Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2008 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 775 complaints filed for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (86) Equipment (4) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3) Unknown Or Other (39)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (11) Parking Brake (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Vehicle Speed Control (135)
Electrical System (198) Fuel Propulsion System (32) Power Train (227) Steering (17) Visibility (15)
Electronic Stability Control (31) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Seat Belts (10) Structure (20) Visibility Wiper (16)
Engine (98) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (6) Suspension (13) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (61) Latches Locks Linkages (21) Service Brakes (9) Tires (19)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 86
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

2/27/2017 - CHANDLER, AZ
WE HAVE BEEN HAVING A LOT OF PROBLEMS WITH OUR CAR LATELY. FIRST PROBLEM WE HAD WAS WITH OUR ALARM SYSTEM. THE ALARM HAS GONE OFF ON US BOTH WHEN THE CAR IS OFF AND WHEN THE CAR IS ON. THE HORN STARTS AND WON'T GO OFF UNTIL AFTER ABOUT 5 MINUTES NO MATTER WHAT WE DO. WE HAVE TRY TURNING IT OF WITH OUR KEY ALARM, TURNING THE CAR ON AND OFF, UNLOCKING THE DOORS BUT NOTHING SEEMS TO WORK. YESTERDAY WE WERE DRIVING OUR CAR AND THE CAR STALL AND WE WERE LUCKING TO BE ABLE TO PULL TO THE SIDE SAFETLY SINCE WE WERE COMING TO A STOP. AFTER A COUPLE ATTEMPTS, WE GOT THE CAR BACK ON AND RUNNING. I HAVE SEARCH THIS PROBLEM AND I FOUND THAT IT COULD BE THE TPMS. AS TO WHAT WE HAVE EXPERIENCE WITH THE CAR LATELY, WE ARE ALMOST SURE IT IS THIS. WE CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP AND WE WERE TOLD THAT THIS RECALL WAS PERFORM BACK IN APRIL OF 2008 AND ARE NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYTHING THE CAR IS GOING THROUGH NOW AND WILL NOT REPLACE THE PART FOR US AGAIN. CAN YOU PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF THE DEALERSHIP IS REQUIRED TO SWITCH THIS PART FOR US AGAIN SINCE OUR CAR IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE OR IF WE WOULD HAVE TO SOLVE THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/27/2017 - CHANDLER, AZ
WE HAVE BEEN HAVING A LOT OF PROBLEMS WITH OUR CAR LATELY. FIRST PROBLEM WE HAD WAS WITH OUR ALARM SYSTEM. THE ALARM HAS GONE OFF ON US BOTH WHEN THE CAR IS OFF AND WHEN THE CAR IS ON. THE HORN STARTS AND WON'T GO OFF UNTIL AFTER ABOUT 5 MINUTES NO MATTER WHAT WE DO. WE HAVE TRY TURNING IT OF WITH OUR KEY ALARM, TURNING THE CAR ON AND OFF, UNLOCKING THE DOORS BUT NOTHING SEEMS TO WORK. YESTERDAY WE WERE DRIVING OUR CAR AND THE CAR STALL AND WE WERE LUCKING TO BE ABLE TO PULL TO THE SIDE SAFETLY SINCE WE WERE COMING TO A STOP. AFTER A COUPLE ATTEMPTS, WE GOT THE CAR BACK ON AND RUNNING. I HAVE SEARCH THIS PROBLEM AND I FOUND THAT IT COULD BE THE TPMS. AS TO WHAT WE HAVE EXPERIENCE WITH THE CAR LATELY, WE ARE ALMOST SURE IT IS THIS. WE CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP AND WE WERE TOLD THAT THIS RECALL WAS PERFORM BACK IN APRIL OF 2008 AND ARE NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYTHING THE CAR IS GOING THROUGH NOW AND WILL NOT REPLACE THE PART FOR US AGAIN. CAN YOU PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF THE DEALERSHIP IS REQUIRED TO SWITCH THIS PART FOR US AGAIN SINCE OUR CAR IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE OR IF WE WOULD HAVE TO SOLVE THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/27/2017 - CHANDLER, AZ
WE HAVE BEEN HAVING A LOT OF PROBLEMS WITH OUR CAR LATELY. FIRST PROBLEM WE HAD WAS WITH OUR ALARM SYSTEM. THE ALARM HAS GONE OFF ON US BOTH WHEN THE CAR IS OFF AND WHEN THE CAR IS ON. THE HORN STARTS AND WON'T GO OFF UNTIL AFTER ABOUT 5 MINUTES NO MATTER WHAT WE DO. WE HAVE TRY TURNING IT OF WITH OUR KEY ALARM, TURNING THE CAR ON AND OFF, UNLOCKING THE DOORS BUT NOTHING SEEMS TO WORK. YESTERDAY WE WERE DRIVING OUR CAR AND THE CAR STALL AND WE WERE LUCKING TO BE ABLE TO PULL TO THE SIDE SAFETLY SINCE WE WERE COMING TO A STOP. AFTER A COUPLE ATTEMPTS, WE GOT THE CAR BACK ON AND RUNNING. I HAVE SEARCH THIS PROBLEM AND I FOUND THAT IT COULD BE THE TPMS. AS TO WHAT WE HAVE EXPERIENCE WITH THE CAR LATELY, WE ARE ALMOST SURE IT IS THIS. WE CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP AND WE WERE TOLD THAT THIS RECALL WAS PERFORM BACK IN APRIL OF 2008 AND ARE NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYTHING THE CAR IS GOING THROUGH NOW AND WILL NOT REPLACE THE PART FOR US AGAIN. CAN YOU PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF THE DEALERSHIP IS REQUIRED TO SWITCH THIS PART FOR US AGAIN SINCE OUR CAR IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE OR IF WE WOULD HAVE TO SOLVE THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/21/2017 - OTHO, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE MECHANIC WAS ABLE TO RETRIEVE SEVERAL FAULT CODES. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 08V152000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE FREE REPAIR FAILED TO REMEDY THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 145,428.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

2/20/2017 - MARYSVILLE, WA
WINDSHIELD WIPERS WORK INTERMITTENTLY, WHEN THE SWITCH IS ON THEY WILL TURN OFF AND ON BY THEMSELVES. FAST TO SLOW AND SLOW TO FAST. CAUSES VERY DANGEROUS DRIVING CONDITIONS IN ADVERSE WEATHER CONDITIONS. THIS HAPPENS WHEN CAR IS MOVING, OBVIOUSLY IN RAINY CONDITIONS. MOST RECENT ACCURATE 2-20-17 HIGHWAY AND CITY STREETS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/20/2017 - MARYSVILLE, WA
WINDSHIELD WIPERS WORK INTERMITTENTLY, WHEN THE SWITCH IS ON THEY WILL TURN OFF AND ON BY THEMSELVES. FAST TO SLOW AND SLOW TO FAST. CAUSES VERY DANGEROUS DRIVING CONDITIONS IN ADVERSE WEATHER CONDITIONS. THIS HAPPENS WHEN CAR IS MOVING, OBVIOUSLY IN RAINY CONDITIONS. MOST RECENT ACCURATE 2-20-17 HIGHWAY AND CITY STREETS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/19/2017 - URBANA, OH
DRIVERS SIDE DOOR WON'T CLOSE. THERE WAS A RECALL ON OTHER AVENGERS FOR THIS SAME ISSUE BUT NOT FOR MY CAR ITSELF. HAD TO DRIVE TWO HOURS BACK HOME WITH THE DOOR TIED SHUT. EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AND SHOULD BE CHECKED INTO FOR OTHER AVENGERS, MAYBE EXPAND THE RECALL? CAR WAS PARKED WHEN THIS HAPPENED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/14/2017 - OMAHA, NE
OUR 2008 DODGE AVENGER SPEWS FUEL OUT OF THE FUEL PORT WHILE FUELING AT ANY GAS STATION EVERY TIME WE PUT FUEL IN THE CAR. OUR DODGE 2008 DODGE NITRO HAD A RECALL FOR THE SAME ISSUE AND WAS REPAIRED, WHY ISN'T THERE ONE FOR THE AVENGER?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/1/2017 - HOLT, MI
'TAKATA RECALL" I WAS LEAVING THE HOSPITAL ON JANUARY 1, 2017, I PUT THE VEHICLE IN REVERSE AND AS I SHIFTED TO DRIVE IT WAS NOTICEABLY SHIFTING ROUGH (NOT THE GEAR, THE SHIFT STICK)I WAS PROCEEDING TO PAY FOR PARKING AND A LADY WAS WAITING BEHIND ME FRUSTRATED. I MADE IT HOME WITH THE VEHICLE. I WAS UNABLE TO START IT AGAIN. I NOTICED ALSO THAT THE SHIFTER SAYS THE VEHICLE IS IN PARK AND THE DASH READS THE VEHICLE IS IN REVERSE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/31/2017 - NELSONVILLE, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 15 MPH, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE AND THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SUB FRAME WAS CORRODED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 86
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds