Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2008 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 581 complaints filed for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (51) Exterior Lighting (5) Parking Brake (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electrical System (127) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Power Train (195) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (109)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Seat Belts (2) Structure (14) Visibility (12)
Engine (49) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (4) Suspension (9) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (59) Latches Locks Linkages (19) Service Brakes (5) Tires (19) Wheels (2)
Equipment (4) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/16/2015 - GROVEPORT, OH
MY 2008 DODGE AVENGER FIRST EXHIBITED THIS PROBLEM IN MARCH 2011. I AM THE ONLY OWNER AND I BOUGHT IT NEW. ESPECIALLY IN WET WEATHER BUT OCCASIONALLY IN OTHER INSTANCES, THE ENGINE WILL SHUT OFF BUT ALL ELECTRICAL EQUIPMENT- THE RADIO, LIGHTS, DASHBOARD AND A/C WILL REMAIN ON. THIS OCCURS WHEN BRAKING AT A STOP LIGHT OR SLOWING TO MAKE A TURN- USUALLY WHEN AT LOW SPEED AS WHEN PULLING INTO A DRIVEWAY. I THEN MUST PUT THE CAR IN PARK, TURN OFF THE IGNITION THEN RESTART THE CAR AND IT ALWAYS RESTARTS IMMEDIATELY. I HAVE TALKED TO THE DEALERSHIP I BOUGHT THE CAR AT MORE THAN ONCE ABOUT THE ISSUE BUT THEY SAY THEY CANNOT RECREATE THE PROBLEM AND SO CAN'T DIAGNOSE IT, BUT THIS ISSUE ONLY OCCURS PERIODICALLY IN WET CONDITIONS SO BEING ABLE TO RECREATE IT AT THE DEALERSHIP IS UNLIKELY. I WOULD ESTIMATE IT HAS HAPPENED AROUND 15 TO 20 TIMES IN THE PAST 4 YEARS. I HAVE SEEN RECALLS FOR OTHER DODGE AND CHRYSLER VEHICLES THAT SOUND SIMILAR BUT NONE FOR THE AVENGER. I HOPE DODGE WILL ISSUE A RECALL ON THIS MALFUNCTION AS IT SOUNDS LIKE THERE ARE MANY OTHER PEOPLE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. I FEEL LIKE THIS COULD EASILY CAUSE AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

ENGINE

3/16/2015 - GROVEPORT, OH
MY 2008 DODGE AVENGER FIRST EXHIBITED THIS PROBLEM IN MARCH 2011. I AM THE ONLY OWNER AND I BOUGHT IT NEW. ESPECIALLY IN WET WEATHER BUT OCCASIONALLY IN OTHER INSTANCES, THE ENGINE WILL SHUT OFF BUT ALL ELECTRICAL EQUIPMENT- THE RADIO, LIGHTS, DASHBOARD AND A/C WILL REMAIN ON. THIS OCCURS WHEN BRAKING AT A STOP LIGHT OR SLOWING TO MAKE A TURN- USUALLY WHEN AT LOW SPEED AS WHEN PULLING INTO A DRIVEWAY. I THEN MUST PUT THE CAR IN PARK, TURN OFF THE IGNITION THEN RESTART THE CAR AND IT ALWAYS RESTARTS IMMEDIATELY. I HAVE TALKED TO THE DEALERSHIP I BOUGHT THE CAR AT MORE THAN ONCE ABOUT THE ISSUE BUT THEY SAY THEY CANNOT RECREATE THE PROBLEM AND SO CAN'T DIAGNOSE IT, BUT THIS ISSUE ONLY OCCURS PERIODICALLY IN WET CONDITIONS SO BEING ABLE TO RECREATE IT AT THE DEALERSHIP IS UNLIKELY. I WOULD ESTIMATE IT HAS HAPPENED AROUND 15 TO 20 TIMES IN THE PAST 4 YEARS. I HAVE SEEN RECALLS FOR OTHER DODGE AND CHRYSLER VEHICLES THAT SOUND SIMILAR BUT NONE FOR THE AVENGER. I HOPE DODGE WILL ISSUE A RECALL ON THIS MALFUNCTION AS IT SOUNDS LIKE THERE ARE MANY OTHER PEOPLE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. I FEEL LIKE THIS COULD EASILY CAUSE AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/16/2015 - GROVEPORT, OH
MY 2008 DODGE AVENGER FIRST EXHIBITED THIS PROBLEM IN MARCH 2011. I AM THE ONLY OWNER AND I BOUGHT IT NEW. ESPECIALLY IN WET WEATHER BUT OCCASIONALLY IN OTHER INSTANCES, THE ENGINE WILL SHUT OFF BUT ALL ELECTRICAL EQUIPMENT- THE RADIO, LIGHTS, DASHBOARD AND A/C WILL REMAIN ON. THIS OCCURS WHEN BRAKING AT A STOP LIGHT OR SLOWING TO MAKE A TURN- USUALLY WHEN AT LOW SPEED AS WHEN PULLING INTO A DRIVEWAY. I THEN MUST PUT THE CAR IN PARK, TURN OFF THE IGNITION THEN RESTART THE CAR AND IT ALWAYS RESTARTS IMMEDIATELY. I HAVE TALKED TO THE DEALERSHIP I BOUGHT THE CAR AT MORE THAN ONCE ABOUT THE ISSUE BUT THEY SAY THEY CANNOT RECREATE THE PROBLEM AND SO CAN'T DIAGNOSE IT, BUT THIS ISSUE ONLY OCCURS PERIODICALLY IN WET CONDITIONS SO BEING ABLE TO RECREATE IT AT THE DEALERSHIP IS UNLIKELY. I WOULD ESTIMATE IT HAS HAPPENED AROUND 15 TO 20 TIMES IN THE PAST 4 YEARS. I HAVE SEEN RECALLS FOR OTHER DODGE AND CHRYSLER VEHICLES THAT SOUND SIMILAR BUT NONE FOR THE AVENGER. I HOPE DODGE WILL ISSUE A RECALL ON THIS MALFUNCTION AS IT SOUNDS LIKE THERE ARE MANY OTHER PEOPLE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. I FEEL LIKE THIS COULD EASILY CAUSE AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/11/2015 - COLE SPRINGS, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE CLEANED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ALTERNATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/11/2015 - COLE SPRINGS, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE CLEANED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ALTERNATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/11/2015 - COLE SPRINGS, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE CLEANED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ALTERNATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/5/2015 - DEL MAR, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN INTERMITTENT ELECTRICAL FAILURE THAT WAS PROGRESSING WITH NO WARNING. THE RADIO SHORTED, THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER SHORTED FOR VARIOUS SENSORS, THE CLOCK WAS NOT READING PROPERLY AND THE VEHICLE WAS STALLING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRICAL CONNECTORS FOR THE TPMS WERE CORRODED AND CAUSED A SHORT CIRCUIT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 08V152000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TO BE TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR FURTHER INSPECTION, DIAGNOSIS AND REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/2/2015 - JACKSON, NJ
THROTTLE POSITION WARNING INDICATOR (RED LIGHTNING BOLT) LIT WHILE AT HIGHWAY SPEED, SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER, COULD NOT DRIVE VEHICLE OVER 35 MPH. PROBLEM HAPPENED TWICE DURING A TWO WEEK TIME FRAME, DURING COLD/ SNOWY CONDITIONS.

View Details

ENGINE

2/24/2015 - PLAINS, PA
SINCE WE FIRST PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE WE HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH IT STALLING. AT FIRST WE THOUGHT IT WAS WHEN IT GOT WET BUT THEN IT HAPPENED ANY TIME. IT STALLED OUT SEVERAL TIMES WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGH WAY. WE HAVE HAD IT TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES THE PAST FEW YEARS. THEY HAVE REPLACED THE PVC VALVE AND THE MAP SENSOR STATING BOTH TIMES THIS WAS CAUSING IT TO STALL OUT EVEN THOUGH THE LIGHT INDICATES IT IS THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL. THE DEALER SAYS THERE ARE A LOT OF THINGS THAT CAN EFFECT THE ETC AND IT IS A GUESSING GAME UNLESS THE LIGHT COMES ON WHEN THEY HAVE IT WHICH OF COURSE IT DIDNT. THE CAR IS DANGEROUS TO DRIVE AT THIS POINT. IT CONTINUES TO STALL AND THERE IS NO INDICATION AS TO WHEN IT WILL HAPPEN. WE COULD BE GOING 10 MILES AN HOUR OR 50 MILES AN HOUR. ON ONE OCCASION WHEN I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED, THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER SHOWED ME UNDER NEATH THAT IT HAD BEEN TOWED BEFORE BECASUE SOMETHING WAS BENT. HE DIDNT WANT ME TO THINK HE DID IT. THEREFORE THERE WERE ISSUES WITH THIS CAR BEFORE I PURCHASED IT. I HAVE EMAILED DODGE ON THIS MATTER AS THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAME ISSUE AND YET THERE ARE NO RECALLS FOR IT. I DONT WANT ANYONE TO BE KILLED IN THIS CAR SO WE ARE HOPING THE DEALER WILL TAKE IT BACK AS A TRADE. AFTER ALL THEY SOLD IT TO US IN THIS CONDITION.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/23/2015 - MASSENA, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST ALL POWER. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO REPAIR THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY CONTROL FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds