Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2000 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 263 complaints filed for the 2000 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (65) Equipment (4) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Tires (26)
Child Seat (2) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (30) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (38) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (13) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (48) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

11/7/2009 - HOPKINS , MN
I HAD A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT INDICATING A BAD CATALYTIC CONVERTER ON MY 2000 HONDA CIVIC. THE CAT WAS REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY BY THE DEALER IN MARCH '08 ONLY TO HAVE THE EXACT SAME SCENARIO REPEATED IN JULY '08. NOW I'M FACING THE SAME SITUATION AGAIN. SO IN SUMMARY, THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER HAS NOW BEEN REPLACED 3 TIMES IN A 20 MONTH PERIOD. FROM ALL MY RESEARCH THIS IS VERY RARE. MY SUSPICIONS ARE THAT THE ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULE (ECM) IS DEFECTIVE AND TRULY THE ROOT OF THE PROBLEM. HOWEVER, I BELIEVE THAT THE DEALER HAS PURPOSELY AVOIDED REVEALING THE ECM AS POSSIBLE CAUSE AS IT WOULD BE A COSTLY REPAIR FOR THEM AS THE ECM FALLS UNDER EPA EMISSIONS WARRANTY..

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

7/1/2009 - NORCO, CA
I BOUGHT A USED 2000 HONDA CIVIC DX THAT WOULD SPUTTER VERY QUICKLY SPORADICALLY. IT BECAME MORE FREQUENT AS I DROVE IT MORE. NOW IT WILL JUST SHUT DOWN AND HAVE TO SIT BEFORE IT WILL START AGAIN. THIS IS VERY, VERY DANGEROUS TO ME AND MY DAUGHTER AS WE WORK THE NIGHT SHIFT AND HAVE HAD THIS HAPPEN TO US ON THE FREEWAY. WE COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED, OR KILLED OTHERS IF THEY WOULD HAVE HIT US IN THE MIDDLE OF THE FREEWAY! AS I'M FINDING OUT, THERE IS SOME KIND OF UNOFFICIAL RECALL ON THE HONDA'S IGNITION SWITCHES. IS THIS TRUE? WE NEED TO GET TO THE BOTTOM OF THIS, AS I HAVE HAD IT PUT ON A DIAGNOSTIC MACHINE AND IT DOESN'T READ ANY CODES BEING DEFECTIVE.....IT WON'T UNLESS IT'S DOING IT AT THE TIME. WHAT CAN I DO?

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

6/28/2009 - ARLINGTON, TX
2000 HONDA CIVIC DX-VP O2 SENSOR FAILED AT 125,000 MILES DUE TO A CRACKED EXHAUST MANIFOLD AT THE SENSOR - NO INFORMATION AS TO HOW MUCH EARLIER THE CRACK MIGHT HAVE OCCURRED BEFORE THE SENSOR WAS DAMAGED. THE SENSOR FAILURE GENERATES AN ERROR CODE AND CAUSES THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TO COME ON, AND CREATES ROUGH IDLING AND STALLING IN TRAFFIC, CREATING SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUES. THE VEHICLE WILL NOT PASS THE STATE EMISSIONS INSPECTION IN THAT CONDITION. THE ONLY WAY TO CORRECT THE ISSUE IS TO REPLACE THE CRACKED EXHAUST MANIFOLD AND CATALYTIC CONVERTER ASSEMBLY ALONG WITH THE O2 SENSOR. HONDA WAS CONTACTED AND DENIES KNOWLEDGE OF ANY SIGNIFICANT ISSUES WITH CRACKED MANIFOLDS AND SENSOR FAILURES ON 2000 HONDA CIVICS AND REFUSES TO PROVIDE ANY ASSISTANCE WITH REPAIRS. IT IS WELL DOCUMENTED THAT THE CRACKED MANIFOLD IS A SIGNIFICANT PROBLEM ON CIVICS ON ALL MODEL YEARS FROM 1996 TO 2003. HONDA ISSUED EXTENDED WARRANTIES ON MANY OF THESE MODEL YEARS THAT FAILS TO PROVIDE ANY ASSISTANCE TO MOST OWNERS, SINCE THE DEFECT COMMONLY APPEARS OUTSIDE OF THE EXTENDED WARRANTY PERIOD. HONDA AND IT'S DEALERS ARE ALSO BEING ALLOWED TO GENERATE ADDITIONAL REVENUES FROM THE SALE OF REPLACEMENT MANIFOLDS AND INSTALLATION TO CORRECT THE VERY DEFECT THAT IT CREATED. THIS DEFECT HAS NOT YET BEEN CORRECTED ON MY VEHICLE DUE TO THE EXPENSE INVOLVED ($1000) AND THE VEHICLE INSPECTION NOT EXPIRING UNTIL AUGUST. THIS IS CLEARLY A WELL DOCUMENTED DEFECT FOR WHICH HONDA SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE. HONDA SHOULD BE REQUIRED TO MAKE THE REPAIRS OR PROVIDE SOME TYPE OF ASSISTANCE OR COMPENSATION TO THE OWNERS FOR THE REPAIRS, WHICH ARE NECESSARY IN ORDER TO PASS STATE VEHICLE INSPECTION AND KEEP THE VEHICLE OPERATING LEGALLY, AND TO PREVENT SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUES FROM THE STALLS IN TRAFFIC.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

5/24/2009 - KYLE, TX
TOOK MY CAR IN FOR REGULAR SERVICE, IMMEDIATELY AFTER PICKING IT UP, CAR KEPT RATTLING & SPUTTERING. CAME BACK IN AND THEY STATED "SUDDENLY" THE MANIFOLD WAS CRACKED & THE BOLT FOR THE HEAT SHIELD WAS BROKEN OFF. LOOKED ONLINE & SAW THAT THERE ARE MANY MANY ISSUES WITH CRACKED MANIFOLDS WITH CIVICS, SO MUCH THAT A HANDFUL OF MODEL YEARS (BUT NOT MINE) WAS RECALLED. MINE IS JUST CONSIDERED OUT OF WARRANTY, & IS NOW A SAFETY (FUMES CAN CAUSE SICKNESS) & ENVIRONMENTAL ISSUE. GIVEN HOW I BABIED THIS CAR, THE ONLY REASON THIS WOULD HAVE CRACKED IS EITHER A MAJOR DESIGN FLAW/WEAKNESS (OR THE MECHANICS REALLY MESSED UP MY CAR). SINCE IT'S SUCH A MAJOR REPORTED (IGNORED) ISSUE, IT'S CLEARLY A DESIGN FLAW.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

1/21/2009 - ROSEMEAD, CA
CAR HAS BEEN RUNNING FINE SINCE I HAD PURCHASED IT AS A SECONDHAND VEHICLE. AT 130,XXX MILES, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, UPON USING A OBD2 SCANNER, IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE PRIMARY OXYGEN SENSOR HEATER HAS MALFUNCTIONED. WHEN THE HEAT SHIELD TO THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD WAS REMOVED, A HUGE CRACK ABOUT 2 INCHES WAS FOUND IN THE CENTER OF THE MANIFOLD ABOVE THE OXYGEN SENSOR.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

9/9/2008 - MADISON, WI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 HONDA CIVIC. WHILE TURNING A CORNER BETWEEN 60-70 MPH, THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND STRUCK A DIRT BANK ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. HIS HEAD STRUCK THE WINDSHIELD AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUFFERED A CONCUSSION AND HAD A CUT/BRUISE ON HIS FOREHEAD FROM STRIKING THE WINDSHIELD. THE FRONT END AND REAR OF THE VEHICLE WERE DAMAGED. THE CONTACT DOES NOT KNOW WHAT HAPPENED AFTER THE CRASH BECAUSE HE BLACKED OUT. A PASSERBY WOKE HIM UP AND CALLED 911. THE CONTACT DID NOT KNOW HOW LONG HE WAS UNCONSCIOUS. THE VEHICLE WAS RENDERED AS DESTROYED. THE POLICE ARRIVED AND FILED A REPORT. THERE WERE NO OTHER PASSENGERS IN THE VEHICLE AND THE CONTACT WAS WEARING HIS SEAT BELT AT THE TIME OF THE CRASH. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 108,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

8/27/2008 - WAGGAMAN, LA
I HAVE A 2000 HONDA CIVIC DX. MY TRANSMISSION GAVE ME NO WARNING IT WAS ABOUT TO GO OUT. I BOUGHT IT BRAND NEW WITH ONLY 10 MILES ON IT. IT NOW HAS 116,000 MILES ON IT. I KEPT UP WITH THE MAINTENANCE. WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON TOP OF A BRIDGE THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. THEN ABOUT 5 MILES DOWN THE ROAD I STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT. WHEN IT TURNED GREEN MY TRANSMISSION STARTED SLIPPING. I COASTED TO THE ENTRANCE OF A GAS STATION. I WAS BLOCKING TRAFFIC. I TURNED THE CAR OFF. I WAITED 2 MINUTES TURNED THE CAR BACK ON. IT WENT FOR ABOUT A MILE THEN IT STARTED SLIPPING AGAIN. I HAD IT TOWED HOME. IT'S BEEN PARKED EVER SINCE. I BEEN HAVING TO FIND A RIDE TO WORK AND TO DO ERRANDS. I BEEN TOLD THAT IT IS OUT OF WARRANTY. THAT THE COSTS WOULD BE OVER $2500.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

8/15/2008 - CINCINNATI, OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT SMELLED FUMES WHENEVER THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN. SPEED WAS NOT A FACTOR. APPROXIMATELY THREE MONTHS LATER, THE OXYGEN SENSOR FAILED AND THE CONTACT DISCOVERED A CRACK IN THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 114,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. UPDATED 09/10/08 UPDATED 09/17/08.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

7/27/2008 - WEST SACRAMENTO, CA
I WAS AT A STOP LIGHT AND HAD THE A/C RUNNING IT WAS WORKING FINE AND BLOWING COLD. WHILE ACCELERATING THE LIGHT I HEARD A LOUD METAL NOISE AND THUMP AND THE AIR CONDITIONER STARTED BLOWING HOT. I TOOK THE CAR TO A DEALER AND THEY INFORMED ME THAT PART OF THE AIR CONDITIONER FELL OFF, THE FAN CLUTCH????, I AM NOT A MECHANIC BUT I HAVE NEVER HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE AIR CONDITIONER AN I KNOW PARTS OF A CAR SHOULD NOT FALL OFF WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. THE AIR CONDITIONER HAS NEVER BEEN WORKED ON AND THE CAR IS SERVICED REGULAR, THE CAR ONLY HAS 87,000 MILES. I AM BEING TOLD IT WILL BE ABOUT 1,400.00 DOLLARS TO HAVE THIS REPAIRED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/3/2008 - ALLEN, TX
WHILE DRVING THE VEHICLE, THE ENGINE JUST QUITS. IT HAPPENED 3 TIMES TODAY. IT IS VERY DANGEROUS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds