Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2008 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 676 complaints filed for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (70) Equipment (4) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3) Unknown Or Other (19)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (8) Parking Brake (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Vehicle Speed Control (126)
Electrical System (160) Fuel Propulsion System (25) Power Train (209) Steering (15) Visibility (14)
Electronic Stability Control (20) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Seat Belts (4) Structure (16) Visibility Wiper (12)
Engine (72) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (4) Suspension (9) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (61) Latches Locks Linkages (21) Service Brakes (8) Tires (19)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 75
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

11/15/2016 - PALM COAST, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY FAILED TO ACCELERATE AND THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL SENSOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 178,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/15/2016 - PALM COAST, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY FAILED TO ACCELERATE AND THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL SENSOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 178,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/10/2016 - SHAWANO, WI
FAULTY INTAKE MANIFOLD RUNNER CONTROL, FAULTY WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/10/2016 - SHAWANO, WI
FAULTY INTAKE MANIFOLD RUNNER CONTROL, FAULTY WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

10/18/2016 - ANNISTON, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DOOR LATCH WOULD NOT LATCH IN ORDER TO REMAIN CLOSED. THE DOOR AJAR WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE DOOR LATCH ASSEMBLY FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 155,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/6/2016 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER TRAIN CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO PART UNAVAILABILITY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE PART WAS ON BACK ORDER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/22/2016 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
MY DODGE AVANGER THROTTLE BOTTLE CONTROL KEEP GOING OUT. I CONTACTED DODGE ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND THE FIRST TIME THEY ADVICED ME TO TAKE IT TOBTHE DEALERSHIP AND THEY FIXED IT BUT I STILL HAD FEES TO PAY. THE CAR HAD THE SAMW ISSUE A YEAR LATER I JUST GOTBIT FIXED. IT HAS NOW DID THE SAME THING , I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT THIS TYPE OF VEHICLE WILL CONTINUE TO HAPPEN. THE FLASHING LIGHTNING BOLT ON MY DASH CONTINUES TO FLASH. I HAVE READ MANY OTHER OWNERS OF THIS VEHICLE WITH THE SAME ISSUE. CHRYSLER DODGE IS AWARE OF THIS ISSUE AND WHEN I CONTACTED THEM THEY DID NOTHING. I AM ALSO HAVING AN ISSUE WITH THE DRIVERS WINDOW NOT GOING BACK UP. THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS ON THIS AS WELL. THIS IS DANGEROUS BECOUSR WHILE I WAS DRIVING GOING PAST AN INTERSECTION THE CAR SLOWD COMPLETED DOWN AND THEN THE RED LIGHTS OF A LIGHTNING BOLT FLASHED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/22/2016 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
MY DODGE AVANGER THROTTLE BOTTLE CONTROL KEEP GOING OUT. I CONTACTED DODGE ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND THE FIRST TIME THEY ADVICED ME TO TAKE IT TOBTHE DEALERSHIP AND THEY FIXED IT BUT I STILL HAD FEES TO PAY. THE CAR HAD THE SAMW ISSUE A YEAR LATER I JUST GOTBIT FIXED. IT HAS NOW DID THE SAME THING , I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT THIS TYPE OF VEHICLE WILL CONTINUE TO HAPPEN. THE FLASHING LIGHTNING BOLT ON MY DASH CONTINUES TO FLASH. I HAVE READ MANY OTHER OWNERS OF THIS VEHICLE WITH THE SAME ISSUE. CHRYSLER DODGE IS AWARE OF THIS ISSUE AND WHEN I CONTACTED THEM THEY DID NOTHING. I AM ALSO HAVING AN ISSUE WITH THE DRIVERS WINDOW NOT GOING BACK UP. THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS ON THIS AS WELL. THIS IS DANGEROUS BECOUSR WHILE I WAS DRIVING GOING PAST AN INTERSECTION THE CAR SLOWD COMPLETED DOWN AND THEN THE RED LIGHTS OF A LIGHTNING BOLT FLASHED.

View Details

ENGINE

9/17/2016 - NAPERVILLE, IL
I WAS ON HIGHWAY I-80 AND THE HORN STARTED GOING OFF ON ITS OWN. ENGINE STARTED TO LOSE POWER BUT THANKFULLY IT KEPT GOING AND I MADE IT HOME. WENT TO AUTO SHOP AND THEY DISCONNECTED BOTH HORNS. A WEEK LATER, AFTER I STOPPED, TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND TRIED TO RESTART IT, THE ENGINE WOULD NOT START. HAD THE BATTERY JUMPED AND THE CAR STARTED. A WEEK LATER THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AGAIN WHILE DRIVING. STOPPED AT RED LIGHT ON VERY BUSY STREET AND THE ENGINE JUST SHUT DOWN. HAD VEHICLE TOWED TO MECHANIC. IT STARTED. MECHANIC COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. TESTED THE BATTERY AND IT WAS GOOD. DROVE CAR HOME. 4 DAYS LATER CAR WOULD NOT START AGAIN. WAITED 15 MINUTES AND ENGINE STARTED. I AM TERRIFIED TO DRIVE THIS VEHICLE! I DON'T KNOW WHEN THE VEHICLE WILL STOP. THIS VEHICLE IS HAZARDOUS AND COULD CAUSE A FATAL ACCIDENT!!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/17/2016 - NAPERVILLE, IL
I WAS ON HIGHWAY I-80 AND THE HORN STARTED GOING OFF ON ITS OWN. ENGINE STARTED TO LOSE POWER BUT THANKFULLY IT KEPT GOING AND I MADE IT HOME. WENT TO AUTO SHOP AND THEY DISCONNECTED BOTH HORNS. A WEEK LATER, AFTER I STOPPED, TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND TRIED TO RESTART IT, THE ENGINE WOULD NOT START. HAD THE BATTERY JUMPED AND THE CAR STARTED. A WEEK LATER THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AGAIN WHILE DRIVING. STOPPED AT RED LIGHT ON VERY BUSY STREET AND THE ENGINE JUST SHUT DOWN. HAD VEHICLE TOWED TO MECHANIC. IT STARTED. MECHANIC COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. TESTED THE BATTERY AND IT WAS GOOD. DROVE CAR HOME. 4 DAYS LATER CAR WOULD NOT START AGAIN. WAITED 15 MINUTES AND ENGINE STARTED. I AM TERRIFIED TO DRIVE THIS VEHICLE! I DON'T KNOW WHEN THE VEHICLE WILL STOP. THIS VEHICLE IS HAZARDOUS AND COULD CAUSE A FATAL ACCIDENT!!!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 75
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds