Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2008 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 543 complaints filed for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (47) Exterior Lighting (4) Parking Brake (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (107) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Power Train (192) Steering (13) Vehicle Speed Control (103)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Fuel System Gasoline (24) Seat Belts (1) Structure (14) Visibility (12)
Engine (38) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (4) Suspension (9) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (58) Latches Locks Linkages (19) Service Brakes (3) Tires (19) Wheels (2)
Equipment (4) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 57
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/21/2014 - CLEVELAND , OH
I HAVE HAD MY BATTERY REPLACED (DID NOT HELP MY ISSUES). NEXT I SPENT A COUPLE HUNDRED TO HAVE MY "ELECTRICAL GROUND " REPAIRED (ALSO STILL HAD THE SAME ISSUES). MY ORIGINAL ISSUES (THAT HAVE NOT YET BEEN FIXED): CAR STALLING, CAR UNABLE TO START, ALL LIGHTS ON CAR FLICKERING. NOW MY REAR LIGHTS ARE NOT WORKING (THEREFORE I AM UNABLE TO DRIVE THIS DODGE AVENGER SINCE IT IS AN EXTREME SAFETY HAZARD WHEN REAR LIGHTS/BLINKERS DO NOT WORK). . THE DEALER SAYS IT IS THE TIPM THAT HAS CAUSED ALL REAR LIGHTS TO NOT FUNCTION ANYMORE AS WELL AS THE ORIGINAL ISSUES I HAD. THIS IS A $1,000 REPAIR THAT I RECENTLY LEARN THOUSANDS OF CHRYSLER/DODGE VEHICLES HAD HAD SAME ISSUE WITH. THIS DOES NOT SEEM FAIR THAT THE CONSUMER SHOULD PAY THE EXPENSE, WHEN CLEARLY THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN A RECALL ITEM. DUE TO THIS BEING A WIDESPREAD PROBLEM AMONGST DODGE VEHICLES,. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED MY CAR AS A ROAD SAFETY HAZARD DUE TO NO BREAK LIGHTS/TURN SIGNALS .

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/21/2014 - CLEVELAND , OH
I HAVE HAD MY BATTERY REPLACED (DID NOT HELP MY ISSUES). NEXT I SPENT A COUPLE HUNDRED TO HAVE MY "ELECTRICAL GROUND " REPAIRED (ALSO STILL HAD THE SAME ISSUES). MY ORIGINAL ISSUES (THAT HAVE NOT YET BEEN FIXED): CAR STALLING, CAR UNABLE TO START, ALL LIGHTS ON CAR FLICKERING. NOW MY REAR LIGHTS ARE NOT WORKING (THEREFORE I AM UNABLE TO DRIVE THIS DODGE AVENGER SINCE IT IS AN EXTREME SAFETY HAZARD WHEN REAR LIGHTS/BLINKERS DO NOT WORK). . THE DEALER SAYS IT IS THE TIPM THAT HAS CAUSED ALL REAR LIGHTS TO NOT FUNCTION ANYMORE AS WELL AS THE ORIGINAL ISSUES I HAD. THIS IS A $1,000 REPAIR THAT I RECENTLY LEARN THOUSANDS OF CHRYSLER/DODGE VEHICLES HAD HAD SAME ISSUE WITH. THIS DOES NOT SEEM FAIR THAT THE CONSUMER SHOULD PAY THE EXPENSE, WHEN CLEARLY THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN A RECALL ITEM. DUE TO THIS BEING A WIDESPREAD PROBLEM AMONGST DODGE VEHICLES,. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED MY CAR AS A ROAD SAFETY HAZARD DUE TO NO BREAK LIGHTS/TURN SIGNALS .

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/18/2014 - WICHITA, KS
THE ETC(ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL) LIGHT CAME ON AND ESSENTIALLY PUT THE CAR INTO LIMP MODE AND ALMOST CAUSED MY WIFE TO END UP IN AN ACCIDENT DRIVING AT ROUGHLY 75MPH IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. TOOK IT TO THE SHOP AND THEY REPLACED A VALVE AND SAID THE CODES WERE READING THAT IT HAD RESTRICTED AIR FLOW. THE PROBLEM HAPPENED AGAIN RESULTING A POTENTIAL ACCIDENT ON THE INTERSTATE. THROUGH RESEARCH, I HAVE COME TO FIND OUT ITS THE THROTTLE BODY AND DODGE'S INABILITY TO PUT QUALITY INTO THEIR PARTS. EXAMPLE BEING THE PLASTIC GEARS WITHIN THE ETC UNIT OF THE THROTTLE BODY. I UNDERSTAND THAT PROBLEMS OCCUR AND PARTS BREAK BUT WITH THE AMOUNT OF COMPLAINTS THAT I HAVE SEEN ABOUT THIS PARTICULAR ISSUE, DODGE NEEDS TO BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR PUTTING THIS KIND OF LOW QUALITY CRAFTSMANSHIP WITHIN THEIR VEHICLES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/18/2014 - WICHITA, KS
THE ETC(ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL) LIGHT CAME ON AND ESSENTIALLY PUT THE CAR INTO LIMP MODE AND ALMOST CAUSED MY WIFE TO END UP IN AN ACCIDENT DRIVING AT ROUGHLY 75MPH IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. TOOK IT TO THE SHOP AND THEY REPLACED A VALVE AND SAID THE CODES WERE READING THAT IT HAD RESTRICTED AIR FLOW. THE PROBLEM HAPPENED AGAIN RESULTING A POTENTIAL ACCIDENT ON THE INTERSTATE. THROUGH RESEARCH, I HAVE COME TO FIND OUT ITS THE THROTTLE BODY AND DODGE'S INABILITY TO PUT QUALITY INTO THEIR PARTS. EXAMPLE BEING THE PLASTIC GEARS WITHIN THE ETC UNIT OF THE THROTTLE BODY. I UNDERSTAND THAT PROBLEMS OCCUR AND PARTS BREAK BUT WITH THE AMOUNT OF COMPLAINTS THAT I HAVE SEEN ABOUT THIS PARTICULAR ISSUE, DODGE NEEDS TO BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR PUTTING THIS KIND OF LOW QUALITY CRAFTSMANSHIP WITHIN THEIR VEHICLES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/12/2014 - FOWLERVILLE , MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER ACCELERATION AND FAILED TO ACCELERATE OVER 30 MPH. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT AN UNKNOWN WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART AND OPERATED AS NORMAL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/11/2014 - PIQUA, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE THE HESITATED AND IT TOOK SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TURNING THE IGNITION SWITCH BEFORE THE VEHICLE STARTED. THE FAILURE RECURRED SPORADICALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 88,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/3/2014 - ST PETERSBURG, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTED INTO REVERSE INDEPENDENTLY AND FAILED TO SHIFT BACK IN DRIVE. THE SHIFT CONTROL CABLE FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 109,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/2/2014 - TWINSBURG, OH
I HAD MY ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL REPLACED IN THE WINTER OF 2013. AS I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, THE CAR LOST ALL POWER AND WOULD NOT TURN BACK ON. AFTER SEEING THE MANY COMPLAINTS HERE I WAS SURE CHRYSLER WOULD COVER IT, BUT THEY DID NOT. THEY, IN FACT, TOLD ME THAT THEY EXPLICITLY WERE NOT COVERING ALL OF THE COMPLAINTS ON THIS PART! TODAY, I LEARNED THAT NOW I AM HAVING ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS AGAIN. MY RIGHT TURN SIGNAL AND BRAKE LIGHT WORK WHENEVER THEY WANT, NO RHYME OR REASON. MY CRUISE CONTROL ALSO WORKS WHENEVER IT WANTS AND THE AUTO TECHNICIANS CANNOT FIGURE OUT WHY BECAUSE THERE IS NOT WARNING LIGHT COMING ON MY DASH. I LEARNED ABOUT A POSSIBLE RECALL RELATED TO THE TPMS CONNECTORS AND HOW THEY CORRODE THEN CAUSE ELECTRICAL ISSUES, BUT MY VEHICLE DOESN'T QUALIFY. I CALLED CHRYSLER AGAIN TODAY AND THEY WERE VERY RUDE. THEY WOULD NOT GIVE ME ANY INFORMATION ON HOW TO ESCALATE MY PROBLEMS. I TOLD HIM THAT WAS ODD AND HE SAID TO ME "IS IT REALLY ODD? IF YOU WERE THE CORPORATION WOULD YOU GIVE IT OUT?" I'LL NEVER BUY A CHRYSLER PRODUCT AGAIN. FIX THE ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS THAT ARE ALL LISTED HERE AND SAVE YOUR CUSTOMERS!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/27/2014 - KERRVILLE, TX
LEFT HEADLIGHT AND RIGHT BREAKLIGHT COMES ON WITHOUT REQUEST. TURN SIGNALS BEGIN BLINKING RAPIDLY. TIPM IS FAILING. JAMES WESSELING SR 40 ORANGE CIRCLE KERRVILLE, TX VIN 1B3LC56R08N691702

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/6/2014 - FRANKFORT , KY
I STARTED THE CAR AND IT DROVE NORMALLY FOR 1/4 MILE. CAR THEN BEGAN BUCKING AND WOULD NOT ACCELERATE OVER 20MPH. ELECTRIC THROTTLE LIGHT CAME ON. SHOP SAID THE ELECTRIC THROTTLE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. GOT IT REPLACED IN JUNE OF 2013. IN AUGUST OF 2014, MY BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON. CAR DROVE NORMALLY. STOPPED AFTER AN HOUR TRIP. TWO HOURS LATER CAR WOULDN'T START. RECEIVED A JUMP, CAR STARTED BUT WOULD NOT ACCELERATE OVER 25 MPH. ELECTRIC THROTTLE LIGHT, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, AND BATTERY LIGHT ARE ON. TO THE SHOP I GO AGAIN...ALMOST TWO MONTHS AFTER THE WARRANTY HAS EXPIRED...

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 57
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds