Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 298 complaints filed for the 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (42) Exterior Lighting (2) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (31) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (28) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Power Train (36) Steering (17) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (9) Structure (28) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (1) Suspension (54) Visibility (18)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes (10) Tires (1) Wheels (11)
Equipment (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

2/13/2015 - LONG BEACH, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR SEAT BELTS FAILED TO LOCK WHILE TRYING TO ATTACH A CHILD SAFETY SEAT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LATCHING MECHANISM WOULD NOT ENGAGE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 111,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

2/12/2015 - CARMEL, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. AFTER TAKING THE VEHICLE TO A DEALER TO BE SERVICED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V435000 (SUSPENSION), THE FAILURE OCCURRED. WHILE DRIVING AT 40 MPH, THERE WAS ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RECALL REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/21/2015 - MERRILLIVILLE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STARTED TO LEAK OIL AFTER IT WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V435000 (SUSPENSION). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 114,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/19/2015 - CHICAGO, IL
I GOT A RECALL LETTER IN THE MAIL ON SEPT. 19, 2014. I CALL THE PEOPLE ABOUT THE LETTER BUT NO ONE GOT BACK TO ME ABOUT THE RECALL. I NEED TO KNOW IS MY CAR IN DANGER OF HURTING ME OR MY FAMILY. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW.

View Details

ENGINE

12/3/2014 - BROOMFIELD, CO
MY DAUGHTER AND HER FRIENDS WERE DRIVING THE 2003 HYUNDAI SANTE FE HOME FROM A SKI TRIP IN THE MOUNTAINS. SHE SAID THE CAR KEEPS ACCELERATING ON IT'S OWN UP TO 55-60MPH, ESPECIALLY WHEN THEY WERE GOING DOWN HILL. WHEN SHE PUT THE CAR IN PARK OR NEUTRAL, THE CAR'S ENGINE REV UP TO 3000 RMP ON IT'S OWN. SHE BARELY PUT HER FOOT ON THE PEDAL AND IT WAS DRIVING 55 MPH. SHE HAD TO USE THE BRAKES A LOT TO SLOW THE CAR DOWN. IT WAS VERY SCARY BUT THEY MANAGE TO MAKE IT HOME SAFELY. I DID SOME RESEARCH ON THE INTERNET AND SEEMS LIKE A LOT OF PEOPLE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/10/2014 - SHORTVILLE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 14V435000 (SUSPENSION). THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER EXPLAINED THAT A REMEDY FOR THE RECALL HAD NOT YET BEEN DETERMINED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT SIMILAR REPAIRS HAD BEEN PERFORMED ON THE VEHICLE IN 2009. THE MILEAGE ON THE VEHICLE AT THAT TIME WAS 62,635.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/7/2014 - SARASOTA, FL
THE BRAKES FAILED AS I WAS BACKING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY. THIS VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED AND USED BY MY SON IN THE METRO NEW YORK - NEW JERSEY AREA. IT IS INVOLVED IN THE HYUNDAI RECALL CAMPAIGN #124 BECAUSE OF A CONCERN WITH CORROSION SINCE IT WAS OPERATED IN 'THE SALT BELT' FOR MANY YEARS. (I OBTAINED THE VEHICLE FROM HIM AND IT HAS BEEN IN FLORIDA FOR THE PAST FEW YEARS.) I BELIEVE THAT THE SAME CORROSION FROM ROAD SALT ATTACKED THE BRAKE LINES ON THE VEHICLE AND CAUSED THIS FAILURE. THIS COULD HAVE RESULTED IN SERIOUS INJURY OR DEATH HAD I BEEN ON THE HIGHWAY. THE AAA AUTOMOBILE CLUB DRIVER WHO PICKED UP THE VEHICLE FOR TRANSPORT TO MY SERVICE STATION NOTED THAT HE HAS REPEATEDLY SEEN THIS PROBLEM WITH THE SANTE FE MODEL. I BELIEVE THIS IS AN ISSUE THAT NHTSA SHOULD INVESTIGATE SO THAT OTHERS IN THE CLASS CAN BE SPARED INJURY OR DEATH. ASIDE FROM THE INCONVENIENCE AND LOSS OF THE VEHICLE'S USE, I HAD A DIRECT EXPENSE OF $455.59 TO MAKE THE REPAIR.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: CONTROL ARM

10/31/2014 - GREENWOOD LAKE , NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE SPRINGS IN THE REAR CONTROL ARMS BECAME FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE CONTROL ARMS WERE COMPLETELY RUSTED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. ALSO, THE CONTACT STATED THAT LEFT DRIVER SIDE CONTROL ARM WAS REPLACED BY THE DEALER DUE TO CORROSION. IN ADDITION, THE SUB-FRAME NEEDED TO BE REPLACED BUT THE PART NEEDED TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/10/2014 - GREAT BARRINGTON , MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE STRUT SPRING FRACTURED WHICH CAUSED THE SPRING TO CUT INTO THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE TIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE STRUT AND THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE TIRE WERE REPLACED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED ON THE FRONT PASSENGER'S SIDE AND THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V435000 (SUSPENSION), HOWEVER THE REMEDY WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 106,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL: SENSOR/CONTROL MODULE

10/8/2014 - GRAYSLAKE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE CONTACT FELL ASLEEP BEHIND THE WHEEL AND CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A NECK INJURY THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAG SENSORS NEEDED TO BE CONNECTED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds