Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO CLASSIC - 2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO CLASSIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by CHEVROLET

There are 24 complaints filed for the 2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO CLASSIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO CLASSIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO CLASSIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (4) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Suspension (1) Visibility (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Service Brakes (11)

Pages:  
<<  1  ... 1
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

4/9/2013 - READING, PA
BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO FLOOR. FOUND BRAKE LINES HEAVILY RUSTED AFTER ONLY 6 YEARS OLD. LEFT REAR BRAKE LINE BLEW, CAUSING DANGEROUSLY SLOW BRAKING IN RUSH HOUR. NARROWLY AVOIDED SEVERAL CRASHES UNTIL I GOT HOME, CRAWLED UNDER IT TO FIND THE PUDDLE OF BRAKE FLUID. I'VE HAVE 20YEAR OLD CARS WITH BETTER BRAKE LINES.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/21/2013 - DECATUR, IL
PLASTIC TABS THAT HOLD THE PASSENGER SIDE REAR TAILLIGHT ASSEMBLY IN PLACE BROKE FOR NO APPARENT REASON, ALLOWING THE ENTIRE TAILLIGHT ASSEMBLY TO FALL OUT AND BE DANGLING BY THE WIRES JUST OFF THE PAVEMENT. THIS COULD BE EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AT NIGHT. THE TAILLIGHT ASSEMBLY ON THE DRIVERS SIDE HAD A SIMILAR FAILURE TWO WEEKS LATER. IT APPEARS THIS IS A FACTORY DEFECT IN EITHER THE MATERIAL OR HOW THE TIGHT THE PLASTIC CLIPS ARE TORQUED ON, RESULTING IN CRACKING THAT FAILS OVER TIME. THE TRUCK IS JUST OUT OF WARRANTY SO CHEVROLET WILL NOT ADDRESS THE ISSUE. CURRENTLY HELD ON WITH DUCT TAPE AS THAT IS PROBABLY SAFER THAN A REPLACEMENT IF THE DESIGN FLAW HAS NOT BEEN CORRECTED. CHEVROLET NEEDS TO RECALL ALL THE TRUCKS WITH THIS STYLE TAILLIGHT ASSEMBLY AND PROVIDE A FIX TO THIS SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/12/2011 - SCOTT DEPOT, WV
2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO CLASSIC 1500; REDUCED ENGINE POWER COMES ON AND ENGINE SLOWS WAY DOWN NO MATTER WHERE YOU ARE. ALMOST WAS IN BIG WRECK ON INTERSTATE. EVIDENTLY GM DOESNT WANT TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. HAVE READ MANY REPORTS ON INTERNET ABOUT THIS ERROR MESSAGE AND GM'S INABILITY TO FIX IT OR EVEN CLAIM TO FIX IT. THIS IS A VERY BAD SAFETY ISSUE AND SOMEONE IS GOING TO GET KILLED. GM HAS ALREADY SHOWN, BY MANY REPORTS, THAT THEY DO NOT INTEND TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS ENGINE PROBLEM. FROM ALL THE REPORTS THAT I HAVE READ, THE PROBLEM NEVER GETS FIXED. WE JUST KEEP THROWING MONEY AT IT AND WE HAVE TO KEEP COMING BACK. IF THEY DO NOT FIX THIS ISSUE, I WILL BE SUING GM FOR THIS ISSUE AND MAKE SOMEONE TAKE RESPONSIBILITY. IT IS HIGHLY DANGEROUS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/9/2011 - DEMING, NM
AIR CONDITIONING JUST QUITS. CHECK FUSES OKAY. TOOK TRUCK TO DEALERSHIP AND THEY CHARGED $656.27 TO FIX A SHORT IN THE BLOWER RESISTOR RESULTING IN CONNECTOR MELTING AND BLOWER FAILURE. NEWER TRUCK AND ASKED DEALERSHIP IF UNDER WARRANTY OR IF RECALL, INFORMED ME THERE WAS NOT. GOT ON INTERNET AT HOME AND FOUND SEVERAL RECALLS ON 2007 CHEVY SILVERADO'S AND INFORMED DEALERSHIP THROUGH EMAILS, ABOUT RECALLS AND THAT IS WHEN I LEARNT OUR TRUCK WAS MANUFACTURED IN CANADA. CALLED DEALERSHIP WHERE WE PURCHASED THE TRUCK IN TEXAS TO INFORM THEM OF RECALLS AND THEY SAID IT DID NOT APPLY TO OUR TRUCK BECAUSE IT WAS KILOMETERS AND WE HAVE MILEAGE, DO I SOUND LIKE I AM BUBBA? RECALLS ARE FROM TRANSPORT CANADA AND NUMBERS ARE 2011074-EXACT PROBLEM OUR TRUCK IS HAVING; AND 2009291 DEALS WITH AIRBAGS(WHICH I HAVE NOT EVEN ATTEMPTED TO ADDRESS BECAUSE OF THE RUN AROUND I HAVE ALREADY EXPERIENCED. CANADIAN TRUCKS SHOULD NOT BE SOLD IN AMERICA IF RECALLS ARE NOT GOING TO BE HONORED. FIRE POSSIBILITY AND AIRBAG DEPLOYING ARE VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUES. CALLED GM OR CHEVROLET, HAVE ALL EMAILS OF PERSONNEL I HAVE CONTACTED IN REGARDS TO THIS ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/9/2011 - DEMING, NM
AIR CONDITIONING JUST QUITS. CHECK FUSES OKAY. TOOK TRUCK TO DEALERSHIP AND THEY CHARGED $656.27 TO FIX A SHORT IN THE BLOWER RESISTOR RESULTING IN CONNECTOR MELTING AND BLOWER FAILURE. NEWER TRUCK AND ASKED DEALERSHIP IF UNDER WARRANTY OR IF RECALL, INFORMED ME THERE WAS NOT. GOT ON INTERNET AT HOME AND FOUND SEVERAL RECALLS ON 2007 CHEVY SILVERADO'S AND INFORMED DEALERSHIP THROUGH EMAILS, ABOUT RECALLS AND THAT IS WHEN I LEARNT OUR TRUCK WAS MANUFACTURED IN CANADA. CALLED DEALERSHIP WHERE WE PURCHASED THE TRUCK IN TEXAS TO INFORM THEM OF RECALLS AND THEY SAID IT DID NOT APPLY TO OUR TRUCK BECAUSE IT WAS KILOMETERS AND WE HAVE MILEAGE, DO I SOUND LIKE I AM BUBBA? RECALLS ARE FROM TRANSPORT CANADA AND NUMBERS ARE 2011074-EXACT PROBLEM OUR TRUCK IS HAVING; AND 2009291 DEALS WITH AIRBAGS(WHICH I HAVE NOT EVEN ATTEMPTED TO ADDRESS BECAUSE OF THE RUN AROUND I HAVE ALREADY EXPERIENCED. CANADIAN TRUCKS SHOULD NOT BE SOLD IN AMERICA IF RECALLS ARE NOT GOING TO BE HONORED. FIRE POSSIBILITY AND AIRBAG DEPLOYING ARE VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUES. CALLED GM OR CHEVROLET, HAVE ALL EMAILS OF PERSONNEL I HAVE CONTACTED IN REGARDS TO THIS ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/9/2011 - DEMING, NM
AIR CONDITIONING JUST QUITS. CHECK FUSES OKAY. TOOK TRUCK TO DEALERSHIP AND THEY CHARGED $656.27 TO FIX A SHORT IN THE BLOWER RESISTOR RESULTING IN CONNECTOR MELTING AND BLOWER FAILURE. NEWER TRUCK AND ASKED DEALERSHIP IF UNDER WARRANTY OR IF RECALL, INFORMED ME THERE WAS NOT. GOT ON INTERNET AT HOME AND FOUND SEVERAL RECALLS ON 2007 CHEVY SILVERADO'S AND INFORMED DEALERSHIP THROUGH EMAILS, ABOUT RECALLS AND THAT IS WHEN I LEARNT OUR TRUCK WAS MANUFACTURED IN CANADA. CALLED DEALERSHIP WHERE WE PURCHASED THE TRUCK IN TEXAS TO INFORM THEM OF RECALLS AND THEY SAID IT DID NOT APPLY TO OUR TRUCK BECAUSE IT WAS KILOMETERS AND WE HAVE MILEAGE, DO I SOUND LIKE I AM BUBBA? RECALLS ARE FROM TRANSPORT CANADA AND NUMBERS ARE 2011074-EXACT PROBLEM OUR TRUCK IS HAVING; AND 2009291 DEALS WITH AIRBAGS(WHICH I HAVE NOT EVEN ATTEMPTED TO ADDRESS BECAUSE OF THE RUN AROUND I HAVE ALREADY EXPERIENCED. CANADIAN TRUCKS SHOULD NOT BE SOLD IN AMERICA IF RECALLS ARE NOT GOING TO BE HONORED. FIRE POSSIBILITY AND AIRBAG DEPLOYING ARE VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUES. CALLED GM OR CHEVROLET, HAVE ALL EMAILS OF PERSONNEL I HAVE CONTACTED IN REGARDS TO THIS ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

12/23/2010 - YARDLEY, PA
THE ABS COMES ON AT SPEEDS OF 7MPH AND 3 MPH ON MY 2007 CHEVY SILVERADO. I LIVE IN PENNSYLVANIA WHICH IS CONSIDERED THE SNOW BELT IN THE NORTH EAST, I HAD A 2000 SILVERADO AND THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE ABS BRAKE SYSTEM AND GM SAYS THERE IS NO RECALL ON MY TRUCKS ABS AND THE PROBLEM IS THE SAME AS THE 2000 WHICH WAS A RECALL IN 2005.

View Details

STEERING

9/17/2010 - BOONSBORO, MD
INTERMEDIATE STEERING COLUMN, CLUNKING NOISE RADIATING UP THROUGH THE STEERING COLUMN, VERY PRONOUNCED WHEN TURNING THE VEHICLE, NOISE HAS BECOME WORSE AND OWNER IS ANNOYED AND CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY OF THE VEHICLE. CONTACTING THE DEALER, THEY WANT TO CHARGE FOR THE DIAGNOSIS OF THE PROBLEM. DEALER HAS ALSO STATED THAT THE INTERMEDIATE STEERING SHAFT IS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. THE PROBLEM WAS PRESENT WHEN I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE. I THOUGHT IT WAS THE SHOCK ABSORBERS ON THE FRONT AND HAD NO DESIRE TO HAVE THE SAME 'CHEAP' SHOCKS REPLACED. UPON MY OBTAINING FOUR KYB BRAND SHOCK ABSORBERS AND INSTALLING THEM, IT BECAME APPARENT TO ME THAT THERE WAS A DIFFERENT PROBLEM. AFTER SOME RESEARCH, I FOUND A 'SERVICE BULLETIN' CONCERNING THE PROBLEM. UPON TALKING TO THE DEALER AND A FACTORY REPRESENTATIVE, I REALIZED THAT THEY DID NOT GIVE A DARN - THEY REFUSE TO REPLACE THE INTERMEDIATE STEERING COLUMN. I HAVE SINCE LEARNED THAT THIS IS A PROBLEM WITH NOT ONLY MY VEHICLE 'TYPE' BUT ALSO MANY OTHER GM VEHICLE 'TYPES.'

View Details

STEERING

3/20/2010 - HURST, TX
AT SLOW SPEED THE POWER STEERING FAILS. THIS FAILURE IS SPORADIC, BUT DOES HAPPEN OFTEN. THE STEERING WHEEL BECOMES AS HARD TO TURN AS WHEN THE ENGINE IS OFF WITH NO POWER BOOST AT ALL. THIS IS DANGEROUS AS THE ONLY OPTION IS TO STOP ABRUPTLY. CHEVROLET RECENTLY ISSUED A RECALL FOR REPAIR ON SOME CAR MODELS FOR THE SAME COMPLAINT, HOWEVER MY TRUCK WAS NOT INCLUDED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

2/14/2010 - RUSSELLVILLE, AR
I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE ABS SYSTEM ON MY 2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO CLASSIC, SINCE ABOUT THREE MONTHS AFTER I PURCHASED IT. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE NEW. THE FIRST OCCURRENCE CAUSED AN ACCIDENT, BUT NO INJURIES. I REPORTED THE PROBLEM TO THE DEALER, THEY CHECKED THE "COMPUTER" AND SAID "THE COMPUTER DOES NOT HAVE ANY CODES, SO NOTHING CAN BE WRONG." THE BRAKES HAVE LOCKED-UP, NUMEROUS TIMES SINCE THE FIRST ACCIDENT. THIS HAS HAPPENED ABOUT 25-30 TIMES IN THE LAST 3 YEARS. IT IS AN INTERMITTENT PROBLEM, NEVER OCCURRING IN THE SAME CONDITIONS. I CONTACTED GENERAL MOTORS AND THEY SENT A REGIONAL SUPERVISOR IN TO LOOK AT THE REPORTS. HE GAVE THE SAME ANSWER AND BASICALLY SAID IF THE COMPUTER DOESN'T SHOW A PROBLEM THEN THEIR CANT BE A PROBLEM, AND THEY COULDN'T AFFORD TO BEGIN REPLACING PARTS THAT COULD CAUSE THE PROBLEM. THIS IS A SAFETY CONCERN AND SHOULD BE ADDRESSED. IT HAS HAPPENED AS RECENTLY AS 1 WEEK AGO.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  ... 1
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds