Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2008 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 569 complaints filed for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (50) Exterior Lighting (5) Parking Brake (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (122) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Power Train (194) Steering (13) Vehicle Speed Control (106)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Seat Belts (2) Structure (14) Visibility (12)
Engine (45) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (4) Suspension (9) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (59) Latches Locks Linkages (19) Service Brakes (4) Tires (19) Wheels (2)
Equipment (4) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 61
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/28/2015 - MACON, GA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO PICK UP SPEED UPON DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE CONTACT NOTICED UPON REMOVING THE WIRING HARNESS THERE WAS AN INTERNAL FIRE, WHICH BURNED THE COMPONENTS PERTAINING TO THE FUEL PUMP THAT BURNED INTO THE FUEL TANK AND THE HOUSING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT ABLE TO BE DRIVEN DUE TO THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 07V426000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000. DJR

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/28/2015 - MACON, GA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO PICK UP SPEED UPON DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE CONTACT NOTICED UPON REMOVING THE WIRING HARNESS THERE WAS AN INTERNAL FIRE, WHICH BURNED THE COMPONENTS PERTAINING TO THE FUEL PUMP THAT BURNED INTO THE FUEL TANK AND THE HOUSING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT ABLE TO BE DRIVEN DUE TO THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 07V426000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000. DJR

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/26/2015 - CLAYTON, NC
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM BUT DID NOT REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS MADE AWARE OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 085V152000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. PAM

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/22/2015 - HOUSTON, TX
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 5 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE COULD BE RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS MADE AWARE OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 08V152000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/19/2015 - ONTARIO, CA
AIR BAG LIGHT COMES ON AND STAYS ON WHEN WHEN MOVING SEAT UP OR BACK WHICH MAKES THE SENSOR COME ON, HAVE TO KEEP MOVING THE TRACK UNTIL IT TURNS OFF. IS THIS RELATED TO RECALL G14? FAN IN RADIATOR CONSTANTLY TURNS OFF AND ON, AND NOW MY CAR SEEMS TO HAVE A ELECTRICAL SHORT THAT MAKES A KNOCKING NOISE IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT WHEN THE AIR/HEATER IS TURNED OFF, ALSO THE LEFT SIDE OF CAR DEFROSTER DOES NOT WORK. MOST RECENT THE LEFT DRIVER SEAT BELT ALL OF A SUDDEN IS NOT RETRACTING, THIS IS NOT SAFE IN THE CASE OF AN ACCIDENT, DEALER IS CHARGING AN OUTRAGEOUS PRICE TO HAVE IT FIXED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/19/2015 - ONTARIO, CA
AIR BAG LIGHT COMES ON AND STAYS ON WHEN WHEN MOVING SEAT UP OR BACK WHICH MAKES THE SENSOR COME ON, HAVE TO KEEP MOVING THE TRACK UNTIL IT TURNS OFF. IS THIS RELATED TO RECALL G14? FAN IN RADIATOR CONSTANTLY TURNS OFF AND ON, AND NOW MY CAR SEEMS TO HAVE A ELECTRICAL SHORT THAT MAKES A KNOCKING NOISE IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT WHEN THE AIR/HEATER IS TURNED OFF, ALSO THE LEFT SIDE OF CAR DEFROSTER DOES NOT WORK. MOST RECENT THE LEFT DRIVER SEAT BELT ALL OF A SUDDEN IS NOT RETRACTING, THIS IS NOT SAFE IN THE CASE OF AN ACCIDENT, DEALER IS CHARGING AN OUTRAGEOUS PRICE TO HAVE IT FIXED.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

1/19/2015 - ONTARIO, CA
AIR BAG LIGHT COMES ON AND STAYS ON WHEN WHEN MOVING SEAT UP OR BACK WHICH MAKES THE SENSOR COME ON, HAVE TO KEEP MOVING THE TRACK UNTIL IT TURNS OFF. IS THIS RELATED TO RECALL G14? FAN IN RADIATOR CONSTANTLY TURNS OFF AND ON, AND NOW MY CAR SEEMS TO HAVE A ELECTRICAL SHORT THAT MAKES A KNOCKING NOISE IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT WHEN THE AIR/HEATER IS TURNED OFF, ALSO THE LEFT SIDE OF CAR DEFROSTER DOES NOT WORK. MOST RECENT THE LEFT DRIVER SEAT BELT ALL OF A SUDDEN IS NOT RETRACTING, THIS IS NOT SAFE IN THE CASE OF AN ACCIDENT, DEALER IS CHARGING AN OUTRAGEOUS PRICE TO HAVE IT FIXED.

View Details

ENGINE

1/15/2015 - GLENDALE, AZ
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING HOME GOING ABOUT 45 - 50 MPH AND THE CAR JUST DIED. THE RPM GAUGE FLUTTERS A LITTLE AND THEN THE CAR JUST DIED. SHE WAS ABLE TO COAST INTO A PARKING LOT AND THE CAR RESTARTED AND SHE DROVE HOME. THE NEXT MORNING SHE WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY GOING ABOUT 10 - 15 MPH AND AGAIN THE CAR JUST DIED. THIS TIME IT WAS NOT EASY TO START. IT TOOK SOME TIME BUT SHE WAS ABLE TO GET IT STARTED AND GET IT OFF THE FREEWAY TO AN EMERGENCY PARKING SPOT. SHE HAD IT TOWED TO A SHOP AND THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT. THERE WERE NO CODES COMING UP AND THEY DROVE IT AROUND AND HAD NO PROBLEMS. NEEDLESS TO SAY, SHE IS SCARED TO DRIVE IT. WE HAVE SEEN ALL THE POSTS ON THE INTERNET ABOUT THIS SAME PROBLEM AND HAVE NOT HEARD ANYTHING FROM DODGE ABOUT IT. WE HAVE OWNED THE CAR FOR 3 1/2 YEARS AND IT IS JUST NOW OCCURRING - IT DOESN'T MAKE ANY SENSE AND I HOPE THEY CAN FIX THE CAR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/5/2015 - GRAND RAPIDS, MN
I HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT MY 2008 DODGE AVENGER IS NOT INCLUDED ON THE AIRBAG RECALL LIST. I HAVE THE EXACT YEAR AND MODEL THAT IS BEING RECALLED. I HAVE BEEN TOLD I NEED A NEW AIRBAG, AT A COST OF APPROXIMATELY $900.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/3/2015 - CRESTWOOD, IL
TODAY, 1/3/2015, THE WEATHER WAS A MIX OF RAIN AND SNOW AND ON MY WAY TO MY DESTINATION THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING IN THE MIDDLE OF THE WINDSHIELD. THEN IT STARTED BACK UP AND THEN OFF AGAIN. AT ONE POINT WHEN IT STOPPED, I COULD NOT SEE, THE WINDSHIELD WAS COVERED WITH THE RAIN/SNOW MIXTURE. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP TO BE TOLD IT WAS THE TIPM. THE PART WAS ORDERED AND TODAY I PAID ONLY FOR THE LABOR PORTION, $60.00 AND WHEN I RETURN ON TUESDAY I AM TO PAY FOR THE PART WHICH CAME TO $661.00

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 61
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds