Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS - 2004 FORD TAURUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 366 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD TAURUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD TAURUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD TAURUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Unknown Or Other (12)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (2) Power Train (72) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (167)
Electrical System (27) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (4) Structure (17) Visibility (13)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (3) Suspension (10) Wheels (5)
Engine (24) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes (16) Tires (5)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/7/2014 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CAR JUMPS WHEN STOPPED AT A LIGHT. YOU HAVE TO LEAVE PLENTY OF ROOM BETWEEN CARS OR IT WILL JUMP INTO A CAR. ALSO, WE HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE ALTERNATOR AND BATTERY SEVERAL TIMES. THE ALTERNATOR WAS 3 TIMES AND THE BATTERY 5 TIMES. ALL OF THE SUDDEN OUT CRUISE CONTROL WENT OUT AND AFTER THAT IS WHEN THE JUMPING STARTED. HARD TO START AND IT JUMPS WHILE IDLING IN PARK AS WELL AS ALL OTHER GEARS. TRANSMISSION REPLACE 4 YEARS AGO.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/7/2014 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CAR JUMPS WHEN STOPPED AT A LIGHT. YOU HAVE TO LEAVE PLENTY OF ROOM BETWEEN CARS OR IT WILL JUMP INTO A CAR. ALSO, WE HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE ALTERNATOR AND BATTERY SEVERAL TIMES. THE ALTERNATOR WAS 3 TIMES AND THE BATTERY 5 TIMES. ALL OF THE SUDDEN OUT CRUISE CONTROL WENT OUT AND AFTER THAT IS WHEN THE JUMPING STARTED. HARD TO START AND IT JUMPS WHILE IDLING IN PARK AS WELL AS ALL OTHER GEARS. TRANSMISSION REPLACE 4 YEARS AGO.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/30/2014 - SIMPSONVILLE, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED AND CONTINUED TO DO SO EVEN AFTER THE CONTACT REMOVED HER FOOT FROM THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/17/2014 - EAST HARTFORD, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATE INDEPENDENTLY WITHOUT ANY WARNINGS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE CRUISE CONTROL DISCONNECTED AND BECAME LODGE ON THE THROTTLE. AS A RESULT, THE CRUISE CONTROL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 148,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 148,035.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/5/2014 - VACAVILLE, CA
ON JUNE 4, 2014 WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED THE ENGINE AND ALL POWER DIED ON MY 2004 FORD TAURUS LX. ALL OPERATION AND GAUGES OF THE VEHICLE WERE OPERATING AS DESIGNED BEFORE THE INCIDENT AND THERE WAS NO INDICATION THAT A FAILURE WAS IMMINENT. AFTER THE ENGINE DIED ALL STEERING AND BREAKING BECAME UNRESPONSIVE ALMOST TO THE POINT OF BEING INOPERABLE. THE CAR WAS MANEUVERED TO THE SHOULDER WITHOUT INCIDENT AND TOWED TO AN AUTO-REPAIR SHOP. THE REPAIR SHOP SAID THE CODES ON THE CAR INDICATED THAT THE PATS (PASSIVE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM) SHUT DOWN THE CAR AS IT THOUGHT IT WAS BEING STOLEN. SPEAKING WITH FORD DEALERSHIPS THIS IS APPARENTLY A KNOWN ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

6/5/2014 - VACAVILLE, CA
ON JUNE 4, 2014 WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED THE ENGINE AND ALL POWER DIED ON MY 2004 FORD TAURUS LX. ALL OPERATION AND GAUGES OF THE VEHICLE WERE OPERATING AS DESIGNED BEFORE THE INCIDENT AND THERE WAS NO INDICATION THAT A FAILURE WAS IMMINENT. AFTER THE ENGINE DIED ALL STEERING AND BREAKING BECAME UNRESPONSIVE ALMOST TO THE POINT OF BEING INOPERABLE. THE CAR WAS MANEUVERED TO THE SHOULDER WITHOUT INCIDENT AND TOWED TO AN AUTO-REPAIR SHOP. THE REPAIR SHOP SAID THE CODES ON THE CAR INDICATED THAT THE PATS (PASSIVE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM) SHUT DOWN THE CAR AS IT THOUGHT IT WAS BEING STOLEN. SPEAKING WITH FORD DEALERSHIPS THIS IS APPARENTLY A KNOWN ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/5/2014 - VACAVILLE, CA
ON JUNE 4, 2014 WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED THE ENGINE AND ALL POWER DIED ON MY 2004 FORD TAURUS LX. ALL OPERATION AND GAUGES OF THE VEHICLE WERE OPERATING AS DESIGNED BEFORE THE INCIDENT AND THERE WAS NO INDICATION THAT A FAILURE WAS IMMINENT. AFTER THE ENGINE DIED ALL STEERING AND BREAKING BECAME UNRESPONSIVE ALMOST TO THE POINT OF BEING INOPERABLE. THE CAR WAS MANEUVERED TO THE SHOULDER WITHOUT INCIDENT AND TOWED TO AN AUTO-REPAIR SHOP. THE REPAIR SHOP SAID THE CODES ON THE CAR INDICATED THAT THE PATS (PASSIVE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM) SHUT DOWN THE CAR AS IT THOUGHT IT WAS BEING STOLEN. SPEAKING WITH FORD DEALERSHIPS THIS IS APPARENTLY A KNOWN ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

5/29/2014 - OMAHA, NE
I WAS READING ABOUT THE POWER STEERING PROBLEM ON THE FORD EXPLORER AND DECIDED THAT I MAY BE NEGLIGENT IN REPORTING A PROBLEM ON MY FORD TAURUS. I HAVE A 2003 FORD TAURUS AND MY HUSBAND HAD A 2003 FORD TAURUS, BOTH HAVE POWER STEERING PROBLEMS. MY HUSBANDS FORD TAURUS WAS TOTALED IN AN UNRELATED INCIDENT BUT WE STILL HAVE THE 2004 TAURUS. I'VE BEEN EXPECTING A RECALL FOR THIS AS BOTH CARS HAD THE SAME PROBLEM BUT HAVE NEVER REPORTED IT. THAT MIGHT BE PART OF THE PROBLEM WITH THERE NOT BEING A RECALL IF WE DON'T REPORT IT SO I THOUGHT I SHOULD SEND THIS IN TODAY. YOU NOTICE THE PROBLEM ON THE TAURUS THE MOST WHEN YOU ARE TRYING TO TURN INTO PARKING SPACES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/29/2014 - CARMEL, IN
HAVE OWNED THIS CAR FOR 1 WEEK. WHILE REPLACING THE SPARK PLUGS, FOUND THE CRUISE CONTROL CABLE WAS NOT CONNECTED TO THE THROTTLE, WHICH EXPLAINED WHY THE CRUISE DIDN'T WORK. RECONNECTED THE CABLE. ON A TEST-DRIVE, HAD THE CRUISE SET AT 50. IN TESTING THE 3 RIGHT-SIDE CRUISE BUTTONS (RESUME, SET, COAST) THE CAR ACCELERATED PAST 65 ON ITS OWN. "OFF" BUTTON AND BRAKE PEDAL DID NOT DISCONNECT CRUISE SYSTEM. RODE THE BRAKES TO A STOP AND SHUT THE ENGINE OFF. STARTED THE ENGINE AND IT REVVED UP TO 3,000 WITHOUT MY FOOT ON THE PEDAL. ENGINE RETURNED TO NORMAL IDLE SPEED AFTER A BLIP OR TWO ON THE GAS PEDAL. CAREFULLY DROVE HOME AND CHECKED - THE CRUISE CABLE HAD COME UNDONE FROM THE THROTTLE AGAIN. UNINTENDED ACCELERATION OF THIS MODEL SHOULD BE A RECALL ISSUE BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/20/2014 - CRANSTON, RI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS AND DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL IT BECAME STUCK INTERMITTENTLY. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED BY A MECHANIC. BOTH THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 165,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds