Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 298 complaints filed for the 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (42) Exterior Lighting (2) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (31) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (28) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Power Train (36) Steering (17) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (9) Structure (28) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (1) Suspension (54) Visibility (18)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes (10) Tires (1) Wheels (11)
Equipment (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

6/25/2015 - LANSING, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V123000 (SUSPENSION) IN OCTOBER OF 2009. THE SUSPENSION WAS TREATED WITH A RUST PROOFING MATERIAL TO PREVENT THE FAILURE FROM OCCURRING. IN JUNE OF 2015, WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE APPEARED TO BE PULLING TO THE LEFT AND A CRUNCHING NOISE WAS PRESENT FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. UPON INSPECTION, IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE REAR DRIVER SIDE WHEEL WAS TILTED OUTWARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR TRAILING ARM FRACTURED DUE TO SEVERE CORROSION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/18/2015 - HOUSTON, TX
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

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

3/31/2015 - MOOR PARK, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING AT 55 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO ROLL UP THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE WINDOW, THE WINDOW FAILED TO ROLL UP AND CURVED. THE CONTACT HEARD A GRINDING NOISE FROM THE WINDOW. IN ADDITION, THE DOOR OPENED INDEPENDENTLY AND THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO CLOSE THE DOOR. THE CONTACT HAD TO HOLD ONTO THE DOOR FROM THE OUTSIDE IN ORDER TO KEEP THE DOOR CLOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ACTUATOR IN THE DOOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY

3/31/2015 - MOOR PARK, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING AT 55 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO ROLL UP THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE WINDOW, THE WINDOW FAILED TO ROLL UP AND CURVED. THE CONTACT HEARD A GRINDING NOISE FROM THE WINDOW. IN ADDITION, THE DOOR OPENED INDEPENDENTLY AND THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO CLOSE THE DOOR. THE CONTACT HAD TO HOLD ONTO THE DOOR FROM THE OUTSIDE IN ORDER TO KEEP THE DOOR CLOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ACTUATOR IN THE DOOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/31/2015 - MOOR PARK, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING AT 55 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO ROLL UP THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE WINDOW, THE WINDOW FAILED TO ROLL UP AND CURVED. THE CONTACT HEARD A GRINDING NOISE FROM THE WINDOW. IN ADDITION, THE DOOR OPENED INDEPENDENTLY AND THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO CLOSE THE DOOR. THE CONTACT HAD TO HOLD ONTO THE DOOR FROM THE OUTSIDE IN ORDER TO KEEP THE DOOR CLOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ACTUATOR IN THE DOOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/19/2015 - ROCHESTER, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, A LOUD ABNORMAL NOISE EMITTED FROM ALL OF THE TIRES AND THE BRAKE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BRAKE SLIDERS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/13/2015 - MIAMI , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE FUELING THE VEHICLE, THE FUEL WOULD INDEPENDENTLY STOP BEFORE THE TANK WAS FULL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MECHANIC WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000. UPDATED 4/20/15

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

3/13/2015 - MIAMI , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE FUELING THE VEHICLE, THE FUEL WOULD INDEPENDENTLY STOP BEFORE THE TANK WAS FULL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MECHANIC WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000. UPDATED 4/20/15

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/11/2015 - CHARLESTON , IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V435000 (SUSPENSION). PER THE SERVICE REPORT, THE DEALER REPLACED THE COIL SPRINGS PROTECTOR AND NOT THE ACTUAL COIL SPRINGS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/26/2015 - SIDNEY, NE
THIS IS IN REGARDS TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V435000. THIS IS A RECALL I WAS NEVER INFORMED ABOUT, ALTHOUGH I HAVE A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE THAT WAS ORIGINALLY SOLD, REGISTERED, AND DRIVEN IN ONE OF THE "SALT BELT" STATES. BECAUSE I WAS NEVER NOTIFIED BY HYUNDAI, I NEVER HAD THE VEHICLE CHECKED BY A AUTHORIZED DEALER. AND TODAY, THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE SPRING BROKE. UNFORTUNATELY FOR ME, THE NEAREST AUTHORIZED DEALER THAT CAN MAKE THIS REPAIR IS OVER 100 MILES AWAY FROM MY HOME. I PLACED A CALL TO HYUNDAI CUSTOMER CARE CENTER AT 1-855-671-3059 AND WAS TOLD I HAD TWO OPTIONS - (1), I COULD TAKE THE VEHICLE TO A AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR REPAIR, OR (2), HAVE MY SANTA FE REPAIRED LOCALLY, THEN TAKE IT TO A AUTHORIZED DEALER TO ENSURE THE REPAIR MET THEIR STANDARDS, AND THEN HOPE TO GET REIMBURSED - WHICH COULD TAKE ANYWHERE FROM THREE TO FOUR MONTHS. I DO NOT BELIEVE HYUNDAI HAS DONE ALL THEY COULD DO TO REMEDY THIS SITUATION. FIRST, THEY NEVER CONTACTED ME, EVEN THOUGH I MADE THE DEALERSHIP IN MICHIGAN AWARE OF OUR MOVE TO NEBRASKA. SO HYUNDAI HAD OUR NEW ADDRESS INFORMATION. IF I HAD BEEN CONTACTED, I COULD HAVE SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT IN CHEYENNE, WY WHERE I GO AT LEAST ONCE A MONTH TO MEET WITH A FEW CLIENTS. NOW MY VEHICLE IS DAMAGED AND I CANNOT DRIVE IT, WHICH TAKES AWAY FROM MY LIVELIHOOD. AND TO GET IT REPAIRED, I NEED TO PAY FOR THE REPAIRS LOCALLY AND HOPE HYUNDAI REIMBURSES ME, OR I HAVE TO RENT A TRAILER AND TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP THAT WAY. HYUNDAI DOES NOT SEEM TO VALUE THE TIME I'VE LOST FROM WORK, THE TIME I'VE LOST FROM MEETING WITH CLIENTS, AND THE ADDITIONAL EXPENSE I WILL INCUR WITH MY TWO REPAIR OPTIONS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds