Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2008 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 699 complaints filed for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (72) Equipment (4) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3) Unknown Or Other (25)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (8) Parking Brake (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Vehicle Speed Control (127)
Electrical System (172) Fuel Propulsion System (29) Power Train (211) Steering (15) Visibility (14)
Electronic Stability Control (21) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Seat Belts (5) Structure (17) Visibility Wiper (13)
Engine (78) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (4) Suspension (9) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (61) Latches Locks Linkages (21) Service Brakes (8) Tires (19)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 78
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/16/2017 - SPENCER, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER THE VEHICLE STALLED, SEVERAL WARNING LIGHTS BECAME ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRACTION CONTROL, THE ABS, AND ELECTRICAL SYSTEM WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE WARNING LIGHTS WERE ILLUMINATED, THE HORN, HAZARD LIGHTS, TRACTION CONTROL, ABS, AND INSTRUMENT CLUSTER FAILED TO OPERATE AS INTENDED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED HOWEVER, THE MECHANIC WAS UNABLE TO RETRIEVE A FAULT CODE OR REPRODUCE THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT CURRENTLY THE VEHICLE WAS INOPERABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT EXHAUSTIVE RESEARCH CONCLUDED THAT THE TIPM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 08V152000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 162,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/2/2017 - CORRY, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED AND NUMEROUS WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT NO ASSISTANCE WOULD BE PROVIDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 60,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/17/2017 - MOBILE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/5/2017 - UPPER MARLBORO, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY AND THE VEHICLE DECELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE CONTACT WAS UNAWARE OF THE EXACT PART THAT NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 08V152000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/13/2017 - FREDERICKSBURG, TX
"TAKATA RECALL " RECENT AND ONGOING PROBLEM WITH MY 08 DODGE AVENGER IS THE AIRBAG LIGHT HAS BEEN COMING ON RANDOMLY, FROM START UP AND WHILE DRIVING. AIRBAG HAS NEVER DEPLOYED OR NO INJURIES TO VEHICLE, HAS BEEN ON AND OFF SINCE LAST YEAR. OIL PRESSURE LIGHT WAS ALSO ON, GOT THE OIL PRESSURE SENSOR REPLACED, WOULD START OFF FROM START UP AND WOULD COME ON AND OFF CONSTEADLY. FRONT DRIVERSSEATBELT ALSO STOPPED RETRACTING HAVE RECENTLY HAD THAT CHANGED AS WELL. THE TPMS LIGHT HAS BEEN ON FOR ABOUT 2 YEARS NOW, TURNS ON AT START UP AND STAYS ON WHILE DRIVING. THE ENGINE LIGHT HAS ALSO BEEN ON FOR AWHILE NOW TOO, FROM START UP AND WHILE DRIVING, JUST STAYS ON, SINCE A FEW MONTHS OF VEHICLE PURCHASE, WAS ACTUALLY STILL MAKING PAYMENTS WHEN I TOOK IT IN FOR SERVICE FOR THE ENGINE LIGHT, CAME OFF AND BACK ON 2 MONTHS LATER, BEEN STRUGGLING WITH IT EVERY SINCE. JUST HAVE LEARNED TO LIVE WITH THE ENGINE LIGHT ON AND TPMS LIGHT ON AS WELL. HAVE HAD TO CHANGE THE ALTERNATOR 3 TIMES ON THIS CAR ALREADY TOO. MY CAR DRIVES FINE NOW, DON'T WANT TO JUST KEEP IGNORING THE PROBLEM, WOULD REALLY LIKE THAT FIXED.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

3/13/2017 - FREDERICKSBURG, TX
"TAKATA RECALL " RECENT AND ONGOING PROBLEM WITH MY 08 DODGE AVENGER IS THE AIRBAG LIGHT HAS BEEN COMING ON RANDOMLY, FROM START UP AND WHILE DRIVING. AIRBAG HAS NEVER DEPLOYED OR NO INJURIES TO VEHICLE, HAS BEEN ON AND OFF SINCE LAST YEAR. OIL PRESSURE LIGHT WAS ALSO ON, GOT THE OIL PRESSURE SENSOR REPLACED, WOULD START OFF FROM START UP AND WOULD COME ON AND OFF CONSTEADLY. FRONT DRIVERSSEATBELT ALSO STOPPED RETRACTING HAVE RECENTLY HAD THAT CHANGED AS WELL. THE TPMS LIGHT HAS BEEN ON FOR ABOUT 2 YEARS NOW, TURNS ON AT START UP AND STAYS ON WHILE DRIVING. THE ENGINE LIGHT HAS ALSO BEEN ON FOR AWHILE NOW TOO, FROM START UP AND WHILE DRIVING, JUST STAYS ON, SINCE A FEW MONTHS OF VEHICLE PURCHASE, WAS ACTUALLY STILL MAKING PAYMENTS WHEN I TOOK IT IN FOR SERVICE FOR THE ENGINE LIGHT, CAME OFF AND BACK ON 2 MONTHS LATER, BEEN STRUGGLING WITH IT EVERY SINCE. JUST HAVE LEARNED TO LIVE WITH THE ENGINE LIGHT ON AND TPMS LIGHT ON AS WELL. HAVE HAD TO CHANGE THE ALTERNATOR 3 TIMES ON THIS CAR ALREADY TOO. MY CAR DRIVES FINE NOW, DON'T WANT TO JUST KEEP IGNORING THE PROBLEM, WOULD REALLY LIKE THAT FIXED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/13/2017 - FREDERICKSBURG, TX
"TAKATA RECALL " RECENT AND ONGOING PROBLEM WITH MY 08 DODGE AVENGER IS THE AIRBAG LIGHT HAS BEEN COMING ON RANDOMLY, FROM START UP AND WHILE DRIVING. AIRBAG HAS NEVER DEPLOYED OR NO INJURIES TO VEHICLE, HAS BEEN ON AND OFF SINCE LAST YEAR. OIL PRESSURE LIGHT WAS ALSO ON, GOT THE OIL PRESSURE SENSOR REPLACED, WOULD START OFF FROM START UP AND WOULD COME ON AND OFF CONSTEADLY. FRONT DRIVERSSEATBELT ALSO STOPPED RETRACTING HAVE RECENTLY HAD THAT CHANGED AS WELL. THE TPMS LIGHT HAS BEEN ON FOR ABOUT 2 YEARS NOW, TURNS ON AT START UP AND STAYS ON WHILE DRIVING. THE ENGINE LIGHT HAS ALSO BEEN ON FOR AWHILE NOW TOO, FROM START UP AND WHILE DRIVING, JUST STAYS ON, SINCE A FEW MONTHS OF VEHICLE PURCHASE, WAS ACTUALLY STILL MAKING PAYMENTS WHEN I TOOK IT IN FOR SERVICE FOR THE ENGINE LIGHT, CAME OFF AND BACK ON 2 MONTHS LATER, BEEN STRUGGLING WITH IT EVERY SINCE. JUST HAVE LEARNED TO LIVE WITH THE ENGINE LIGHT ON AND TPMS LIGHT ON AS WELL. HAVE HAD TO CHANGE THE ALTERNATOR 3 TIMES ON THIS CAR ALREADY TOO. MY CAR DRIVES FINE NOW, DON'T WANT TO JUST KEEP IGNORING THE PROBLEM, WOULD REALLY LIKE THAT FIXED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/8/2017 - RUSSELL, PA
SPRING BROKE , CAR STUCK IN PARK...

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/1/2017 - LAKE VILLAGE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 115,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/27/2017 - CHANDLER, AZ
WE HAVE BEEN HAVING A LOT OF PROBLEMS WITH OUR CAR LATELY. FIRST PROBLEM WE HAD WAS WITH OUR ALARM SYSTEM. THE ALARM HAS GONE OFF ON US BOTH WHEN THE CAR IS OFF AND WHEN THE CAR IS ON. THE HORN STARTS AND WON'T GO OFF UNTIL AFTER ABOUT 5 MINUTES NO MATTER WHAT WE DO. WE HAVE TRY TURNING IT OF WITH OUR KEY ALARM, TURNING THE CAR ON AND OFF, UNLOCKING THE DOORS BUT NOTHING SEEMS TO WORK. YESTERDAY WE WERE DRIVING OUR CAR AND THE CAR STALL AND WE WERE LUCKING TO BE ABLE TO PULL TO THE SIDE SAFETLY SINCE WE WERE COMING TO A STOP. AFTER A COUPLE ATTEMPTS, WE GOT THE CAR BACK ON AND RUNNING. I HAVE SEARCH THIS PROBLEM AND I FOUND THAT IT COULD BE THE TPMS. AS TO WHAT WE HAVE EXPERIENCE WITH THE CAR LATELY, WE ARE ALMOST SURE IT IS THIS. WE CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP AND WE WERE TOLD THAT THIS RECALL WAS PERFORM BACK IN APRIL OF 2008 AND ARE NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYTHING THE CAR IS GOING THROUGH NOW AND WILL NOT REPLACE THE PART FOR US AGAIN. CAN YOU PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF THE DEALERSHIP IS REQUIRED TO SWITCH THIS PART FOR US AGAIN SINCE OUR CAR IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE OR IF WE WOULD HAVE TO SOLVE THIS PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 78
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds