Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 298 complaints filed for the 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (42) Exterior Lighting (2) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (31) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (28) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Power Train (36) Steering (17) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (9) Structure (28) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (1) Suspension (54) Visibility (18)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes (10) Tires (1) Wheels (11)
Equipment (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/7/2014 - PORT ORANGE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN IGNITION KEY WAS REMOVED, THE ENGINE WOULD NOT SHUT OFF. THE GEAR WAS IN PARK BUT THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO SLOWLY MOVE FORWARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO STATED THAT THE IGNITION PIN CONTROLLER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 197,000. UPDATED 7/7/14 UPDATED 07/14/2014

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/3/2014 - CHILLICOTHE, OH
MY VEHICLE WAS RECALLED SEVERAL YEARS AGO FOR RUST IN THE FRONT AND REAR SUSPENSION. IT WAS APPARENTLY FIXED BY HYUNDAI JUST PUTTING A UNDERCOAT PAINTING TO THE SUSPENSION, MY PROBLEM IS THAT THE CAR IS SHOWING RUST SPOTS IN THE FRONT SUSPENSION. I THINK HYUNDAI SHOULD HAD REPLACE THE PARTS WITH NEW AND RUST PROOF PARTS INSTEAD OF JUST PUTTING UNDERCOAT PAINTING. I KNOW MY VEHICLE IS 11 YEARS OLD, BUT I HAVE KEPT IT IN VERY GOOD CONDITION WITH ALL SERVICE DONE AT THE DEALER.

View Details

STRUCTURE

4/3/2014 - CHILLICOTHE, OH
MY VEHICLE WAS RECALLED SEVERAL YEARS AGO FOR RUST IN THE FRONT AND REAR SUSPENSION. IT WAS APPARENTLY FIXED BY HYUNDAI JUST PUTTING A UNDERCOAT PAINTING TO THE SUSPENSION, MY PROBLEM IS THAT THE CAR IS SHOWING RUST SPOTS IN THE FRONT SUSPENSION. I THINK HYUNDAI SHOULD HAD REPLACE THE PARTS WITH NEW AND RUST PROOF PARTS INSTEAD OF JUST PUTTING UNDERCOAT PAINTING. I KNOW MY VEHICLE IS 11 YEARS OLD, BUT I HAVE KEPT IT IN VERY GOOD CONDITION WITH ALL SERVICE DONE AT THE DEALER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

2/24/2014 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
HIT A NASTY POTHOLE AND KNOCKED THE ALIGNMENT OUT ON MY SANTE FE, OR SO I THOUGHT. WHEN I TOOK IT TO MY MECHANIC HE PUT IT ON THE LIFT TO CHECK THE FRONT END. HE FOUND THE RIGHT SIDE SUB FRAME WAS ROTTED AND THE LOWER CONTROL ARM PULLING OUT OF THE FRAME. CALLED HYUNDAI 800 #. "SORRY YOUR CAR IS NOT COVERED". THIS IS NUTS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/24/2014 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
HIT A NASTY POTHOLE AND KNOCKED THE ALIGNMENT OUT ON MY SANTE FE, OR SO I THOUGHT. WHEN I TOOK IT TO MY MECHANIC HE PUT IT ON THE LIFT TO CHECK THE FRONT END. HE FOUND THE RIGHT SIDE SUB FRAME WAS ROTTED AND THE LOWER CONTROL ARM PULLING OUT OF THE FRAME. CALLED HYUNDAI 800 #. "SORRY YOUR CAR IS NOT COVERED". THIS IS NUTS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/20/2013 - PARK CITY, KS
I OWN A 2003 SANTA FE AND JUST FOUND OUT ABOUT THE CARRIAGE CORROSION PROBLEMS WITH THE 2001-2003 HYUNDAI AND SUBSEQUENT RECALL IN THE "SNOW BELT" STATES. I LIVE IN KANSAS, WHERE THEY TREAT THE LOCAL HIGHWAYS IN THE WINTER WITH SALT AND OTHER CORROSIVES. WHY ISN'T KANSAS INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL? HAS HYUNDAI INCLUDED VEHICLES IN THIS STATE FOR THE RECALL? THE LITTLE TRUCK HAS BEEN TERRIFIC, WITH NOTHING GOING WRONG UNTIL NOW. THE GARAGE I TAKE MY VEHICLES TO WOULD NOT ALLOW MY DAUGHTER TO GET BACK INTO THE SANTA FE, FEARING THAT SHE WOULD HAVE AN ACCIDENT. THANK GOODNESS FOR SMALL FAVORS! I WILL GIVE HIS CONTACT INFORMATION UPON RESPONSE FROM YOU.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

12/20/2013 - PARK CITY, KS
I OWN A 2003 SANTA FE AND JUST FOUND OUT ABOUT THE CARRIAGE CORROSION PROBLEMS WITH THE 2001-2003 HYUNDAI AND SUBSEQUENT RECALL IN THE "SNOW BELT" STATES. I LIVE IN KANSAS, WHERE THEY TREAT THE LOCAL HIGHWAYS IN THE WINTER WITH SALT AND OTHER CORROSIVES. WHY ISN'T KANSAS INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL? HAS HYUNDAI INCLUDED VEHICLES IN THIS STATE FOR THE RECALL? THE LITTLE TRUCK HAS BEEN TERRIFIC, WITH NOTHING GOING WRONG UNTIL NOW. THE GARAGE I TAKE MY VEHICLES TO WOULD NOT ALLOW MY DAUGHTER TO GET BACK INTO THE SANTA FE, FEARING THAT SHE WOULD HAVE AN ACCIDENT. THANK GOODNESS FOR SMALL FAVORS! I WILL GIVE HIS CONTACT INFORMATION UPON RESPONSE FROM YOU.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/26/2013 - ISLE, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE REVERSING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE COIL SPRING FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,760.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

5/31/2013 - VALRICO, FL
FUELING CAR TAKES AN INORDINATE AMOUNT OF TIME. IT IS AS IF THERE IS A BLOCKAGE IN THE TANK FILLER PIPE. ACCORDING TO THE DEALER THIS IS CAUSED BY AN AGING CHARCOAL FILTER WITHIN THE FUEL SYSTEM. THE DEALER IS AWARE OF THE PROBLEM BUT HAS NO EXPLANATION, NOR SUGGESTIONS FOR A FIX.

View Details

STEERING

5/22/2013 - VADNAIS HEIGHTS, MN
2003 HYUNDAI SANTE FE GLS - DROVE THROUGH A 2 INCH DEEP PUDDLE. LOST POWER STEERING, BATTERY LIGHT AND BRAKE LIGHT FLASHED THEN A RUBBER BURNING SMELL STARTED. DROVE THE CAR FOR TWO ADDITIONAL DAYS AFTER THE REPAIR SHOP COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING. THEN DRIVING HOME FROM WORK, AIRBAG LIGHT TURNED ON, BRAKE LIGHT TURNED ON BATTERY LIGHT TURNED ON, ALL ANALOG INSTRUMENTS FAILED, TACH FAILED, BRAKING BECAME INCONSISTENT AND ENGINE STARTED MISSING. I DROVE DIRECTLY TO REPAIR SHOP, AS I MADE MY FINAL TURN INTO THE REPAIR SHOP THE POWER STEERING FAILED THEN THE CAR SHUTOFF. EARLY REPORT FROM MECHANIC IS A FAILED ALTERNATOR - MY THIRD ONE IN THE LAST YEAR. I THINK I HAVE A LARGER ELECTRICAL PROBLEM WITH THE CAR, FANS FLUCTUATE IN SPEED FOR THE PAST COUPLE OF YEARS AND EVERY TIME IT RAINS I GET FLASHING BRAKE AND BATTERY LIGHTS. LOSING THE POWER STEERING TWICE IN THREE DAYS IS A LITTLE UNSETTLING... ## VIN FAILED ##

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds