Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN SENTRA - 2006 NISSAN SENTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 107 complaints filed for the 2006 NISSAN SENTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 NISSAN SENTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 NISSAN SENTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (30) Equipment (2) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (3)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (10) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (5) Structure (4) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (18) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes (1) Tires (5) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/9/2010 - MONTOURSVILLE, PA
OUR 2006 NISSAN SENTRA SPILLS GAS OUT THE FILLER HOLE WHEN ATTEMPTING TO REFILL. IT HAS COME GUSHING OUT SPRAYING ME AND CREATING A VERY HAZARDOUS SITUATION WITH FUEL ON MYSELF AND SPILLED AT THE FUEL PUMP. I HAVE DONE SOME RESEARCH AND HAVE LEARNED IT IS NOT AN UNUSUAL PROBLEM, BUT ONE THAT I FEEL THE MANUFACTURER SHOULD TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR. IT IS VERY DANGEROUS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/7/2010 - ORANGE PARK, FL
A FEW WEEKS AGO MY CAR'S ENGINE STARTED DOING A STUTTERING THING WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD OR HIGHWAY. IT WOULD JUST DO IT OUT OF NO WHERE AND IT FELT LIKE THE ENGINE WAS ABOUT TO SHUT OFF BUT IT KEPT GOING. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AFTER AND IT SHOWS CRANK POSITION SENSOR. I SEARCHED FOR THIS ONLINE AND FOUND THIS WAS A RECALL FOR MY VEHICLE YEAR, MODEL AND ENGINE TYPE. IT STATED THAT IT COULD CAUSE THE ENGINE TO SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. I TOOK IT INTO THE DEALING EXPECTING TO HAVE THIS FIXED UNDER THE RECALL BUT WAS INFORMED THAT MY VEHICLE'S VIN WAS NOT ON THE LIST OF AFFECTED VEHICLES AND IT WOULD NOT BE COVERED. MY ENGINE IS STILL DOING THE STUTTER THING BECAUSE I HAVE NOT HAD IT FIXED YET AND THE MANUFACTURER WILL NOT FIX IT UNDER THE RECALL BECAUSE THEY SAY MY VEHICLE WAS NOT AFFECTED EVEN THOUGH IT OBVIOUSLY WAS AFFECTED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

6/29/2010 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
AFTER DRIVING MY 2006 NISSAN SENTRA 1.8, WHEN YOU TRY TO RESTART IT WITHIN A COUPLE HOURS IT IS VERY HARD TO START AND IT IS GETTING MORE DIFFICULT TO START. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP. THE PROBLEM GOT BETTER BUT NOW IT HAS RETURNED. NISSAN AND THE DEALER ARE ACTING AS THOUGH THEY DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS CAUSING THE PROBLEM BE THERE ARE NUMEROUS CASES REPORTED ON THE INTERNET CONCERNING THE SAME PROBLEM. THE DEALER WANTS TO CHARE ME $99 TO RUN A TEST BUT I AM SURE THEY ALREADY KNOW, IF NOT THEY NEED TO CHECK THE INTERNET.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/13/2010 - WADSWORTH, OH
I HAVE A NISSAN 2006 SENTRA 1.8. WHEN REFUELING, GAS POURS BACK OUT OF THE GAS TANK, EVEN WHEN ON EMPTY. NISSAN HAS PUBLISHED A SERVICE BULLETIN ABOUT A VENT CONTROL VALVE REPLACEMENT (USING A NEW STYLE VENT CONTROL VALVE). I CONTACTED NISSAN AND THE PARTS & LABOR WILL TOTAL APPROXIMATELY $350 FOR A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE SUCH AS THIS; ANY SPARK WOULD SURELY IGNITE THE DRIVER AND PROBABLY AUTO; THEY ARE UNWILLING TO SEND ME THE PART AT THIS POINT & I STILL CAN'T USE THE VEHICLE- THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR APPROXIMATELY 3 WEEKS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/12/2010 - CHATHAM, NY
MY 06 NISSAN SENTRA, THAT I PURCHASED TO REPLACE THE TAURUS THAT THE FRAME FAILED HAS A PROB. WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL-- WHEN IN CRUISE, GOING DOWN THE ROAD, WHEN IT NEEDS TO KEEP UP TO SPEED, IT SHIFTS DOWN TWO GEARS, INSTEAD OF ONE, AND THE SPEED INCREASES FASTER THAN IT SHOULD, AND THEN IT SHIFTS UP ONE GEAR, THEN BACK TO DRIVE-- THERE TIMES WHEN IF THE DRIVER IS NOT USED TO IT-IT GAINS ON THE TRAFFIC IN FRONT, FASTER THAN ANY OTHER CAR I HAVE DRIVEN, AND IF THE DRIVER IS NOT VERY ATTENTIVE IT COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT OR AT LEAST SCARE THE DRIVER, AND CAUSE THEM TO OVER REACT, IN MY OPINION. THIS IS NOT RIGHT AND SHOULD BE LOOKED INTO BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT.. WE DO NOT THEREFORE USE THE CRUISE-- THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING EVER SINCE THE CAR WAS NEW-- AND WHEN I CALLED NISSAN AND THE DEALER, THEY SAID IT PROB. WAS NORMAL, NOT A GOOD ENOUGH ANSWER, IN MY OPINION-- IT IS ALMOST AS BAD AS THE TOYOTA PROB. AND I THINK IT IS ALL IN THE ELECTRICAL SET UP, WHICH I THINK IS GOING TO BE THE DOWNFALL OF THE MODERN CARS. IT WAS NOT NECESSARY TO COMPLICATE SOMETHING THAT WAS WORKING RIGHT FOR YEARS, AND NOT THEY WANT TO MAKE THE BRAKES ELECTRIC. TO MUCH ELECTRIC JUNK TO GO BAD AND CAUSE PROBLEMS, AND ALL SO THE VEH,'S HAVE TO BE TAKEN INTO THE DEALER OR SHOP. TO HAVE EXPENSIVE REPAIRS, AND CAUSE PROB'S WITH INSPECTIONS ALL THE TIME, ALSO EXPENSIVE, AND NOT WARRENTED THANKS

View Details

STRUCTURE

4/12/2010 - CHATHAM, NY
MY 06 NISSAN SENTRA, THAT I PURCHASED TO REPLACE THE TAURUS THAT THE FRAME FAILED HAS A PROB. WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL-- WHEN IN CRUISE, GOING DOWN THE ROAD, WHEN IT NEEDS TO KEEP UP TO SPEED, IT SHIFTS DOWN TWO GEARS, INSTEAD OF ONE, AND THE SPEED INCREASES FASTER THAN IT SHOULD, AND THEN IT SHIFTS UP ONE GEAR, THEN BACK TO DRIVE-- THERE TIMES WHEN IF THE DRIVER IS NOT USED TO IT-IT GAINS ON THE TRAFFIC IN FRONT, FASTER THAN ANY OTHER CAR I HAVE DRIVEN, AND IF THE DRIVER IS NOT VERY ATTENTIVE IT COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT OR AT LEAST SCARE THE DRIVER, AND CAUSE THEM TO OVER REACT, IN MY OPINION. THIS IS NOT RIGHT AND SHOULD BE LOOKED INTO BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT.. WE DO NOT THEREFORE USE THE CRUISE-- THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING EVER SINCE THE CAR WAS NEW-- AND WHEN I CALLED NISSAN AND THE DEALER, THEY SAID IT PROB. WAS NORMAL, NOT A GOOD ENOUGH ANSWER, IN MY OPINION-- IT IS ALMOST AS BAD AS THE TOYOTA PROB. AND I THINK IT IS ALL IN THE ELECTRICAL SET UP, WHICH I THINK IS GOING TO BE THE DOWNFALL OF THE MODERN CARS. IT WAS NOT NECESSARY TO COMPLICATE SOMETHING THAT WAS WORKING RIGHT FOR YEARS, AND NOT THEY WANT TO MAKE THE BRAKES ELECTRIC. TO MUCH ELECTRIC JUNK TO GO BAD AND CAUSE PROBLEMS, AND ALL SO THE VEH,'S HAVE TO BE TAKEN INTO THE DEALER OR SHOP. TO HAVE EXPENSIVE REPAIRS, AND CAUSE PROB'S WITH INSPECTIONS ALL THE TIME, ALSO EXPENSIVE, AND NOT WARRENTED THANKS

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/3/2010 - WEST HOLLYWOOD, CA
MY HEART GOES OUT TO THE VICTIMS OF TOYOTA'S RECKLESS NEGLIGENCE. IN MAY 2006 I HAD A BRAND NEW NISSAN SENTRA AND I PULLED INTO A DRIVEWAY ACROSS FROM MY APARTMENT AND ALL OF A SUDDEN MY CAR ACCELERATED AND IT FELT LIKE IT WAS POSSESSED. IT SPED PROBABLY 70-80 MPH AND I THOUGHT I WAS GOING TO DIE. LUCKILY, FOR ME THE CAR RAMMED INTO THE CONDO OF THE DRIVEWAY I PULLED IN. MY AIRBAGS POPPED OUT AND I WAS ABLE TO GET OUT OF THE CAR WITH ONLY A CUT ON MY FOREHEAD. MY NEIGHBOR WITNESS THE WHOLE THING. WHEN THE FIRE DEPARTMENT CAME THEY LOOKED AT THE CAR AND SAID IT WAS A MIRACLE THAT I WAS ALIVE AND NOT BADLY HURT. I DID RESEARCH AND FOUND THE OTHERS WITH THE SAME CAR HAD EXPERIENCE THIS. I TRIED TO CONTACT NISSAN, I EVEN HIRED AN ATTORNEY. MY INSURANCE COMPANY SAID THE COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING. WELL, I KNOW THAT THIS CAR WAS DEFECTIVE AND IF NOT FOR THE CONDO I WOULD HAD DIED. NOW THAT THIS EVENT HAS HAPPENED WITH TOYOTA I NEED TO KNOW WHAT I CAN DO TO FOLLOW THROUGH WITH WHAT HAPPENED TO ME. MIND YOU I'M STILL PAYING FOR THE CAR THAT IS TOTALED.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

2/28/2010 - PEEKSKILL, NY
HI THERE, I HAVE A 2006 NISSAN SENTRA 1.8 S AND UNFORTUNATELY I HAVE AN SINGLE TRAFFIC ACCIDENT ON 31 DEC, 2009. I SKID ON THE SNOWY-ICY HIGHWAY AND HIT THE ROAD SIDE BARRIERS ABOUT 20-30 MPH. AIRBAGS DIDN'T DEPLOYED. I INJURED MY NECK. I SENT ALL INFORMATIONS NISSAN USA ABOUT ME, VEHICLE AND ACCIDENT TO AND ASKED WHY? HOWEVER, THEY COULDN'T GIVE ME ANY REASONABLE ANSWER. I GOT FINAL RESPONSE FROM NISSAN ALMOST 2 MONTHS LATER THAN ACCIDENT. THEY FORWARD ME TO DEALER FOR AIRBAG DIAGNOSIS BUT IT'S NOT FREE OF CHARGE. I HAVE ALL RECORDS ABOUT ACCIDENT AND NISSAN. THANKS FOR YOUR CONSIDERATIONS...

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/6/2009 - ROCK HILL, SC
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 NISSAN SENTRA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR THE ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULE COMPUTER. HE TOOK THE VEHICLE IN FOR THE RECALL REPAIR, BUT NOW HE IS EXPERIENCING ISSUES WITH THE VEHICLE AFTER THE RECALL REPAIR WAS PERFORMED. WHILE APPROACHING A RED LIGHT AT 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED APPROXIMATELY THREE TIMES BEFORE HE REACHED HIS RESIDENCE. THE DEALER STATED THAT HE HAD TO PAY TO HAVE THE VEHICLE REPAIRED AGAIN. THE CONTACT BELIEVES THAT THE FIRST REPAIR WAS PERFORMED INCORRECTLY. THE VEHICLE IS UNABLE TO BE DRIVEN. NISSAN STATED THAT THEY WOULD PROVIDE REIMBURSEMENT FOR THE REPAIR COSTS, BUT THEY HAVE NOT YET DONE SO. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 83,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

7/30/2009 - TALLAHASSEE, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 NISSAN SENTRA. WHEN THE CONTACT STARTED THE IGNITION, THE ENGINE FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE FINALLY STARTED AFTER SIX ATTEMPTS. THE DRIVER SMELLED GASOLINE INSIDE THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR INSPECTION AND THEY STATED THAT THE PRESSURE REGULATOR WAS FAULTY. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED WITH THE FUEL PUMP REPAIR KIT UNDER THE EXTENDED SERVICE WARRANTY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS FOR IDENTICAL FAILURES DUE TO THE FAULTY PRESSURE REGULATOR. THE MANUFACTURER'S FUEL PUMP REPAIR KIT WAS USED DURING THE REPAIR ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 27,207 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 53,058. UPDATED 09/14/09. UPDATED 09/16/09.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds