT WILL OCCUR.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

4/17/2019 - MARYSVILLE, WA
I WAS INVOLVED IN A SINGLE CAR, WEATHER RELATED ACCIDENT. I WAS TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 35-40 MILES PER HOUR IN HEAVY SNOW. I WAS WEARING MY SEATBELT WHICH CAME UNLATCHED UPON INITIAL IMPACT WITH A GUARD RAIL ON THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE. MY CAR THEN CROSSED THE ROAD AND WENT INTO A DITCH, STRIKING SOME LARGE BOULDERS. THAT IMPACT WAS ON THE FRONT, DRIVER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY AND THE CAR WAS SIGNIFICANTLY DAMAGED AND DECLARED A TOTAL LOSS. I WAS INJURED WITH A BROKEN RIGHT ARM, BROKEN RIGHT LEG, NINE BROKEN RIBS AND SIGNIFICANT LACERATIONS TO MY HEAD AND RIGHT EAR FROM IMPACTING THE REAR VIEW MIRROR AND FRONT WINDSHIELD. I SPENT 12 DAYS IN A CRITICAL CARE UNIT AND 18 DAYS IN A REHABILITATION CENTER FOR PHYSICAL THERAPY. I HAD TO HAVE PLATES AND SCREWS INSTALLED IN MY LEG AND ARM TO REPAIR THE BROKEN BONES. MY HUSBAND INSPECTED AND TESTED THE DRIVER SEATBELT AND WHILE IT DID APPEAR TO HOLD ON SOME SOLID LATCHES OF THE BELT, WAS ABLE TO OBSERVE IT FAIL AND COME UNLATCHED AFTER HEARING A SOLID CLICK/LATCH SOUND AND THEN PULLING WITH HAND STRENGTH ON THE BELT HAVING IT COME UNLATCHED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/17/2019 - MARYSVILLE, WA
I WAS INVOLVED IN A SINGLE CAR, WEATHER RELATED ACCIDENT. I WAS TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 35-40 MILES PER HOUR IN HEAVY SNOW. I WAS WEARING MY SEATBELT WHICH CAME UNLATCHED UPON INITIAL IMPACT WITH A GUARD RAIL ON THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE. MY CAR THEN CROSSED THE ROAD AND WENT INTO A DITCH, STRIKING SOME LARGE BOULDERS. THAT IMPACT WAS ON THE FRONT, DRIVER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY AND THE CAR WAS SIGNIFICANTLY DAMAGED AND DECLARED A TOTAL LOSS. I WAS INJURED WITH A BROKEN RIGHT ARM, BROKEN RIGHT LEG, NINE BROKEN RIBS AND SIGNIFICANT LACERATIONS TO MY HEAD AND RIGHT EAR FROM IMPACTING THE REAR VIEW MIRROR AND FRONT WINDSHIELD. I SPENT 12 DAYS IN A CRITICAL CARE UNIT AND 18 DAYS IN A REHABILITATION CENTER FOR PHYSICAL THERAPY. I HAD TO HAVE PLATES AND SCREWS INSTALLED IN MY LEG AND ARM TO REPAIR THE BROKEN BONES. MY HUSBAND INSPECTED AND TESTED THE DRIVER SEATBELT AND WHILE IT DID APPEAR TO HOLD ON SOME SOLID LATCHES OF THE BELT, WAS ABLE TO OBSERVE IT FAIL AND COME UNLATCHED AFTER HEARING A SOLID CLICK/LATCH SOUND AND THEN PULLING WITH HAND STRENGTH ON THE BELT HAVING IT COME UNLATCHED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/22/2019 - SACRAMENTO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2000 HONDA CIVIC. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE DRIVER REAR ENDED THE PRECEDING VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS SEATED IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT AND HER AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY IN A TIMELY MANNER. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT'S HEAD STRUCK THE FRONT WINDSHIELD. WHEN IT DEPLOYED, THE PASSENGER AIR BAG CAUSED SKIN ABRASIONS ON THE LEFT FOREARM THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 137,589.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/4/2018 - CATAWBA, NC
CAR SHUTS DOWN- EGINE DIES AND ALL ELECTRICAL. THIS HAPPENS WHILE CAR IS GOING DOWN THE ROAD. I SEE THERE WAS/IS A RECALL FROM HONDA ON THIS ISSUE. TRYING TO DETERMINE IF STILL IN EFFECT. BOUGHT CAR FROM ORIGINAL OWNER

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/4/2018 - CATAWBA, NC
CAR COMPLETELY SHUTS DOWN WHILE GOING DOWN THE ROAD- I SEE THERE WAS/IS A RECALL BY HONDA OF A DEFECTIVE IGNITION SWITCH

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/15/2018 - LOS ANGELES, CA
CRACKING OF THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD AT LESS THAN 140,000 MILES

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/15/2018 - LOS ANGELES, CA
CRACKING OF THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD AT LESS THAN 140,000 MILES

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/10/2018 - JONESVILLE, VA
CAR IS SLUGGISH UP HILLS AND IS NOW STALLING AROUND TURNS WITH POWER STEERING GOING OFF. CAR IS A 5SPEED AND WHEN PUT ON GAS IT RESTARTS. MECHANIC REPLACED SPARK PLUGS AND CRANK SENSOR BUT PROBLEM GOT WORSE. WONDERING IF IGNITION SWITCH COULD BE ISSUE AS I SEE IT WAS AN ISSUE ON OTHER CIVIC MODELS. MECHANIC BOTH AT HONDA AND OUR PERSONAL COULD NOT FIGURE OUT WHAT+S WRONG AND PROBLEM KEEPS COMING UP DESPITE SUPPOSED FIXING. WE+VE SPENT OVER $1,000 ALREADY TRYING TO FIX IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds