Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2194 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (57) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (37)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (117) Power Train (63) Service Brakes Hydraulic (876) Unknown Or Other (54)
Electrical System (118) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Seat Belts (12) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (269)
Electronic Stability Control (33) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (65) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (208) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (17) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 241
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

12/10/2016 - GAINESVILLE, FL
I RECENTLY PURCHASED A TOYOTA 2010 PRIUS AND FOUR DASH WARNING LIGHTS APPEARED THE DAY AFTER I PURCHASED IT WHEN I TURNED THE CAR ON IN THE MORNING. THE LIGHTS STAY ON FOR HOURS TO DAYS AND GO OFF FOR SIMILAR AMOUNT OF TIME. WHEN THE LIGHTS ARE ON THE BRAKES ARE MUCH LESS RESPONSIVE AND THE BRAKING ACTION DOES NOT CHARGE THE BATTERIES AS MUCH, NEVER MORE THAN 25% OF CHARGING POTENTIAL. THE PROBLEM WAS DIAGNOSED AS A PROBLEM WITH ACCUMULATOR IN THE BRAKE SYSTEM. I PERFORMED A SEARCH ONLINE AND FOUND THAT THERE IS A RECALL FOR SUCH PROBLEM, BUT MY VEHICLE WAS PRODUCED A MONTH AFTER THE DATE OF PRODUCTION THAT WOULD QUALIFY FOR THIS RECALL. I WILL A PDF COPY OF THE RECALL I'M REFERRING TO.

View Details

ENGINE

12/3/2016 - SHERMAN OAKS, CA
MY TOYOTA PRIUS HAS NOT BEEN IDENTIFIED AS ONE OF THE MODELS IN THIS CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT, BUT APPROXIMATELY FOUR MONTHS AGO, AT 110,000 MILES, MY VEHICLE STARTED TO BURN OIL EXCESSIVELY, CAUSING ME TO HAVE TO FILL IT EVERY 1,200 MILES. I TAKE IT IN FOR MAINTENANCE TO THE SAME PERSON AT THE SAME DEALERSHIP SINCE I HAVE OWNED THE CAR NEW. I WAS NOTIFIED OF THIS PROBLEM WITH THE PISTON RINGS WITH THE OTHER TOYOTA MODELS AND THAT SOME OF THE PRIUS MODELS HAVE ALSO HAD THIS ISSUE. THIS HAS ME VERY CONCERNED THAT OTHER OWNERS HAVE BEEN LEFT OUT OF THIS SUIT. CONSIDERING THERE ARE MILLIONS OF PRIUS OWNERS THAT HAVE STOOD BEHIND TOYOTA AND THE PRIUS AS THE TOP HYBRID ON THE MARKET,THERE NEEDS TO BE SOMETHING DONE ABOUT THIS. TOYOTA OIL CONSUMPTION DEFECT CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT IS APRIL LAX, ET AL. V. TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION, ET AL., CASE NO. 14-CV-01490, IN THE U.S. DISTRICT COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/1/2016 - PENGILLY, MN
COMPLETE BRAKE FAILURE WHEN STOPPING FOR STOPLIGHT ON HWY 53/MIDWAY ROAD. RESULTING IN 3 CAR ACCIDENT. THIS WAS THE SECOND BRAKE FAILURE. THE FIRST COMPLETE BRAKE FAILURE HAPPENED WHEN BACKING OUT OF PARKING SPACE AT WORK LOCATION. BRAKES WERE PRESSED , CAR KEPT BACKING UP HITTING A PARKED CAR BEHIND US. AFTER THE FIRST FAILURE THE LOCAL TOYOTA DEALERSHIP DROVE THE CAR AND ALSO EXPERIENCED TOTAL BRAKE LOSS AFTER DRIVING IT FOR A BIT. THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP REPLACE THE BRAKE CYLINDER ASSEMBLY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/22/2016 - PILESGROVE, NJ
LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS GO OUT AT LEAST 2 TIMES A YEAR. I HAVE TO REPLACE THE LOW BEAM BULBS AT LEAST TWICE A YEAR. WIRING SEEMS FINE, NO DAMAGE THEY JUST GO OUT RANDOMLY THROUGHOUT THE YEAR.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/6/2016 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
MY 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS BEGAN HAVING CHRONIC PROBLEMS WITH EXTERIOR LIGHT GOING OUT, STARTING IN MAY 2016 AND PERSISTING UNTIL NOW (NOVEMBER 2016). WE HAVE REPLACE THE BULBS REPEATEDLY JUST TO HAVE THEM GO OUT AGAIN. I CONSIDER THIS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM, AND MAKES THIS VEHICLE UNRELIABLE. DEALERSHIP DENIES A SYSTEM FAILURE AND SUGGESTS TO REPLACE BULBS WITH EXPENSIVE ONES. THIS DOES NOT REMEDY THE PR OBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/28/2016 - SARASOTA, FL
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V487000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/25/2016 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
ON SEPTEMBER 10, 2016, WHILE WE ARE DRIVING BACK TO INDIANAPOLIS FROM CHICAGO, THE LEFT DASH SCREEN BECAME DYSFUNCTIONAL AND WENT COMPLETELY BLANK. THERE IS NO INDICATION OF THE SPEED, THE AMOUNT OF GAS IN THE TANK, AND THE CONDITION OF THE ENGINE. WE DID NOT FEEL SAFE AT ALL ON THE WAY HOME.ON SEPTEMBER 13, 2016, WE TOOK OUR VEHICLE TO BUTLER TOYOTA WHERE WE PURCHASED IT FOR A CHECKUP. AFTER THE DIAGNOSTIC, THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT ADVISED ME THAT THE COMBINATION METER WAS OUT COMPLETELY. THIS COMBINATION METER MUST BE REPLACED TO RESTORE THE READING ON THE DASH BOARD. THEY TOLD ME THAT THIS UNIT IS NOT UNDER WARRANTY, AND I MUST PAY $1,698.42 (TAX NOT INCLUDED) FOR THIS REPLACEMENT (SEE ATTACHED). THIS COMBINATION METER IS A CRITICAL SAFETY TOOL TO MONITOR THE DRIVING MECHANISMS, THE CONDITION OF VEHICLE, AND WHEN THE DRIVER SHOULD REFILL THEIR FUEL TANK. TO RESOLVE THE PROBLEM, I WOULD APPRECIATE YOUR CONSIDERATION OF THIS WORK AS A FAULTY PRODUCT AND SHOULD BE REPLACED WITHOUT COST TO THE CUSTOMER. ENCLOSED IS A COPY OF SERVICE FROM BUTLER TOYOTA.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/13/2016 - LAKE TAPPS, WA
I WENT TO START THE PRIUS AFTER WORK, AFTER I PRESSED THE START BUTTON, SEVERAL ALARMS WENT OFF ON THE MAIN PANEL. ALARMS INCLUDED THE MASTER ALARM, ABS, BRAKE, CHECK ENGINE, AND AN INCESSANT BEEPING. THERE WAS ALSO A REPETITIVE SOUND COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD THAT SOUNDED LIKE THE BRAKING SYSTEM WAS TRYING TO BUILD PRESSURE, BUT WAS NOT SUCCESSFUL. I TOWED THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY DIAGNOSED THIS AS THE MASTER BRAKE BOOSTER ASSEMBLY. THE QUOTE WAS $2500 FOR THE PART, AND $500 IN LABOR. THEY STARTED WORK ON THE VEHICLE, THEN CALLED AND SAID THAT THEY WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THE ACCUMULATOR AS WELL, EVEN THOUGH IT WAS ALREADY REPLACED DURING THE ORIGINAL RECALL. THEY CONTACTED TOYOTA CORPORATE WHO PAID FOR THE ACCUMULATOR, BUT WOULD NOT COVER THE ADDITIONAL LABOR TO INSTALL THE ACCUMULATOR. THE TOTAL BILL WAS $3900. THIS SEEMS LIKE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE PRIUS FAMILY. MY CAR HAD APPROXIMATELY 92,000 MILES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/12/2016 - BETHLEHEM, PA
MY LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS BECAME NOTICEABLY MORE DIM -- DANGEROUSLY SO AS I BEGAN TO NEED TO USE HIGH BEAMS TO SEE ANYTHING BEYOND 30' IN FRONT OF ME. THIS BEGAN IN 2012. THEN MY LOW BEAM LIGHTS BEGAN TO GO OUT -- ONE SIDE, THEN THE OTHER. WE REPLACED THEM OURSELVES WITH HIGH QUALITY REPLACEMENTS (AFTER WE FOUND OUT IT WOULD COST OVER $200 FOR LABOR AND HEADLAMP AT OUR DEALER). WE WERE TOLD BY THE DEALER THAT THE PROBLEM WAS ONLY OURS -- THEY HAD "NEVER HEARD OF IT BEFORE." OVER THE PAST THREE YEARS, WE HAVE REPLACED 6 HEADLAMPS! TODAY WAS THE 6TH REPLACEMENT AND WE HAD IT DONE AT THE DEALERS WHERE WE WERE TOLD, AGAIN, THAT THIS IS A PROBLEM THAT THEY HAVE NEVER HEARD OF BEFORE. SEVERAL TIMES, I HAVE HAD TO DRIVE HOME FROM WORK AT NIGHT IN THE DARK WITH NO LOW BEAMS (BOTH WENT OUT) AND USE MY HIGH BEAMS WHILE CARS HEADING TOWARD ME FLASHED THEIR LIGHTS BECAUSE OF THE BLINDING EFFECT OF USING HIGHBEAMS. PLEASE HELP!!

View Details

ENGINE

10/12/2016 - HUTCHINSON, KS
EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION. THE CAR IS CONSUMING 1 QUART OF OIL EVERY 1,200 MILES AND HAS FAILED AN OIL CONSUMPTION TEST PERFORMED BY THE DEALER.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 241
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds