Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2000 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 263 complaints filed for the 2000 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (65) Equipment (4) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Tires (26)
Child Seat (2) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (30) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (38) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (13) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (48) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

5/23/2008 - LAS VEGAS, NV
I HAVE NEVER HAD AN ISSUE WITH MY 2000 HONDA CIVIC SI BECAUSE I HAD THE RECOMMENDED MAINTENANCE PERFORMED , OIL CHANGES EVERY 3000-4000 MILES AND ON MAY 17TH, 2000 HONDA CIVIC SI WITH ONLY 60,000 MILES-BLOWN HEAD GASKET...THE CAR IS AT HONDA WEST PENDING-A GOODWILL CONCESSION FROM HONDA.

View Details

AIR BAGS: SIDE/WINDOW

5/6/2008 - BEAUMONT, TX
I WAS INVOLVED IN A HORRIBLE CAR CRASH ON MARCH 15, 2008. AN 18-WHEELER SWERVED INTO MY LANE WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. WHEN THE 18-WHEELER SWERVED, THE BACK OF HIS LOAD HIT (THE 1ST) TIME ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. I WAS THEN SUCKED UNDERNEATH THE 18-WHEELER, FLIPPED SEVERAL TIMES WHILE BEING DRUG FOR 100 YARDS STILL UNDERNEATH THE 18-WHEELER THE ENTIRE TIME. ONCE THE VEHICLE STOPPED, I WAS UPSIDE DOWN HANGING FROM THE 18-WHEELER. THE AIRBAGS IN MY 2000 HONDA CIVIC NEVER DEPLOYED FROM ANY SIDE. I WAS HIT WITH A MAJOR IMPACT AT EVERY ANGLE UPSIDE DOWN AND ALL AROUND. THE ER MEDICAL HAD TO DO ON-SITE PROCEDURES DUE TO THE DAMAGE TO MY HEAD, ARM, AND LEG. THEY WERE UNABLE TO TAKE MY SEATBELT OFF, IT HAD TO BE CUT OFF. I HAD A PROBLEMS IN THE PAST WITH MY DRIVER'S SIDE SEATBELT GETTING STUCK. ON A NORMAL DAY, I NORMALLY WOULD HAVE RO JERK THE SEALTBELT OFF OF ME. PLEASE ADVISE ME ON THIS SITUATION. I AM JUST NOW BEING ABLE TO REPORT THE AIRBAG SITUATION BECAUSE I HAVE BEEN IN THE HOSPITAL DUE TO THE TERRIBLE ACCIDENT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/6/2008 - BEAUMONT, TX
I WAS INVOLVED IN A HORRIBLE CAR CRASH ON MARCH 15, 2008. AN 18-WHEELER SWERVED INTO MY LANE WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. WHEN THE 18-WHEELER SWERVED, THE BACK OF HIS LOAD HIT (THE 1ST) TIME ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. I WAS THEN SUCKED UNDERNEATH THE 18-WHEELER, FLIPPED SEVERAL TIMES WHILE BEING DRUG FOR 100 YARDS STILL UNDERNEATH THE 18-WHEELER THE ENTIRE TIME. ONCE THE VEHICLE STOPPED, I WAS UPSIDE DOWN HANGING FROM THE 18-WHEELER. THE AIRBAGS IN MY 2000 HONDA CIVIC NEVER DEPLOYED FROM ANY SIDE. I WAS HIT WITH A MAJOR IMPACT AT EVERY ANGLE UPSIDE DOWN AND ALL AROUND. THE ER MEDICAL HAD TO DO ON-SITE PROCEDURES DUE TO THE DAMAGE TO MY HEAD, ARM, AND LEG. THEY WERE UNABLE TO TAKE MY SEATBELT OFF, IT HAD TO BE CUT OFF. I HAD A PROBLEMS IN THE PAST WITH MY DRIVER'S SIDE SEATBELT GETTING STUCK. ON A NORMAL DAY, I NORMALLY WOULD HAVE RO JERK THE SEALTBELT OFF OF ME. PLEASE ADVISE ME ON THIS SITUATION. I AM JUST NOW BEING ABLE TO REPORT THE AIRBAG SITUATION BECAUSE I HAVE BEEN IN THE HOSPITAL DUE TO THE TERRIBLE ACCIDENT.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

5/6/2008 - BEAUMONT, TX
I WAS INVOLVED IN A HORRIBLE CAR CRASH ON MARCH 15, 2008. AN 18-WHEELER SWERVED INTO MY LANE WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. WHEN THE 18-WHEELER SWERVED, THE BACK OF HIS LOAD HIT (THE 1ST) TIME ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. I WAS THEN SUCKED UNDERNEATH THE 18-WHEELER, FLIPPED SEVERAL TIMES WHILE BEING DRUG FOR 100 YARDS STILL UNDERNEATH THE 18-WHEELER THE ENTIRE TIME. ONCE THE VEHICLE STOPPED, I WAS UPSIDE DOWN HANGING FROM THE 18-WHEELER. THE AIRBAGS IN MY 2000 HONDA CIVIC NEVER DEPLOYED FROM ANY SIDE. I WAS HIT WITH A MAJOR IMPACT AT EVERY ANGLE UPSIDE DOWN AND ALL AROUND. THE ER MEDICAL HAD TO DO ON-SITE PROCEDURES DUE TO THE DAMAGE TO MY HEAD, ARM, AND LEG. THEY WERE UNABLE TO TAKE MY SEATBELT OFF, IT HAD TO BE CUT OFF. I HAD A PROBLEMS IN THE PAST WITH MY DRIVER'S SIDE SEATBELT GETTING STUCK. ON A NORMAL DAY, I NORMALLY WOULD HAVE RO JERK THE SEALTBELT OFF OF ME. PLEASE ADVISE ME ON THIS SITUATION. I AM JUST NOW BEING ABLE TO REPORT THE AIRBAG SITUATION BECAUSE I HAVE BEEN IN THE HOSPITAL DUE TO THE TERRIBLE ACCIDENT.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

5/6/2008 - BEAUMONT, TX
I WAS INVOLVED IN A HORRIBLE CAR CRASH ON MARCH 15, 2008. AN 18-WHEELER SWERVED INTO MY LANE WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. WHEN THE 18-WHEELER SWERVED, THE BACK OF HIS LOAD HIT (THE 1ST) TIME ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. I WAS THEN SUCKED UNDERNEATH THE 18-WHEELER, FLIPPED SEVERAL TIMES WHILE BEING DRUG FOR 100 YARDS STILL UNDERNEATH THE 18-WHEELER THE ENTIRE TIME. ONCE THE VEHICLE STOPPED, I WAS UPSIDE DOWN HANGING FROM THE 18-WHEELER. THE AIRBAGS IN MY 2000 HONDA CIVIC NEVER DEPLOYED FROM ANY SIDE. I WAS HIT WITH A MAJOR IMPACT AT EVERY ANGLE UPSIDE DOWN AND ALL AROUND. THE ER MEDICAL HAD TO DO ON-SITE PROCEDURES DUE TO THE DAMAGE TO MY HEAD, ARM, AND LEG. THEY WERE UNABLE TO TAKE MY SEATBELT OFF, IT HAD TO BE CUT OFF. I HAD A PROBLEMS IN THE PAST WITH MY DRIVER'S SIDE SEATBELT GETTING STUCK. ON A NORMAL DAY, I NORMALLY WOULD HAVE RO JERK THE SEALTBELT OFF OF ME. PLEASE ADVISE ME ON THIS SITUATION. I AM JUST NOW BEING ABLE TO REPORT THE AIRBAG SITUATION BECAUSE I HAVE BEEN IN THE HOSPITAL DUE TO THE TERRIBLE ACCIDENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION: CONTROL MODULE (TCM, PCM)

7/31/2007 - SPARKS, NV
HONDA CIVIC 2000 WITH 58,000 MILES WITH TRANSMISSION FAILURE. HONDA REFUSES TO FIX BECAUSE MY DAUGHTER BOUGHT THE CAR USED - NOT ORIGINAL OWNER. DAUGHTER BOUGHT THE CAR ON SUNDAY NIGHT - RUSH JOB. DAUGHTER TOLD SALESMAN DURING TEST DRIVE SOMETHING WRONG. SALEMANS SAID THEY WOULD TAKE CARE OF IT - WRONG. ANYWAY - DEFECTIVE TRANSMISSION ON HONDA CAR AT 58,000 MILES. WHY?

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

5/30/2007 - SAN JOSE, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE VIBRATES WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH. THE TIRES GRIP THE PAVEMENT AND THE BRAKE PEDAL APPEARS TO BE ELEVATED, CREATING DIFFICULTY WHEN THEY ARE DEPRESSED. THE RPMS RUN HIGH WHEN IDLING AND THE VEHICLE BEGINS DECELERATE WHILE IN MOTION. THE CONTACT PULLED OFF THE ROAD AND SHUT OFF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED SOON AFTER. THE CONTACT BELIEVES THE FAILURE MAY BE CAUSED BY THE FUEL PUMP SYSTEM OR THE ACCELERATOR MAY BE STUCK. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF FAILURE. THE VIN AND ENGINE SIZE WERE UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT MILEAGE IS 80,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL

3/17/2007 - WESTERVILLE, OH
HONDA CIVIC EXHAUST MANIFOLD; AFTER OWNING A 2000 HONDA CIVIC FOR TWO YEARS, I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE EXHAUST, OXYGEN SENSORS AND NOW THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD. I BECAME UPSET AFTER THIS SERIES OF BURDENS ON ME, SO, I DECIDED TO CONDUCT RESEARCH ON-LINE. THUS, I FOUND NUMEROUS REPORTS AND SIMILAR COMPLAINTS FROM FELLOW HONDA CIVIC OWNERS. IT APPEARS CIVCIS CREATED BETWEEN 1992-2000 HAVE HAD DEFFECTIVE EXHAUST MANIFOLDS CAUSING MANY CONSUMERS TO HAVE TO FIGHT TO GET A RESOLUTION THROUGH HONDA, THE MANUFACTURER. HONDA IS REVIEWING EACH VEHICLE ON AN INDIVIDUAL BASIS, RATHER THAN ADMITTING THAT THEIR PRODUCT, WIDESPREAD, IS DEFFECTIVE.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

3/5/2007 - METAIRIE, LA
- THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DOOR LOCKS FOR THE 2000 HONDA CIVIC COULD BE OPENED BY USING ANY KEY. THE DEALERSHIP INFORMED CONTACT THE DOOR LOCKS ON THE VEHICLE WERE NO LONGER BEING USED, AND THE NEW LOCK SYSTEM THAT WAS BEING USED COULD NOT BE INSTALLED ON THIS VEHICLE. THE POLICE DEPT INFORMED THE CONTACT THE LOCKS ON THE DOORS COULD BE OPENED BY USING ANY KEY. THE CONTACT STATED THE DEALERSHIP HAS NOT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE CURRENTLY HAD 55000 MILES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

12/13/2006 - SHARON, MA
: THE CONTACT STATED BRAKE FLUID LEAKED CAUSING THE BRAKES TO FAIL, AND NEARLY CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. THE NON SERVICE DEALER DETERMINED THE BRAKE CYLINDER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED TO RESOLVE THE ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds