Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2000 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 263 complaints filed for the 2000 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (65) Equipment (4) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Tires (26)
Child Seat (2) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (30) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (38) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (13) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (48) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (1)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

9/30/2004 - EASTON, PA
WHILE SITTING AT AN INTERSECTION CONSUMER'S VEHICLE REAR ENDED ANOTHER VEHICLE. UPON IMPACT, BOTH FRONTAL AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. THE WINDSHIELD WAS SHATTERED AND CRACKED. VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION, AND MECHANIC DETERMINED THAT THE AIR BAGS WERE SENSITIVE FOR THE MAKE/MODEL AND YEAR. AIR BAGS COULD NOT BE DEPLOYED IF NON SENSITIVE. THIS COULD NOT HAPPEN DUE TO THE COMPUTER SENDING OUT THE SIGNALS FOR THE DEPLOYMENT OF THE AIR BAGS . DRIVER SUSTAINED HEAD INJURIES.

View Details

TIRES

9/16/2004 - ALPHARETTA, GA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE ON A CLEAR DAY. ALL OF A SUDDEN, MY CAR STARTED FISH TAILING, AND I WAS UNABLE TO GET BACK IN CONTROL OF THE CAR. MY CAR SPUN AROUND 360 DEGREES TWICE, CRASHING INTO A CONCRETE MEDIAN. MY PASSENDER SIDE FRONT & REAR BUMPERS AS WELL AS MY FRONT & REAR QUARTER PANELS WERE CRUSHED. THE RIMS WERE ALSO BENT ON THE FRONT & REAR PASSENGER SIDE OF THE CAR. THIS WAS ALL THE RESULT OF A 2 BRAND NEW TOYO TIRES, ON THE REAR WHEELS, THAT HAD ONLY BEEN ON THE CAR 3 DAYS. THE NEW, PASSENGER SIDE, REAR TIRE BLEW OUT. THESE TIRES WERE: P185/65R14. DUE TO THE HOOD & TRUNK BEING SHIFTED, THE CAR BARELY AVOIDED BEING TOTALLED OUT DUE TO POTENTIAL STRUCTURAL DAMAGE UNDERNEATH.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/20/2004 - MEDWAY, MA
WHILE PULLING INTO A PARKING SPACE, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED AND LURCHED INTO THE AIR, RESULTING IN A COLLISION. THE CONSUMER'S FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE PEDAL WHEN THE ACCELERATION OCCURRED. THE DEALERSHIP WAS NOT PROVIDING ANY ASSISTANCE TO DETERMINE WHAT CAUSED THE FAILURE. ALSO THE DRIVER'S SIDE SEAT BELT FAILED TO RETRACT, IT WAS LOOSE. THIS RESULTED IN THE CONSUMER IMPACTING THE STEERING WHEEL. PRIOR TO THIS INCIDENT THE SEAT BELT RECALL REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED 3 TIMES. THE AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY AS WELL.

View Details

SEAT BELTS: FRONT: RETRACTOR

8/20/2004 - MEDWAY, MA
WHILE PULLING INTO A PARKING SPACE, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED AND LURCHED INTO THE AIR, RESULTING IN A COLLISION. THE CONSUMER'S FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE PEDAL WHEN THE ACCELERATION OCCURRED. THE DEALERSHIP WAS NOT PROVIDING ANY ASSISTANCE TO DETERMINE WHAT CAUSED THE FAILURE. ALSO THE DRIVER'S SIDE SEAT BELT FAILED TO RETRACT, IT WAS LOOSE. THIS RESULTED IN THE CONSUMER IMPACTING THE STEERING WHEEL. PRIOR TO THIS INCIDENT THE SEAT BELT RECALL REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED 3 TIMES. THE AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY AS WELL.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/20/2004 - MEDWAY, MA
WHILE PULLING INTO A PARKING SPACE, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED AND LURCHED INTO THE AIR, RESULTING IN A COLLISION. THE CONSUMER'S FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE PEDAL WHEN THE ACCELERATION OCCURRED. THE DEALERSHIP WAS NOT PROVIDING ANY ASSISTANCE TO DETERMINE WHAT CAUSED THE FAILURE. ALSO THE DRIVER'S SIDE SEAT BELT FAILED TO RETRACT, IT WAS LOOSE. THIS RESULTED IN THE CONSUMER IMPACTING THE STEERING WHEEL. PRIOR TO THIS INCIDENT THE SEAT BELT RECALL REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED 3 TIMES. THE AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY AS WELL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

7/1/2004 - RICHMOND, CA
AMERICAN HONDA MOTOR CORP. HAS REFUSED TO HONOR RECALL OF THE IGNITION SWITCH ON MY 2000 CIVIC, DESPITE THAT THE SYMPTOMS ARE EXACTLY AS DESCRIBED IN THEIR RECALL AND MODEL AND YEAR ARE CONSISTENT . THEY TELL ME MY VIN NUMBER IS NOT IN THE DESIGNATED SEQUENCE. THE CAR STALLS FOR NO REASON WHEN STOPPED AT LIGHTS, ETC. THIS IS DANGEROUS, AS ACKNOWLEDGED BY HONDA IN THEIR RECALL DESCRIPTION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: ROTOR

6/29/2004 - ASHEVILLE, NC
FRONT BRAKE ROTORS ARE CONTINUALLY WARPING. CAR HAS APPROXIMATELY 48,000 MILES ON THE ODOMETER AND AM NOW ON MY THIRD SET OF ROTORS. FIRST AND SECOND SET OF ROTORS WERE EACH RE-MACHINED PRIOR TO REPLACEMENT. SPOKE WITH HONDA CUSTOMER SERVICE AND WAS TOLD NOTHING THEY COULD DO SINCE THEY CANNOT VERIFY MY DRIVING HABITS. CAR HAS A MANUAL TRANSMISSION, SO I USE ENGINE BRAKING AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE TO AVOID OVERUSE OF THE BRAKES. AM AT THE POINT NOW WHERE I AM AFRAID TO USE THE BRAKES FOR FEAR OF CONSTANTLY WARPING THE ROTORS. HAVE DONE SOME INFORMAL RESEARCH AND APPEARS THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH VARIOUS HONDA MODELS, NOT JUST CIVIC. HONESTLY FEEL THAT I AM NOT HARD ON MY BRAKES, AND BELIEVE THIS IS MORE OF A DESIGN FLAW ON HONDA'S PART. HAVE NOT HAD ANY INJURIES ASSOCIATED WITH THIS PROBLEM YET, BUT IT IS ADVERSELY AFFECTING MY SUSPENSION AND STEERING COMPONENTS, NOT TO MENTION MY FINANCES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

6/23/2004 - PHOENIX, AZ
WHEN THE VEHICLE STOPPED AT A LIGHT OR STOP SIGN AND THEN TOOK OFF THERE WAS SEVERE HESITATION, AND VEHICLE SHUDDERED. AFTER THIS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES CONSUMER TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER. TRANSMISSION WAS FLUSHED THREE TIMES, AND VEHICLE WAS GIVEN BACK TO THE CONSUMER. THIS VEHICLE HAD THREE TRANSMISSIONS REPLACED, AND TWO TRANSMISSIONS OVERHAULED.

View Details

TIRES: SIDEWALL

6/21/2004 - KINGSTON, TN
I WAS PROCEEDING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH THROUGH A NEIGHBORHOOD WHEN THE FRONT LEFT TIRE OF MY CAR BLEW OUT. THE CONSEQUENCE WAS TEMOPRARY LOSS OF CONTROL OF MY CAR WHICH RESULTED IN MY CAR HITTING THE CURB AND DOING DAMAGE TO MY WHEELS. GOODYEAR INVESTIGATED AND STATED THAT THERE WAS A SUBSTANTIAL IMPACT CAUSING OVER-DEFLECTION OF THE TIRE AND FRACTURE OF THE STEAL BELT PACKAGE AND OR LINEAR MATERIAL. AS I WAS PRESENT, CLEARLY THE BLOWOUT TOOK PLACE PRIOR TO ANY IMPACT OF THE CAR. GOODYEAR DENIES ANY RESPONSIBILITY OR LIABILITY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

5/8/2004 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
I HAVE HAD QUITE A FEW PROBLEMS WITH THIS POORLY MADE VEHICLE. ONE, THE IGNITION SWITCH PROBLEM. I HAVE CALLED FOR HELP WITH NO SUCCESS. THANK YOU BY THE WAY HONDA! THE KEY GETS STUCK IN THE IGNITION AND NEEDS TO BE STARTED A COUPLE OF TIMES TO GET IT OUT. NEXT PROBLEM, THE CAR'S TRANSMISSION IS TERRIBLE. VERY JUMPY ON HIGHWAY, ENGINE IS QUITE CLUMSY ON REGULAR ROAD DRIVING. NOW THE MAIN PROBLEM WHY I HAVE COME HERE BECAUSE I FEEL I WAS WRONGED CONSIDERING I BOUGHT PRACTICALLY A NEW VEHICLE. (I WAS LESS THAN 2 YEARS OLD WHEN I HAD FIRST PURCHASED IT). THIS BEING MY FIRST NEWER VEHICLE, I GUESS I CAN SAY I OWNED OLDER CARS THAT HELD TOGETHER MUCH BETTER. THE CAR FOR THE PAST MONTH HAS BEEN VERY JUMPY ON THE HIGHWAY. IT FEELS LIKE IT WANTS TO STALL WHEN DRIVING, WHICH MAKES ME FEEL VERY ENDANGERED WHEN DRIVING. I RECENTLY FOUND OUT BY MY OWN EXPLORATION THAT THERE IS AN IGNITION SWITCH RECALL. ACCORDING TO THE HONDA.COM WEBSITE THAT I REGISTERED WITH, THERE IS NO SAFETY RECALLS, (WHERE THEY FAIL TO MENTION ALL OTHER RECALLS). NOTHING IS POSTED ON THIS. I HAVE BEEN TO NUMEROUS MECHANICS AND FINALLY MAY HAVE FOUND THAT THE IGNITOR IS BAD. FUNNY ENOUGH I KNOW 2 OTHER PEOPLE WITH HONDAS WHO HAVE REPLACED THEIR'S AT THEIR OWN EXPENSE. NOW, I CONTACTED THE LOCAL HONDA WITH NO HELP! THEY TO CALL AMERICAN HONDA (WHICH I DID) AND APPARENTLY HONDA DECIDED TO RECALL "SOME" OF THE CARS WITH THESE IGNITOR'S IN THEM. I WILL BE MAKING PLENTY OF CALLS TO GET HEARD. I THOUGHT THAT HONDA WAS A STABLE NAME. APPARENTLY NOT SINCE THERE IS PLENTY OF COMPLAINTS IN THE AIR (WHICH WOULD BE EXPECTED, BECAUSE THINGS DO GO WRONG). ANYWAY, I AM GLAD I GOT TO COMPLAIN HERE. HOPEFULLY I WILL BE HEARD. LET IT ALSO BE SAID, I AM A STRUGGLING COLLEGE STUDENT WHO WAS LOOKING TO ONLY BUY A STABLE CAR, AND INSTEAD GOT A WORLD OF HEADACHES!

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds