Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2008 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 732 complaints filed for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (78) Equipment (4) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3) Unknown Or Other (29)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (9) Parking Brake (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Vehicle Speed Control (130)
Electrical System (187) Fuel Propulsion System (29) Power Train (221) Steering (16) Visibility (14)
Electronic Stability Control (23) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Seat Belts (6) Structure (18) Visibility Wiper (16)
Engine (84) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (5) Suspension (10) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (61) Latches Locks Linkages (21) Service Brakes (8) Tires (19)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 81
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

4/13/2018 - MADISON, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE ABOVE 45 MPH WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (BOB FRENSLEY DODGE IN MADISON, TENNESSEE, 615-589-0000) WHERE THE FAILURE WAS DIAGNOSED AS THE POWER CONTROL MODULE. THE DEALER ALSO STATED THAT THE SOLENOID PACK FOR THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 147,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/27/2018 - STILLMAN VALLEY, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE CRADLE AND SUB FRAME PREMATURELY RUSTED AND FRACTURED WHILE DRIVING AT A LOW RATE OF SPEED. THE VEHICLE WAS COASTED TO A PARKING AREA. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHOM DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE CRADLE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED FOR A DIAGNOSIS OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THEY HAD ISSUED ONE RECALL ON THE ENGINE AND THREE TSB+S ON THE ENGINE BUT PROVIDED NO SOLUTION FOR THE ENGINE CRADLE REPLACEMENT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/27/2018 - STILLMAN VALLEY, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE CRADLE AND SUB FRAME PREMATURELY RUSTED AND FRACTURED WHILE DRIVING AT A LOW RATE OF SPEED. THE VEHICLE WAS COASTED TO A PARKING AREA. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHOM DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE CRADLE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED FOR A DIAGNOSIS OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THEY HAD ISSUED ONE RECALL ON THE ENGINE AND THREE TSB+S ON THE ENGINE BUT PROVIDED NO SOLUTION FOR THE ENGINE CRADLE REPLACEMENT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/16/2018 - AUSTIN, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, THE VEHICLE WAS DIFFICULT TO START. WHILE DRIVING 40-50 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SOUTH POINT DODGE CHRYSLER JEEP RAM (5210 S IH 35 FRONTAGE RD, AUSTIN, TX 78745, (512) 443-9333) TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT SEVERAL ENGINE WIRING HARNESSES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 08V152000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 129,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/16/2018 - AUSTIN, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, THE VEHICLE WAS DIFFICULT TO START. WHILE DRIVING 40-50 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SOUTH POINT DODGE CHRYSLER JEEP RAM (5210 S IH 35 FRONTAGE RD, AUSTIN, TX 78745, (512) 443-9333) TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT SEVERAL ENGINE WIRING HARNESSES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 08V152000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 129,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/9/2018 - GOODYEAR, AZ
STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THE RADIO SYSTEM, IT TURNS OFF BY IT SELF AND NOT TURNING ON. ONE`S IN A WHILE IT TURNS ON BY IT SELF. IT DOES THE SAME THING IF IT`S RUNNING OR IT`S THE CAR TURNED OFF. OTHER ISSUE IS THAT THE 4 ELECTRIC WINDOWS FRONTS AND REARS BROKE VERY EASE INSIDE THE ELEVATOR WHEN I LOWER OR TURNING UP. I`M BEEN WASTING TOO MUCH MONEY FOR THIS ISSUE. IN ONE POINT BOTH ISSUES FOR BECOME UNSAFE BECAUSE WHILE I`M DRIVEN ON WANT TO LOWER THE WINDOW IT MAKES A BIG NOISE WHEN IT BREAKS. AND THE RADIO TURNS ON AND OFF BY IT SELF SCARING YOU WHILE I`M DRIVING.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/25/2018 - GARY, IN
TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM INDICATOR LIGHT CAME ON. EVERY SINCE I HAVE BEEN HAVING VARIOUS PROBLEM WITH THIS CAR. SUCH AS ENGINE ROUGH IDLING/STALLING, TRANSMISSION ISSUES, TIRE PRESSURE MONITOR DON'T WORK, ENGINE WON'T START/DEAD BATTERY. JUST A LOT OF UNUSUAL PROBLEMS. I BE DRIVING THE VEHICLE CITY OR HIGHWAY. DON'T MATTER WHETHER I AM DRIVING STRAIGHT OR TURNING. THIS VEHICLE WILL STALL IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. YET STALL RIGHT BACK UP. ALL STARTED AFTER THE TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING LIGHT CAME ON. I BELIEVE IT HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE TIRE MONITOR SYSTEM. I HAVE BEEN TAKEN CHANCES, HOPING THAT IT WILL GO AWAY LIKE IT STARTED. MY REPAIR SERVICE CAN'T FINE THE PROBLEM AND SAID TO CHECK FOR RECALLS. THESE UNSAFE CONDITIONS HAVE BEEN GOING ON FOR A WHILE. HELP NEEDED

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/25/2018 - GARY, IN
TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM INDICATOR LIGHT CAME ON. EVERY SINCE I HAVE BEEN HAVING VARIOUS PROBLEM WITH THIS CAR. SUCH AS ENGINE ROUGH IDLING/STALLING, TRANSMISSION ISSUES, TIRE PRESSURE MONITOR DON'T WORK, ENGINE WON'T START/DEAD BATTERY. JUST A LOT OF UNUSUAL PROBLEMS. I BE DRIVING THE VEHICLE CITY OR HIGHWAY. DON'T MATTER WHETHER I AM DRIVING STRAIGHT OR TURNING. THIS VEHICLE WILL STALL IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. YET STALL RIGHT BACK UP. ALL STARTED AFTER THE TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING LIGHT CAME ON. I BELIEVE IT HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE TIRE MONITOR SYSTEM. I HAVE BEEN TAKEN CHANCES, HOPING THAT IT WILL GO AWAY LIKE IT STARTED. MY REPAIR SERVICE CAN'T FINE THE PROBLEM AND SAID TO CHECK FOR RECALLS. THESE UNSAFE CONDITIONS HAVE BEEN GOING ON FOR A WHILE. HELP NEEDED

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/25/2018 - GARY, IN
TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM INDICATOR LIGHT CAME ON. EVERY SINCE I HAVE BEEN HAVING VARIOUS PROBLEM WITH THIS CAR. SUCH AS ENGINE ROUGH IDLING/STALLING, TRANSMISSION ISSUES, TIRE PRESSURE MONITOR DON'T WORK, ENGINE WON'T START/DEAD BATTERY. JUST A LOT OF UNUSUAL PROBLEMS. I BE DRIVING THE VEHICLE CITY OR HIGHWAY. DON'T MATTER WHETHER I AM DRIVING STRAIGHT OR TURNING. THIS VEHICLE WILL STALL IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. YET STALL RIGHT BACK UP. ALL STARTED AFTER THE TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING LIGHT CAME ON. I BELIEVE IT HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE TIRE MONITOR SYSTEM. I HAVE BEEN TAKEN CHANCES, HOPING THAT IT WILL GO AWAY LIKE IT STARTED. MY REPAIR SERVICE CAN'T FINE THE PROBLEM AND SAID TO CHECK FOR RECALLS. THESE UNSAFE CONDITIONS HAVE BEEN GOING ON FOR A WHILE. HELP NEEDED

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/21/2018 - MESA, AZ
THE INTAKE MANIFOLD RUNNER CONTROL IS SHOWING AS "STUCK OPEN" CAUSING THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TO BE LIT UP AND THE CAR CANNOT BE INSPECTED. I HAVE REPLACED THIS PART 3 TIMES IN 3 YEARS. THE PART IS EITHER DEFECTIVE FROM EVERY SOURCE, THE CAR IS CAUSING THE ISSUE, OR THE COMPUTER ISN'T FUNCTIONING PROPERLY. THIS HAS COST ME THOUSANDS AND LEFT ME WITHOUT A VEHICLE FOR OVER A YEAR. THIS IS A PART THAT SHOULD LAST A DECADE IF YOU TAKE GOOD CARE OF YOUR AUTOMOBILE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 81
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds