Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2000 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 263 complaints filed for the 2000 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (65) Equipment (4) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Tires (26)
Child Seat (2) Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (30) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (38) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (13) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (48) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (1)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: ACCELERATOR PEDAL

6/8/2005 - NEW CITY, NY
DT: CONSUMER WAS DRIVING OVER GEORGE WASHINGTON BRIDGE IN NEW YORK. VEHICLE BEGAN TO ACCELERATE ON ITS OWN. THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR, WOULD NOT STOP WELL. VEHICLE WAS ACCELERATING., AND ACCELERATOR BECAME STUCK. THIS CAUSED CONSUMER TO HAVE TO BRAKE MUCH HEAVIER THAN NORMAL. ALSO, VEHICLE WAS OVERHEATING DUE TO ACCELERATION AND HEAVY BRAKING. THE RPMS STAYED ABOVE 2000. SERVICED REGULARLY. IN ORDER TO STOP VEHICLE CONSUMER PLACED VEHICLE IN NEUTRAL AND APPLIED PARKING BRAKE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS: SWITCH

2/16/2005 - LEANDER, TX
WHILE DRIVING THE CAR ON THE EVENING OF FEB 11, 2005, WE (WIFE AND I) SMELLED A BURNING SMELL, WE THOUGHT IT WAS COMING FROM OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE,SO WE STARTED CLOSING THE SUNROOF AND WINDOWS WHEN I NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM THE STEERING COLUMN. I LOOKED IN THE HOLE WHERE THE STICK FOR THE HEADLIGHTS/TURN SIGNAL WAS AND SAW FLAMES. WE QUICKLY PULLED INTO A CONVIENENCE STORE AND WHILE I TRIED BLOWING IT OUT (I HAD NOTHING ELSE AVAILABLE TO DO AND IT WAS STILL SMALL ENOUGH I THOUGHT IT WAS POSSIBLE), MY WIFE RAN IN AND GOT A FIRE EXTINGUISHER WHICH PUT OUT THE FIRE. WE HAD THE CAR TOWED HOME WHERE I DISMANTLED THE STEERING COLUMN AND DASH. THE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY HAD BURNED AND MELTED. I'VE ALREADY CLEANED OUT THE EXTINGUISHER RESIDUE AND REPLACED THE PART BUT THE ORIGINAL PART IS STILL AVAILABLE IF NEEDED. HONDA WANTED ME TO BRING THEM THE CAR AT MY EXPENSE (IT WASN'T DRIVABLE) AND WANTED MY INSURANCE TO PAY FOR A RENTAL/REPAIRS, WHICH I THOUGHT WAS REALLY POOR HANDLING OF THE SITUATION EXPECIALLY SINCE THERE WERE FLAMES INVOLVED. THIS CAR WAS ALSO COMPLETELY UNMODIFIED AND EVEN HAS THE ORIGINAL RADIO STILL INSTALLED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/27/2004 - LEWISVILLE, TX
INTAKE MANIFOLD CRACKED AND FUMES CAME INTO THE VEHICLE. CONTACTED HONDA. IT STATED THERE WERE NO PROBLEMS WITH THE VEHICLE. ....ALSI REPLACED SPARK PLUGS, AND REPLACED A CRACKED EXHAUST MANIFOLD.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

12/27/2004 - LEWISVILLE, TX
INTAKE MANIFOLD CRACKED AND FUMES CAME INTO THE VEHICLE. CONTACTED HONDA. IT STATED THERE WERE NO PROBLEMS WITH THE VEHICLE. ....ALSI REPLACED SPARK PLUGS, AND REPLACED A CRACKED EXHAUST MANIFOLD.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/7/2004 - HAWTHORNE, CA
CAR WAS IMPACTED ON LEFT FRONT HEADLIGHT, CAR WAS SPUN AT LEAST ONE REVELOUTION AND NEITHER ONE OF THE FRONT AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. POLICE ON SITE OF ACCIDENT SAID TO FILE COMPLAINT DUE TO IMPACT WAS HARD ENOUGH TO AND SHOULD OF DEPLOYED AIR BAGS. DRIVER SUFFERED NECK AND HEAD INJURY DUE TO HITTING DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW. CAR IS AT BODY SHOP AWAITING ADJUSTERS TO DEEM FIXABLE OR TOTAL LOSS.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

12/1/2004 - FLUSHING, MI
2000 HONDA CIVIC EX, FRONTEND COLLISION INTO THE SIDE OF ANOTHER VEHICLE, TOTALED CAR. AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

11/9/2004 - LITTLE ROCK, AR
16 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER HIT A BRIDGE WITH THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE, TOTALLED CAR, AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AND BRAKES FAILED. PHOTOS AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY

10/6/2004 - NATIONAL CITY, CA
I BOUGHT MY 2000 HONDA CIVIC USED FROM A DEALER IN APRIL OF 2003. AFTER ABOUT 2 MONTHS OF HAVING THE CAR, I HAVE NOTICED THAT WHEN THE GAS TANK IS ABOUT A 1/4 (QUARTER) OF A TANK AND/OR BELOW THE CAR STALLS (HARD TO START) WHEN TRYING TO START THE ENGINE.THIS HAPPENS DURING ALL SEASONS. THIS IS MY FIRST CAR AND I AM NOT SURE OF WHAT TO DO. I HAVE AN APPOINTMENT WITH THE DEALER TO INSPECT THE CAR AND I AM HOPING THAT SOMETHING CAN BE DONE ABOUT THIS PROBLEM. I AM A YOUNG WOMAN, AND IT'S OFTEN SCARY AT TIMES WHEN I AM GETTING INTO MY CAR AT NIGHT AND IT DOES THIS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL: GAS RECIRCULATION VALVE (EGR VALVE)

10/6/2004 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
WHILE STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND REMAINED ON WHILE DRIVING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A REPAIR SHOP, AND THE MECHANIC DETERMINED THAT THE OXYGEN SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

10/1/2004 - BARRE, VT
IN FEBRUARY 2004, I NOTICED A SMELL OF EXHAUST FUMES IN THE INTERIOR OF THE CAR. BROUGHT IT TO A MECHANIC 3 TIMES. HE SAID HE DIDN'T SMELL IT, AND COULD FIND NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR. I RECENTLY BROUGHT THE CAR IN TO A NEW MECHANIC FOR SERVICING, AND HE INFORMED ME THAT THE "EXHAUST MANIFOLD IS CRACKED." I'VE BEEN SUFFERING SOME UNEXPLAINED HEALTH PROBLEMS, SUCH AS HEADACHES, LIGHT HEADINESS, AND FATIGUE, AND NOW WONDER IF THE SYMPTOMS ARE RELATED TO LONG TERM EXPOSURE TO THE EXHAUST FUMES. THE MECHANIC SUGGESTED I CONTACT THE HONDA DEALER TO REQUEST THAT THEY FIX THE PROBLEM AT NO COST. HOWEVER, THE DEALER INFORMED ME THAT THE PART(S) IS ONLY COVERED UP TO 80,000 MI. MY VEHICLE CURRENTLY HAS 82,000 MI. ON IT. AS IT IS AN EXPENSIVE REPAIR, IT HAS NOT YET BEEN FIXED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds