Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 298 complaints filed for the 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (42) Exterior Lighting (2) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (31) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (28) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Power Train (36) Steering (17) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (9) Structure (28) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (1) Suspension (54) Visibility (18)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes (10) Tires (1) Wheels (11)
Equipment (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/7/2016 - GREEN FORK, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE VEERED TO THE RIGHT. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE K-FRAME WAS SEVERELY CORRODED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 69,995.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

2/12/2016 - ASHTABULA, OH
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 25 MPH, A TRACTOR TRAILER COLLIDED INTO THE DRIVER SIDE OF THE CONTACTS VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AND THE SEAT BELT FAILED TO RESTRAINT THE CONTACT. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED SEVERE INJURIES TO HIS CHEST AND BACK. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS REQUIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND SEEMED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. UPDATED 03/16/16 UPDATED 03/22/16.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/12/2016 - ASHTABULA, OH
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 25 MPH, A TRACTOR TRAILER COLLIDED INTO THE DRIVER SIDE OF THE CONTACTS VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AND THE SEAT BELT FAILED TO RESTRAINT THE CONTACT. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED SEVERE INJURIES TO HIS CHEST AND BACK. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS REQUIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND SEEMED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. UPDATED 03/16/16 UPDATED 03/22/16.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/9/2015 - NEWPORT, VT
WAS BACKING OUT OF DRIVEWAY AT MY DAUGHTER'S, I WAS ON A SIDE ROAD WITH NO TRAFFIC. A LARGE BANG AND THE TIRE POPPED. WHEN I HAD A MECHANIC COME LOOK AT IT, HE SAID THE SPRING HAD BROKE AND WENT INTO THE TIRE OF THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE. THE VEHICLE IS STILL IN HER DRIVEWAY. I HAVE OWNED VEHICLE FOR ABOUT 6 YEARS AND NEVER RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE. I WAS LOOKING UP COST AND FOUND THE RECALL. I AM SO GLAD THIS WAS NOT WHILE I WAS DRIVING OR HAD MY GRANDKIDS IN THE CAR.

View Details

WHEELS

12/9/2015 - NEWPORT, VT
WAS BACKING OUT OF DRIVEWAY AT MY DAUGHTER'S, I WAS ON A SIDE ROAD WITH NO TRAFFIC. A LARGE BANG AND THE TIRE POPPED. WHEN I HAD A MECHANIC COME LOOK AT IT, HE SAID THE SPRING HAD BROKE AND WENT INTO THE TIRE OF THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE. THE VEHICLE IS STILL IN HER DRIVEWAY. I HAVE OWNED VEHICLE FOR ABOUT 6 YEARS AND NEVER RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE. I WAS LOOKING UP COST AND FOUND THE RECALL. I AM SO GLAD THIS WAS NOT WHILE I WAS DRIVING OR HAD MY GRANDKIDS IN THE CAR.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/7/2015 - PITTSBURGH, PA
MY WIFES VEHICLE IS A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE WITH APPROX. 75,000 MILES ON IT. WE'VE PURCHASED IT NEW. ABOUT A YEAR AGO, SHE BROUGHT THE CAR TO A STOP AND IT SUDDENLY STARTED LURCHING FORWARD. SHE WAS ABLE TO ARREST IT IN 10-12 FEET. NO DAMAGE OCCURRED. ABOUT TWO MONTHS LATER, THE EXACT SAME THING HAPPENED WITH THE SAME RESULTS. THEN, SIX WEEKS AGO, AS SHE WAS BACKING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY, AND ROLLING A FEW MILES AN HOUR IN REVERSE, IT HAPPENED AGAIN. THIS TIME, AFTER DOING A UNCONTROLLED DONUT IN THE STREET SHE HIT A NEIGHBORS GARAGE AND A UTILITY POLE BEFORE THE CAR STOPPED, IN SPITE OF HER FRANTICALLY BRAKING. FORTUNATELY, THERE WAS NO ONE IN THE STREET AT THAT TIME. DAMAGE TO THE GARAGE WAS $2300.+ AND THE CAR WAS ANOTHER $1925.+. TWO WEEKS AGO, IT HAPPENED AGAIN AFTER STOPPING IN TRAFFIC. THIS TIME SHE HIT THE BACK OF A PICK-UP TRUCK. NO DAMAGE TO THE TRUCK, BUT $1710+ TO HER FRONT END. EACH ACCIDENT COST US $250 IN DEDUCTIBLE. THE CAR IS BEING REPAIRED RIGHT NOW AND WE WILL TRADE IT IN AS SOON AS IT IS FIXED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/23/2015 - CHANNAHON, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE SPARE TIRE RACK LOCATED UNDER THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED SEVERE RUSTING AND CORROSION AND COULD NO LONGER SECURE THE SPARE TIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/25/2015 - BALLWIN, MO
INTERIOR DOOR HANDLES ON 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE ARE SEPARATING FROM THE CHROME PLATING EXACTLY AS IN THE RECALL FOR, NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V317000, DEALER WILL NOT CORRECT AS THERE HAS NOT BEEN AN OFFICIAL RECALL ANNOUNCEMENT, BUT THESE APPEAR TO BE THE SAME TYPE, STYLE, MAKE HANDLES AS THAT IN THE RECALL. HANDLES ARE SHARP AND WILL CUT PASSENGERS IF HANDLED IMPROPERLY. DICK DEAN OF BALLWIN MISSOURI (DEALER)SUGGESTED PLACEING TAPE OF THE HANDLES WHICH IS TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE. FILING THIS FOR MY FATHER WHO OWNS THE VEHICLE. I OWNED THE SONATA IN THE RECALL AND KNOW FIRST HAND THESE ARE THE EXACT SAME HANDLES WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. I ALSO OWN A 2004 SANTA FE WHERE THE PROBLEM HAS NOT STARTED TO OCCUR YET, BUT THEY TOO APPEAR TO BE THE SAME HANDLES.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/19/2015 - ORLANDO, FL
LEFT FRONT TRAILER ARM CAME OFF WHILE DRIVING, TIRE CAME OFF VEHICLE. SUB FRAME RUSTED THROUGH. CAR USED TO BE KEPT IN ONE OF THE SALT BELT STATES. NO RECALL TO THIS PART ACCORDING TO HYUNDAI, ONLY RECALL FOR COIL SPRING AND REAR TRAILER ARM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/5/2015 - EAST STROUDSBURG, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THERE WAS A STRONG FUEL ODOR INSIDE THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, FUEL LEAKED FROM THE FUEL TANK FROM UNDERNEATH THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE SEAT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds