Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS - 2004 FORD TAURUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 366 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD TAURUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD TAURUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD TAURUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Unknown Or Other (12)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (2) Power Train (72) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (167)
Electrical System (27) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (4) Structure (17) Visibility (13)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (3) Suspension (10) Wheels (5)
Engine (24) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes (16) Tires (5)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/8/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE THROTTLE WOULD CONTINUE TO REV INTERMITTENTLY. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE CONTROL CABLES DETACHED FROM THE THROTTLE BODY AND SUBSEQUENTLY INTERFERED WITH THE THROTTLE FULLY CLOSING TO THE IDLE POSITION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/3/2014 - ROCKY FACE, GA
TOOK CAR TO BROOKER FORD DEALERSHIP ON 7/15/14 COMPLAINING ABOUT GAS PEDAL STICKING, MOTOR RACING TO OVER 6000 RPMS. HAD COME CLOSE TO HITTING CARS IN FRONT OF ME SEVERAL TIMES WHILE PUSHING BRAKE PEDAL DOWN HARD. THEY CHECKED CAR AND REPLACED AIR CONTROL VALVE. TOTAL COST TO ME WAS $352.77. A BIG CHUNK OUT OF MY S.S. NOW THE SAME PROBLEM HAS RETURNED, BUT IS MUCH WORSE THIS TIME AND IS MUCH HARDER TO TAP PEDAL HARD TO TRY AND GET IT TO SLOW DOWN. WILL BE GOING BACK TO DEALERSHIP.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/15/2014 - NEW ALBANY, IN
THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME A COUPLE OF TIMES ALREADY. I WAS DRIVING BEHIND MY BOYFRIEND WE WHERE HEADED TO HIS HOUSE, AND MY CAR STARTED ACCELERATING AT A FAST UNUSUAL PACE. HE STOPPED IN FRONT OF ME AT A STOP LIGHT, AND AS I WAS PRESSING ON MY BRAKES THERE WAS A COUPLE OF LOUD CLUNKS COMING FROM INSIDE MY ENGINE. I WAS JUST RIDING MY BRAKES, LUCKILY THE CAR WAS ABLE TO SLOW DOWN AND COME TO A STOP. WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN, IT WAS BEHAVING NORMALLY. I'VE LOOKED THIS UP, AND NOTICED THAT THIS WAS A RECURRING PROBLEM WITH ALMOST ALL MODELS OF FORD TAURUS. YET THERE IS NO RECALL? I HOPE YOU REALIZE HOW DANGEROUS THIS PROBLEM ACTUALLY IS, AND I HOPE THAT SOMETHING IS DONE ABOUT IT SOON.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/15/2014 - NEW ALBANY, IN
THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME A COUPLE OF TIMES ALREADY. I WAS DRIVING BEHIND MY BOYFRIEND WE WHERE HEADED TO HIS HOUSE, AND MY CAR STARTED ACCELERATING AT A FAST UNUSUAL PACE. HE STOPPED IN FRONT OF ME AT A STOP LIGHT, AND AS I WAS PRESSING ON MY BRAKES THERE WAS A COUPLE OF LOUD CLUNKS COMING FROM INSIDE MY ENGINE. I WAS JUST RIDING MY BRAKES, LUCKILY THE CAR WAS ABLE TO SLOW DOWN AND COME TO A STOP. WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN, IT WAS BEHAVING NORMALLY. I'VE LOOKED THIS UP, AND NOTICED THAT THIS WAS A RECURRING PROBLEM WITH ALMOST ALL MODELS OF FORD TAURUS. YET THERE IS NO RECALL? I HOPE YOU REALIZE HOW DANGEROUS THIS PROBLEM ACTUALLY IS, AND I HOPE THAT SOMETHING IS DONE ABOUT IT SOON.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/8/2014 - DUMONT, NJ
WHEN GOING FROM 1ST TO 2ND THERE WAS A LOUD AND HARD BUMP, TRANSMISSION REPAIRED NOW AFTER HAVING CAR BACK FOR 1 WEEK WHEN I PUT IT IN REVERSE IT HARDLY MOVES AND SHUDDERS AND SHAKES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/28/2014 - KANSAS CITY , MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE SHE DROVE UP AN INCLINE THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED. THE LOCAL MECHANIC PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC WHICH LOCATED THE FAILURE AT THE CRUISE CONTROL CLIP ATTACHED TO THE THROTTLE BODY FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE DEALER DISCONNECTED THE CRUISE CONTROL CABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 166,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/21/2014 - TOLEDO, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 04V106000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING). THE CONTACT STATED THE REAR BRAKE LIGHT WOULD NOT ILLUMINATE WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS ENGAGED. THE CONTACT STATED THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED WHEN THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 121,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS

7/9/2014 - BOCA RATON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, HE NOTICED THAT THE BRAKE LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS ADVISED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 04V106000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 157,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/9/2014 - BOCA RATON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, HE NOTICED THAT THE BRAKE LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS ADVISED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 04V106000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 157,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/7/2014 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CAR JUMPS WHEN STOPPED AT A LIGHT. YOU HAVE TO LEAVE PLENTY OF ROOM BETWEEN CARS OR IT WILL JUMP INTO A CAR. ALSO, WE HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE ALTERNATOR AND BATTERY SEVERAL TIMES. THE ALTERNATOR WAS 3 TIMES AND THE BATTERY 5 TIMES. ALL OF THE SUDDEN OUT CRUISE CONTROL WENT OUT AND AFTER THAT IS WHEN THE JUMPING STARTED. HARD TO START AND IT JUMPS WHILE IDLING IN PARK AS WELL AS ALL OTHER GEARS. TRANSMISSION REPLACE 4 YEARS AGO.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds