Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2008 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 516 complaints filed for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (43) Exterior Lighting (3) Parking Brake (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (89) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Power Train (188) Steering (13) Vehicle Speed Control (95)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel System Gasoline (24) Seat Belts (1) Structure (14) Visibility (10)
Engine (35) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (4) Suspension (9) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (56) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Service Brakes (3) Tires (18) Wheels (2)
Equipment (4) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/18/2014 - CANANDAIGUN, NY
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO INFORMED THAT THE INTAKE MANIFOLD REQUIRED REPLACEMENT. IN ADDITION, THE FAULTY POWER CONTROL MODULE WOULD NEED TO BE REPROGRAMMED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 126,000. JS

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/14/2014 - ALTOONA, PA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. TE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92,000. AP

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/7/2014 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
ON OR ABOUT FEB. 17, 2009 AND CONTINUING TO PRESENT, MY 2008 AVENGER HAS HAD NUMEROUS PROBLEMS SHIFTING. THE PROBLEM STARTED WITH HARD SHIFTING AND TRANSMISSION SLIPPAGE. NOW, WHEN DRIVING AT 45MPH WHEN THE CAR GOES TO SHIFT INTO OVERDRIVE, AND MISSES 4TH GEAR. THERE IS A SUDDEN LOSS OF GEARS AND THE TACHOMETER CLIMBS RAPIDLY BECAUSE THE OVERDRIVE GEAR WILL NOT ENGAGE. WHEN ENGINE RPM IS LOWERED, CAR DOWNSHIFTS INTO 2ND GEAR (LIMP MODE) AND WILL NOT SHIFT NORMALLY UNTIL THE VEHICLE IS TURNED OFF AND RE-STARTED. THE SUDDEN LOSS OF SPEED MAY RESULT IN A CRASH AND PERSONAL INJURY TO THE OCCUPANTS OF THE VEHICLE. I HAVE SEEN NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ON THIS PROBLEM AND HAVE NOTICED A LOT OF SERVICE BULLETINS RELATED TO IMPROPER SHIFTING OF THE 2008 AVENGER. EVEN THOUGH DODGE IS AWARE OF THE PROBLEMS WITH THE POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE, THEY HAVE REFUSED TO ISSUE A RECALL ON THE MODULE PLACING THE SAFETY OF ITS CUSTOMERS BELOW THE IMPORTANCE OF THEIR PROFITS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/7/2014 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
ON OR ABOUT FEB. 17, 2009 AND CONTINUING TO PRESENT, MY 2008 AVENGER HAS HAD NUMEROUS PROBLEMS SHIFTING. THE PROBLEM STARTED WITH HARD SHIFTING AND TRANSMISSION SLIPPAGE. NOW, WHEN DRIVING AT 45MPH WHEN THE CAR GOES TO SHIFT INTO OVERDRIVE, AND MISSES 4TH GEAR. THERE IS A SUDDEN LOSS OF GEARS AND THE TACHOMETER CLIMBS RAPIDLY BECAUSE THE OVERDRIVE GEAR WILL NOT ENGAGE. WHEN ENGINE RPM IS LOWERED, CAR DOWNSHIFTS INTO 2ND GEAR (LIMP MODE) AND WILL NOT SHIFT NORMALLY UNTIL THE VEHICLE IS TURNED OFF AND RE-STARTED. THE SUDDEN LOSS OF SPEED MAY RESULT IN A CRASH AND PERSONAL INJURY TO THE OCCUPANTS OF THE VEHICLE. I HAVE SEEN NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ON THIS PROBLEM AND HAVE NOTICED A LOT OF SERVICE BULLETINS RELATED TO IMPROPER SHIFTING OF THE 2008 AVENGER. EVEN THOUGH DODGE IS AWARE OF THE PROBLEMS WITH THE POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE, THEY HAVE REFUSED TO ISSUE A RECALL ON THE MODULE PLACING THE SAFETY OF ITS CUSTOMERS BELOW THE IMPORTANCE OF THEIR PROFITS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/4/2014 - MESA, AZ
BATTERY LIGHT WARNING CAME ON, CRUISE CONTROL STOPPED WORKING, CAR WOULD NO LONGER SHIFT OR WAS DRIVEABLE. THIS OCCURRED ON THE FREEWAY AND WE WERE ALMOST HIT. ONCE STOPPED THE CAR WOULD NOT TURN BACK ON. THIS APPEARS TO BE CONNECTED TO EITHER RECALL H07, WHICH MAY BE REOCCURRING, OR TO AN ITEM THAT SHOULD BE RECALLED RELATING TO THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL. THERE ARE MULTIPLE INCIDENTS REGARDING THIS ITEM. I'VE HAD SEVERAL COMPLETED RECALLS THAT DON'T APPEAR TO HAVE BEEN COMPLETED OR ARE REOCCURRING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/4/2014 - MESA, AZ
BATTERY LIGHT WARNING CAME ON, CRUISE CONTROL STOPPED WORKING, CAR WOULD NO LONGER SHIFT OR WAS DRIVEABLE. THIS OCCURRED ON THE FREEWAY AND WE WERE ALMOST HIT. ONCE STOPPED THE CAR WOULD NOT TURN BACK ON. THIS APPEARS TO BE CONNECTED TO EITHER RECALL H07, WHICH MAY BE REOCCURRING, OR TO AN ITEM THAT SHOULD BE RECALLED RELATING TO THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL. THERE ARE MULTIPLE INCIDENTS REGARDING THIS ITEM. I'VE HAD SEVERAL COMPLETED RECALLS THAT DON'T APPEAR TO HAVE BEEN COMPLETED OR ARE REOCCURRING.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/31/2014 - ELKHART LAKE, WI
THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON OCCURENCE AS I HAVE HEARD THIS SAME SCENARIO AMONGST MANY DODGE OWNERS. A FEW DAYS AGO, MY 2008 DODGE AVENGER SUDDENLY STOPPED ACCELERATING AS MY FOOT WAS PRESSING THE GAS. IT DROPPED DOWN TO A SPEED OF 45MPH AND WOULD NOT LET ME ACCELERATE ABOVE THIS. THE DASH BOARD ALSO DISPLAYED A RED LIGHTNING BOLT . WHEN I LOOKED IN THE MANUAL IT ADVISED THAT I GET MY VEHICLE SERVICED IMMEDIATELY AND THAT IT WAS AN ISSUE WITH THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL, MOST COMMONLY THIS IS DESCRIBED AS THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL. GIVEN THAT MY COMPLAINT RESEMBLES THAT OF MANY OTHERS BOTH ON THIS SIGHT AND ACROSS DODGE FORUMS, I WOULD FEEL IT NECESSARY FOR A RECALL OF THIS PART.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/30/2014 - ZEELAND, MI
WHEN REFUELING, GAS TANK DOES NOT VENT PROPERLY WHICH RESULTS IN A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF GAS BEING BURPED OUT OF THE FILL TUBE RESULTING IN SPILLED FUEL. OFTEN SPILLED FUEL SPLASHES ONTO DRIVER, REAR QUARTER PANEL, AND DRIVERS SIDE REAR WHEEL. SAFETY IS ALWAYS A CONCERN WHEN THERE IS UNEXPECTED AND UNNECESSARY FUEL SPILLS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/27/2014 - KALAMAZOO, MI
WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AND NOTICED A DELAYED RESPONSE WHEN PUSHING DOWN ON THE ACCELERATOR, MOMENTS LATER I WAS UNABLE TO ACCELERATE AND THE CAR'S ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL LIGHT APPEARED. THE CAR WAS UNABLE TO GO MORE THEN 15 MPH. I HAD TO HAVE THE CAR TOWED. I DID NOT RECEIVE A WARNING BEFORE THIS HAPPENED HOWEVER, I DID NOTICE MY CAR STALLING A LITTLE BIT A DAY PRIOR TO THIS HAPPENING. I SEE I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON WITH THIS PROBLEM, NOW I HAVE TO SEE HOW MUCH MONEY THIS IS GOING TO COST ME. I AM A COLLEGE STUDENT AND NEED MY CAR BUT NOT THIS TYPES OF EXPENSE AND SAFETY RISKS IT COMES WITH. THERE ARE 125,000 MILES ON THE CAR AT THIS TIME.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/27/2014 - KALAMAZOO, MI
WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AND NOTICED A DELAYED RESPONSE WHEN PUSHING DOWN ON THE ACCELERATOR, MOMENTS LATER I WAS UNABLE TO ACCELERATE AND THE CAR'S ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL LIGHT APPEARED. THE CAR WAS UNABLE TO GO MORE THEN 15 MPH. I HAD TO HAVE THE CAR TOWED. I DID NOT RECEIVE A WARNING BEFORE THIS HAPPENED HOWEVER, I DID NOTICE MY CAR STALLING A LITTLE BIT A DAY PRIOR TO THIS HAPPENING. I SEE I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON WITH THIS PROBLEM, NOW I HAVE TO SEE HOW MUCH MONEY THIS IS GOING TO COST ME. I AM A COLLEGE STUDENT AND NEED MY CAR BUT NOT THIS TYPES OF EXPENSE AND SAFETY RISKS IT COMES WITH. THERE ARE 125,000 MILES ON THE CAR AT THIS TIME.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds