Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS - 2004 FORD TAURUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 366 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD TAURUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD TAURUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD TAURUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Unknown Or Other (12)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (2) Power Train (72) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (167)
Electrical System (27) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (4) Structure (17) Visibility (13)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (3) Suspension (10) Wheels (5)
Engine (24) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes (16) Tires (5)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/2/2016 - TWINSBURG, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. UPDATED 11/01/16

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/26/2016 - MCKENZIE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED TO SHIFT GEARS WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 172,666.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/26/2016 - MC KENZIE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR WAS UNABLE TO SHIFT OUT OF PARK. THE CONTACT HAD TO MAKE NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS TO GET THE VEHICLE TO CHANGE GEARS AND, AT TIMES, THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO BE DRIVEN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED AND DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS TO CHECK WITH THE MANUFACTURER TO DETERMINE A REPAIR SOLUTION. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/8/2016 - SAN RAMON, CA
THE COLUMN SHIFT DOES NOT MOVE OUT OF PARK. THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN TRACED TO A FAULTY BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH. WHILE THERE IS A RECALL - 04V106000 - FOR THIS ISSUE, IT ONLY GOES UP TO THE 2003 MODEL YEAR. MY VEHICLE IS A 2004 AND HAS THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/2/2016 - BASEHOR, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 165,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/7/2016 - AUSTIN, TX
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY (50 - 60 MPH), THE CAR STALLS, ALL THE LIGHTS TURN OFF INCLUDING THE HAZARD FLASHERS. BRAKING AND STEERING THEN BECOME VERY DIFFICULT. I ALWAYS PUT THE CAR INTO NEUTRAL AND ATTEMPT TO COAST TO A SAFE PARKING LOCATION. I AM ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE SOMETIMES IMMEDIATELY, SOMETIMES AFTER PROLONGED PERIODS. SO FAR, THE STALL PROBLEM HAS NEVER OCCURRED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS AT REST. SOMETIMES THE DOOR LOCKS WILL BRIEFLY "CHATTER" AS THE SOLENOIDS MYSTERIOUSLY ACTIVATE. THIS CAN OCCUR WHILE DRIVING OR IDLING. THE PROBLEM FIRST OCCURRED IN JUNE 2015. THEN RECURRED RANDOMLY ONCE EVERY 2-3 WEEKS. RECENTLY, THE PROBLEM OCCURS 2-3 TIMES IN A DAY. THE PROBLEM DOES NOT PERSIST LONG ENOUGH TO BE DIAGNOSED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/4/2016 - HOLBROK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REFUELED, THE GEAR SHIFT FAILED TO SWITCH OUT OF THE PARK POSITION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/19/2016 - ROUND ROCK, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, THE PEDAL BECAME STUCK TO THE FLOORBOARD. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING WHILE IN PARK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS UNDETERMINED. THE TECHNICIAN REPAIRED THE FUEL INJECTION, CABIN AIR FILTER, IDLE CONTROL VALVE, AND THE BUTTERFLY VALVE. THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 134,272.

View Details

ENGINE

2/19/2016 - ROUND ROCK, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, THE PEDAL BECAME STUCK TO THE FLOORBOARD. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING WHILE IN PARK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS UNDETERMINED. THE TECHNICIAN REPAIRED THE FUEL INJECTION, CABIN AIR FILTER, IDLE CONTROL VALVE, AND THE BUTTERFLY VALVE. THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 134,272.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/24/2015 - AMELIA, OH
TODAY I NOTICED MY CRUISE CONTROL WOULD NOT ENGAGE. LATER AS I PULLED UP TO A STOP SIGN, MY CAR REVVED FORWARD AND I HAD DIFFICULTY STOPPING IT WITH THE BRAKES. WHEN I PROCEEDED, IT ACCELERATED QUICKLY WITH NO GAS APPLIED, UNTIL I STOPPED IT. IT CONTINUED TO REV AFTER PUTTING IT IN PARK. I TROUBLESHOT IT WITH A COWORKER WHO SAW A FEW OTHER FRIENDS WITH THIS PROBLEM, AND HE SHOWED ME WHAT IT WAS: MY CRUISE CONTROL CABLE DISCONNECTED FROM THE THROTTLE, AND THEN STUCK IN FRONT OF THE THROTTLE SO THAT IT WOULD NOT CLOSE. THE CLIP LOCKING THE CRUISE CABLE TO THE THROTTLE IS DEFECTIVE. VERY DANGEROUS! I CAN'T BELIEVE THERE HASN'T BEEN A RECALL FOR THIS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds