Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2008 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 670 complaints filed for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (70) Equipment (4) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3) Unknown Or Other (18)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (8) Parking Brake (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Vehicle Speed Control (125)
Electrical System (159) Fuel Propulsion System (25) Power Train (207) Steering (15) Visibility (14)
Electronic Stability Control (20) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Seat Belts (3) Structure (16) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine (72) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (4) Suspension (9) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (61) Latches Locks Linkages (20) Service Brakes (8) Tires (19)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 74
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/22/2016 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
MY DODGE AVANGER THROTTLE BOTTLE CONTROL KEEP GOING OUT. I CONTACTED DODGE ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND THE FIRST TIME THEY ADVICED ME TO TAKE IT TOBTHE DEALERSHIP AND THEY FIXED IT BUT I STILL HAD FEES TO PAY. THE CAR HAD THE SAMW ISSUE A YEAR LATER I JUST GOTBIT FIXED. IT HAS NOW DID THE SAME THING , I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT THIS TYPE OF VEHICLE WILL CONTINUE TO HAPPEN. THE FLASHING LIGHTNING BOLT ON MY DASH CONTINUES TO FLASH. I HAVE READ MANY OTHER OWNERS OF THIS VEHICLE WITH THE SAME ISSUE. CHRYSLER DODGE IS AWARE OF THIS ISSUE AND WHEN I CONTACTED THEM THEY DID NOTHING. I AM ALSO HAVING AN ISSUE WITH THE DRIVERS WINDOW NOT GOING BACK UP. THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS ON THIS AS WELL. THIS IS DANGEROUS BECOUSR WHILE I WAS DRIVING GOING PAST AN INTERSECTION THE CAR SLOWD COMPLETED DOWN AND THEN THE RED LIGHTS OF A LIGHTNING BOLT FLASHED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/22/2016 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
MY DODGE AVANGER THROTTLE BOTTLE CONTROL KEEP GOING OUT. I CONTACTED DODGE ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND THE FIRST TIME THEY ADVICED ME TO TAKE IT TOBTHE DEALERSHIP AND THEY FIXED IT BUT I STILL HAD FEES TO PAY. THE CAR HAD THE SAMW ISSUE A YEAR LATER I JUST GOTBIT FIXED. IT HAS NOW DID THE SAME THING , I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT THIS TYPE OF VEHICLE WILL CONTINUE TO HAPPEN. THE FLASHING LIGHTNING BOLT ON MY DASH CONTINUES TO FLASH. I HAVE READ MANY OTHER OWNERS OF THIS VEHICLE WITH THE SAME ISSUE. CHRYSLER DODGE IS AWARE OF THIS ISSUE AND WHEN I CONTACTED THEM THEY DID NOTHING. I AM ALSO HAVING AN ISSUE WITH THE DRIVERS WINDOW NOT GOING BACK UP. THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS ON THIS AS WELL. THIS IS DANGEROUS BECOUSR WHILE I WAS DRIVING GOING PAST AN INTERSECTION THE CAR SLOWD COMPLETED DOWN AND THEN THE RED LIGHTS OF A LIGHTNING BOLT FLASHED.

View Details

ENGINE

9/17/2016 - NAPERVILLE, IL
I WAS ON HIGHWAY I-80 AND THE HORN STARTED GOING OFF ON ITS OWN. ENGINE STARTED TO LOSE POWER BUT THANKFULLY IT KEPT GOING AND I MADE IT HOME. WENT TO AUTO SHOP AND THEY DISCONNECTED BOTH HORNS. A WEEK LATER, AFTER I STOPPED, TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND TRIED TO RESTART IT, THE ENGINE WOULD NOT START. HAD THE BATTERY JUMPED AND THE CAR STARTED. A WEEK LATER THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AGAIN WHILE DRIVING. STOPPED AT RED LIGHT ON VERY BUSY STREET AND THE ENGINE JUST SHUT DOWN. HAD VEHICLE TOWED TO MECHANIC. IT STARTED. MECHANIC COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. TESTED THE BATTERY AND IT WAS GOOD. DROVE CAR HOME. 4 DAYS LATER CAR WOULD NOT START AGAIN. WAITED 15 MINUTES AND ENGINE STARTED. I AM TERRIFIED TO DRIVE THIS VEHICLE! I DON'T KNOW WHEN THE VEHICLE WILL STOP. THIS VEHICLE IS HAZARDOUS AND COULD CAUSE A FATAL ACCIDENT!!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/17/2016 - NAPERVILLE, IL
I WAS ON HIGHWAY I-80 AND THE HORN STARTED GOING OFF ON ITS OWN. ENGINE STARTED TO LOSE POWER BUT THANKFULLY IT KEPT GOING AND I MADE IT HOME. WENT TO AUTO SHOP AND THEY DISCONNECTED BOTH HORNS. A WEEK LATER, AFTER I STOPPED, TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND TRIED TO RESTART IT, THE ENGINE WOULD NOT START. HAD THE BATTERY JUMPED AND THE CAR STARTED. A WEEK LATER THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AGAIN WHILE DRIVING. STOPPED AT RED LIGHT ON VERY BUSY STREET AND THE ENGINE JUST SHUT DOWN. HAD VEHICLE TOWED TO MECHANIC. IT STARTED. MECHANIC COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. TESTED THE BATTERY AND IT WAS GOOD. DROVE CAR HOME. 4 DAYS LATER CAR WOULD NOT START AGAIN. WAITED 15 MINUTES AND ENGINE STARTED. I AM TERRIFIED TO DRIVE THIS VEHICLE! I DON'T KNOW WHEN THE VEHICLE WILL STOP. THIS VEHICLE IS HAZARDOUS AND COULD CAUSE A FATAL ACCIDENT!!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/10/2016 - ORLANDO, FL
TAKATA RECALL, MY 2008 DODGE AVENGER HAS ALWAYS DRAINED BATTERIES FAST I THOUGHT NOTHING OF IT AT FIRST UNTIL MY CAR BEGAN NOT TO START, NOW IT DOES NOT START, KILLS BATTERIES, CRUISE CONTROL DOES NOT WORK, AND NOW THE AC IS HAVING PROBLEMS, I LOOKED INTO THE RECALLS AND EVERYTHING THAT IS GOING WRONG WITH MY CAR MATCHES THE RECALL THAT TOOK PLACE IN APRIL 2008. I NOW FEAR THAT MY CAR WILL TURN OFF WHILE I AM DRIVING. PLEASE FIX THIS PROBLEM BEFORE IT ESCALATES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/10/2016 - MESA, AZ
THE WINDOW REGULATORS AND MOTORS CONTINUOUSLY GO OUT CAUSING THE WINDOWS TO BE UNABLE TO ROLL UP OR DOWN. I HAVE REPLACED THEM AT LEAST TWICE SINCE 2010 AND THEY NOW NEED TO BE REPAIRED AGAIN, FOR A THIRD TIME. THIS HAS HAPPENED WHILE STATIONARY, WHILE DRIVING ON CITY STREETS, AND WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAYS.

View Details

ENGINE

8/23/2016 - KANNAPOLIS, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH AND MAKING A U TURN, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART ON THE FIRST ATTEMPT; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 180,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/5/2016 - BECHTELSVILLE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED TO WORK WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC WHO REPLACED THE WINDSHIELD WIPER'S MOTOR, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/3/2016 - MANASSAS, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH IN A RAIN STORM, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED TO OPERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIPM WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 128,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/3/2016 - MANASSAS, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH IN A RAIN STORM, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED TO OPERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIPM WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 128,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 74
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds