Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2194 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (57) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (37)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (117) Power Train (63) Service Brakes Hydraulic (876) Unknown Or Other (54)
Electrical System (118) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Seat Belts (12) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (269)
Electronic Stability Control (33) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (65) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (208) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (17) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 241
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/9/2016 - CALVERTON, NY
ON FEB 19, 2016 I WAS DRIVING MY 2010 PRIUS. THE SUNROOF EXPLODED, WITHOUT BEING HIT BY ANYTHING. IT EXPLODED UPWARD. I CALLED TOYOTA, BUT THEY SAID IT WAS NOT THEIR FAULT. I HAD TO REPLACE THE GLASS. I HAVE PHOTOGRAPHS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/5/2016 - HARRISVILLE, NH
WHILE DRIVING IN BOSTON, I ATTEMPTED TO BEEP THE HORN TO WARN A CAR THAT WAS CUTTING IN FRONT OF ME, BUT THE HORN DID NOT WORK. TOYOTA DIAGNOSED THIS AS A BAD CLOCK SPRING IN THE STEERING WHEEL. THE INABILITY TO USE THE HORN IS A SAFETY ISSUE. AN ONLINE SEARCH SEEMS TO REVEAL THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH MULTIPLE TOYOTA MODELS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/3/2016 - SOUTH ORANGE, NJ
IN JULY, I WAS BRAKING TO A STOP ON A SUBURBAN STREET BUT MY BRAKES WOULDN'T ALLOW ME TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP IN TIME. IT WAS RAINING. I FINALLY CAME TO A STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION, WHERE I WAS HIT ON THE DRIVERS SIDE BY AN ONCOMING CAR. ADDITIONALLY, MY SIDE AIRBAG (CURTAIN) DIDN'T DEPLOY. I WAS TRAVELING LESS THAN 15 MPH AT THE TIME.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/27/2016 - SUMNER, WA
THE LOW BEAM HEAD LIGHTS CONSTANTLY BURN OUT. MY CAR IS AT 108,500 MILES, AND I HAVE REPLACED THE LOW BEAM BULBS AT LEAST 5 TIMES IN THE LAST 3 YEARS. I HAVE HAD THIS OCCUR WHILE DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE 5. ANOTHER DRIVER ON THE HIGHWAY FLASHED LIGHTS AT ME, PULLED UP NEXT TO ME, TO INDICATE THAT MY LIGHTS WERE OUT. I HAD TO DRIVE WITH THE HIGH BEAMS ON FOR OVER 20 MILES. IT WAS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION, BECAUSE IT WAS BLINDING TO OTHER DRIVERS. HOWEVER, IF I HAD NOT DONE THIS, I WOULD HAVE BEEN DRIVING WITH NO LIGHTS AT ALL. THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME THREE TIMES AFTER REPLACING THE BULBS, WHICH WILL LAST FOR A WHILE ,BUT QUICKLY STOP WORKING. I HAVE OWNED SEVERAL CARS AND HAVE NEVER HAD TO REPLACE THE HEADLIGHTS EVEN ONCE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/25/2016 - BURBANK, CA
RECALL NOTICE JUNE 28, 2016, IT IS NOW SEPT 25, 2016, NO REMEDY AVAILABLE YET

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/23/2016 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
VEHICLE WAS PARKED. WHEN I RETURNED TO THE VEHICLE, THE REAR WINDOW GLASS HAD SPONTANEOUSLY SHATTERED/ EXPLODED. THERE WERE NO SIGNS OF VANDALISM. I UNDERSTAND THAT THIS IS A PROBLEM WITH THE TYPE OF GLASS THAT IS USED, AND THAT THIS IS NOT AN UNCOMMON OCCURRENCE. EXAMPLES MAY BE FOUND ON YOUTUBE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/23/2016 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
VEHICLE WAS PARKED. WHEN I RETURNED TO THE VEHICLE, THE REAR WINDOW GLASS HAD SPONTANEOUSLY SHATTERED/ EXPLODED. THERE WERE NO SIGNS OF VANDALISM. I UNDERSTAND THAT THIS IS A PROBLEM WITH THE TYPE OF GLASS THAT IS USED, AND THAT THIS IS NOT AN UNCOMMON OCCURRENCE. EXAMPLES MAY BE FOUND ON YOUTUBE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/19/2016 - MONTROSE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM FRIED THE INVERTER AND SHUT DOWN THE ENTIRE SYSTEM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SOFTWARE WAS AN ONGOING ISSUE AND OVERHEATED THE INVERTER, WHICH CAUSED THE ENGINE TO SHUT OFF AND THE VEHICLE TO COMPLETELY STOP. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000. UPDATED 01/04/17 THE CONSUMER REQUESTED A RESPONSE AND/OR STATUS REPORT. UPDATED 7/7/17

View Details

HYBRID PROPULSION SYSTEM: INVERTER

9/19/2016 - MONTROSE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM FRIED THE INVERTER AND SHUT DOWN THE ENTIRE SYSTEM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SOFTWARE WAS AN ONGOING ISSUE AND OVERHEATED THE INVERTER, WHICH CAUSED THE ENGINE TO SHUT OFF AND THE VEHICLE TO COMPLETELY STOP. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000. UPDATED 01/04/17 THE CONSUMER REQUESTED A RESPONSE AND/OR STATUS REPORT. UPDATED 7/7/17

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/17/2016 - WASHINGTON, DC
THERE IS A RECALL NOTICE WE RECEIVED ABOUT A RISK OF SPONTANEOUS ACTIVATION OF CURTAIN AIRBAGS AND THE POTENTIAL FOR PASSENGER INJURY. HOWEVER, FOR SEVERAL MONTHS I HAVE BEEN CONTACTING VARIOUS DEALERS TO REQUEST THE REMEDY AND THEY SAY TOYOTA HAS FILED TO PROVIDE THEM WITH THE PARTS TO REMEDY THE PROBLEM. IT IS VERY TROUBLING TO BE AWARE OF A RECALL WHILE SUCH DELAYS OCCUR IN FIXING IT. OBVIOUSLY, IF MY FAMILY WERE TO EXPERIENCE INJURY DUE TO THIS DELAY, WE WOULD DEFINITELY HOLD THE MANUFACTURER RESPONSIBLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 241
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds