Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2008 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 553 complaints filed for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (48) Exterior Lighting (4) Parking Brake (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (114) Fuel Propulsion System (16) Power Train (193) Steering (13) Vehicle Speed Control (105)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Seat Belts (1) Structure (14) Visibility (12)
Engine (41) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (4) Suspension (9) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (58) Latches Locks Linkages (19) Service Brakes (3) Tires (19) Wheels (2)
Equipment (4) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

10/27/2014 - DEARBORN HEIGHTS, MI
I WAS DRIVING 40 MPH ON A MAIN ROAD WHEN I NOTICED MY AIR BAG LIGHT COME. I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF TALKING ABOUT IT WITH A FRIEND AND MY AIR BAG SUDDENLY DEPLOYED IN MY SEAT. NO ACCIDENT OR INJURIES BUT IT COULD HAVE BEEN WORSE. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE SHOP WHERE IT SAT FOR 4 MONTHS. THEY REPLACED THE AIRBAGS BUT I HAD TO PAY $3000 FOR EVERYTHING ELSE THAT WAS WRONG SO THAT THEY COULD FIX THE AIR BAG. THAT INCLUDED THE DAMAGED CRANKSHAFT, THE TIMING CHAIN, THE SENSORS, THE FUEL SYSTEM THAT RANDOMLY STOPPED WORKING THE DAY I TOOK IT IN. THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS NO TELL WHEN ALL THIS WAS DAMAGED. I BOUGHT THE CAR AT 53000 MILES AND WAS TOLD IT WAS IN A REAR END MINOR ACCIDENT. BUT NO OTHER ACCIDENT. I GOT MY CAR BACK IN JULY AND IT WAS WORKING JUST FINE FOR A LITTLE WHILE AND NOW ALL THE PROBLEMS I HAVE HAD BEFORE ARE OCCURRING AGAIN. THOSE PROBLEMS ARE THE STALLING AT STOP LIGHTS, THE RPM REVVING ON ITS OWN WHEN I'M IN PARK, AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT AGAIN KEEPS COMING ON WHEN THE PASSENGER SEAT IS MOVED. ALSO TODAY I NOTICED THAT THE PANELING AROUND MY DRIVERS SEAT BELT ISN'T PUT TOGETHER ALL THE WAY. SHOULD I BE CONCERNED? CHRYSLER NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/14/2014 - MONROE, MI
MY 08 DODGE PURCHASED AT MONROE MI, DODGE SUPERSTORE. I HAVE AN FAULTY ELECTRICAL SYSTEM WIRING. MY VEHICLE STALLS IN WET WEATHER, CRUISE CONTROL DOESN'T WORK, AND HEADLIGHTS MALFUNTIONS, THEY COME ON AUTOMATICALLY. I UNDERSTAND 08 DODGE AVENGER HAS HAD A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE. I BELIEVE MONROE DODGE FAILED TO FIX OR NOTIFY ME OF RECALL. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR FOR HIGH RATE OF AN ACCIDENT. PLEASE INVESTIGATE, AS I APPRECIATE YOUR ATTENTION TO THIS MATTER , BEFORE I HAVE AN ACCIDENT AND HURT SOMEONE. I NEED CAR FIXED ASAP AS I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE IT. I APPRECIATE YOUR ATTENTION TO THIS MATTER. THANK YOU. 10/14/2014.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/14/2014 - ORLANDO, FL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE HESITATED AND FAILED TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE, ALL THE SHIFT GEAR INDICATOR LIGHTS HAD SQUARES AROUND THEM A ND THE TRANSMISSION HAD PROBLEMS SHIFTING INTO THE CORRECT GEAR. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000. PAM

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/14/2014 - ORLANDO, FL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE HESITATED AND FAILED TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE, ALL THE SHIFT GEAR INDICATOR LIGHTS HAD SQUARES AROUND THEM A ND THE TRANSMISSION HAD PROBLEMS SHIFTING INTO THE CORRECT GEAR. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000. PAM

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/13/2014 - RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA
I TOOK IN MY VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP DODGE/CHRYSLER JEEP AUTO CENTER IN AUGUST 2014 TO A/C RECHARGE THEN I DROVE OUT IT START HUMMING CALLED DEALERSHIP THEY SAID TO DRIVE IT FOR AWHILE TO SEE IF IT GOES AWAY IT DID THEN IT STARTED AGAIN AN NOW THEY SAY IT'S THE ALTERNATOR; IMPOSSIBLE BUT YES ALTERNATOR SO WHEN I HAD IN TO RECHARGE THE AIR CONDITIONER AN DROVE IT THE HUMMING WAS COMING FROM MY ALTERNATOR UNBELIEVABLE MY CAR ONLY HAS 59,000 MILES ON IT. NOW IF I DONT REPLACE IT MY CAR COULD STALL WHERE EVER IM DRIVING FREEWAY OR CITY STREETS. THE PRICE IS 482.00 AT DEALERSHIP OR 570.00 AT A AUTO SHOP. I'VE CALLED CORPORATES OF DODGE/CHRYSLER AN FILED A COMPLAINT.

View Details

ENGINE

10/13/2014 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
RADIATOR LOSES COOLANT. THIS CAUSED THE CAR TO OVER HEAT AND THE ENGINE TO BE REPLACED, A NEW RADIATOR AND IT STILL LOSES COOLANT 4 YEARS LATER. CAN'T FIGURE OUT WHERE THE COOLANT IS GOING AS IT IS NEVER UNDER THE CAR (LIKE A LEAK).

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/13/2014 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
RADIATOR LOSES COOLANT. THIS CAUSED THE CAR TO OVER HEAT AND THE ENGINE TO BE REPLACED, A NEW RADIATOR AND IT STILL LOSES COOLANT 4 YEARS LATER. CAN'T FIGURE OUT WHERE THE COOLANT IS GOING AS IT IS NEVER UNDER THE CAR (LIKE A LEAK).

View Details

ENGINE

10/7/2014 - GREENWOOD, MS
I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE IN FEB 2008, AND OVER THE LAST COUPLE OF MONTHS I'VE HAD TO REPLACE THE ALTERNATOR, BATTERY, TENSION PULLER AND VARIOUS OTHER PARTS. TODAY 10/07/14 MY CAR ENGINE STALLED AS I WAS TURNING TO DROP MY SON OFF AT DAYCARE AND ALMOST CREATED WHAT COULD OF BEEN A DEADLY CRASH. I'VE CALLED THE DEALERSHIP WHO SOLD ME THE CAR, WHO WIRED ME TO THE DODGE MANUFACTURERS, WHO THEN DIRECTED ME TO THE CHRYSLER COMPANY WHO THEN TOLD ME ABOUT THE HIGHWAY SAFETY DEPARTMENT. I'VE SEEN ON VARIOUS WEBSITES WITH SIMILAR COMPLIANTS ABOUT THE SAME EXACT ISSUES I'VE HAD WITH THIS VEHICLE. WHY MUST THE RECALL OCCUR AFTER THE DEATH OF SOMEBODY AND NOT NOW. I COULD HAVE DIED TODAY AND FOUND NO RESOLUTION. I NOW LONGER FEEL THAT MY CAR IS SAFE NOR DO I WANT IT ANYMORE. BUT ALSO FEEL THAT I DONT WANT TO TRADE IT IN AND HAVE SOMEBODY ELSE DIE BECAUSE OF THESE MALFUNCTIONS. I KNOW NOONE WILL WRITE BACK OR RESPOND BUT SOMETHING HAS TO BE DONE.

View Details

ENGINE

10/1/2014 - RICHMOND, MI
SHORTLY AFTER I PURCHASED MY '08 DODGE AVENGER I STARTED HAVING TROUBLE W/THE ETC. IT FELT LIKE THE VEHICLE WAS JOLTING ON ACCELERATION OR IF I WAS AT A STEADY HIGH RATE OF SPEED (75-80 MPH). THE ETC INDICATOR CAME ON. I CONTACTED THE DEALER & INFORMED THEM OF THE ISSUE & MY CONCERN ABOUT THE RELIABILITY OF THE VEHICLE. IT WAS IN & OUT OF THE SHOP 3 TIMES IN THE 1ST MONTH OF PURCHASE FOR THE ETC. I WAS TOLD IT WAS A SPEED SENSOR YET MY ETC LIGHT WAS ON AFTER REPLACEMENT. AFTER HAVING ETC SENSOR CLEANED & ETC SOFTWARE FLASHED THE PROBLEM APPEARED TO GO AWAY. ALMOST 2 YEARS LATER THE PROBLEM IS BACK & WORSE. MY ETC INDICATOR CAME ON, VEHICLE STALLED WHILE IDLING, STARTED JOLTING WHILE ACCELERATING & WHILE MAINTAINING A STEADY SPEED. IT BEGAN REVVING AT A COMPLETE STOP W/FULL PRESSURE APPLIED TO THE BREAK (VEHICLE WOULD JUMP FORWARD; I FEARED IT WOULD RUN ITSELF INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE). WHILE SLOWING DOWN IT WOULD REV & ACCELERATE (CREATING THE POSSIBILITY OF HITTING ANOTHER VEHICLE) W/OUT PRESSURE ON THE GAS PEDAL. IT DIED WHILE DRIVING & WOULDN'T START RESTART. WHEN IT DID START THE ETC WAS ON & IT WOULDN'T GET PAST 1000RMP OR ABOVE 20MPH & HAD A VERY ROUGH IDLE. A TUNE-UP WAS DONE, ETC SENSOR CLEANED, AIR-INTAKE SYSTEM CLEANED, & LOAD TEST DONE TO SEE IF THE BATTERY WAS GOING BAD. THIS VEHICLE IS INCREDIBLE UNSAFE TO DRIVE, AFTER RESEARCHING IT APPEARS THAT I AM NOT THE FIRST PERSON W/THIS ISSUE. DODGE NEEDS TO RECALL THIS THROTTLE BODY, IT'S EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. THE REPAIRS ON THIS VEHICLE ARE EXTENSIVE & THE PROBLEM ISN'T FIXED. ADVISED REPLACING THROTTLE BODY IS THE NEXT STEP. TOLD IT WOULDN'T BE A GUARANTEED FIXED BECAUSE THE THROTTLE BODY FOR THIS MODEL APPEARS A FAULTY & I WOULD LIKELY BE DEALING W/THIS PROBLEM FOR THE LENGTH OF OWNERSHIP. RECORDED VEHICLE DURING SOME OF INCIDENTS SINCE I WAS TOLD 1ST TIME I WAS TOLD "UNABLE TO DUPLICATE, FLASHED SOFTWARE."

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/1/2014 - RICHMOND, MI
SHORTLY AFTER I PURCHASED MY '08 DODGE AVENGER I STARTED HAVING TROUBLE W/THE ETC. IT FELT LIKE THE VEHICLE WAS JOLTING ON ACCELERATION OR IF I WAS AT A STEADY HIGH RATE OF SPEED (75-80 MPH). THE ETC INDICATOR CAME ON. I CONTACTED THE DEALER & INFORMED THEM OF THE ISSUE & MY CONCERN ABOUT THE RELIABILITY OF THE VEHICLE. IT WAS IN & OUT OF THE SHOP 3 TIMES IN THE 1ST MONTH OF PURCHASE FOR THE ETC. I WAS TOLD IT WAS A SPEED SENSOR YET MY ETC LIGHT WAS ON AFTER REPLACEMENT. AFTER HAVING ETC SENSOR CLEANED & ETC SOFTWARE FLASHED THE PROBLEM APPEARED TO GO AWAY. ALMOST 2 YEARS LATER THE PROBLEM IS BACK & WORSE. MY ETC INDICATOR CAME ON, VEHICLE STALLED WHILE IDLING, STARTED JOLTING WHILE ACCELERATING & WHILE MAINTAINING A STEADY SPEED. IT BEGAN REVVING AT A COMPLETE STOP W/FULL PRESSURE APPLIED TO THE BREAK (VEHICLE WOULD JUMP FORWARD; I FEARED IT WOULD RUN ITSELF INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE). WHILE SLOWING DOWN IT WOULD REV & ACCELERATE (CREATING THE POSSIBILITY OF HITTING ANOTHER VEHICLE) W/OUT PRESSURE ON THE GAS PEDAL. IT DIED WHILE DRIVING & WOULDN'T START RESTART. WHEN IT DID START THE ETC WAS ON & IT WOULDN'T GET PAST 1000RMP OR ABOVE 20MPH & HAD A VERY ROUGH IDLE. A TUNE-UP WAS DONE, ETC SENSOR CLEANED, AIR-INTAKE SYSTEM CLEANED, & LOAD TEST DONE TO SEE IF THE BATTERY WAS GOING BAD. THIS VEHICLE IS INCREDIBLE UNSAFE TO DRIVE, AFTER RESEARCHING IT APPEARS THAT I AM NOT THE FIRST PERSON W/THIS ISSUE. DODGE NEEDS TO RECALL THIS THROTTLE BODY, IT'S EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. THE REPAIRS ON THIS VEHICLE ARE EXTENSIVE & THE PROBLEM ISN'T FIXED. ADVISED REPLACING THROTTLE BODY IS THE NEXT STEP. TOLD IT WOULDN'T BE A GUARANTEED FIXED BECAUSE THE THROTTLE BODY FOR THIS MODEL APPEARS A FAULTY & I WOULD LIKELY BE DEALING W/THIS PROBLEM FOR THE LENGTH OF OWNERSHIP. RECORDED VEHICLE DURING SOME OF INCIDENTS SINCE I WAS TOLD 1ST TIME I WAS TOLD "UNABLE TO DUPLICATE, FLASHED SOFTWARE."

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds