Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1234 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Power Train (397) Steering (138) Unknown Or Other (68)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (2) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (146)
Electrical System (113) Fuel Propulsion System (68) Seats (9) Suspension (14) Visibility (30)
Electronic Stability Control (31) Fuel System Gasoline (36) Service Brakes (87) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (80)
Engine (402) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (8)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 130
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/5/2019 - LEAGUE CITY, TX
TRANSMISSION - OUTPUT SPEED SENSOR IS FAULTY. HAD A RECALL, SAID THE TRANSMISSION MODULE NEEDED REPROGRAMMING, HOWEVER THIS DID NOT FIX ISSUE OF DOWNSHIFTING TO 1ST GEAR AND UNABLE TO SHIFT OUT OF. ALSO HAPPENS TO 3RD AND 5TH. OTHER 2012'S HAVE LEAD FRAME ASSEMBLY REPLACEMENT WHICH TAKES CARE OF FAULTY OUTPUT SPEED SENSOR, MY RECALL OF RE-PROGRAMMING HAS ALL THE SYMPTOMS OF THE LEAD FRAME RECALL BUT IS JUST OUTSIDE THE MANUFACTURE DATE AND NOT INCLUDED

View Details

STEERING

3/5/2019 - GREENWOOD, IN
MY POWER STEERING HAS COMPLETELY FAILED, THERE ARE NOT ANY WARNING INDICATORS ON ITS JUST OUT. IT STARTED AROUD 12/25/18 IT WOULD STICK DURING A TURN I WOULD HAVE TO USE FORCE TO STRAIGHTED THE WHEEL. SOMEDAYS IT WOULD WORK JUST FINE. AS OF 1/21/19 ITS COMPLETELY OUT, NO POWER STEERING WHAT SO EVER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/4/2019 - BON AQUA, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE INADVERTENTLY DOWNSHIFTED AND LUNGED FORWARD. ALSO, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTING FLICKERED AND WENT COMPLETELY DARK. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE. BEAMAN FORD (1717 TN-46, DICKSON, TN 37055, (615) 446-2308) REPAIRED THE MAIN CLUSTER, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED AGAIN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 88,800.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

3/4/2019 - BON AQUA, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE INADVERTENTLY DOWNSHIFTED AND LUNGED FORWARD. ALSO, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTING FLICKERED AND WENT COMPLETELY DARK. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE. BEAMAN FORD (1717 TN-46, DICKSON, TN 37055, (615) 446-2308) REPAIRED THE MAIN CLUSTER, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED AGAIN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 88,800.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/4/2019 - BRENHAM, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, IT STALLED AND FAILED TO RESTART. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP FUSE WAS REPLACED AND THE VEHICLE RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,000. . THE CONSUMER STATED HAD TO PURCHASE A REWIRE KIT FROM FORD TO PREVENT THE PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

3/4/2019 - BRENHAM, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, IT STALLED AND FAILED TO RESTART. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP FUSE WAS REPLACED AND THE VEHICLE RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,000. . THE CONSUMER STATED HAD TO PURCHASE A REWIRE KIT FROM FORD TO PREVENT THE PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

3/4/2019 - BRENHAM, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, IT STALLED AND FAILED TO RESTART. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP FUSE WAS REPLACED AND THE VEHICLE RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,000. . THE CONSUMER STATED HAD TO PURCHASE A REWIRE KIT FROM FORD TO PREVENT THE PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/4/2019 - CINCINNATI, OH
IN FEBRUARY 2017 WHILE BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE ON A DOWN HILL SLOP I WAS UNABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE AND INTO GRASS AREA ALMOST HITTING A TREE IN REVERSE. THE POWER BRAKES WERE SO HARD I COULD NOT MOVE THE BRAKE PEDAL. ONCE IT CAME TO REST I PUT THE VEHICLE IN DRIVE AND LET OFF THE BRAKE PEDAL THEN REAPPLIED THE BRAKE AND THEY WORKED. I THEN TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THEY PERFORMED A RECALL FSA 15N05 ON 2/27/2017 WITH 35,514 MILES ON THE VEHICLE. THEN ON 2/16/2019 I WAS BACKING OUT OF MY GARAGE AND AGAIN COULD NOT STOP THE VEHICLE AND WENT INTO GRASS HILL OF MY YARD.AGAIN MY BRAKE PEDAL WAS HARD AND NO POWER BRAKES. WHEN THE VEHICLE CAME TO A STOP I LET OFF THE BRAKE AND REAPPLIED AND THEY STARTED TO WORK AGAIN. I TOOK VEHICLE TO THE DEALER THAT DAY FOR THEM TO CHECK IT OUT. THEY NOTIFIED ME IT AGAIN WAS THE BRAKE VACUUM PUMP HAS HAS FAILED AGAIN AND FORD WILL NOT FIX IT SINCE IT WAS FIXED ONCE BEFORE UNDER THIS RECALL. THE DEALER ALSO TOLD ME THEY CANNOT FIX IT DUE TO THE PUMPS BEING BACK ORDERED FOR AT LEAST 30 DAYS. SO THE FIRST RECALL REPAIR ONLY LASTED 19,108 MILES AND LESS THAN 2 YEARS. LUCKILY NO ONE WAS BEHIND ME BEHIND ME TO GET RUN OVER AND NO DAMAGE OCCURRED. MY FEELING THAT THIS IS CLEARLY A SAFETY ISSUE AND PARTS SHOULD LAST LONGER. IT APPEARS TO BE A PROBLEM SINCE THE PART IS NOW ON BACK ORDER AND LOOKS TO BE A POOR DESIGN.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/2/2019 - FREDERICKSBURG, VA
I HAVE OWNED MY TRUCK FOR 5+ YEARS NOW. ON FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 22 STARTED UP MY TRUCK TURNED ON MY DEFROST AND REAR DEFROST SAT IN THE CAR FOR A COUPLE OF MINUTES ARRIVED AT WORK. AS I PULLED UP IN THE PARKING LOT I HEARD A VERY DISTURBING LOUD NOISE. SOUNDED LIKE SOMEBODY HAD HIT MY TRUCK WITH A ROCK OR A BEBE GUN. I WAS BEYOND FREAKED OUT SPECIALLY SINCE I WAS THE ONLY ONE IN THE PARKING LOT. I STAYED IN MY TRUCK FOR SEVERAL MINUTES CALMED MYSELF DOWN AND DECIDED TO CALL MY HUSBAND. EXPLAIN TO HIM WHAT HAD JUST HAPPENED. AS I+M TALKING TO HIM I NOTICED IN MY REARVIEW MIRROR... THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE REAR WINDOW WAS SHATTERING AS I WAS TALKING TO MY HUSBAND. I DEFINITELY THOUGHT SOMEBODY HAD TO HIT MY VEHICLE WITH SOMETHING. HE TOLD ME TO CALL THE POLICE IF I FELT THREATENED. AT THE SAME TIME COWORKER PULLED UP NEXT TO ME I ROLL DOWN MY WINDOW AND EXPLAINED WHAT HAD HAPPENED. HE GOT OUT OF THE VEHICLE AND SAID THERE WAS ABSOLUTELY NO VISIBLE OF ANY TYPE OF HIT. SHE SAID IT MUST HAVE SHATTERED ON ITS OWN. WE WERE BOTH PRETTY SPEECHLESS BUT I WAS TOTALLY FREAKED OUT. CALLED THE INSURANCE COMPANY FILED A CLAIM. WHEN I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO SAFELITE FOR REPAIRS. HE ADVISED ME THAT FORD TRUCKS HAVE HAD THIS PROBLEM FOR MANY YEARS HE ALSO ADVISED ME THAT THEY ARE NOT DOING ANYTHING ABOUT IT SO I WOULD BE WASTING MY TIME. I WENT ONLINE AND DID SOME RESEARCH AND SURE ENOUGH, SEVERAL PEOPLE HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. IF THIS IS A DEFECT THAT COURT IS AWARE OF MY SUGGESTION WOULD BE TO FIX THE PROBLEM. WHAT IF I HAD MY NIECES AND THEIR CAR SEATS IN THE BACK IN THE WINDOW SHATTERED AND HURT MY NIECES??? I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN VERY HAPPY WITH THE QUALITY OF MY TRUCK NOW I DON+T KNOW IF I WILL OWN ANOTHER FORD BECAUSE OF THIS MAJOR PROBLEM THAT THEY HAVE THAT THEY ARE IGNORING. 😡💩

View Details

ENGINE

3/2/2019 - ANTIGO, WI
THERE IS A TICK/KNOCKING NOISE COMING FROM UNDERNEATH MY ENGINE IT SOUNDS LIKE. I JUST BOUGHT THIS FROM A DEALER ABOUT A WEEK AGO AND I+M VERY FRUSTRATED RIGHT NOW BECAUSE I AM WORKING HARD TO MAKE PAYMENTS ON THIS TRUCK AND NOW I PROBABLY HAVE TO REPLACE THE ENGINE??? IT HAS 123,000 MILES

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 130
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds