Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2203 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (58) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (37)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (119) Power Train (63) Service Brakes Hydraulic (876) Unknown Or Other (54)
Electrical System (120) Fuel Propulsion System (21) Seat Belts (12) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (269)
Electronic Stability Control (33) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (27) Visibility (12)
Engine (67) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (210) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (17) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 241
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

10/28/2016 - SARASOTA, FL
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V487000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/25/2016 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
ON SEPTEMBER 10, 2016, WHILE WE ARE DRIVING BACK TO INDIANAPOLIS FROM CHICAGO, THE LEFT DASH SCREEN BECAME DYSFUNCTIONAL AND WENT COMPLETELY BLANK. THERE IS NO INDICATION OF THE SPEED, THE AMOUNT OF GAS IN THE TANK, AND THE CONDITION OF THE ENGINE. WE DID NOT FEEL SAFE AT ALL ON THE WAY HOME.ON SEPTEMBER 13, 2016, WE TOOK OUR VEHICLE TO BUTLER TOYOTA WHERE WE PURCHASED IT FOR A CHECKUP. AFTER THE DIAGNOSTIC, THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT ADVISED ME THAT THE COMBINATION METER WAS OUT COMPLETELY. THIS COMBINATION METER MUST BE REPLACED TO RESTORE THE READING ON THE DASH BOARD. THEY TOLD ME THAT THIS UNIT IS NOT UNDER WARRANTY, AND I MUST PAY $1,698.42 (TAX NOT INCLUDED) FOR THIS REPLACEMENT (SEE ATTACHED). THIS COMBINATION METER IS A CRITICAL SAFETY TOOL TO MONITOR THE DRIVING MECHANISMS, THE CONDITION OF VEHICLE, AND WHEN THE DRIVER SHOULD REFILL THEIR FUEL TANK. TO RESOLVE THE PROBLEM, I WOULD APPRECIATE YOUR CONSIDERATION OF THIS WORK AS A FAULTY PRODUCT AND SHOULD BE REPLACED WITHOUT COST TO THE CUSTOMER. ENCLOSED IS A COPY OF SERVICE FROM BUTLER TOYOTA.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/13/2016 - LAKE TAPPS, WA
I WENT TO START THE PRIUS AFTER WORK, AFTER I PRESSED THE START BUTTON, SEVERAL ALARMS WENT OFF ON THE MAIN PANEL. ALARMS INCLUDED THE MASTER ALARM, ABS, BRAKE, CHECK ENGINE, AND AN INCESSANT BEEPING. THERE WAS ALSO A REPETITIVE SOUND COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD THAT SOUNDED LIKE THE BRAKING SYSTEM WAS TRYING TO BUILD PRESSURE, BUT WAS NOT SUCCESSFUL. I TOWED THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY DIAGNOSED THIS AS THE MASTER BRAKE BOOSTER ASSEMBLY. THE QUOTE WAS $2500 FOR THE PART, AND $500 IN LABOR. THEY STARTED WORK ON THE VEHICLE, THEN CALLED AND SAID THAT THEY WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THE ACCUMULATOR AS WELL, EVEN THOUGH IT WAS ALREADY REPLACED DURING THE ORIGINAL RECALL. THEY CONTACTED TOYOTA CORPORATE WHO PAID FOR THE ACCUMULATOR, BUT WOULD NOT COVER THE ADDITIONAL LABOR TO INSTALL THE ACCUMULATOR. THE TOTAL BILL WAS $3900. THIS SEEMS LIKE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE PRIUS FAMILY. MY CAR HAD APPROXIMATELY 92,000 MILES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/12/2016 - BETHLEHEM, PA
MY LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS BECAME NOTICEABLY MORE DIM -- DANGEROUSLY SO AS I BEGAN TO NEED TO USE HIGH BEAMS TO SEE ANYTHING BEYOND 30' IN FRONT OF ME. THIS BEGAN IN 2012. THEN MY LOW BEAM LIGHTS BEGAN TO GO OUT -- ONE SIDE, THEN THE OTHER. WE REPLACED THEM OURSELVES WITH HIGH QUALITY REPLACEMENTS (AFTER WE FOUND OUT IT WOULD COST OVER $200 FOR LABOR AND HEADLAMP AT OUR DEALER). WE WERE TOLD BY THE DEALER THAT THE PROBLEM WAS ONLY OURS -- THEY HAD "NEVER HEARD OF IT BEFORE." OVER THE PAST THREE YEARS, WE HAVE REPLACED 6 HEADLAMPS! TODAY WAS THE 6TH REPLACEMENT AND WE HAD IT DONE AT THE DEALERS WHERE WE WERE TOLD, AGAIN, THAT THIS IS A PROBLEM THAT THEY HAVE NEVER HEARD OF BEFORE. SEVERAL TIMES, I HAVE HAD TO DRIVE HOME FROM WORK AT NIGHT IN THE DARK WITH NO LOW BEAMS (BOTH WENT OUT) AND USE MY HIGH BEAMS WHILE CARS HEADING TOWARD ME FLASHED THEIR LIGHTS BECAUSE OF THE BLINDING EFFECT OF USING HIGHBEAMS. PLEASE HELP!!

View Details

ENGINE

10/12/2016 - HUTCHINSON, KS
EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION. THE CAR IS CONSUMING 1 QUART OF OIL EVERY 1,200 MILES AND HAS FAILED AN OIL CONSUMPTION TEST PERFORMED BY THE DEALER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/9/2016 - CALVERTON, NY
ON FEB 19, 2016 I WAS DRIVING MY 2010 PRIUS. THE SUNROOF EXPLODED, WITHOUT BEING HIT BY ANYTHING. IT EXPLODED UPWARD. I CALLED TOYOTA, BUT THEY SAID IT WAS NOT THEIR FAULT. I HAD TO REPLACE THE GLASS. I HAVE PHOTOGRAPHS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/5/2016 - HARRISVILLE, NH
WHILE DRIVING IN BOSTON, I ATTEMPTED TO BEEP THE HORN TO WARN A CAR THAT WAS CUTTING IN FRONT OF ME, BUT THE HORN DID NOT WORK. TOYOTA DIAGNOSED THIS AS A BAD CLOCK SPRING IN THE STEERING WHEEL. THE INABILITY TO USE THE HORN IS A SAFETY ISSUE. AN ONLINE SEARCH SEEMS TO REVEAL THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH MULTIPLE TOYOTA MODELS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/3/2016 - SOUTH ORANGE, NJ
IN JULY, I WAS BRAKING TO A STOP ON A SUBURBAN STREET BUT MY BRAKES WOULDN'T ALLOW ME TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP IN TIME. IT WAS RAINING. I FINALLY CAME TO A STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION, WHERE I WAS HIT ON THE DRIVERS SIDE BY AN ONCOMING CAR. ADDITIONALLY, MY SIDE AIRBAG (CURTAIN) DIDN'T DEPLOY. I WAS TRAVELING LESS THAN 15 MPH AT THE TIME.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/27/2016 - SUMNER, WA
THE LOW BEAM HEAD LIGHTS CONSTANTLY BURN OUT. MY CAR IS AT 108,500 MILES, AND I HAVE REPLACED THE LOW BEAM BULBS AT LEAST 5 TIMES IN THE LAST 3 YEARS. I HAVE HAD THIS OCCUR WHILE DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE 5. ANOTHER DRIVER ON THE HIGHWAY FLASHED LIGHTS AT ME, PULLED UP NEXT TO ME, TO INDICATE THAT MY LIGHTS WERE OUT. I HAD TO DRIVE WITH THE HIGH BEAMS ON FOR OVER 20 MILES. IT WAS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION, BECAUSE IT WAS BLINDING TO OTHER DRIVERS. HOWEVER, IF I HAD NOT DONE THIS, I WOULD HAVE BEEN DRIVING WITH NO LIGHTS AT ALL. THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME THREE TIMES AFTER REPLACING THE BULBS, WHICH WILL LAST FOR A WHILE ,BUT QUICKLY STOP WORKING. I HAVE OWNED SEVERAL CARS AND HAVE NEVER HAD TO REPLACE THE HEADLIGHTS EVEN ONCE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/25/2016 - BURBANK, CA
RECALL NOTICE JUNE 28, 2016, IT IS NOW SEPT 25, 2016, NO REMEDY AVAILABLE YET

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 241
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds