Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2008 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 529 complaints filed for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (45) Exterior Lighting (3) Parking Brake (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (97) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Power Train (191) Steering (13) Vehicle Speed Control (99)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel System Gasoline (24) Seat Belts (1) Structure (14) Visibility (11)
Engine (36) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (4) Suspension (9) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (58) Latches Locks Linkages (19) Service Brakes (3) Tires (19) Wheels (2)
Equipment (4) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 56
 
ComplaintDescription

TIRES: PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

7/8/2014 - JACKSON, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, HE NOTICED THAT TWO TIRE PRESSURE SENSORS WERE COMPLETELY CORRODED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE OTHER TWO SENSORS FRACTURED AND EXHIBITED SLIGHT CORROSION. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,877.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/7/2014 - NORMAL, IL
I HAD PARKED MY CAR, 20 MINUTES LATER I WENT TO START THE CAR AND IT STARTED. AS I SHIFTED THE CAR IN REVERSE, THE CAR IMMEDIATELY DIED AND THE ELECTRIC THROTTLE LIGHT CAME ON. I PUT MY CAR IN PARKED AND STARTED IT AGAIN. AND IT DID IT AGAIN WITH ENGINE LIGHT ALSO. FINALLY, I STARTED THE CAR AND IT CONTINUED TO RUN. I BACKED OUT AND STARTED TO DRIVE. A BLOCK AWAY AT A FOUR WAY STOP SIGN THE CAR COMPLETELY DIED. WAS NOT ABLE TO EVEN USE MY FLASHERS. I CALL A TOW TRUCK AND HAD MY CAR SENT TO A REPAIR SHOP WITH THE SPARE KEY. THE REPAIR SHOP CALLED ME LATER AND STATED THAT THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR AND IT WAS RUNNING FINE BUT MIGHT NEED TO BE LOOKED AT A TRANSMISSION SHOP. MY VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A TRANSMISSION SHOP AND THEY STATED THE SAME THING AND THOUGHT THAT IT MAY HAVE BEEN THE KEY THAT I WAS USING. SO FOR TWO DAYS AFTER PICKING UP MY CAR, THE SPARE KEY WAS WORKING AND THE CAR WAS RUNNING. 4TH OF JULY EVENING MY CAR QUIT WORKING IN THE DRIVE THRU AND THE THROTTLE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN, I WAS ABLE TO START IT BUT WHILE I WAS DRIVING THE CAR DIED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. I WAS NOT ABLE TO USE MY FLASHERS CAUSE THEY DID NOT WORK. I WAS AFRAID THAT SOMEONE MIGHT REAR END MY CAR DUE TO THE VEHICLE WAS DYING AND I HAD MY KIDS IN THE CAR. I WAS GLAD I WAS CLOSE TO HOME BUT THAT IS VERY SCARY AT NIGHT WHEN YOUR LIGHTS COMPLETELY STOP WORKING. MY CAR IS CURRENTLY AT THE DODGE DEALERSHIP AND THEY ARE STATING THAT THEY DON'T KNOW WHATS WRONG WITH IT BUT FOR THEM TO CONTINUE TO CHECK IT OUT I HAVE TO PAY $150 AND THEY THINK IT MIGHT BE AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM. I CONTINUE TO RESEARCH ONLINE AND IT SEEMS THAT I'M NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS PROBLEM WITH THE SAME YEAR, MAKE AND MODEL, SO HOW DO THEY NOT KNOW WHAT IT IS. I'M GLAD THAT I WASN'T ON THE HIGHWAY, IT COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/2/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE CONTACT WAS A CERTIFIED MECHANIC, WHO INSPECTED THE FUEL PUMP AND DISCOVERED THAT THE WIRE CONNECTED TO THE FUEL PUMP WAS BURNED INSIDE THE FUEL TANK. THE CONTACT REPAIRED THE VEHICLE AND NOTIFIED THE MANUFACTURER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/11/2014 - BELVIDERE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE+S SPEED DECREASED TO 10 MPH AND THE POWER INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT TURNED OFF THE VEHICLE FOR 10 MINUTES, BUT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE ELECTRIC THROTTLE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/11/2014 - BELVIDERE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE+S SPEED DECREASED TO 10 MPH AND THE POWER INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT TURNED OFF THE VEHICLE FOR 10 MINUTES, BUT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE ELECTRIC THROTTLE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/29/2014 - ALTON , IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IMMEDIATELY AFTER STARTING THE VEHICLE, FLAMES STARTED TO EMIT FROM THE DRIVERS SIDE SPEAKER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE USED A FIRE EXTINGUISHER TO PUT OUT THE FIRE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

5/27/2014 - HUDSONVILLE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE FRONT PASSENGER'S SIDE DOOR UNLATCHED INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT MANEUVERED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHERE A BUNGEE CORD WAS USED TO SECURE THE INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE. THERE WERE TWO RECALLS ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBERS 07V414000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES) AND 07V104000 (07V104000) HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 128,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/7/2014 - PACE , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE WAITING AT A TRAFFIC STOP, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER HOWEVER, THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 08V152000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 71,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/23/2014 - PARDEEVILLE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN HE ENGAGED THE TURNING SIGNAL, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WOULD ACTIVATE SIMULTANEOUSLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE A FAILURE. A MONITORING SYSTEM WAS PLACED IN THE VEHICLE TO HELP DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 115,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/21/2014 - RICHGROVE, CA
I WAS CUT OFF BY ANOTHER DRIVER WHO FAILED TO STOP AND YIELD TO ONCOMING TRAFFIC (ME). I BRAKED HARD TO AVOID REAR ENDING HIM, BUT HE TURNED INTO MY LANE WHEN I WAS TOO CLOSE. TO MAKE THE LONG STORY SHOT, I ENDED UP COLLIDING WITH HIM. THE CRASH WAS PRETTY BAD, AND BOTH THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. I SUSTAINED MAJOR INJURIES TO MY FACE, SHOULDERS, BACK, NECK, AND LEGS. A POLICE REPORT WAS MADE, BUT I HAVE NOT REPORTED THE DEFECT TO DODGE. WHAT SHOULD I DO? SHOULD I GO CIVIL?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 56
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds