Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2010 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1824 complaints filed for the 2010 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment (5) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (17) Unknown Or Other (34)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (6) Power Train (703) Steering (106) Vehicle Speed Control (676)
Electrical System (156) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (2) Structure (23) Visibility (15)
Electronic Stability Control (36) Fuel Propulsion System (293) Seats (18) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (507) Fuel System Gasoline (181) Service Brakes (26) Tires (9) Wheels (62)
Engine And Engine Cooling (81) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (5) Traction Control System (4)

Pages:  
<<  136  137  138  139  140  141  142  143  144  145  146  147  148  149  150  >>  ... 242
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

6/11/2013 - DUNEDIN, FL
VEHICLE COMPLETELY LOST POWER WHILE DRIVING AND VIRTUALLY SHUT DOWN WHILE DRIVING ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY. I BROUGHT THE VEHICLE TO LAMARQUE FORD AND WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS THE THROTTLE BODY. LAST WEEK, I WAS AGAIN GETTING ON THE INTERSTATE AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED. THIS TIME I HAVE 40300 MILES ON THE VEHICLE. I WAS TOLD THAT IT WOULD NOT BE COVERED BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY AND THE PARTS WARRANTY WAS ONLY GOOD FOR A YEAR. IN ADDITION, I WAS TOLD THAT THE PART IS ON BACK ORDER AND IT WILL TAKE 2 TO 3 WEEKS FOR THE DEALERSHIP TO GET THE PART. THIS IS VERY WELL KNOWN WITH THIS CAR AND A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THIS CAR SINCE IT JUST COMPLETELY SHUTS DOWN AND HESITATES TO START BACK UP. IT HAS LEFT ME STRANDED MANY TIMES.

View Details

ENGINE

6/11/2013 - DUNEDIN, FL
VEHICLE COMPLETELY LOST POWER WHILE DRIVING AND VIRTUALLY SHUT DOWN WHILE DRIVING ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY. I BROUGHT THE VEHICLE TO LAMARQUE FORD AND WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS THE THROTTLE BODY. LAST WEEK, I WAS AGAIN GETTING ON THE INTERSTATE AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED. THIS TIME I HAVE 40300 MILES ON THE VEHICLE. I WAS TOLD THAT IT WOULD NOT BE COVERED BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY AND THE PARTS WARRANTY WAS ONLY GOOD FOR A YEAR. IN ADDITION, I WAS TOLD THAT THE PART IS ON BACK ORDER AND IT WILL TAKE 2 TO 3 WEEKS FOR THE DEALERSHIP TO GET THE PART. THIS IS VERY WELL KNOWN WITH THIS CAR AND A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THIS CAR SINCE IT JUST COMPLETELY SHUTS DOWN AND HESITATES TO START BACK UP. IT HAS LEFT ME STRANDED MANY TIMES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/10/2013 - BLACKSBURG, VA
LOSS OF POWER ON INTERSTATE GOING 60 MPH AFTER 1.5 HOUR DRIVE. WEATHER: SUNNY, UPPER 70'S. THROTTLE CONTROL LOST. CHANGING ACCELERATOR POSITION HAS NO EFFECT ON RPMS. GAS TANK 3/4 FULL. ENGINE STILL RUNNING, COASTED OFF ONTO THE SHOULDER. ENGINE VIBRATED A LOT BUT MAY HAVE BEEN ANTILOCK BRAKES KICKING IN. TURNED OFF ENGINE. A FEW MINUTES LATER STARTED AGAIN, BUT IT WOULDN'T START AT FIRST. RECENTLY HAD 50000 MILE SERVICE. SYMPTOMS CONSISTENT WITH THOSE REPORTED IN THE PRESS FOR FORD FUSION PROBLEMS WITH THROTTLE ASSEMBLY. SAFETY ISSUE MAKES IT A SCARY SITUATION ON INTERSTATES ESPECIALLY WHERE THERE IS NO IMMEDIATE PLACE TO PULL OVER (MILES OF CONSTRUCTION, FOR EXAMPLE) WITH HEAVY TRUCK TRAFFIC BEHIND YOU.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/10/2013 - BLACKSBURG, VA
LOSS OF POWER ON INTERSTATE GOING 60 MPH AFTER 1.5 HOUR DRIVE. WEATHER: SUNNY, UPPER 70'S. THROTTLE CONTROL LOST. CHANGING ACCELERATOR POSITION HAS NO EFFECT ON RPMS. GAS TANK 3/4 FULL. ENGINE STILL RUNNING, COASTED OFF ONTO THE SHOULDER. ENGINE VIBRATED A LOT BUT MAY HAVE BEEN ANTILOCK BRAKES KICKING IN. TURNED OFF ENGINE. A FEW MINUTES LATER STARTED AGAIN, BUT IT WOULDN'T START AT FIRST. RECENTLY HAD 50000 MILE SERVICE. SYMPTOMS CONSISTENT WITH THOSE REPORTED IN THE PRESS FOR FORD FUSION PROBLEMS WITH THROTTLE ASSEMBLY. SAFETY ISSUE MAKES IT A SCARY SITUATION ON INTERSTATES ESPECIALLY WHERE THERE IS NO IMMEDIATE PLACE TO PULL OVER (MILES OF CONSTRUCTION, FOR EXAMPLE) WITH HEAVY TRUCK TRAFFIC BEHIND YOU.

View Details

STEERING

6/10/2013 - BATAVIA, OH
THIS IS MY SECOND REPORT ON THE POWER STEERING RACK FAILURE. THIS LAST RACK (NUMBER 3) WAS ALSO A SALVAGE PART. LASTED SIX WEEKS, INSTALLED ON APRIL 26TH, 2013. FAILURE SEQUENCE IS THE SAME: SERVICE ADVANCE TRACK, SERVICE POWER STEERING, SHUTOFF CAR, SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW, NO POWER STEERING. PLEASE FIX THIS [XXX]. IT IS NOT SAFE OR RELIABLE. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/10/2013 - HARRISONVILLE, MO
THE CAR LOOSES POWER SUDDENLY AND WITHOUT WARNING. PRESSING ON THE ACCELERATOR GIVES NO RESULT. THE ENGINE IS RUNNING, BUT I CAN'T GIVE IT ANY GAS. I HAVE TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, TURN OFF THE IGNITION, THEN RESTART THE CAR. AT THAT POINT IT STARTS PRETTY HARD, BUT WILL USUALLY BE OK. A WRENCH LIGHT SHOWS UP WHEN IT HAPPENS, BUT IS GONE WHEN I RESTART THE ENGINE. MY FORD DEALERSHIP HAS LOOKED AT IT TWICE. THE SECOND TIME, WE DECIDED TO REPLACE THE THROTTLE BODY. NOW I'M TOLD THAT THE MANUFACTURER ISN'T RELEASING THE PART UNTIL MID-JULY. I HAVE TO DRIVE AN UNSAFE VEHICLE FOR ANOTHER 5 WEEKS WHILE WE WAIT FOR THE PART. I'M VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY OF MY FAMILY AND MYSELF SINCE THIS HAS OCCURRED 9 TIMES. TWO OF THESE OCCURRENCES PLACED US IN VERY DANGEROUS SITUATIONS. 1) BUSY 4 LANE ROAD WITH NO SHOULDER AND AN INCLINE CAUSED ME TO SHUT IT DOWN AND PUT ON MY FLASHERS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. 2). ON A 70MPH HWY WITH A SEMI-TRUCK APPROACHING QUICKLY BEHIND ME AND ROAD CONSTRUCTION ON THE SHOULDER LEAVING A DROP OFF.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/10/2013 - SAN GABRIEL, CA
WHILE DRIVING AND MAKING A TRANSITION FROM THE 101 CA FW TO THE 110 SANTA MONICA, I PROCEEDED TO GIVE THE CAR MORE GAS TO GET UP TO SPEED OF THE CURRENT TRAFFIC FLOW BUT MY CAR LOST ALL ACCELERATION. A LITTLE WRENCH LIGHT STARTED FLASHING BUT THE CAR WAS QUICKLY SLOWING DOWN. THE CARS STARTED IDLING HEAVING BUT STILL NO ACCELERATION. I QUICKLY PUNCHED MY HAZARD AS I HAD MY 3 CHILDREN IN THE CAR WITH MY AND TRAFFIC WAS COMING. I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT TO THE FIRST LANE TO TRY TO EXIT THE FREEWAY. THE CAR LITERALLY ROLLED TO EXIT OFF 9TH STREET AND JUST GLIDED DOWN THE OFF-RAMP. A VERY TERRIFYING EXPERIENCE AS CARS HAD TO TAKE EVASION ACTIONS TO AVOID REARENDING ME. I WAS ABLE TO PULL THE CAR OVER SAFE ON THE FIRST AVAILABLE STREET. I PUT THE CAR IN PARK IT STARTED RATTLING HARDER. I THEN SHUT OFF THE ENGINE, TURNED EVERYTHING OFF (AIR/RADIO) AND UNPLUGGED MY PHONE CHARGER. I WAITED ABOUT 3 MINUTES AND THEN STARTED THE CAR UP AGAIN LIKE NOTHING. I PROCEEDED TO TAKE SIDE STREET. IT WAS ABOUT 2 WEEKS LATER VERY NEXT DAY THE CAR STARTED UP AS NORMAL BUT ON MY WAY TO WORK WHILE IN THE PROCESS OF GETTING INTO THE FREEWAY AND AS BEGAN TO GIVE THE CAR GAS TO MERGE IN I LOST ALL ACCELERATION AGAIN. THE LITTLE WRENCH LIGHT CAME AND THE HARD RATTLING STARTED BUT THIS TIME THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. HUSBAND DROVE IT BACK TO THE DEALER AT 5MPH RATTLING AND ALL AN WE WERE TOLD IT WAS THE THROTTLE. THE DEALER SAID IT WOULD TAKE 10 BUSINESS DAY TO GET THE PART AND REPLACE IT SO A RENTAL WAS PROVIDED. THE VERY NEXT DAY DEALER SAID TO PICK UP CAR AS THE THROTTLE HAD BEEN DRAINED AND RESET NOT REPLACED. NOT SURE I UNDERSTAND WHY THEY ARE NOT FIXING THE CAR BY REPLACING THE PART IF SO MANY ISSUES ARE BEING REPORTED. REFUSING TO PICK UP CAR TILL PART IS REPLACED AND THEY CAN GUARANTEE ME THIS ISSUE WONT RECUR.

View Details

ENGINE

6/10/2013 - DRUMMONDS , TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE RETURNED TO NORMAL FUNCTION WHEN IT WAS RESTARTED. THE FAILURE WAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC PERFORMED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/10/2013 - HERNDON, VA
WHILE DRIVING ON 35MPH ROADWAY, MY CAR SUDDENLY LOST ACCELERATION. ENGINE APPEARED TO BE "SHAKING". I WAS ABLE TO TURN INTO A SHOPPING CENTER PARKING LOT. I COASTED TO A SPACE, TURNED OFF CAR. I RESTARTED, IT APPEARED TO BE OK, AND PROCEEDED HOME. ANOTHER 1/4 TO 1/2 MILE AWAY (25 MPH), IT DID THE SAME THING. I RESTARTED, MADE IT HOME IN MY NEIGHBORHOOD. I HAD CAR TOWED TO AN AUTO SHOP I HAVE USED, AND THEY DIAGNOSED "CHECK ENGINE" AS THE THROTTLE BODY. THEY STATED THEY TALKED TO FORD, AND FOUND THIS WAS A BIG PROBLEM, SO MUCH THAT THEY WERE UNABLE TO GET THE PART FOR ANOTHER MONTH.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/10/2013 - EVANS, GA
WHILE DRIVING AT 50 MILES AN HOUR THE ENGINE LOST POWER AND WOULD BARLEY MOVE WHEN THE GAS PEDAL WAS PUSHED, I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE TWO BLOCKS TO AN AUTO REPAIR SHOP AND WAS TOLD IT WAS THE THROTTLE BODY ASSEMBLY, I CONTACTED FORD MOTOR COMPANY AND FOUND OUT THERE HAVE BEEN NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE THROTTLE BODY SO MUCH SO THAT THE PARTS ARE ON A TWO MONTH BACK ORDER UNLESS THEY ORDER UNDER AN EMERGENCY CONDITION THEN IT STILL TAKES TWO WEEKS. I AM WONDERING WHY THERE HAS NOT BEEN A RECALL BY FORD BEFORE SOMEONE IS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED? I AM NOW HAVING TO PAY OVER $500.00 FOR THE REPAIR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  136  137  138  139  140  141  142  143  144  145  146  147  148  149  150  >>  ... 242
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds