Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2000 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 263 complaints filed for the 2000 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (65) Equipment (4) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Tires (26)
Child Seat (2) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (30) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (38) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (13) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (48) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (1)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

TIRES

4/10/2006 - VISALIA, CA
: THE CONTACT STATED THERE WAS A BLISTER ON THE EXTERIOR SIDE OF THE BOTH FRONT TIRES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE TIRE DEALER AND THE TIRES WERE REPLACED. THERE IS A NHTSA RECALL, #05T024000, REGARDING THE TIRE SIDEWALL. THE TIRE HAS THE SAME PROBLEMS AS INDICATED IN THE RECALL; HOWEVER IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL DUE TO THE TIRE SIZE. THE MANUFACTURER HAS BEEN ALERTED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

3/9/2006 - SUMMERVILLE, SC
2000 HONDA CIVIC LX AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION FAILURE. THE TRANSMISSION STARTED TO SHIFT HARD ON MY 2000 HONDA CIVIC LX WHICH HAS 73,000 MILES ON IT. THEN THE GEARS STARTED SLIPPING AND DELAYING, SO I TOOK IT IN TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT (LOCAL TRANSMISSION SHOP). THE TRANSMISSION IS FAILING AND HAS TO BE REPLACED. WE JUST HAD THE TRANSMISSION REPLACED IN OUR OTHER HONDA (1997 HONDA ACCORD WITH 150,000 MILES) LAST WEEK, AND THIS PROBLEM WAS A HUGE SHOCK TO US. WE ARE REPLACING TWO HONDA TRANSMISSIONS WITHIN A TWO WEEK PERIOD!!! I THINK THAT IT IS RIDICULOUS THAT A 2000 HONDA CIVIC WITH LESS THAN 73,500 MILES ON IT HAS TO BE REPLACED. TRANSMISSION FAILURE IS A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD. OUR OTHER HONDA TRANSMISSION WENT OUT WHILE WE WERE ON THE INTERSTATE, AND WE WERE ALMOST HIT BY ANOTHER CAR BECAUSE OUR CAR SLOWED DOWN SO RAPIDLY. FOR NOW, THE 2000 HONDA CIVIC LX WILL BE SITTING IN THE DRIVEWAY UNTIL WE HAVE SAVED UP FOR ANOTHER TRANSMISSION REPLACEMENT.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL: SENSOR/CONTROL MODULE

3/3/2006 - BENTON, AR
MY 17 YEAR OLD SON WAS IN A ONE CAR ACCIDENT MONDAY MORNING. HE WAS DRIVING A 2000 HONDA CIVIC LX. HE WAS TRAVELING EAST BOUND ON I-30. TIME OF THE ACCIDENT WAS AROUND 7 AM. THE CAR WAS ON CRUISE CONTROL AT 70 MPH. HE APPARENTLY DOZED OFF AND WOKE UP IN THE MEDIAN. SCARED TO DEATH. HE CAME BACK UP ON THE INTERSTATE. HE THOUGHT HE WAS PUTTING THE BRAKES ON BUT SAID HE WAS PROBABLY REALLY GIVING IT GAS. HE SPUN AROUND A COUPLE OF TIMES ON THE INTERSTATE AND CRASHED HEAD ON INTO A GUARD RAIL. FORTUNATELY HE IS OK. HE SAID HE HAD TO BE GOING 40-50 MPH WHEN HE HIT THE GUARD RAIL. MY QUESTION IS. WHEN SCOTT HIT THE GUARD RAIL HE WENT FORWARD. THE SEAT BELT DID NOT TIGHTEN UP. HE HIT THE STEERING WHEEL AND CAME BACK WHEN THE SEAT BELT FINALLY TIGHTENED UP. THERE WAS NO DEPLOYMENT OF THE AIR BAG SINCE IT WAS A FRONT IMPACT CRASH AT OVER 40 MPH, SHOULD THE AIRBAGS HAVE WENT OFF. THE PLACE WHERE THE CAR IS THINKS THAT IT IS TOTALED. GEICO LOOKED AT IT, WHO IS MY INSURANCE AGENT AND SAID IT WOULD COST AROUND $4300 TO FIX IT. THANKS FOR YOUR HELP IN THIS MATTER.

View Details

SEAT BELTS: FRONT

3/3/2006 - BENTON, AR
MY 17 YEAR OLD SON WAS IN A ONE CAR ACCIDENT MONDAY MORNING. HE WAS DRIVING A 2000 HONDA CIVIC LX. HE WAS TRAVELING EAST BOUND ON I-30. TIME OF THE ACCIDENT WAS AROUND 7 AM. THE CAR WAS ON CRUISE CONTROL AT 70 MPH. HE APPARENTLY DOZED OFF AND WOKE UP IN THE MEDIAN. SCARED TO DEATH. HE CAME BACK UP ON THE INTERSTATE. HE THOUGHT HE WAS PUTTING THE BRAKES ON BUT SAID HE WAS PROBABLY REALLY GIVING IT GAS. HE SPUN AROUND A COUPLE OF TIMES ON THE INTERSTATE AND CRASHED HEAD ON INTO A GUARD RAIL. FORTUNATELY HE IS OK. HE SAID HE HAD TO BE GOING 40-50 MPH WHEN HE HIT THE GUARD RAIL. MY QUESTION IS. WHEN SCOTT HIT THE GUARD RAIL HE WENT FORWARD. THE SEAT BELT DID NOT TIGHTEN UP. HE HIT THE STEERING WHEEL AND CAME BACK WHEN THE SEAT BELT FINALLY TIGHTENED UP. THERE WAS NO DEPLOYMENT OF THE AIR BAG SINCE IT WAS A FRONT IMPACT CRASH AT OVER 40 MPH, SHOULD THE AIRBAGS HAVE WENT OFF. THE PLACE WHERE THE CAR IS THINKS THAT IT IS TOTALED. GEICO LOOKED AT IT, WHO IS MY INSURANCE AGENT AND SAID IT WOULD COST AROUND $4300 TO FIX IT. THANKS FOR YOUR HELP IN THIS MATTER.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

3/1/2006 - SEWELL, NJ
EXHAUST MANIFOLD CRACKED FOR A 2ND TIME! HAD REPLACED AT 74,000 MILES, NOW AT 129,000. DEALER SAID THE SECOND WAS ONLY COVERED UNDER A 12 MONTH, 12,000 MILE WARRANTY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

9/19/2005 - HUNTERSVILLE, NC
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK ON FRIDAY EVENING, SEPTEMBER 16, 2005, AT APPROXIMATELY 5:30 PM EST IN MY 2000 HONDA CIVIC LX 4DR SEDAN. I CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP AT A STOP STREET, AND WAS ABOUT TO ACCELERATE AND MAKE A RIGHT TURN. I STARTED MOVING AND THEN MY CAR WENT COMPLETELY DEAD AND STALLED. I WAS ABLE TO GET THE CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, PUT IT IN PARK, AND THEN RESTART IT. HOWEVER, FROM THAT POINT FORWARD, I FOUND AS I WOULD BE COMING TO A STOP AND IDLING, THAT THE CAR WOULD WANT TO GO COMPLETELY DEAD AND STALL ON ME. I TOOK MY CAR TO OUR DEALERSHIP, AUTOSPORT HONDA, IN BRIDGEWATER, NJ, AND HAD THEM TAKE A LOOK AT THE PROBLEM. THEY TOLD ME THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS IN NEED OF A TUNE UP, AND THAT THE WIRES LEADING FROM THE IGNITION TO THE ENGINE WERE DETERIORATING. I DECIDED TO LOOK MY VIN NUMBER UP TO SEE IF THERE WERE ANY RECALLS. I FOUND, BASED ON THE HONDA CIVIC LX 4DR SEDANS, THAT THERE WAS A RECALL MAY 16, 2002 (CAMPAIGN NUMBER 02V120000) FOR THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM COMPONENT, MORE SPECIFICALLY, THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE RECALL STATES "ELECTRICAL CONTACTS IN THE IGNITION SWITCH CAN DEGRADE DUE TO THE HIGH ELECTRICAL CURRENT PASSING THROUGH THE SWITCH WHEN THE VEHICLE IS STARTED." THE RECALL FURTHER STATES THAT "WORN CONTACTS COULD CAUSE THE ENGINE TO STALL WITHOUT WARNING, INCREASING THE RISK OF A CRASH." I BROUGHT THIS TO MY DEALERSHIPS ATTENTION, AND HE TOLD ME HE ALREADY RAN MY VIN NUMBER [XXX], AND THAT IT WAS NOT REGISTERED UNDER THE RECALL. I ASKED HIM IF THIS WAS THE SAME TYPE OF COMPONENT PROBLEM AS IN THE RECALL AND HE SAID YES. HE SAID IT IS MORE COMMON IN STICK-SHIFT HONDAS THEN AUTOMATICS. I AM BRINGING THIS TO YOUR ATTENTION BECAUSE THE ISSUE I AM HAVING WITH MY VEHICLE IS THE SAME ISSUE THAT WAS RECALLED IN MAY 2002, EXCEPT UNDER DIFFERENT VIN NUMBERS. I BELIEVE THIS IS A SERIOUS ISSUE, AND ATTENTION SHOULD BE GIVEN TO IT. UPDATED 07/18/2012 INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL: CATALYTIC CONVERTOR

9/9/2005 - SAN DIEGO, CA
ON MONDAY MORNING, AUGUST 29TH, I STARTED MY 2000 HONDA CIVIC CX HATCHBACK AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME IT HAD EVER HAPPENED; THE CAR HAS 82,000 MILES ON IT. I CALLED CUSH HONDA ESCONDIDO AND BROUGHT IT IN FOR SERVICE THE SAME DAY. THEY LATER CALLED ME TO TELL ME THAT THEIR COMPUTER SHOWED THAT THE OXYGEN SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AND THE MANIFOLD ON THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER WAS CRACKED AND THE ENTIRE UNIT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE TOTAL COST WAS $1026. I CONSIDER NEEDING A CATALYTIC CONVERTER REPLACED AT 82,000 MILES TO BE UNACCEPTABLE. I AM AWARE OF OTHER HONDA OWNERS WHO HAVE HAD THE SAME THING HAPPEN. I LIKE HAVING THIS ITEM WEAR OUT TO HAVING A TRANSMISSION OR SOME OTHER MAJOR COMPONENT WEAR OUT. IT HAS ALSO BEEN BROUGHT TO MY ATTENTION THAT THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER HAS AN 80,000 WARRANTY. HOW CONVENIENT!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

8/23/2005 - WINTER PARK, FL
DT: FRONT BRAKES STARTED GRINDING AT ABOUT 70,000 MILES. THE CONSUMER PURCHASED NEW BRAKE PARTS FOR FRONT AND REAR BRAKES, ASSUMING THAT IF THE FRONT BRAKES WERE WORN OUT IT WOULD MAKE SENSE TO REPLACE THE REAR AT THE SAME TIME. THE FRONT BRAKE PADS WERE COMPLETELY WORN OUT TO THE METAL BACKING. UPON REMOVING THE REAR BRAKE SHOES AND COMPARING THEM TO THE NEWLY PURCHASED SHOES THERE WAS NO NOTICEABLE WEAR. IN EFFECT, THE CAR WAS ONLY USING THE FRONT BRAKES. OWNED THIS VEHICLE SINCE IT WAS NEW AND HAVE BEEN INVOLVED IN TWO FRONT END COLLISIONS WHERE THE FRONT BRAKES LOCKED, MAKING IT HARDER TO MANEUVER AND CAUSING IT TO CRASH INTO THE VEHICLE AHEAD, EVEN WHEN TRYING TO STEER AROUND TO AVOID A COLLISION. UPDATED 7/13/2006 - THE CONSUMER WAS TOLD THAT THE BRAKE WEAR WAS NORMAL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/8/2005 - MERCED, CA
WHEN THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED, THE VEHICLE WOULD SHUT DOWN UNTIL IT COASTED TO A STOP. THE DEALER FOUND NO DEFECTS NOR DID THEY DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THE MANUFACTURER TOLD THE CONSUMER TO REPRODUCE THE PROBLEM. THE IGNITION DIED AND THE VEHICLE WAS STUCK IN GEAR, BUT THE VEHICLE CONTINUED ON GAINING MOMENTUM.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

7/5/2005 - CRANSTON, RI
FAILURE OF 2 AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEMS IN A 2000 HONDA CIVIC, PRESENTLY ON A NEW 3RD SYSTEM. VEHICLE MILEAGE IS 35,000. HONDA STATES THAT IT IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR THE CURRENT FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds