Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE - 2004 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1247 complaints filed for the 2004 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (324) Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (5) Trailer Hitches (1)
Child Seat (2) Equipment Adaptive (2) Other (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (164) Unknown Or Other (24)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (25) Power Train (53) Steering (71) Vehicle Speed Control (75)
Electrical System (131) Fuel Propulsion System (21) Seat Belts (26) Structure (32) Visibility (212)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Seats (148) Suspension (17) Visibility Wiper (12)
Engine (30) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (12) Tires (7) Wheels (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (55) Interior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 150
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

7/10/2019 - DE SOTO, MO
WHEN DRIVING, THE STEERING PULLS TO THE LEFT SIDE FAIRLY HARD. ALSO, WHEN MAKING EITHER RIGHT OR LEFT TURNS THE RESULT IS A VERY JERKY AND NOT SMOOTH. WHEN THERE IS A BUMP IN THE ROAD, THE STEERING WHEEL JERKS AND TURNS SLIGHTLY CAUSING POSSIBLE DANGEROUS DRIVING CONDITIONS. THE VEHICLE IS DRIVE-ABLE HOWEVER THERE IS DEFINITELY SOME CAUSE FOR CONCERN. HAVE REPLACED THE SUSPENSION WITH BRAND NEW SHOCKS AND THERE SEEMS TO BE NO DIFFERENCE IN THE STEERING WHEEL+S RESPONSE TO BUMPS. WHEELS ALSO APPEAR TO BE IN GREAT ALIGNMENT AS WELL. I HAVE SEEN WHERE THIS ISSUE IS VERY COMMON WITH THIS MAKE AND MODEL AND WOULD LIKE TO BE ABLE TO GET THE ISSUE CORRECTED FOR A FEELING OF COMFORT AND SAFETY WHILE DRIVING MY VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

7/10/2019 - DE SOTO, MO
WHEN DRIVING, THE STEERING PULLS TO THE LEFT SIDE FAIRLY HARD. ALSO, WHEN MAKING EITHER RIGHT OR LEFT TURNS THE RESULT IS A VERY JERKY AND NOT SMOOTH. WHEN THERE IS A BUMP IN THE ROAD, THE STEERING WHEEL JERKS AND TURNS SLIGHTLY CAUSING POSSIBLE DANGEROUS DRIVING CONDITIONS. THE VEHICLE IS DRIVE-ABLE HOWEVER THERE IS DEFINITELY SOME CAUSE FOR CONCERN. HAVE REPLACED THE SUSPENSION WITH BRAND NEW SHOCKS AND THERE SEEMS TO BE NO DIFFERENCE IN THE STEERING WHEEL+S RESPONSE TO BUMPS. WHEELS ALSO APPEAR TO BE IN GREAT ALIGNMENT AS WELL. I HAVE SEEN WHERE THIS ISSUE IS VERY COMMON WITH THIS MAKE AND MODEL AND WOULD LIKE TO BE ABLE TO GET THE ISSUE CORRECTED FOR A FEELING OF COMFORT AND SAFETY WHILE DRIVING MY VEHICLE.

View Details

SEATS

7/4/2019 - HAMPSTEAD, MD
THE DRIVER SEAT WOBBLES AND SHIFTS WITHIN THE SEAT ITSELF NOT THE BOLTS THAT HOLD THE SEAT BRACKET DOWN. I BELIEVE IT IS THE INSIDE BASE OF THE SEAT. I FEAR THAT IF AN ACCIDENT WERE TO OCCUR IF THE SEAT WILL STAY MOUNTED TO THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/30/2019 - NEW PARIS, PA
WHEN TRAVELING AT 75MPH OR JUST MAKING A SLOW TURN AT AN INTERSECTION IT SHUTS OFF. I HAVE SEEN RECALLS ON OTHER 2004 JEEPS BUT NOT THIS VIN # IT IS DANGEROUS AND DEADLY. IT DOES NOT HAPPEN ALL THE TIME AND THE WEATHER CONDITIONS MAKE NO DIFFERENCE. THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON ALL 2004 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE'S

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/28/2019 - MOUNT STERLING, KY
TAKATA RECALL. CLOCK WILL NOT GO OFF AT ANYTIME, SO BATTERY GOES DOWN OVERNIGHT ALL THE TIME. BRAKE AND ABS LIGHTS STAYS ON WHILE DRIVING. IGNITION KEY DOESN'T MATCH DOOR NOR HATCH LOCKS. THE EXHAUST SYSTEM HAS VIBRATION AT TIMES WHEN IN MOTION. WHEN TEST DRIVING THIS VEHICLE I JUST ASSUMED THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN SITTING WITH AN OLDER BATTERY WAS WHY IT NEEDED TO BE JUMPED. THEN AFTER I GOT IT HOME AND IT SAT OVERNIGHT AND I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM; I THOUGHT I'D LEFT SOMETHING TURNED ON. THEN I DISCOVERED THAT THE CLOCK WILL NOT GO OFF. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE ON 5/17/2019 AS IS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/28/2019 - MOUNT STERLING, KY
TAKATA RECALL. CLOCK WILL NOT GO OFF AT ANYTIME, SO BATTERY GOES DOWN OVERNIGHT ALL THE TIME. BRAKE AND ABS LIGHTS STAYS ON WHILE DRIVING. IGNITION KEY DOESN'T MATCH DOOR NOR HATCH LOCKS. THE EXHAUST SYSTEM HAS VIBRATION AT TIMES WHEN IN MOTION. WHEN TEST DRIVING THIS VEHICLE I JUST ASSUMED THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN SITTING WITH AN OLDER BATTERY WAS WHY IT NEEDED TO BE JUMPED. THEN AFTER I GOT IT HOME AND IT SAT OVERNIGHT AND I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM; I THOUGHT I'D LEFT SOMETHING TURNED ON. THEN I DISCOVERED THAT THE CLOCK WILL NOT GO OFF. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE ON 5/17/2019 AS IS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/28/2019 - MOUNT STERLING, KY
TAKATA RECALL. CLOCK WILL NOT GO OFF AT ANYTIME, SO BATTERY GOES DOWN OVERNIGHT ALL THE TIME. BRAKE AND ABS LIGHTS STAYS ON WHILE DRIVING. IGNITION KEY DOESN'T MATCH DOOR NOR HATCH LOCKS. THE EXHAUST SYSTEM HAS VIBRATION AT TIMES WHEN IN MOTION. WHEN TEST DRIVING THIS VEHICLE I JUST ASSUMED THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN SITTING WITH AN OLDER BATTERY WAS WHY IT NEEDED TO BE JUMPED. THEN AFTER I GOT IT HOME AND IT SAT OVERNIGHT AND I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM; I THOUGHT I'D LEFT SOMETHING TURNED ON. THEN I DISCOVERED THAT THE CLOCK WILL NOT GO OFF. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE ON 5/17/2019 AS IS.

View Details

SEATS

6/21/2019 - HEBRON, KY
THE DRIVERS SEAT MOUNTING BRACKET (FRONT, LEFT) HAS BROKEN DURING NORMAL USE 8 TIMES.THE PART WAS WELDED BACK TOGETHER EACH TIME SO FAR. TODAY, 3 OR THE 4 MOUNTING BRACKETS BROKE AT ONCE WHILE I WAS GETTING INTO THE VEHICLE, THE 2 REAR BRACKETS AND THE SAME FRONT BRACKET THAT TYPICALLY SNAPS. THIS TIME I WASN'T DRIVING, BUT A FEW OF THE OTHER BREAKS OCCURRED WHILE ON THE HIGHWAY, OR DURING NORMAL ACCELERATION FROM A STOPLIGHT. ONE BREAK ALSO OCCURRED DURING A LEFT TURN ON A CITY STREET AND I NEARLY LOST CONTROL WHEN THE SEAT LEANED TO THE SIDE. THE FIRST BREAK HAPPENED IN 2009 WITH AROUND 45,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE, AND THEY HAVE HAPPENED ON A REGULAR BASIS SINCE THEN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/4/2019 - JAMESTOWN, NY
DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD 45MLH THE DRIVE SHAFT STARTED SHAKING AND VEHICLE CAME TO COMPLEET STOP. MY KEEP CURRENTLY HAS 116800 MILES ON IT . . THIS IS PRE MATURE FAILURE AND SHOULD BE FIXED BY DEALER .

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/26/2019 - JAMESTOWN, NY
MY JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE LIMITED FOUR-WHEEL DRIVE ALL THE TIME CRUISE CONTROL AUTOMATICALLY KICKS ON AND OFF I HAVE NO CONTROL OVER WHAT CAUSES THE JEEP TO IDLE EVEN AFTER I HIT THE CANCEL BUTTON. CAISING ME NO CONTROL OVER MY SPEED EVEN AFTER I HIT THE BRAKES ... IVE HAD TO REPLACE BRAKES CALIPERS AND ROTORS BEACUSE THE CRUISE CONTROLLER DONT WORK RIGHT AND THE DEALERAHIP SAYS ITS NOT A RECALL????

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 150
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds