Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2008 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 577 complaints filed for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (51) Exterior Lighting (5) Parking Brake (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (124) Fuel Propulsion System (18) Power Train (194) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (108)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Seat Belts (2) Structure (14) Visibility (12)
Engine (48) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (4) Suspension (9) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (59) Latches Locks Linkages (19) Service Brakes (5) Tires (19) Wheels (2)
Equipment (4) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/24/2015 - PLAINS, PA
SINCE WE FIRST PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE WE HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH IT STALLING. AT FIRST WE THOUGHT IT WAS WHEN IT GOT WET BUT THEN IT HAPPENED ANY TIME. IT STALLED OUT SEVERAL TIMES WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGH WAY. WE HAVE HAD IT TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES THE PAST FEW YEARS. THEY HAVE REPLACED THE PVC VALVE AND THE MAP SENSOR STATING BOTH TIMES THIS WAS CAUSING IT TO STALL OUT EVEN THOUGH THE LIGHT INDICATES IT IS THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL. THE DEALER SAYS THERE ARE A LOT OF THINGS THAT CAN EFFECT THE ETC AND IT IS A GUESSING GAME UNLESS THE LIGHT COMES ON WHEN THEY HAVE IT WHICH OF COURSE IT DIDNT. THE CAR IS DANGEROUS TO DRIVE AT THIS POINT. IT CONTINUES TO STALL AND THERE IS NO INDICATION AS TO WHEN IT WILL HAPPEN. WE COULD BE GOING 10 MILES AN HOUR OR 50 MILES AN HOUR. ON ONE OCCASION WHEN I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED, THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER SHOWED ME UNDER NEATH THAT IT HAD BEEN TOWED BEFORE BECASUE SOMETHING WAS BENT. HE DIDNT WANT ME TO THINK HE DID IT. THEREFORE THERE WERE ISSUES WITH THIS CAR BEFORE I PURCHASED IT. I HAVE EMAILED DODGE ON THIS MATTER AS THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAME ISSUE AND YET THERE ARE NO RECALLS FOR IT. I DONT WANT ANYONE TO BE KILLED IN THIS CAR SO WE ARE HOPING THE DEALER WILL TAKE IT BACK AS A TRADE. AFTER ALL THEY SOLD IT TO US IN THIS CONDITION.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/23/2015 - MASSENA, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST ALL POWER. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO REPAIR THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY CONTROL FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/16/2015 - BAY CITY, MI
I'VE OWNED THE CAR SINCE IT WAS NEW. A COUPLE OF TIMES THIS PAST SUMMER WHEN FILLING THE FUEL TANK, THE FUEL OVERFLOWED BEFORE THE GAS NOZZLE AUTOMATICALLY SHUT OFF. AT FIRST I THOUGHT IT WAS A FAULTY GAS NOZZLE. RECENTLY IT HAS BEEN OVERFLOWING EVERY TIME I FILL UP, REGARDLESS OF WHICH GAS STATION OR PUMP. THE PAST 5-6 TIMES IT HAS OVERFLOWED. IT IS A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF FUEL THAT COMES BACK, AND IT DOESN'T JUST TRICKLE OUT. IF YOU ARE NOT STANDING OFF TO THE SIDE IT WILL SPRAY YOU. THEN IT RUNS DOWN THE SIDE OF THE CAR AND THE LEFT REAR WHEEL. I AM CAREFUL TO STOP THE PUMP BEFORE IT GETS FULL, BUT EVEN THEN IT SOMETIMES OVERFLOWS. I WOULD ESTIMATE THE AVERAGE AMOUNT OF FUEL SPILLAGE TO BE AROUND 12 OUNCES.

View Details

ENGINE

2/11/2015 - NEWNAN, GA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 60 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,500.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/9/2015 - AUBURN, CA
I TOOK MY CAR IN ON JANUARY 21, 2015 BECAUSE MY AIRBAG LIGHT WAS FLASHING AGAIN BUT THIS TIME IT'S A CLOCKSPRING AND SHAWN AT DODGE TOLD ME THAT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE THE CAR LIKE THIS BECAUSE AIRBAGS WONT WORK, MY CRUISE CONTROL DOESN'T WORK AND HE SAID MORE THINGS WILL FAIL. I THINK THIS SHOULD BE ON THE RECALL LIST BUT IT ISN'T. THERE IS NO WAY THAT I CAN HAVE IT FIXED BECAUSE I GET $800 A MONTH AND TO REPLACE THAT PART IS $579.30. IS THERE ANYWAY TO PUT THIS PART ON THE RECALL LIST BECAUSE IT'S NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. THANK YOU

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/9/2015 - AUBURN, CA
I TOOK MY CAR IN ON JANUARY 21, 2015 BECAUSE MY AIRBAG LIGHT WAS FLASHING AGAIN BUT THIS TIME IT'S A CLOCKSPRING AND SHAWN AT DODGE TOLD ME THAT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE THE CAR LIKE THIS BECAUSE AIRBAGS WONT WORK, MY CRUISE CONTROL DOESN'T WORK AND HE SAID MORE THINGS WILL FAIL. I THINK THIS SHOULD BE ON THE RECALL LIST BUT IT ISN'T. THERE IS NO WAY THAT I CAN HAVE IT FIXED BECAUSE I GET $800 A MONTH AND TO REPLACE THAT PART IS $579.30. IS THERE ANYWAY TO PUT THIS PART ON THE RECALL LIST BECAUSE IT'S NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. THANK YOU

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/9/2015 - AUBURN, CA
I TOOK MY CAR IN ON JANUARY 21, 2015 BECAUSE MY AIRBAG LIGHT WAS FLASHING AGAIN BUT THIS TIME IT'S A CLOCKSPRING AND SHAWN AT DODGE TOLD ME THAT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE THE CAR LIKE THIS BECAUSE AIRBAGS WONT WORK, MY CRUISE CONTROL DOESN'T WORK AND HE SAID MORE THINGS WILL FAIL. I THINK THIS SHOULD BE ON THE RECALL LIST BUT IT ISN'T. THERE IS NO WAY THAT I CAN HAVE IT FIXED BECAUSE I GET $800 A MONTH AND TO REPLACE THAT PART IS $579.30. IS THERE ANYWAY TO PUT THIS PART ON THE RECALL LIST BECAUSE IT'S NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. THANK YOU

View Details

STEERING

2/2/2015 - NEON, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED, THE STEERING SEIZED, AND THE BRAKES FAILED TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE DROVE UP A HILL AND FLIPPED OVER. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED TO A SALVAGE YARD. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/2/2015 - NEON, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED, THE STEERING SEIZED, AND THE BRAKES FAILED TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE DROVE UP A HILL AND FLIPPED OVER. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED TO A SALVAGE YARD. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

2/2/2015 - NEON, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED, THE STEERING SEIZED, AND THE BRAKES FAILED TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE DROVE UP A HILL AND FLIPPED OVER. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED TO A SALVAGE YARD. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds