Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2000 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 263 complaints filed for the 2000 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (65) Equipment (4) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Tires (26)
Child Seat (2) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (30) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (38) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (13) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (48) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/17/2014 - SAN RAMON, CA
THIS IS REGARDING MY HONDA CIVIC 2000, PLEASE LET US KNOW THE AIR BAGS AND THE HEADLIGHTS REPLACEABLE. LET ME KNOW WHOM TO CONTACT. YOUR EARLIER REPLY IN THIS REGARDS WILL BE HIGHLY APPRECIATED. VIN# [XXX]. I CALL HONDA AND LOCAL DEALER NO RESPONSE. PLEASE HELP ME IN THIS REGARDS. THANKS ON HONDA WEBSITE *********************TENT STA*************************************************************************************** A MESSAGE TO OUR CUSTOMERS ABOUT TAKATA AIRBAGS 10/28/2014 REVISED: 11/06/2014 HONDA IS COMMITTED TO ADDRESSING THE NEEDS AND CONCERNS OF OUR CUSTOMERS AND MAKING CLEAR THAT WE STAND BEHIND THE SAFETY AND QUALITY OF OUR PRODUCTS. WE WANT TO REASSURE OUR CUSTOMERS THAT HONDA HAS AN ONGOING CUSTOMER SERVICE PROCEDURE THAT ADDRESSES EACH CUSTOMER-++S NEEDS AND CONCERNS. FOR CUSTOMERS CONCERNED ABOUT THE ISSUE OF TAKATA AIRBAGS IN CERTAIN HONDA AND ACURA VEHICLES, OUR CUSTOMER SERVICE WILL MAKE ARRANGEMENTS FOR, AS APPROPRIATE, THE REPLACEMENT OF AIRBAG INFLATORS AND THE PROVISION OF OR REIMBURSEMENT FOR TEMPORARY ALTERNATIVE TRANSPORTATION. FOR ANYONE WHO OWNS ONE OF OUR VEHICLES AND IS CONCERNED, WE ENCOURAGE THEM TO VISIT RECALLS.HONDA.COM OR CALL 1-800-999-1009, OPTION 4, AND RECALLS.ACURA.COM OR CALL 1-800-382-2238, OPTION 4. WE ENCOURAGE CUSTOMERS WITH AN AFFECTED VEHICLE TO TAKE IMMEDIATE ACTION TO HAVE THEIR VEHICLE SERVICED AT THEIR AUTHORIZED DEALERSHIP. **************************************TENT E*********************************************************************** INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/17/2014 - SAN RAMON, CA
THIS IS REGARDING MY HONDA CIVIC 2000, PLEASE LET US KNOW THE AIR BAGS AND THE HEADLIGHTS REPLACEABLE. LET ME KNOW WHOM TO CONTACT. YOUR EARLIER REPLY IN THIS REGARDS WILL BE HIGHLY APPRECIATED. VIN# [XXX]. I CALL HONDA AND LOCAL DEALER NO RESPONSE. PLEASE HELP ME IN THIS REGARDS. THANKS ON HONDA WEBSITE *********************TENT STA*************************************************************************************** A MESSAGE TO OUR CUSTOMERS ABOUT TAKATA AIRBAGS 10/28/2014 REVISED: 11/06/2014 HONDA IS COMMITTED TO ADDRESSING THE NEEDS AND CONCERNS OF OUR CUSTOMERS AND MAKING CLEAR THAT WE STAND BEHIND THE SAFETY AND QUALITY OF OUR PRODUCTS. WE WANT TO REASSURE OUR CUSTOMERS THAT HONDA HAS AN ONGOING CUSTOMER SERVICE PROCEDURE THAT ADDRESSES EACH CUSTOMER-++S NEEDS AND CONCERNS. FOR CUSTOMERS CONCERNED ABOUT THE ISSUE OF TAKATA AIRBAGS IN CERTAIN HONDA AND ACURA VEHICLES, OUR CUSTOMER SERVICE WILL MAKE ARRANGEMENTS FOR, AS APPROPRIATE, THE REPLACEMENT OF AIRBAG INFLATORS AND THE PROVISION OF OR REIMBURSEMENT FOR TEMPORARY ALTERNATIVE TRANSPORTATION. FOR ANYONE WHO OWNS ONE OF OUR VEHICLES AND IS CONCERNED, WE ENCOURAGE THEM TO VISIT RECALLS.HONDA.COM OR CALL 1-800-999-1009, OPTION 4, AND RECALLS.ACURA.COM OR CALL 1-800-382-2238, OPTION 4. WE ENCOURAGE CUSTOMERS WITH AN AFFECTED VEHICLE TO TAKE IMMEDIATE ACTION TO HAVE THEIR VEHICLE SERVICED AT THEIR AUTHORIZED DEALERSHIP. **************************************TENT E*********************************************************************** INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/6/2014 - SAN RAMON, CA
THIS IS REGARDING MY HONDA CIVIC 2000, PLEASE LET US KNOW THE AIR BAGS AND THE HEADLIGHTS REPLACEABLE. LET ME KNOW WHOM TO CONTACT. YOUR EARLIER REPLY IN THIS REGARDS WILL BE HIGHLY APPRECIATED. VIN#[XXX] THANKS INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/6/2014 - SAN RAMON, CA
THIS IS REGARDING MY HONDA CIVIC 2000, PLEASE LET US KNOW THE AIR BAGS AND THE HEADLIGHTS REPLACEABLE. LET ME KNOW WHOM TO CONTACT. YOUR EARLIER REPLY IN THIS REGARDS WILL BE HIGHLY APPRECIATED. VIN#[XXX] THANKS INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/27/2014 - GREENSBORO, NC
HAVE TROUBLE STARTING CAR SOMETIMES,WHILE I'M DRIVING CAR JUST GOES DEAD,HAVE TO KEEP MOVING THE KEY TO GET IT STARTED. ON GOING PROBLEM.

View Details

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

9/15/2014 - PACIFIC PALISADES, CA
PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW WAS STUCK IN THE OPEN POSITION. MECHANIC (AAA-LISTED) DIAGNOSED MASTER WINDOW SWITCH, INSTALLED NEW OEM MASTER WINDOW SWITCH. THIS WEEK, SEPT. 2014, LESS THAN A YEAR AFTER THE REPAIR, THE SAME WINDOW IS STUCK IN THE CLOSED POSITION. I AM REPORTING B/C 5 HOURS RESEARCHING THIS ISSUE ONLINE INDICATES THE PROBLEM TO BE PERVASIVE, ONGOING AND DIFFICULT TO DIAGNOSE. REPAIRS CAN BE VERY EXPENSIVE, CAUSING SOME OWNERS TO JUST LEAVE THE WINDOW CLOSED. I CAN FIND NO RECALLS FROM HONDA. OBVIOUSLY, AN OPEN WINDOW IS DANGEROUS B/C ANYONE CAN ACCESS THE CAR OR THE DRIVER. A CLOSED WINDOW IS DANGEROUS IF ESCAPE IS NECESSARY. I FEEL HONDA SHOULD ISSUE A RECALL AND REPAIR THE PROBLEM. THANK YOU.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/15/2014 - PACIFIC PALISADES, CA
PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW WAS STUCK IN THE OPEN POSITION. MECHANIC (AAA-LISTED) DIAGNOSED MASTER WINDOW SWITCH, INSTALLED NEW OEM MASTER WINDOW SWITCH. THIS WEEK, SEPT. 2014, LESS THAN A YEAR AFTER THE REPAIR, THE SAME WINDOW IS STUCK IN THE CLOSED POSITION. I AM REPORTING B/C 5 HOURS RESEARCHING THIS ISSUE ONLINE INDICATES THE PROBLEM TO BE PERVASIVE, ONGOING AND DIFFICULT TO DIAGNOSE. REPAIRS CAN BE VERY EXPENSIVE, CAUSING SOME OWNERS TO JUST LEAVE THE WINDOW CLOSED. I CAN FIND NO RECALLS FROM HONDA. OBVIOUSLY, AN OPEN WINDOW IS DANGEROUS B/C ANYONE CAN ACCESS THE CAR OR THE DRIVER. A CLOSED WINDOW IS DANGEROUS IF ESCAPE IS NECESSARY. I FEEL HONDA SHOULD ISSUE A RECALL AND REPAIR THE PROBLEM. THANK YOU.

View Details

ENGINE

4/8/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 365 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THERE WERE NO WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURE WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 116,000.

View Details

TIRES

3/25/2014 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 HONDA CIVIC EQUIPPED WITH GOODYEAR ASSURANCE COMFORTRED TIRES, SIZE: P185/65/R14. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER'S SIDE REAR TIRE EXHIBITED AN INDENTATION IN THE SIDE WALL, AS WELL AS EXCESSIVE WEAR. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE REAR PASSENGER'S TIRE WAS DEFLATED. THE TIRE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT AUTO SHOP. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE DEFECTS. THE CONTACT NOTIFIED THE MANUFACTURER OF THE FAILURE. THE TIRE WAS REPLACED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/14/2014 - CYPRESS, TX
I AM A UNSUSPECTING CONSUMER THAT BOUGHT A VEHICLE THAT WAS FOR SALE WITHOUT DISCLOSURE OF THE TRUE CONDITION INCLUDING BRAND HISTORY. I PURCHASE AN UNSAFE CAR FOR MY DAUGHTER AND THE SECOND DAY THE BRAKE FAIL AND THE STEERING WHEEL STIFFNESS. MY DAUGHTER TOOK IT FOR A OIL CHANGE MY MECHANIC SAID IT HAVE A LOT OF PROBLEMS OIL LEAK, AXLE DAMAGE, SUSPENSION NOISE. I TOOK IT TO HAVE THE MUFFLER CHECK MY MECHANIC SAID THE MUFFLER HAD A ROTTEN PIPE AND TWO DONUT GASKET THAT NEED TO REPLACED WHICH I DID. THE CODE PRESENT P1259 - VTEC SOLENOID AND OXYGEN SENSOR. I REQUESTED THE CAR FAX AND IT SAID THAT IT HAD THREE MINOR ACCIDENTS, THREE OWNERS, MILEAGE INCONSISTENCY. MY DAUGHTER SAID WHILE DRIVING THE CAR THE SPEED ODOMETER ONLY GOES TO SIXTY MILES WHEN SPEED UP AND IT WILL NOT GO ANY FURTHER. I NEVER SAW A TITLE, SIGN A TRANSFER FORM, OR GO DOWN WITH HIM TO THE COURT HOUSE TO GET THE STICKER AND TRANSFER PAPER WORK. MY DAUGHTER HAD TO JUMP OUT OF THE CAR WHILE PARKING THE CAR. IT STARTED SMOKING LIKE IT WAS ON FIRE. I INFORMED [XXX] THAT THE CAR WAS A JUNK AND I WANTED MY MONEY BACK. IT HAS BEEN THIRTEEN DAYS SINCE I PURCHASE THE CAR AND I HAVE NOT GOT MY MONEY BACK. HE MADE SURE THAT THE ADDRESS WHERE HE IS LOCATED WAS WRITTEN WRONG, THE NAME OF HIS BUSINESS WAS INCORRECT, THE VIN NO. WAS WRITTEN INCORRECT, THE ODOMETER AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE WAS NOT DOCUMENTED ON THE BUYERS OWNER INVOICE. I PURCHASE THIS CAR AT A EXXON GAS STATION. I SENT HIM A DEMAND LETTER AND I HAVE NOT GOTTEN ANY RESPONSE. THE CAR IS PARKED INFRONT OF MY HOME AND MY DAUGHTER CANNOT DRIVE THE CAR. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds