Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2008 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 534 complaints filed for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (45) Exterior Lighting (3) Parking Brake (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (101) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Power Train (191) Steering (13) Vehicle Speed Control (101)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel System Gasoline (24) Seat Belts (1) Structure (14) Visibility (11)
Engine (37) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (4) Suspension (9) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (58) Latches Locks Linkages (19) Service Brakes (3) Tires (19) Wheels (2)
Equipment (4) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 56
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/27/2014 - KERRVILLE, TX
LEFT HEADLIGHT AND RIGHT BREAKLIGHT COMES ON WITHOUT REQUEST. TURN SIGNALS BEGIN BLINKING RAPIDLY. TIPM IS FAILING. JAMES WESSELING SR 40 ORANGE CIRCLE KERRVILLE, TX VIN 1B3LC56R08N691702

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/6/2014 - FRANKFORT , KY
I STARTED THE CAR AND IT DROVE NORMALLY FOR 1/4 MILE. CAR THEN BEGAN BUCKING AND WOULD NOT ACCELERATE OVER 20MPH. ELECTRIC THROTTLE LIGHT CAME ON. SHOP SAID THE ELECTRIC THROTTLE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. GOT IT REPLACED IN JUNE OF 2013. IN AUGUST OF 2014, MY BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON. CAR DROVE NORMALLY. STOPPED AFTER AN HOUR TRIP. TWO HOURS LATER CAR WOULDN'T START. RECEIVED A JUMP, CAR STARTED BUT WOULD NOT ACCELERATE OVER 25 MPH. ELECTRIC THROTTLE LIGHT, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, AND BATTERY LIGHT ARE ON. TO THE SHOP I GO AGAIN...ALMOST TWO MONTHS AFTER THE WARRANTY HAS EXPIRED...

View Details

ENGINE

8/5/2014 - TROY, MI
I STARTED MY CAR ON SUNDAY AUGUST 3, 2014 AND THE ENGINE WOULDN'T TURN OVER, AFTER WAITING A MINUTE THE CAR STARTED. WHILE DRIVING THE CAR WOULD NOT GO FASTER THAN 20 MPH EVEN WITH MY FOOT COMPLETELY ON THE PETAL. I TOOK MY CAR TO OREILLY AUTO PARTS AND HAD THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT READ. I HAD ALL NEW SPARK PLUGS (BASED OFF THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT READING) PUT IN THE VEHICLE AND I'M STILL NOT ABLE TO DRIVE OVER 20 MPH. MY CAR IS NOW CUTTING OFF AT THE LIGHT AND NOT THE HIGHEST SPEED IS 20 MPH. I KEEP GETTING A LIGHTING BOLT MESSAGE AND CHECK ENGINE MESSAGE EVEN THOUGH ALL THE CODES HAVE BEEN CLEARED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/5/2014 - TROY, MI
I STARTED MY CAR ON SUNDAY AUGUST 3, 2014 AND THE ENGINE WOULDN'T TURN OVER, AFTER WAITING A MINUTE THE CAR STARTED. WHILE DRIVING THE CAR WOULD NOT GO FASTER THAN 20 MPH EVEN WITH MY FOOT COMPLETELY ON THE PETAL. I TOOK MY CAR TO OREILLY AUTO PARTS AND HAD THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT READ. I HAD ALL NEW SPARK PLUGS (BASED OFF THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT READING) PUT IN THE VEHICLE AND I'M STILL NOT ABLE TO DRIVE OVER 20 MPH. MY CAR IS NOW CUTTING OFF AT THE LIGHT AND NOT THE HIGHEST SPEED IS 20 MPH. I KEEP GETTING A LIGHTING BOLT MESSAGE AND CHECK ENGINE MESSAGE EVEN THOUGH ALL THE CODES HAVE BEEN CLEARED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/1/2014 - HILLSBORO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED POWER AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/23/2014 - SPRINGFIELD, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE TRAVELING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO DECELERATE ON ITS OWN. THE CONTACT APPLIED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND ALL OF THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED WHEN THE SPEED REACHED 50 MPH. THE FAILURE OCCURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE VEHICLE AND RECOMMENDED IT BE TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 103,000.

View Details

TIRES: PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

7/8/2014 - JACKSON, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, HE NOTICED THAT TWO TIRE PRESSURE SENSORS WERE COMPLETELY CORRODED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE OTHER TWO SENSORS FRACTURED AND EXHIBITED SLIGHT CORROSION. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,877...UPDATED 08-20-14

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/7/2014 - NORMAL, IL
I HAD PARKED MY CAR, 20 MINUTES LATER I WENT TO START THE CAR AND IT STARTED. AS I SHIFTED THE CAR IN REVERSE, THE CAR IMMEDIATELY DIED AND THE ELECTRIC THROTTLE LIGHT CAME ON. I PUT MY CAR IN PARKED AND STARTED IT AGAIN. AND IT DID IT AGAIN WITH ENGINE LIGHT ALSO. FINALLY, I STARTED THE CAR AND IT CONTINUED TO RUN. I BACKED OUT AND STARTED TO DRIVE. A BLOCK AWAY AT A FOUR WAY STOP SIGN THE CAR COMPLETELY DIED. WAS NOT ABLE TO EVEN USE MY FLASHERS. I CALL A TOW TRUCK AND HAD MY CAR SENT TO A REPAIR SHOP WITH THE SPARE KEY. THE REPAIR SHOP CALLED ME LATER AND STATED THAT THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR AND IT WAS RUNNING FINE BUT MIGHT NEED TO BE LOOKED AT A TRANSMISSION SHOP. MY VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A TRANSMISSION SHOP AND THEY STATED THE SAME THING AND THOUGHT THAT IT MAY HAVE BEEN THE KEY THAT I WAS USING. SO FOR TWO DAYS AFTER PICKING UP MY CAR, THE SPARE KEY WAS WORKING AND THE CAR WAS RUNNING. 4TH OF JULY EVENING MY CAR QUIT WORKING IN THE DRIVE THRU AND THE THROTTLE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN, I WAS ABLE TO START IT BUT WHILE I WAS DRIVING THE CAR DIED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. I WAS NOT ABLE TO USE MY FLASHERS CAUSE THEY DID NOT WORK. I WAS AFRAID THAT SOMEONE MIGHT REAR END MY CAR DUE TO THE VEHICLE WAS DYING AND I HAD MY KIDS IN THE CAR. I WAS GLAD I WAS CLOSE TO HOME BUT THAT IS VERY SCARY AT NIGHT WHEN YOUR LIGHTS COMPLETELY STOP WORKING. MY CAR IS CURRENTLY AT THE DODGE DEALERSHIP AND THEY ARE STATING THAT THEY DON'T KNOW WHATS WRONG WITH IT BUT FOR THEM TO CONTINUE TO CHECK IT OUT I HAVE TO PAY $150 AND THEY THINK IT MIGHT BE AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM. I CONTINUE TO RESEARCH ONLINE AND IT SEEMS THAT I'M NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS PROBLEM WITH THE SAME YEAR, MAKE AND MODEL, SO HOW DO THEY NOT KNOW WHAT IT IS. I'M GLAD THAT I WASN'T ON THE HIGHWAY, IT COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/2/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE CONTACT WAS A CERTIFIED MECHANIC, WHO INSPECTED THE FUEL PUMP AND DISCOVERED THAT THE WIRE CONNECTED TO THE FUEL PUMP WAS BURNED INSIDE THE FUEL TANK. THE CONTACT REPAIRED THE VEHICLE AND NOTIFIED THE MANUFACTURER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/11/2014 - BELVIDERE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE+S SPEED DECREASED TO 10 MPH AND THE POWER INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT TURNED OFF THE VEHICLE FOR 10 MINUTES, BUT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE ELECTRIC THROTTLE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 56
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds