Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1234 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Power Train (397) Steering (138) Unknown Or Other (68)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (2) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (146)
Electrical System (113) Fuel Propulsion System (68) Seats (9) Suspension (14) Visibility (30)
Electronic Stability Control (31) Fuel System Gasoline (36) Service Brakes (87) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (80)
Engine (402) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (8)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 130
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/25/2019 - AUSTIN, TX
MY VEHICLE WAS SERVICED FOR RECALL 19S07 REGARDING UNEXPECTED DOWNSHIFTING IN TO FIRST GEAR WHILE DRIVING. AFTER MY VEHICLE WAS SERVICED, MY TRUCK BEGAN DOWNSHIFTING IN TO FIRST GEAR WHILE DRIVING. A NEW RECALL 19S19 WAS ISSUED FOR IMPROPER/INSUFFICIENT REPAIR OF ORIGINAL RECALL 19S07, HOWEVER MY VEHICLE'S VIN IS NOT YET SHOWING UP UNDER THIS NEW RECALL, BUT MY VEHICLE IS STILL DOWNSHIFTING IN TO FIRST GEAR WHILE DRIVING

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/25/2019 - AUSTIN, TX
MY VEHICLE WAS SERVICED FOR RECALL 19S07 REGARDING UNEXPECTED DOWNSHIFTING IN TO FIRST GEAR WHILE DRIVING. AFTER MY VEHICLE WAS SERVICED, MY TRUCK BEGAN DOWNSHIFTING IN TO FIRST GEAR WHILE DRIVING. A NEW RECALL 19S19 WAS ISSUED FOR IMPROPER/INSUFFICIENT REPAIR OF ORIGINAL RECALL 19S07, HOWEVER MY VEHICLE'S VIN IS NOT YET SHOWING UP UNDER THIS NEW RECALL, BUT MY VEHICLE IS STILL DOWNSHIFTING IN TO FIRST GEAR WHILE DRIVING

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/25/2019 - AUSTIN, TX
MY VEHICLE WAS SERVICED FOR RECALL 19S07 REGARDING UNEXPECTED DOWNSHIFTING IN TO FIRST GEAR WHILE DRIVING. AFTER MY VEHICLE WAS SERVICED, MY TRUCK BEGAN DOWNSHIFTING IN TO FIRST GEAR WHILE DRIVING. A NEW RECALL 19S19 WAS ISSUED FOR IMPROPER/INSUFFICIENT REPAIR OF ORIGINAL RECALL 19S07, HOWEVER MY VEHICLE'S VIN IS NOT YET SHOWING UP UNDER THIS NEW RECALL, BUT MY VEHICLE IS STILL DOWNSHIFTING IN TO FIRST GEAR WHILE DRIVING

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/25/2019 - MAMMOTH LAKE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTED INTO FIRST GEAR ON ITS OWN. THE CONTACT HAD TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED, BUT THE SAME FAILURE OCCURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO BISHOP FORD (1440 US-6, BISHOP, CA 93514) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LEAD FRAME OF THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AND NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,392.

View Details

STEERING

6/24/2019 - PIEDMONT, AL
ADVANCE TRAC LIGHT CAME ON AND BLINKERS STOPPED WORKING. DEALER CHARGED 105 TO DIAGNOSE, CAME BACK AND SAID STEERING RACK NEED ED TO BE REPLACED. AT ALMOST 2000.00. TURNS OUT STEERING IS ALL ELECTRONIC! I DID NOT HAVE 2000.00 TO FIX SO I HAD TO PICK IT UP. WAS TOLD STEERING COULD GO OUT AT ANY TIME. AFTER SEARCHES, FOUND OUT THIS IS A VERY COMMON ISSUE ON 2012 TO 2014 TRUCKS. IT IS ALSO A VERY DNAGEROUS ISSUE. WHY HAS THIS NOT BEEN RECALLED? WHEN ARE THESE CAR COMPANIES GOING TO LEARN, STOP PUTTING ALL OF THE ELECTRONIC COMPONENTS IN A VEHICLE, THEY DO NOT LAST.

View Details

ENGINE

6/20/2019 - CORBIN, KY
ON AT LEAST 6 OCCASIONS, TRUCK MISFIRES AND SHAKES VIOLENTLY WHEN UNDER LOAD OR ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE. PULL OFF ROAD OR LET OFF OF ACCELERATOR AND ENGINE RESUMES NORMAL OPERATION. HAPPENED ONCE PULLING EMPTY TRAILER, HAPPENED 4 TIMES MERGING ONTO INTERSTATE. HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES PASSING / ACCELERATING ON INTERSTATE. FRIGHTENING AND DANGEROUS WHEN TRUCK SHAKES VIOLENTLY ON INTERSTATE. ROADS WERE WET OR RAINY CONDITIONS IN LAST 5 INCIDENTS. 2012 F150 FX4 WITH ONLY 87000 MILES. NO ACCIDENTS. TRUCK MAINTAINED AND IN EXCELLENT CONDITION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/20/2019 - CORBIN, KY
ON AT LEAST 6 OCCASIONS, TRUCK MISFIRES AND SHAKES VIOLENTLY WHEN UNDER LOAD OR ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE. PULL OFF ROAD OR LET OFF OF ACCELERATOR AND ENGINE RESUMES NORMAL OPERATION. HAPPENED ONCE PULLING EMPTY TRAILER, HAPPENED 4 TIMES MERGING ONTO INTERSTATE. HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES PASSING / ACCELERATING ON INTERSTATE. FRIGHTENING AND DANGEROUS WHEN TRUCK SHAKES VIOLENTLY ON INTERSTATE. ROADS WERE WET OR RAINY CONDITIONS IN LAST 5 INCIDENTS. 2012 F150 FX4 WITH ONLY 87000 MILES. NO ACCIDENTS. TRUCK MAINTAINED AND IN EXCELLENT CONDITION.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/18/2019 - SMYRNA, GA
TAKATA RECALL- I JUST GOT MY 2012 F150 AND I REALLY LIKE THE TRUCK BUT EVERYTIME I DRIVE IT AND IM SLOWING DOWN IT ALL SUDDENTLY SHIFTS DOWN REAL HARD , I TRY TO AVOID IT TO SHIFT DOWN SO HARD BUT NOTHING WORKS. IT REALLY DOESNT FEEL SAFE AT ALL DRIVING IT AND THIS HAPPENS EVERYTIME I DRIVE IT.I JUST WANT TO GET THAT RECALL PROBLEM FIXED AS SOON AS POSSIBLE

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/18/2019 - CINCINNATI, OH
EXTREMELY HARD PEDAL ON START UP. FORD HAS A CUSTOMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM CALLED 15N05 FOR THIS VERY PROBLEM. ONLINE, MY VEHICLE IS THE TYPE AND WAS BUILT DURING THE DATES AND PLACES SPECIFIED. WHEN I CALLED, THEY SAID MY VIN NUMBER WAS NOT COVERED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/13/2019 - MONTAGUE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS EXCLUDED FROM MANUFACTURER CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15N05 (ELECTRIC VACUUM PUMP EXTENDED COVERAGE); HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE EXHIBITED THE SAME FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL CLUNKING SOUND WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND WHEN REVERSING. THERE WAS NO WARNING INDICATOR EACH TIME THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS BECOMING HARDER TO DEPRESS AS THE FAILURE WAS BECOMING MORE INTERMITTENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED BY A DEALER OR AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 130
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds