Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS - 2004 FORD TAURUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 366 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD TAURUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD TAURUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD TAURUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Unknown Or Other (12)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (2) Power Train (72) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (167)
Electrical System (27) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (4) Structure (17) Visibility (13)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (3) Suspension (10) Wheels (5)
Engine (24) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes (16) Tires (5)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/13/2014 - JOHNSTOWN, PA
MY 2004 FORD TAURUS ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN QUITE A FEW TIMES. AFTER GOGGLING THE PROBLEM I SAW THAT THERE HAD BEEN A RECALL. I CALLED FORD & WAS TOLD MY CAR WASN'T INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THEY ALSO TOLD ME TO GET IT FIXED BECAUSE IT COULD BE DANGEROUS. I KNOW THAT BECAUSE I WAS ALMOST IN A FEW ACCIDENTS BECAUSE OF THE SUDDEN ACCELERATION. I'D HAVE TO PULL OVER, IF NOT AT A RED LIGHT OR STOP SIGN, PUT THE CAR IN PARK & HIT THE ACCELERATOR A FEW TIMES. I ACTUALLY HAD TO TURN THE CAR OFF & BACK ON ONCE TO GET THE RPMS DOWN. I HAD THE CRUISE CONTROL CABLE TOTALLY REMOVED. THE CRUISE HADN'T WORKED IN YRS. MY MOM OWNED THE CAR BEFORE I DID. I'D LIKE TO KNOW WHY MY TAURUS WASN'T IN THE RECALL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/6/2014 - WICHITA , KS
WHEN I DRIVE, THE GAS PEDAL WILL GET STUCK AND EITHER STAY AT THE SPEED WITHOUT ME SETTING CRUISE CONTROL OR IT MAY ACCELERATE ON ITS OWN. TO GET IT LOOSE, I HAVE TO JIGGLE THE GAS PEDAL (WHICH CAN BE VERY DANGEROUS ESPECIALLY WHILE DRIVING), THIS USUALLY STOPS THE PROBLEM BUT I'M CONCERNED THAT SOMEDAY IT WILL STOP WORKING AND I WON'T BE ABLE TO CONTROL THIS ANYMORE. IF I PUT THE CAR IN PARK OR NEUTRAL IT INCREASES THE RPM FROM 1 TO 3 OR 4. ALSO IF THE RPM ARE INCREASED WHILE IN PARK IT MAKES IT SUPER HARD TO SHIFT TO DRIVE AND IS STRESSFUL TO MY TRANSMISSION.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/6/2014 - WICHITA , KS
WHEN I DRIVE, THE GAS PEDAL WILL GET STUCK AND EITHER STAY AT THE SPEED WITHOUT ME SETTING CRUISE CONTROL OR IT MAY ACCELERATE ON ITS OWN. TO GET IT LOOSE, I HAVE TO JIGGLE THE GAS PEDAL (WHICH CAN BE VERY DANGEROUS ESPECIALLY WHILE DRIVING), THIS USUALLY STOPS THE PROBLEM BUT I'M CONCERNED THAT SOMEDAY IT WILL STOP WORKING AND I WON'T BE ABLE TO CONTROL THIS ANYMORE. IF I PUT THE CAR IN PARK OR NEUTRAL IT INCREASES THE RPM FROM 1 TO 3 OR 4. ALSO IF THE RPM ARE INCREASED WHILE IN PARK IT MAKES IT SUPER HARD TO SHIFT TO DRIVE AND IS STRESSFUL TO MY TRANSMISSION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

11/5/2014 - NEWPORT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/5/2014 - NEWPORT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE

10/20/2014 - NEW BADEN, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE CONTACT WAS NOTIFIED OF A LARGE HOLE IN THE FLOOR BOARD ON THE FRONT PASSENGER'S SIDE. ALSO, THERE WAS A SMALL HOLE ON THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OF REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 174,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/2/2014 - GROSSE POINTE WOODS, MI
I OWN A 2004 FORD TAURUS SEL STATION WAGON. THE PASSENGER FLOOR HAS RUSTED THROUGH. IT APPEARS THAT THE OVER TIME WATER HAS LEAKED IN THROUGH A FITTING WHERE CLIMATE CONTROL PIPES ENTER THROUGH THE FIREWALL. THE SUSPENSION MOUNT ON THE PASSENGER ALSO HAS A LOT OF RUST AND WILL PROBABLY FAIL IN THE NEXT YEAR OR SO. THIS SUSPENSION MOUNT IN THE SAME AREA WHERE THE WATER HAD BEEN SITTING DUE TO THE FIREWALL LEAKAGE. I LOOKED FOR ANY RECALLS FOR 2004 AND COULD NOT FIND ANY. I DID SEE A SIMILAR RECALL FOR OLDER TAURUS' FOR THIS SAME ISSUE. THIS CAR ONLY HAS 40,000 MILES AND HAS ALWAYS BEEN KEPT IN A GARGAGE, SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE HAS BEEN PERFORMED. NOT ABUSED IN ANY WAY. SINCE THIS IS AND WILL BECOME A SAFETY ISSUE, I WANTED TO GET YOUR OPINION. THIS IS CLEARLY A DESIGN DEFECT, ESPECIALLY SINCE OLD TAURUS' ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM ON THE SAME BODY/CHASSIS. WE ARE THE SECOND OWNER OF THIS CAR, THE FIRST OWNERS WERE MY PARENTS SO WE KNOW THE VEHICLE HISTORY. WHAT ARE MY OPTIONS TO GET THIS PROBLEM FIXED BY FORD? I HAVE PHOTOS OF THE PROBLEMS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/2/2014 - GROSSE POINTE WOODS, MI
I OWN A 2004 FORD TAURUS SEL STATION WAGON. THE PASSENGER FLOOR HAS RUSTED THROUGH. IT APPEARS THAT THE OVER TIME WATER HAS LEAKED IN THROUGH A FITTING WHERE CLIMATE CONTROL PIPES ENTER THROUGH THE FIREWALL. THE SUSPENSION MOUNT ON THE PASSENGER ALSO HAS A LOT OF RUST AND WILL PROBABLY FAIL IN THE NEXT YEAR OR SO. THIS SUSPENSION MOUNT IN THE SAME AREA WHERE THE WATER HAD BEEN SITTING DUE TO THE FIREWALL LEAKAGE. I LOOKED FOR ANY RECALLS FOR 2004 AND COULD NOT FIND ANY. I DID SEE A SIMILAR RECALL FOR OLDER TAURUS' FOR THIS SAME ISSUE. THIS CAR ONLY HAS 40,000 MILES AND HAS ALWAYS BEEN KEPT IN A GARGAGE, SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE HAS BEEN PERFORMED. NOT ABUSED IN ANY WAY. SINCE THIS IS AND WILL BECOME A SAFETY ISSUE, I WANTED TO GET YOUR OPINION. THIS IS CLEARLY A DESIGN DEFECT, ESPECIALLY SINCE OLD TAURUS' ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM ON THE SAME BODY/CHASSIS. WE ARE THE SECOND OWNER OF THIS CAR, THE FIRST OWNERS WERE MY PARENTS SO WE KNOW THE VEHICLE HISTORY. WHAT ARE MY OPTIONS TO GET THIS PROBLEM FIXED BY FORD? I HAVE PHOTOS OF THE PROBLEMS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/23/2014 - STRAWBERRY PLAINS, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY AFTER BEING INVOLVED IN A CRASH. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WAS ONE INJURY SUSTAINED. THE SPECIFICS OF HOW THE CRASH OCCURRED WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/8/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE THROTTLE WOULD CONTINUE TO REV INTERMITTENTLY. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE CONTROL CABLES DETACHED FROM THE THROTTLE BODY AND SUBSEQUENTLY INTERFERED WITH THE THROTTLE FULLY CLOSING TO THE IDLE POSITION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds