Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS - 2004 FORD TAURUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 366 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD TAURUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD TAURUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD TAURUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Unknown Or Other (12)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (2) Power Train (72) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (167)
Electrical System (27) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (4) Structure (17) Visibility (13)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (3) Suspension (10) Wheels (5)
Engine (24) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes (16) Tires (5)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS: SWITCH

10/12/2016 - TAMPA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE LAMPS ILLUMINATED WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS NOT DEPRESSED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT HAD DIFFICULTLY SHIFTING THE VEHICLE OUT OF PARK. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STOP LAMP SWITCH AND ASSOCIATED WIRE ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 04V106000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING); HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 42,000.

View Details

STEERING

9/20/2016 - DOZIER, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL WAS DIFFICULT TO TURN LEFT OR RIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/20/2016 - DOZIER, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL WAS DIFFICULT TO TURN LEFT OR RIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ENGINE

9/19/2016 - WICHITA FALLS, TX
THE WHOLE ENTIRE WIRES UNDER THE DASHBOARD CAUGHT ON FIRE AND ALMOST BLEW ME MY KIDS UP IN DALLAS TEXAS, HAD IT TOTAL AND THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE WHOLE COMPUTER SYSTEM BLEW THE WIRES OUT AND THAT IT WAS A MANUFACTURING PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/19/2016 - WICHITA FALLS, TX
THE WHOLE ENTIRE WIRES UNDER THE DASHBOARD CAUGHT ON FIRE AND ALMOST BLEW ME MY KIDS UP IN DALLAS TEXAS, HAD IT TOTAL AND THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE WHOLE COMPUTER SYSTEM BLEW THE WIRES OUT AND THAT IT WAS A MANUFACTURING PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/4/2016 - YOUNGSVILLE, NC
I RAN BY A FRIENDS HOUSE TO PICK UP AN ITEM. AFTER PUTTING MY GEAR SELECTOR IN REVERSE I REALIZED THAT I NOT ONLY COULDN'T BACK UP, BUT COULD NOT GET ANY GEAR TO ENGAGE! MY TRANSMISSION HAD COMPLETELY FAILED WITH ABSOLUTELY ZERO INDICATION THAT IT WAS ABOUT TO DIE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/21/2016 - MILES CITY, MT
THE VEHICLE ACCELERATES ON ITS ON UP TO 4K PLUS RPMS AND DRIVES ITSELF WITH INCREASING SPEED. THIS IS OUR 18 YEAR OLDS CAR. I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE BY THE NHTSA AND FORD AND NO RECALLS HAVE BEEN ISSUED. HOW MANY DEATHS DOES THERE HAVE TO BE BEFORE SOME ONE ISSUES A RECALL FOR THE ACCELERATOR CABLE/CRUISE CONTROL SYSTEM. FORD HAD THE SAME ISSUE WITH THERE 90 MODELS TAURUS AND A RECALL WASN'T ISSUED TIL 2008. WOW IS ALL I CAN SAY. FORD SHOULD BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR THEIR KNOWN ISSUES THAT THEY CONTINUE TO HAVE REPEATED ISSUES WITH. THE CRUISE CONTROL DOESN'T WORK AND THE CAR CONTINUES TO ACCELERATE WITHOUT THE GAS PEDAL BEING TOUCHED. AN THE RPMS SHOOT UP, ALMOST REARENDING OTHER CARS.THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING ISSUE BUT I THOUGHT MY DAUGHTER WAS OVER EXAGGERATING TILL WE TOOK THE CAR OUT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/19/2016 - MONROE, CT
VEHICLE THROTTLE GOT STUCK, DAUGHTER WAS DRIVE HAD TO PUT CAR IN NEUTRAL TO KICK THROTTLE DOWN, FOUND OUT THAT CRUISE CONTROL CABLE IS COMING OFF THROTTLE BODY AND JAMMING, BEEN HAPPENING MULTIPLE TIMES FOR LAST YEAR

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/19/2016 - MONROE, CT
VEHICLE THROTTLE GOT STUCK, DAUGHTER WAS DRIVE HAD TO PUT CAR IN NEUTRAL TO KICK THROTTLE DOWN, FOUND OUT THAT CRUISE CONTROL CABLE IS COMING OFF THROTTLE BODY AND JAMMING, BEEN HAPPENING MULTIPLE TIMES FOR LAST YEAR

View Details

ENGINE

8/19/2016 - MONROE, CT
VEHICLE THROTTLE GOT STUCK, DAUGHTER WAS DRIVE HAD TO PUT CAR IN NEUTRAL TO KICK THROTTLE DOWN, FOUND OUT THAT CRUISE CONTROL CABLE IS COMING OFF THROTTLE BODY AND JAMMING, BEEN HAPPENING MULTIPLE TIMES FOR LAST YEAR

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds