Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2008 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 520 complaints filed for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (45) Exterior Lighting (3) Parking Brake (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (92) Fuel Propulsion System (14) Power Train (189) Steering (13) Vehicle Speed Control (95)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel System Gasoline (24) Seat Belts (1) Structure (14) Visibility (10)
Engine (35) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (4) Suspension (9) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (57) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Service Brakes (3) Tires (18) Wheels (2)
Equipment (4) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/23/2014 - PARDEEVILLE, WI
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN HE ENGAGED HIS TURNING SIGNAL, HIS WINDSHIELD WIPERS ARE ACTIVATED SPORADICALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE A FAILURE. A CO-PILOT WAS PLACED IN THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURE WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,000 MILES AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 115,000 MILES. SR

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/21/2014 - RICHGROVE, CA
I WAS CUT OFF BY ANOTHER DRIVER WHO FAILED TO STOP AND YIELD TO ONCOMING TRAFFIC (ME). I BRAKED HARD TO AVOID REAR ENDING HIM, BUT HE TURNED INTO MY LANE WHEN I WAS TOO CLOSE. TO MAKE THE LONG STORY SHOT, I ENDED UP COLLIDING WITH HIM. THE CRASH WAS PRETTY BAD, AND BOTH THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. I SUSTAINED MAJOR INJURIES TO MY FACE, SHOULDERS, BACK, NECK, AND LEGS. A POLICE REPORT WAS MADE, BUT I HAVE NOT REPORTED THE DEFECT TO DODGE. WHAT SHOULD I DO? SHOULD I GO CIVIL?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/20/2014 - ONTARIO, CA
CAR RUNNING SLUGGISH NO POWER,TAKEN TO DEALER NOTHING WRONG, CLICKING IN ENGINE COMPARTMENT WHEN AIR CONDITIONER ON, DEALER, NOTHING WRONG,TRANSMISSION PULLING. SOON AFTER ELECTRICAL, LOUD POPPING NOISE COMING FROM PASSENGER SIDE EVERYTIME THE AIR CONDITIONER/HEATER TURNED ON THEN OFF, DEFROSTER OUT ON PASSENGER SIDE, AND REAR WINDOW, NOT WORKING AT ALL, AIR BAG LIGHT TURNS ON WONT TURN OFF, HAVE TO MOVE FRONT SEAT BACK THEN FORWARD TILL LIGHT TURNS OFF, SO IRRITATED AND DISAPPOINTED EXPECTED BETTER FROM DODGE, AMERICAN MADE?? WOW LOST FOR WORDS. CAR IS FALLING APART, I NEED MY HEATER AND DEFROSTER SOMEONE PLEASE HELP.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/20/2014 - ONTARIO, CA
CAR RUNNING SLUGGISH NO POWER,TAKEN TO DEALER NOTHING WRONG, CLICKING IN ENGINE COMPARTMENT WHEN AIR CONDITIONER ON, DEALER, NOTHING WRONG,TRANSMISSION PULLING. SOON AFTER ELECTRICAL, LOUD POPPING NOISE COMING FROM PASSENGER SIDE EVERYTIME THE AIR CONDITIONER/HEATER TURNED ON THEN OFF, DEFROSTER OUT ON PASSENGER SIDE, AND REAR WINDOW, NOT WORKING AT ALL, AIR BAG LIGHT TURNS ON WONT TURN OFF, HAVE TO MOVE FRONT SEAT BACK THEN FORWARD TILL LIGHT TURNS OFF, SO IRRITATED AND DISAPPOINTED EXPECTED BETTER FROM DODGE, AMERICAN MADE?? WOW LOST FOR WORDS. CAR IS FALLING APART, I NEED MY HEATER AND DEFROSTER SOMEONE PLEASE HELP.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/20/2014 - ONTARIO, CA
CAR RUNNING SLUGGISH NO POWER,TAKEN TO DEALER NOTHING WRONG, CLICKING IN ENGINE COMPARTMENT WHEN AIR CONDITIONER ON, DEALER, NOTHING WRONG,TRANSMISSION PULLING. SOON AFTER ELECTRICAL, LOUD POPPING NOISE COMING FROM PASSENGER SIDE EVERYTIME THE AIR CONDITIONER/HEATER TURNED ON THEN OFF, DEFROSTER OUT ON PASSENGER SIDE, AND REAR WINDOW, NOT WORKING AT ALL, AIR BAG LIGHT TURNS ON WONT TURN OFF, HAVE TO MOVE FRONT SEAT BACK THEN FORWARD TILL LIGHT TURNS OFF, SO IRRITATED AND DISAPPOINTED EXPECTED BETTER FROM DODGE, AMERICAN MADE?? WOW LOST FOR WORDS. CAR IS FALLING APART, I NEED MY HEATER AND DEFROSTER SOMEONE PLEASE HELP.

View Details

ENGINE

4/18/2014 - CANANDAIGUN, NY
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO INFORMED THAT THE INTAKE MANIFOLD REQUIRED REPLACEMENT. IN ADDITION, THE FAULTY POWER CONTROL MODULE WOULD NEED TO BE REPROGRAMMED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 126,000. JS

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/14/2014 - ALTOONA, PA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. TE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92,000. AP

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/7/2014 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
ON OR ABOUT FEB. 17, 2009 AND CONTINUING TO PRESENT, MY 2008 AVENGER HAS HAD NUMEROUS PROBLEMS SHIFTING. THE PROBLEM STARTED WITH HARD SHIFTING AND TRANSMISSION SLIPPAGE. NOW, WHEN DRIVING AT 45MPH WHEN THE CAR GOES TO SHIFT INTO OVERDRIVE, AND MISSES 4TH GEAR. THERE IS A SUDDEN LOSS OF GEARS AND THE TACHOMETER CLIMBS RAPIDLY BECAUSE THE OVERDRIVE GEAR WILL NOT ENGAGE. WHEN ENGINE RPM IS LOWERED, CAR DOWNSHIFTS INTO 2ND GEAR (LIMP MODE) AND WILL NOT SHIFT NORMALLY UNTIL THE VEHICLE IS TURNED OFF AND RE-STARTED. THE SUDDEN LOSS OF SPEED MAY RESULT IN A CRASH AND PERSONAL INJURY TO THE OCCUPANTS OF THE VEHICLE. I HAVE SEEN NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ON THIS PROBLEM AND HAVE NOTICED A LOT OF SERVICE BULLETINS RELATED TO IMPROPER SHIFTING OF THE 2008 AVENGER. EVEN THOUGH DODGE IS AWARE OF THE PROBLEMS WITH THE POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE, THEY HAVE REFUSED TO ISSUE A RECALL ON THE MODULE PLACING THE SAFETY OF ITS CUSTOMERS BELOW THE IMPORTANCE OF THEIR PROFITS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/7/2014 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
ON OR ABOUT FEB. 17, 2009 AND CONTINUING TO PRESENT, MY 2008 AVENGER HAS HAD NUMEROUS PROBLEMS SHIFTING. THE PROBLEM STARTED WITH HARD SHIFTING AND TRANSMISSION SLIPPAGE. NOW, WHEN DRIVING AT 45MPH WHEN THE CAR GOES TO SHIFT INTO OVERDRIVE, AND MISSES 4TH GEAR. THERE IS A SUDDEN LOSS OF GEARS AND THE TACHOMETER CLIMBS RAPIDLY BECAUSE THE OVERDRIVE GEAR WILL NOT ENGAGE. WHEN ENGINE RPM IS LOWERED, CAR DOWNSHIFTS INTO 2ND GEAR (LIMP MODE) AND WILL NOT SHIFT NORMALLY UNTIL THE VEHICLE IS TURNED OFF AND RE-STARTED. THE SUDDEN LOSS OF SPEED MAY RESULT IN A CRASH AND PERSONAL INJURY TO THE OCCUPANTS OF THE VEHICLE. I HAVE SEEN NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ON THIS PROBLEM AND HAVE NOTICED A LOT OF SERVICE BULLETINS RELATED TO IMPROPER SHIFTING OF THE 2008 AVENGER. EVEN THOUGH DODGE IS AWARE OF THE PROBLEMS WITH THE POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE, THEY HAVE REFUSED TO ISSUE A RECALL ON THE MODULE PLACING THE SAFETY OF ITS CUSTOMERS BELOW THE IMPORTANCE OF THEIR PROFITS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/4/2014 - MESA, AZ
BATTERY LIGHT WARNING CAME ON, CRUISE CONTROL STOPPED WORKING, CAR WOULD NO LONGER SHIFT OR WAS DRIVEABLE. THIS OCCURRED ON THE FREEWAY AND WE WERE ALMOST HIT. ONCE STOPPED THE CAR WOULD NOT TURN BACK ON. THIS APPEARS TO BE CONNECTED TO EITHER RECALL H07, WHICH MAY BE REOCCURRING, OR TO AN ITEM THAT SHOULD BE RECALLED RELATING TO THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL. THERE ARE MULTIPLE INCIDENTS REGARDING THIS ITEM. I'VE HAD SEVERAL COMPLETED RECALLS THAT DON'T APPEAR TO HAVE BEEN COMPLETED OR ARE REOCCURRING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds