Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2008 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 587 complaints filed for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (52) Exterior Lighting (5) Parking Brake (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (129) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Power Train (195) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (110)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Seat Belts (2) Structure (14) Visibility (12)
Engine (52) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (4) Suspension (9) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (59) Latches Locks Linkages (19) Service Brakes (6) Tires (19) Wheels (2)
Equipment (4) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 64
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/24/2015 - KISSIMMEE, FL
I WENT TO PUT MY CAR IN PARK AND WHEN I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE BRAKE THE CAR CONTINUED FORWARD. I LOOKED TO SEE IF I DIDN'T PUT THE CAR IN PARK FULLY AND THE GEAR SHIFT IS IN PARK HOWEVER, THE GEAR INDICATOR SAYS THE CAR IS STILL IN DRIVE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/24/2015 - KISSIMMEE, FL
I WENT TO PUT MY CAR IN PARK AND WHEN I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE BRAKE THE CAR CONTINUED FORWARD. I LOOKED TO SEE IF I DIDN'T PUT THE CAR IN PARK FULLY AND THE GEAR SHIFT IS IN PARK HOWEVER, THE GEAR INDICATOR SAYS THE CAR IS STILL IN DRIVE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/23/2015 - TAMARAC, FL
MY ISSUE IS THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOP WORKING OR WORK INTERMITTENTLY, WHICH IS A HUGE PROBLEM WHEN IT IS RAINING. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS. WHEN WE STARTED LOOKING UP THE ISSUE ONLINE WE NOTICED A LOT OF OTHER PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE AMONG OTHER ISSUES. WE FIRST TRIED TO REPLACE THE SWITCH - STILL HAD THE PROBLEM, THEN THE WIPER MOTOR - STILL HAD THE PROBLEM. NOW WE ARE TOLD BY THE DODGE DEALERSHIP THAT IT PROB. IS A WIRING ISSUE OR THE TOTAL INTEGRATED FUSE BOX THING. THIS IS $1000 AT LEAST AND HAS TO BE DONE BY THE DEALER BECAUSE IT HAS TO BE PROGRAMMED. I FEEL THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL ON CHRYSLERS PART SINCE SO MANY PEOPLE ARE HAVING THIS ISSUE AND IT IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/23/2015 - TAMARAC, FL
MY ISSUE IS THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOP WORKING OR WORK INTERMITTENTLY, WHICH IS A HUGE PROBLEM WHEN IT IS RAINING. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS. WHEN WE STARTED LOOKING UP THE ISSUE ONLINE WE NOTICED A LOT OF OTHER PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE AMONG OTHER ISSUES. WE FIRST TRIED TO REPLACE THE SWITCH - STILL HAD THE PROBLEM, THEN THE WIPER MOTOR - STILL HAD THE PROBLEM. NOW WE ARE TOLD BY THE DODGE DEALERSHIP THAT IT PROB. IS A WIRING ISSUE OR THE TOTAL INTEGRATED FUSE BOX THING. THIS IS $1000 AT LEAST AND HAS TO BE DONE BY THE DEALER BECAUSE IT HAS TO BE PROGRAMMED. I FEEL THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL ON CHRYSLERS PART SINCE SO MANY PEOPLE ARE HAVING THIS ISSUE AND IT IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/13/2015 - COLUMBIA , SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 75 MPH, THE CRUISE CONTROL, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS, AND THE AIR CONDITIONER FAILED TO ACTIVATE. IN ADDITION, THE HORN SOUNDED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS MANEUVERED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHERE THE HORN CONNECTORS WERE DISABLED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 08V152000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 141,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/4/2015 - BOWIE, AZ
I OWN A 08 DODGE AVENGER AND HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL SYSTEM A YEAR AGO,I NOW HAVE PROBLEMS WITH A NOISE UNDER THE HOOD,I'VE BEEN TOLD IT'S THE PULLEY TO THE ALTERNATOR. I BOUGHT MY CAR BRAND NEW..IF I KNEW I WAS GOING TO HAVE THIS MUCH TROUBLE I WOULD OF BOUGHT A FOREIGN CAR. ALSO MY SENSOR IN MY TIRE BROKE,TOOK MY CAR WHERE I BOUGHT THE TIRES,THEY REPLACED ONE SENSOR FOR FREE..I DON'T KNOW IF THE OTHER 3 WILL LATER BREAK. I WOULD LIKE TO GET THE OTHER 3 REPLACED FOR FREE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/3/2015 - KEARNY , NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED TWICE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED AN OIL CHANGE AND A TUNE UP. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 08V152000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 108,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/3/2015 - KEARNY , NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED TWICE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED AN OIL CHANGE AND A TUNE UP. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 08V152000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 108,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/30/2015 - LITITZ, PA
AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AND WOULD NOT GO OFF. I SAW THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THE 2008 DODGE AVENGER FOR THE AIRBAGS. SEE BELOW: SUBJECT: SEAT TRACK POSITION SENSORS MAKES/MODELS/MODEL YEARS: CHRYSLER/SEBRING/2007-2008 DODGE/AVENGER/2008 NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 07V-240 MFG'S REPORT DATE: JUNE 5, 2007 COMPONENTS: AIR BAG: FRONTAL POTENTIAL NUMBER OF UNITS AFFECTED: 798 SUMMARY: ON CERTAIN PASSENGER VEHICLES, THE FRONT SEAT TRACK POSITION SENSORS UTILIZED FOR THE AIR BAG SYSTEM MAY NOT FUNCTION PROPERLY. CONSEQUENCE: THIS COULD INCREASE THE RISK OF INJURY TO FRONT SEAT OCCUPANTS DURING CERTAIN CRASH CONDITIONS. 1 REMEDY: DEALERS WILL INSPECT THE FRONT SEAT TRACK POSITION SENSORS AND REPLACE IT FREE OF CHARGE. THE RECALL BEGAN ON JUNE 18, 2007. OWNERS MAY CONTACT DAIMLERCHRYSLER AT 1-800-853-1403. NOTES: DAIMLERCHRYSLER RECALL NO. G14. CUSTOMERS MAY CONTACT THE NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION'S VEHICLE SAFETY HOTLINE AT 1-888-327-4236 (TTY: 1-800-424-9153); OR GO TO HTTP://WWW.SAFERCAR.GOV. I CONTACTED DODGE BY EMAIL AND THEY TOLD ME THAT MY VIN# WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. I HAD WENT UNDER THE SEAT AND THE AIRBAG SENSORS WERE LOOSE AND WHEN I TIGHTENED THEM THE AIRBAG LIGHT WENT OFF. MY PROBLEM IS MY AVENGER IS DOING THE SAME THING THAT THE RECALL IS OUT FOR AND DODGE SAID SINCE MY VIN# WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL IT IS MY RESPONSIBILITY TO HAVE THE SENSORS INSPECTED AND REPLACED IF NEEDED. I FEEL MY CAR SHOULSD OF BEEN INCLUDED IN THE RECALL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/16/2015 - GROVEPORT, OH
MY 2008 DODGE AVENGER FIRST EXHIBITED THIS PROBLEM IN MARCH 2011. I AM THE ONLY OWNER AND I BOUGHT IT NEW. ESPECIALLY IN WET WEATHER BUT OCCASIONALLY IN OTHER INSTANCES, THE ENGINE WILL SHUT OFF BUT ALL ELECTRICAL EQUIPMENT- THE RADIO, LIGHTS, DASHBOARD AND A/C WILL REMAIN ON. THIS OCCURS WHEN BRAKING AT A STOP LIGHT OR SLOWING TO MAKE A TURN- USUALLY WHEN AT LOW SPEED AS WHEN PULLING INTO A DRIVEWAY. I THEN MUST PUT THE CAR IN PARK, TURN OFF THE IGNITION THEN RESTART THE CAR AND IT ALWAYS RESTARTS IMMEDIATELY. I HAVE TALKED TO THE DEALERSHIP I BOUGHT THE CAR AT MORE THAN ONCE ABOUT THE ISSUE BUT THEY SAY THEY CANNOT RECREATE THE PROBLEM AND SO CAN'T DIAGNOSE IT, BUT THIS ISSUE ONLY OCCURS PERIODICALLY IN WET CONDITIONS SO BEING ABLE TO RECREATE IT AT THE DEALERSHIP IS UNLIKELY. I WOULD ESTIMATE IT HAS HAPPENED AROUND 15 TO 20 TIMES IN THE PAST 4 YEARS. I HAVE SEEN RECALLS FOR OTHER DODGE AND CHRYSLER VEHICLES THAT SOUND SIMILAR BUT NONE FOR THE AVENGER. I HOPE DODGE WILL ISSUE A RECALL ON THIS MALFUNCTION AS IT SOUNDS LIKE THERE ARE MANY OTHER PEOPLE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. I FEEL LIKE THIS COULD EASILY CAUSE AN ACCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 64
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds