Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1234 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Power Train (397) Steering (138) Unknown Or Other (68)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (2) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (146)
Electrical System (113) Fuel Propulsion System (68) Seats (9) Suspension (14) Visibility (30)
Electronic Stability Control (31) Fuel System Gasoline (36) Service Brakes (87) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (80)
Engine (402) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (8)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 130
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

6/13/2019 - CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA
TIMES WHEN I+M DRIVING I USED GET JERKS WHEN SHIFTING GEARS, I TOOK IT TO THE FORD SERVICE CENTER THEY TOLD ME THAT THERE WAS RECALL TO ADJUST THE SOFTWARE UPDATE. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING SINCE 2012 FEW MONTHS AFTER I HAD PURCHASED THE VEHICLE. I GAVE IT TO THE FORD SERVICE CENTER TO UPDATE THE SOFTWARE. FEW DAYS AFTER I FELT IT AGAIN BUT DIDN+T FELT IT AGAIN SOME TIME. AFTER A MONTH WILES DRIVING FROM 4TH TO 6TH GEAR SHIFT ,I GOT A BIG JERK FROM 4TH TO 6TH GEAR SHIFT AS IF I THOUGHT THE TRANSMISSION MIGHT LOCK IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD WHILE I WAS DRIVING. RIGHT AFTER THAT I TOOK IT BACK AT THE FORD SERVICE CENTER AND THEY SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT FOR ME ON MONDAY JUNE17TH 2019. I+M WRITING THIS BECAUSE I ASKED FEW PEOPLE I KNOW WHO OWNED F150 AND THEY TOLD ME THE SAME THING. THIS COULD HAVE SEVERE ACCIDENT WILE DRIVING IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD.

View Details

STEERING

6/13/2019 - SEBRING, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH AND MAKING A LEFT TURN INTO THE DRIVEWAY, THE POWER STEERING ASSIST WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO STEER. THE CONTACT CALLED ALAN JAY FORD LINCOLN (LOCATED AT 3201 US HWY 27 S, SEBEING, FL, 33870, (863) 385-0144) AND WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL ON THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER AND WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/11/2019 - STANDISH, MI
2012 FORD F-150. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VACUUM BRAKE BOOSTER SAFETY RECALL. THE CONSUMER STATED AFTER HAVING THE VACUUM BRAKE BOOSTER REPAIRED UNDER RECALL, THE FAILURE OCURRED 2 MORE TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/10/2019 - NEWTOWN, PA
COMPLAINT INVOLVES RECALL 19S07/NHTSA 19V-075. I HAVE HAD MY VEHICLE IN TO THE FORD DEALER FOR SERVICE WHEN 1ST PURCHASING AND UPON RECEIPT OF THIS RECALL NOTICE. THIS PROBLEM HAS NOT BEEN REMEDIED IN MY VEHICLE AND POSES A SAFETY CONCERN. MY VEHICLE STILL SUDDENLY DOWNSHIFTS OR BUCKS. FEELS LIKE I AM BEING REAR ENDED. THIS HAS HAPPENED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, USUALLY AT LOW SPEEDS(05-15MPH). TRANSMISSION DOES NOT SHIFT AT NORMAL RPM'S SINCE RECALL SERVICING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/3/2019 - CULLMAN, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED AND MAKING A LEFT TURN, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD NOISE. THERE WAS AN INTERMITTENT INTERNAL ELECTRICAL FAILURE AND THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. ECKENROD FORD LINCOLN (5255 AL-157, CULLMAN, AL 35058, (800) 944-1389) INDICATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD NEED TO BE DIAGNOSED TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THE VEHICLE AND INFORMED THE DEALER THAT TWO SENSORS AND THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE FAILURES WERE A KNOWN ISSUE. THE VEHICLE WAS TO BE REPAIRED BY THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

6/3/2019 - CULLMAN, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED AND MAKING A LEFT TURN, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD NOISE. THERE WAS AN INTERMITTENT INTERNAL ELECTRICAL FAILURE AND THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. ECKENROD FORD LINCOLN (5255 AL-157, CULLMAN, AL 35058, (800) 944-1389) INDICATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD NEED TO BE DIAGNOSED TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THE VEHICLE AND INFORMED THE DEALER THAT TWO SENSORS AND THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE FAILURES WERE A KNOWN ISSUE. THE VEHICLE WAS TO BE REPAIRED BY THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

6/3/2019 - COGAN STATION, PA
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE ON HIGHWAY AND TURNING LEFT THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD NOT RETURN TO CENTER. THE DRIVER HAD TO MANUALLY WITH EFFORT IN ORDER TO AVOID CROSSING INTO OPPOSING LANE, RETURN STEERING TO RIGHT. TOOK VEHICLE TO LOCAL DEALER, FOUND FAULT CODE C1B00. STEERING ANGLE SENSOR FAILED. FORD IS PROBABLY AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM THAT APPEARS TO BE DO TO OVERHEATING IN ENGINE COMPARTMENT. OCCURRENCE USUALLY OUT OF WARRANTY. COST $1800.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/30/2019 - ZACHARY, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL INDICATED THAT THE VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTED FROM SIXTH TO FIRST GEAR AND THE TIRES SKID. AS THE CONTACT CONTINUED TO DRIVE, THE VEHICLE WENT BACK INTO GEAR; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT CALLED SUPERIOR FORD (LOCATED AT 4303 LA- 19, ZACHARY, LA 70791, (225) 654-2611) AND WAS INFORMED TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,800.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/28/2019 - DENVER, CO
CONTRARY TO THE RESOLUTION STATED IN NHTSA INVESTIGATION EA 15-006, FORD IS REFUSING TO COVER THE DEFECTIVE VACUUM PUMP EVEN THOUGH IT FALLS WITH IN THE AFFECTED VEHICLE PRODUCTION TIME AND IS WITHIN 10 YEARS AND 150,000 MILES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/23/2019 - ANAHUAC, TX
WHILE TRAVELING AT 70 MPH THE VEHICLE STALLED WITH THE ENGINE SHUTTING DOWN IN MAIN LANES OF AN INTERSTATE. THE STALLED ENGINE RESULTED IN THE LOSS OF ALL POWER ASSIST FEATURES INCLUDING POWER STEERING AND POWER BRAKES. WE WERE ABLE TO NAVIGATE ACROSS SEVERAL LANES BEFORE COMING TO A COMPLETE STOP IN A TRAFFIC LANE BUT NOT SAFELY OFF THE INTERSTATE. AFTER CALLING FOR A TOW AND REQUESTED SERVICE. IT WAS DETERMINED THAT A FUSE POWERING THE ELECTRIC FUEL PUMP HAD "BURNED" OUT AND HAD TO BE REPLACED. SHOULD HAVE BEEN A SIMPLE SOLUTION, UPON FURTHER INVESTIGATION IT WAS DETERMINED THE FUSE PANEL HAD BEEN DAMAGED AND WOULD NO LONGER ACCEPT A FUSE AND HAS TO BE MODIFIED WITH THE FUSE LOCATION MOVED TO A NEW LOCATION AND UPGRADED TO A MORE ROBUST FUSE AND FUSE PLACEMENT SLOT. FORD HAS BEEN AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM AND HAS ONLY ELECTED TO FIX THOSE VEHICLES THAT EXHIBIT FAILURE AND AT THE COST OF THE CONSUMER IF NOT WITHIN THE WARRANTY PERIOD. THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN RETURNED TO FORD DEALERS MULTIPLE TIMES WITH NO MENTION OF THIS PROBLEM OR REPAIR. FORD HAS ISSUED A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN (TSB 15-0137) AND HAS CREATED A SPECIFIC REPLACEMENT KIT, WHICH INCLUDES INSTRUCTIONS AND ALL NECESSARY PARTS TO PERFORM THE RELOCATION (MOTORCRAFT # EL3Z-14293-A). THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL AS IT IMPACTS THE SAFETY OF FORD'S F150 OWNERS, THEIR PASSENGERS AND THOSE THAT SHARE THE ROAD WITH THEM. FAILURE OF ALL POWER ASSIST FUNCTIONS WHILE TRAVELING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS IS SCARY AND CREATES A DANGEROUS SITUATION FOR THOSE IN THE VEHICLE AND THOSE AROUND IT. IT ALSO CREATES AN EVEN MORE DANGEROUS SITUATION IF THE VEHICLE WAS BEING USED TO CROSS A BUSY INTERSECTION, STALLED AND THEN STOPPED IN THE CENTER OF THE INTERSECTION. INCLUDED ARE PICTURES OF THE FUSE AND THE FUSE BLOCK DAMAGED DURING THE FAILURE AND HONESTLY, A FIRE COULD HAVE EASILY STARTED AS A RESULT OF THIS FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 130
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds