Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2008 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 664 complaints filed for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (70) Equipment (4) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3) Unknown Or Other (18)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (8) Parking Brake (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Vehicle Speed Control (124)
Electrical System (157) Fuel Propulsion System (25) Power Train (206) Steering (15) Visibility (14)
Electronic Stability Control (19) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Seat Belts (3) Structure (16) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine (70) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (4) Suspension (9) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (61) Latches Locks Linkages (20) Service Brakes (8) Tires (19)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 74
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/5/2016 - BECHTELSVILLE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED TO WORK WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC WHO REPLACED THE WINDSHIELD WIPER'S MOTOR, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/3/2016 - MANASSAS, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH IN A RAIN STORM, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED TO OPERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIPM WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 128,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/3/2016 - MANASSAS, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH IN A RAIN STORM, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED TO OPERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIPM WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 128,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/26/2016 - LANSING, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, AN ABNORMAL SOUND EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE CRADLE WAS RUSTED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/26/2016 - LANSING, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, AN ABNORMAL SOUND EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE CRADLE WAS RUSTED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/4/2016 - SAVANNA, GA
GOT HOME, PUT CAR IN PARK & LET GO OF THE BRAKE. NOTICED I WAS ROLLING BACKWARDS SO I QUICKLY PUSHED ON THE BRAKE. LOOKED ON MY DASH & IT INDICATED THE CAR WAS IN REVERSE, SO I PUSHED ON THE GEAR SHIFTER TO MAKE SURE IT WAS PUSHED ALL THE WAY UP, WHICH IT WAS. I THEN TURNED THE CAR OFF & TRIED TO TURN IT BACK ON. THE CAR THEN WOULDN'T START 7 THE GEARS WOULD NOT CHANGE. LOOKED ONLINE, SEEN THERE WAS A COMMON ISSUE WITH THE PINK PLASTIC PIECE CONNECTED TO THE GEAR. PUSHED THE PINK PLASTIC PIECE IN & IT ALLOWED ME TO SWITCH GEARS WHEN IT WAS HELD IN BUT I AM STILL UNABLE TO CRANK MY CAR & EVEN WHEN THE GEARS ARE SWITCHED THE DASHBOARD SAYS THE CAR IS STILL IN REVERSE. LOOKED UP RECALLS & SURE ENOUGH THERE IS A RECALL BUT OF COURSE WHEN I ENTERED MY CAR INFORMATION IT DOESN'T APPLY TO MY CAR. I ALSO HAVE REPLACED THE ALTERNATOR 4 TIMES IN 3 YEARS. I WAS TOLD THAT IT IS A POOR DESIGN THAT CAUSES THE ALTERNATOR TO WEAR DOWN & LOCK UP SO QUICKLY. I WILL EVER BUY ANOTHER CHRYSTLER DODGE VEHICLE IN MY LIFE. THIS CAR HAS BY FAR BEEN THE WORST INVESTMENT OF MY LIFE. I REALLY HOPE SOMETHING HAPPENS TO GET THESE CARS OFF OF THE ROAD FOREVER BEFORE THEY END UP KILLING SOMEONE DUE TO THE HIGHLY POOR DESIGN OF EVERYTHING IN THEM!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/4/2016 - SAVANNA, GA
GOT HOME, PUT CAR IN PARK & LET GO OF THE BRAKE. NOTICED I WAS ROLLING BACKWARDS SO I QUICKLY PUSHED ON THE BRAKE. LOOKED ON MY DASH & IT INDICATED THE CAR WAS IN REVERSE, SO I PUSHED ON THE GEAR SHIFTER TO MAKE SURE IT WAS PUSHED ALL THE WAY UP, WHICH IT WAS. I THEN TURNED THE CAR OFF & TRIED TO TURN IT BACK ON. THE CAR THEN WOULDN'T START 7 THE GEARS WOULD NOT CHANGE. LOOKED ONLINE, SEEN THERE WAS A COMMON ISSUE WITH THE PINK PLASTIC PIECE CONNECTED TO THE GEAR. PUSHED THE PINK PLASTIC PIECE IN & IT ALLOWED ME TO SWITCH GEARS WHEN IT WAS HELD IN BUT I AM STILL UNABLE TO CRANK MY CAR & EVEN WHEN THE GEARS ARE SWITCHED THE DASHBOARD SAYS THE CAR IS STILL IN REVERSE. LOOKED UP RECALLS & SURE ENOUGH THERE IS A RECALL BUT OF COURSE WHEN I ENTERED MY CAR INFORMATION IT DOESN'T APPLY TO MY CAR. I ALSO HAVE REPLACED THE ALTERNATOR 4 TIMES IN 3 YEARS. I WAS TOLD THAT IT IS A POOR DESIGN THAT CAUSES THE ALTERNATOR TO WEAR DOWN & LOCK UP SO QUICKLY. I WILL EVER BUY ANOTHER CHRYSTLER DODGE VEHICLE IN MY LIFE. THIS CAR HAS BY FAR BEEN THE WORST INVESTMENT OF MY LIFE. I REALLY HOPE SOMETHING HAPPENS TO GET THESE CARS OFF OF THE ROAD FOREVER BEFORE THEY END UP KILLING SOMEONE DUE TO THE HIGHLY POOR DESIGN OF EVERYTHING IN THEM!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/4/2016 - SAVANNA, GA
GOT HOME, PUT CAR IN PARK & LET GO OF THE BRAKE. NOTICED I WAS ROLLING BACKWARDS SO I QUICKLY PUSHED ON THE BRAKE. LOOKED ON MY DASH & IT INDICATED THE CAR WAS IN REVERSE, SO I PUSHED ON THE GEAR SHIFTER TO MAKE SURE IT WAS PUSHED ALL THE WAY UP, WHICH IT WAS. I THEN TURNED THE CAR OFF & TRIED TO TURN IT BACK ON. THE CAR THEN WOULDN'T START 7 THE GEARS WOULD NOT CHANGE. LOOKED ONLINE, SEEN THERE WAS A COMMON ISSUE WITH THE PINK PLASTIC PIECE CONNECTED TO THE GEAR. PUSHED THE PINK PLASTIC PIECE IN & IT ALLOWED ME TO SWITCH GEARS WHEN IT WAS HELD IN BUT I AM STILL UNABLE TO CRANK MY CAR & EVEN WHEN THE GEARS ARE SWITCHED THE DASHBOARD SAYS THE CAR IS STILL IN REVERSE. LOOKED UP RECALLS & SURE ENOUGH THERE IS A RECALL BUT OF COURSE WHEN I ENTERED MY CAR INFORMATION IT DOESN'T APPLY TO MY CAR. I ALSO HAVE REPLACED THE ALTERNATOR 4 TIMES IN 3 YEARS. I WAS TOLD THAT IT IS A POOR DESIGN THAT CAUSES THE ALTERNATOR TO WEAR DOWN & LOCK UP SO QUICKLY. I WILL EVER BUY ANOTHER CHRYSTLER DODGE VEHICLE IN MY LIFE. THIS CAR HAS BY FAR BEEN THE WORST INVESTMENT OF MY LIFE. I REALLY HOPE SOMETHING HAPPENS TO GET THESE CARS OFF OF THE ROAD FOREVER BEFORE THEY END UP KILLING SOMEONE DUE TO THE HIGHLY POOR DESIGN OF EVERYTHING IN THEM!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/20/2016 - ALLEN, TX
I PARKED MY CAR IN THE GARAGE, THE SHIFTER WAS CLEARLY IN PARK, THEN I GOT OUT OF MY CAR AND WENT INTO THE HOUSE TO MAKE DINNER, AND MY WIFES DOCTORS OFFICE CALLED WITH A SUBSCRIPTION, I HIT THE GARAGE DOOR OPENER AND IT WOULD NOT OPEN, AND IT STARTED FLASHING, THE CAR ROLLED INTO IT ON ITS OWN, I GOT INTO THE CAR AND TRIED TO START IT WITH THE GEAR-SHIFT IN PARK AND IT WOULD NOT, LOOKED IN THE HEADS-UP DISPLAY AND IT SHOWED IT WAS IN NEUTRAL AND THE CAR WAS ROLLING FREELY. IF THIS WOULD HAVE HAPPENED IN A PUBLIC PARKING LOT THIS SITUATION COULD HAVE BEEN VERY SERIOUS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/13/2016 - WOODBURY, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE REMOTE START SYSTEM FAILED TO OPERATE AND THE ANTI-THEFT ALARM SYSTEM ACTIVATED INDEPENDENTLY. IN ADDITION, THE TIRE PRESSURE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE KEY FOB FAILED TO SHUT OFF THE ALARM. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE RECURRED INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 08V152000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 74
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds