Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2000 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 263 complaints filed for the 2000 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (65) Equipment (4) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Tires (26)
Child Seat (2) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (30) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (38) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (13) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (48) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (1)

Pages:  
<<  16  17  18  19  20  21  22 
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

10/13/2000 - GREENCASTLE, PA
UNEVEN HEADLIGHTS AT NIGHTTIME, THE RIGHT SHINES OUT FARTHER THAN LEFT, IT BECOMES TOTALLY DARK ON THE DRIVERS SIDE AT THE DOUBLE YELLOW LINE ON A SINGLE LANE HIGHWAY, WHEN YOU TURN ON THE BRIGHT LIGHTS THERE IS FOUR SHADES OF BRIGHT LIGHT WHEN TRAFFIC IS COMING THE OPPOSITE WAY. THE CAR IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY, WHY DOES THE HAGERSTOWN HONDA REFUSE TO REPLACE ENTIRE ASSEMBLY. WHAT ARE MY RIGHTS TO GETTING THIS FIXED????

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

10/13/2000 - GREENCASTLE, PA
UNEVEN HEADLIGHTS AT NIGHTTIME, THE RIGHT SHINES OUT FARTHER THAN LEFT, IT BECOMES TOTALLY DARK ON THE DRIVERS SIDE AT THE DOUBLE YELLOW LINE ON A SINGLE LANE HIGHWAY, WHEN YOU TURN ON THE BRIGHT LIGHTS THERE IS FOUR SHADES OF BRIGHT LIGHT WHEN TRAFFIC IS COMING THE OPPOSITE WAY. THE CAR IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY, WHY DOES THE HAGERSTOWN HONDA REFUSE TO REPLACE ENTIRE ASSEMBLY. WHAT ARE MY RIGHTS TO GETTING THIS FIXED????

View Details

EQUIPMENT: ELECTRICAL: RADIO/TAPE DECK/CD ETC.

10/11/2000 - OLATHE, KS
THE LCD DISPLAY IN THE CD RADIO IS UNREADABLE UNDER MOST ALL LIGHTING CONDITIONS, BUTTON LABELS ARE SO SMALL THEY CAN'T BE READ. THIS CREATES A SIGNIFIGANT POTENTENTIAL HAZARD IN OPERATING IT. SINCE IT IS A PART OF THE VEHICLE, IT SEEMS IT IS AN ISSUE FOR YOUR ORGANIZATION VS A CONSUMER ELECTRONICS ISSUE, BUT IT IS SOMEWHAT BOTH. FACTORY OEM RADIOS HAVE MUCH BETTER DISPLAY, BUT ARE THEY REQUIRED TO, BUT AFTERMARKET SEEM TO HAVE NO STANDARDS AND I THINK THEY SHOULD. DO THEY. THE UNIT I HAVE IS A CLARION MODEL RDB365D.

View Details

TIRES

10/5/2000 - HUNTERSVILLE, NC
JUST AFTER MERGING ONTO THE HIGHWAY AND REACHING FULL SPEED, AHUMMING NOISE WAS HEARD WITHOUT ANY NOTICEABLE VIBRATION. WITHIN A FEW SECONDS, WHILE SLOWING TO ALLOW TRAFFIC TO CLEAR, THE DRIVER'S SIDE REAR TIRE FAILED. I HEARD A LOUD EXPOSION AND SAW RUBBER FRAGMENTS OVER MY LEFT SHOULDER. LUCKILY, I WAS ABLE TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE AND QUICKLY PULL OFF THE HIGHWAY. UPON INSPECTION, ONLY THE OUTER EDGE OF THE TIRE REMAINED ON THE RIM. THE ENTIRE TREAD PORTION OF THE TIRE WAS GONE. ALL FOUR TIRES HAD ADEQUATE PRESSURE, WERE ROTATED AT 7500 MILES BY HENRICK HONDA, AND WERE ORIGINAL EQUIPMENT WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED NEW LATE LAST YEAR. I IMMEDIATELY CONTACTED FIRESTONE AND FOLLOWING THEIR INSTRUCTIONS TO FILE A CLAIM. RECENTLY, I RECEIVED A LETTER FROM FIRESTONE DENYING MY REQUEST FOR COMPENSATION, SITING INSUFFICIENT AIR PRESSURE EVIDENCED BY THE TATTERED SIDEWALLS AND MELTED INNER LINER. AS I STATED PREVIOUSLY, THESE TIRES WERE NOT LOW ON PRESSURE AND WERE KEPT IN EXCELLENT CONDITION. THE SEVERITY OF THIS FAILURE COUPLED WITH FIRESTONE'S UNWILLINGNESS TO PROVIDE ANY COMPENSATION IS THE REASON I'M FILING THIS COMPLAINT. I TRULY BELIEVE THAT IF ONE OF THE FRONT TIRES HAD FAILED, I WOULD HAVE SUFFERED A SERIOUS OR FATAL INJURY. (DOT NUMBER: VN7JMNH379 TIRESIZE: 18565R14)

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

8/12/2000 - VACAVILLE, CA
WHAT DOES IT TAKE TO PUT NHTSA INTO ACTION. MFG. UNABLE TO REPAIR VEH. MFG. DEALERSHIP DAMAGED CAR ATTEMPTING TO PRY ENG AND SUSPENSION TO ALIGN STEERING. MFG. DESIGN FLAW AFFECTING ALL CIVIC MODELS. POOR ALIGNMENT RUINED 3RD SET TIRES BEFORE 20K MILES ON VEHICLE. VEH AVAIL FOR TEST DRIVE TO NHTSA OFFICIALS. PLS RESPOND, URGENT/SERIOUS PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

8/10/2000 - ANNANDALE, PA
VEHICLE WAS IN AN HEAD-ON COLLISION AT 35 MPH, AND AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. HONDA WAS CONTACTED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/25/2000 - BOSSIER, LA
I HAVE HAD A TOTAL OF 5 CD PLAYERS IN STALLED, STILL NO WORKING RADIO! I HAVE ALSO BEEN SHOCKED SEVERAL TIMES AND MY CAR WAS PULLING TO THE RIGHT 2 DAYS AFTER PURCHASE WHEN TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER THEY SAID IT WAS JUST A LIGHT WEIGHT CAR!

View Details

EQUIPMENT: ELECTRICAL: RADIO/TAPE DECK/CD ETC.

4/25/2000 - BOSSIER, LA
I HAVE HAD A TOTAL OF 5 CD PLAYERS IN STALLED, STILL NO WORKING RADIO! I HAVE ALSO BEEN SHOCKED SEVERAL TIMES AND MY CAR WAS PULLING TO THE RIGHT 2 DAYS AFTER PURCHASE WHEN TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER THEY SAID IT WAS JUST A LIGHT WEIGHT CAR!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/12/2000 - ANAHEIM, CA
ENGINE CHECK LIGHT WOULD INTERMITTENTLY COME ON. VEHICLE BEEN IN/OUT OF DEALER SHOP, AND PROBLEM IS REOCCURRING.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

4/7/2000 - VIENNA, VA
WHILE DRIVING ON RURAL ROAD VEHICLE SPUN OUT OF CONTROL DUE TO SLIPPERY ROADS, HITTING A FENCE HEAD-ON, NEITHER AIRBAG DEPLOYED. CONTACTED MANUFACTURER.

View Details
Pages:  <<  16  17  18  19  20  21  22 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds