Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN SENTRA - 2006 NISSAN SENTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 107 complaints filed for the 2006 NISSAN SENTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 NISSAN SENTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 NISSAN SENTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (30) Equipment (2) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (3)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (10) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (5) Structure (4) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (18) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes (1) Tires (5) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  
<<  5  6  7  8  9  10  11 
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

12/10/2007 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 NISSAN SENTRA. WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH, THE GEAR SHIFT INDICATOR WOULD NOT SHIFT INTO SECOND GEAR. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO SHIFT INTO REVERSE AND HEARD A GRINDING NOISE WHEN SHIFTING. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE SHIFTER WAS TOO TIGHT AND THEY LOOSENED THE SHIFTER ON TWO OCCASIONS; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTER CAUSED THE FAILURE. AS OF DECEMBER 10, 2007, THE DEALER HAD NOT REPAIRED THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 93 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 12,998. UPDATED 01-14-08. THE CONSUMER STATED SHE HEARD A CRACKING NOISE COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD, THE RIGHT REAR TIRE HAD A LEAK, THE WINDOW REGULATOR WAS REPLACED, THE SHIFT KNOB WAS SCREWED ON TOO FAR WHICH WAS MAKING IT DIFFICULT FOR THE CONSUMER TO SHIFT GEARS. THE CD CHANGER WOULD NOT EJECT CD'S. THE HAZARD SWITCH FAILED, THE WINDSHIELD WIPER WOULD STICK INTERMITTENTLY. UPDATED 01/11/08.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM: WINDSHIELD: CONTROLS/WIRING

12/8/2007 - DERRY, PA
ABOVE ABOUT 35 OR 42F THE AIR COND RUNS IF THE AIR SELECTOR IS POSITIONED ON ANY SELECTION THAT INCLUDES DEFROST, AND THE ONLY WAY TO TURN THIS OFF IS TO TURN THE AIR SELECTOR TO A POSITION THAT DOES NOT CONTAIN DEFROST, PULL OVER, STOP THE VEHICLE, TURN THE IGNITION OFF, THEN RESTART THE VEHICLE. I AM NOT MISTAKEN, I AM POSITIVE OF THIS. THIS IS NOT GREEN, THE AIR IS OFTEN RUNNING ALL DAY WASTING GAS MILEAGE PUTTING MORE POLLUTION IN THE AIR. HEATER MUST BE TURNED ON TO COMPENSATE FOR THE COOLING EFFECT OF THE AIR CONDITIONER.

View Details

WHEELS: CAP/COVER/HUB

11/23/2007 - SPRINGVILLE, AL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 NISSAN SENTRA. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD ROARING NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. HE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A LOCAL MECHANIC TO HAVE THE TIRES ROTATED, BUT HE IMMEDIATELY HEARD THE NOISE AGAIN. HE THEN TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THEY REPLACED THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE WHEEL BEARINGS AND HUBS; HOWEVER, THEY REFUSED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE FOR FREE BECAUSE HIS WARRANTY EXPIRED. THE CONTACT FILED A COMPLAINT WITH THE MANUFACTURER. THE PURCHASE DATE WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 61,855.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

7/19/2007 - CULVER CITY, CA
I HAVE AN 2006 NISSAN SENTRA AND I BOUGHT IT USED WITH 3000 MILES SON IT. A COUPLE MONTHS LATER THE BRAKES WOULD SQUEAK AND THE ENGINE WOULD MAKE TICKING SOUND. I TOOK IT IN TO SANTA MONICA NISSAN 5 TIMES AND THEN THE FINALLY FIXED THE PROBLEM. THEY REPLACED THE BRAKE PADS AND FOR A 4 MONTH OLD CAR IT SHOULDN'T NEED BRAKES. THE BRAKES DON'T MAKE ANY NOISE BUT THE ENGINE STILL MAKES TICKING SOUND BUT NISSAN DOES THE SAME REMEDY EVERY TIME, CHANGE THE ENGINE BELTS. APPARENTLY THAT'S NOT WORKING AND WHEN I CONTACTED NISSAN THE SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE BUT I WAS ON HOLD FOR 1 HOUR AND THEN I HUNG UP. NISSAN NEEDS TO KNOW ABOUT THIS. REMEMBER THE BRAKES ARE FNE NOW ITS JUST THE ENGINE THAT MAKES TICKING SOUNDS. THEY BETER FIX THIS.

View Details

SEAT BELTS: FRONT: RETRACTOR

6/22/2007 - ALLENTOWN, PA
2006 NISSAN SENTRA DRIVER SIDE SEAT BELT FAILURE. VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED BRAND NEW, CURRENTLY HAS 36,000 MI. DRIVER SIDE SEAT BELT HAD TO BE REPLACED TWICE ALREADY & NOW THE 3RD ONE HAS ALSO MALFUNCTIONED IN THE SAME EXACT WAY AS THE FIRST 2. SEAT BELT WILL NOT RETRACT, SINCE IT IS FULLY EXTENDED IT IS NOT PROVIDING NECESSARY RESTRAINT.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: GASOLINE: BELTS AND ASSOCIATED PULLEYS

4/17/2007 - BAYVILLE, NJ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1.8 2006 NISSAN SENTRA. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH SHE HEARD A LOUD NOISE FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE UNDER THE DASHBOARD. SOMEONE DIAGNOSED THE VEHICLE AND STATED THAT THE STEERING BELT WAS SHREDDING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER, AND THEY ALSO INFORMED HER THAT THE STEERING BELT WAS SHREDDING. THE DEALER REPLACED THE POWER STEERING BELT. THE CONTACT FILED A COMPLAINT WITH THE MANUFACTURER, AND WAS GIVEN CASE# 5685502. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 8,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 9,000. THE DEALER STATED TRUNK RELEASE INOPERABLE FROM REMOTE. THE DEALER REPLACED TRUNK LID OPENER ACTUATOR. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE STILL FEELS LIKE IT IS UNSAFE AND ALSO STATES THAT THE PAINT IS DEFECTIVE. UPDATED 06/14/07

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING: REAR COMPARTMENT/TRUNK

4/17/2007 - BAYVILLE, NJ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1.8 2006 NISSAN SENTRA. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH SHE HEARD A LOUD NOISE FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE UNDER THE DASHBOARD. SOMEONE DIAGNOSED THE VEHICLE AND STATED THAT THE STEERING BELT WAS SHREDDING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER, AND THEY ALSO INFORMED HER THAT THE STEERING BELT WAS SHREDDING. THE DEALER REPLACED THE POWER STEERING BELT. THE CONTACT FILED A COMPLAINT WITH THE MANUFACTURER, AND WAS GIVEN CASE# 5685502. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 8,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 9,000. THE DEALER STATED TRUNK RELEASE INOPERABLE FROM REMOTE. THE DEALER REPLACED TRUNK LID OPENER ACTUATOR. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE STILL FEELS LIKE IT IS UNSAFE AND ALSO STATES THAT THE PAINT IS DEFECTIVE. UPDATED 06/14/07

View Details

STEERING: HYDRAULIC POWER ASSIST SYSTEM

4/17/2007 - BAYVILLE, NJ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1.8 2006 NISSAN SENTRA. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH SHE HEARD A LOUD NOISE FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE UNDER THE DASHBOARD. SOMEONE DIAGNOSED THE VEHICLE AND STATED THAT THE STEERING BELT WAS SHREDDING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER, AND THEY ALSO INFORMED HER THAT THE STEERING BELT WAS SHREDDING. THE DEALER REPLACED THE POWER STEERING BELT. THE CONTACT FILED A COMPLAINT WITH THE MANUFACTURER, AND WAS GIVEN CASE# 5685502. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 8,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 9,000. THE DEALER STATED TRUNK RELEASE INOPERABLE FROM REMOTE. THE DEALER REPLACED TRUNK LID OPENER ACTUATOR. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE STILL FEELS LIKE IT IS UNSAFE AND ALSO STATES THAT THE PAINT IS DEFECTIVE. UPDATED 06/14/07

View Details

STRUCTURE

4/17/2007 - BAYVILLE, NJ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1.8 2006 NISSAN SENTRA. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH SHE HEARD A LOUD NOISE FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE UNDER THE DASHBOARD. SOMEONE DIAGNOSED THE VEHICLE AND STATED THAT THE STEERING BELT WAS SHREDDING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER, AND THEY ALSO INFORMED HER THAT THE STEERING BELT WAS SHREDDING. THE DEALER REPLACED THE POWER STEERING BELT. THE CONTACT FILED A COMPLAINT WITH THE MANUFACTURER, AND WAS GIVEN CASE# 5685502. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 8,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 9,000. THE DEALER STATED TRUNK RELEASE INOPERABLE FROM REMOTE. THE DEALER REPLACED TRUNK LID OPENER ACTUATOR. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE STILL FEELS LIKE IT IS UNSAFE AND ALSO STATES THAT THE PAINT IS DEFECTIVE. UPDATED 06/14/07

View Details

OTHER

2/12/2007 - PENSACOLA, FL
DROVE TO WORK, END OF DAY THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT GO INTO GEAR. CALLED DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT COKE HAD SPILLED NEAR THE GEAR SHIFT WHICH STOPPED IT FROM WORKING. I DO NOT DRINK COKE. I WAS TOLD THAT THIS HAPPENS TO A LOT OF LADIES CAR. BUMPER TO BUMPER WARRANTY WILL NOT COVER. TOWER CAME CARRY CAR TO DEALER WENT INSIDE CAR, PULL UP COVER UNSCREWED HIS PEN PUSHED IN HOLE PUT CAR IN GEAR.TOLD ME DRIVE TO DEALER.TUESDAY,WAS TOLD "COKE" IN CAR HAVE TO PAY $500+. CALL SERVICE MANAGER EXPLAIN HAPPENS HOW CAR WAS DIAGNOSED WITH "COKE" PROBLEM BEFORE GETTING THERE.DID HE TEST CAR WHY IT DID NOT GO INTO GEAR HIS REPLY SAME " YOU SPILLED COKE NOW IT NOT WORK".WEDNESDAY WENT SOMETHING IN CAR THE MANAGER SAID WAS STICKY, ASKED DID THEY CHECK TO SEE WHAT IT WAS THEY SAID NO. NEEDED TO KNOW IF I WANTED TO FIX IT OR WAS I GOING TO MOVE IT OFF THEIR LOT. MANY QUESTIONS NO HELPFUL ANSWERS ALL RECEIVED WAS "GIVE ME THE RENTAL CAR AND REMOVE YOUR CAR OFF THE LOT".I GAVE HIM THE KEY ASK FOR STATEMENT SHOWING I RETURNED CAR HE SAID NO.ASKED FOR THE KEY BACK TO RETURN CAR MYSELF.I TALKED TO NISSAN MANUFACTURE TURNED COMPLAINT OVER TO CONSUMER AFFAIRS THEY MADE ME FEEL LESS THAN A PERSON.ASKED DID THEY KNOW THIS HAPPEN TO THIS VEHICLE THEY SAID YES. WHY DO THEY NOT TELL PEOPLE OR PUT INFO ON COMPUTER HE WAS VERY RUDE.ASKED WHY DID I NOT ASK IF IT WAS GOING TO BE A PROBLEM IF "COKE OR SOMETHING WAS SPILLED IN THE VEHICLE, HE TOLD ME AN ECONOMICAL VEHICLE NOT HAVE LUXURIES OF EXPENSIVE VEHICLE.IF I WANTED A WATER PROOF VEHICLE I SHOULD HAVE BEEN ABLE OF PURCHASING A MORE EXPENSIVE VEHICLE.I WAS HURT AND ASKED WHY DID THEY NOT HAVE VEHICLE RECALLED CUP HOLDERS IN FRONT OF THE GEAR SHIFT.NO ONE LISTEN.GEAR SHIFT NOT WORKING PROPERLY VOID EMERGENCY BRAKE, HAVE TO CRANK IN NEUTRAL.ON INCLINE CAR WILL ROLL BACKWARD OUT OF CONTROL NOT YET NO ONE HAS BEEN KILL YET I WAS TOLD.PRAY NO ONE GET KILL BEFORE THIS IS LOOK INTO AS A SERIOUS MATTER.

View Details
Pages:  <<  5  6  7  8  9  10  11 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds