Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1234 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Power Train (397) Steering (138) Unknown Or Other (68)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (2) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (146)
Electrical System (113) Fuel Propulsion System (68) Seats (9) Suspension (14) Visibility (30)
Electronic Stability Control (31) Fuel System Gasoline (36) Service Brakes (87) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (80)
Engine (402) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (8)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 130
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

3/13/2019 - CLEVELAND, AL
MY TRANSMISSION WAS SHIFTING OUT OF 6TH GEAR INTO 1ST GEAR. THIS WAS UPDATED BY A COMPUTER FIX THAT KEEPS IT FROM SHIFTING TO 1ST GEAR BUT INTO 5TH INSTEAD. FORD HAS A CUSTOMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM 16N02 THAT ADDRESSES THE SAME PROBLEMS I AM HAVING AND A FIX FOR IT. MY TRUCK WAS BUILT AT THE PLANT INDICATED, IN THE TIME FRAME INDICATED AND GIVES THE ENGINE CODES AS INDICATED BY THE BULLETIN. I HAVE CONTACTED THEM ABOUT IT AND DESPITE ALL THESE FINDINGS AM BEING TOLD THAT IT IS NOT THEIR PROBLEM TO FIX. MY MILEAGE IS BELOW THE 150K THRESHOLD THAT IS SET FOR THIS WARRANTY EXTENSION ON THE LEAD FRAME PROBLEM. THEIR FIX TO STOP IT FROM SHIFTING TO 1ST GEAR REDUCES THE CHANCE FOR A MAJOR ACCIDENT BUT THEIR REFUSAL TO FIX THE PROBLEM IN THE LEAD FRAME STILL LEAVES THIS AS A SAFETY ISSUE. A DOWN SHIFT AT SPEED TO 5TH GEAR STILL CAUSES AN UNINDICATED AND UNCONTROLLED SLOW DOWN OF MY TRUCK, THE LOSS OF SPEEDOMETER IS ALSO APPARENTLY CAUSING SOME PROBLEM WITH THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG WHEN THIS OCCURS AS I MA GETTING A MESSAGE TO REMOVE OBJECTS FROM THE PASSENGER SEAT WHEN THIS OCCURS. MY LOCAL FORD SHOP WILL NOT TRY TO WARRANTY THIS PROBLEM, I HAVE MADE 2 DIFFERENT CONTACTS AT FORD CONCERNING THIS AND THEY ALL SAY IT IS NOT ONE THEY HAVE MARKED FOR HAVING THIS PROBLEM. I CAN'T HELP THAT IT IS NOT ONE THEY THOUGHT MIGHT BE AFFECTED, I CAN ONLY SAY THAT IT HAS BEEN AND CAN'T GET IT REPAIRED BY THEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/13/2019 - SALINAS, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 30-50 MPH, THE GEAR SHIFTER SWITCHED INTO NEUTRAL AND CAUSED THE ENGINE TO REV. THE FAILURE EVENTUALLY CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO LOSE POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SALINAS VALLEY FORD LINCOLN (1100 AUTO CENTER CIR, SALINAS, CA 93907) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/13/2019 - TYRONE, GA
I RECEIVED WRITTEN NOTICE FROM FORD THAT OUR 2012 YEAR MODEL, FORD, F-150 PICKUP TRUCK WAS RECALLED UNDER FORD RECALL: 19S07 AND NHTSA RECALL: 19V-075. THIS IS THE RECALL HAVING TO DO WITH FORDS PCM PROGRAMMING BEING UNABLE TO COPE WITH AN INTERMITTENT FAILURE OF THE TRANSMISSION OSS. THE PCM WOULD FORCE THE VEHICLE INTO 1ST GEAR REGARDLESS OF CURRENT OPERATING SPEED (MPH). I WAS JUST INFORMED BY A LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP THAT FORD CANNOT PERFORM A FIX ON MY VEHICLE BECAUSE THEY ONLY REPAIRED THE PCM FOR THE V8 ENGINE AND HAVE NOT YET GOTTEN AROUND TO THE V6 ECO BOOST ENGINES, EVEN THOUGH THE RECALL DOCUMENTS I RECEIVED INSTRUCT ME TO TAKE THE TRUCK IN FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. FURTHER, THE RECALL DOCUMENTS I RECEIVED HAVE THE VEHICLE INFO (VIN INCLUDED) ON EACH OF THEM SO ONE WOULD ASSUME THE VIN WAS CROSSCHECKED WITH FORD'S MANUFACTURING DATA BASE TO DETERMINE IF THE OFFERED FIX ACTUALLY FIT THE VEHICLE. I AM TOLD THAT OUR VEHICLE DOES NEED THE FIX BUT IT WILL NOT BE OUT UNTIL SOME TIME LATER THIS SUMMER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/12/2019 - NASHUA, NH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTED INTO FIRST GEAR INDEPENDENTLY. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT HAD TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER TO REGAIN CONTROL. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 19V075000 (POWER TRAIN). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. FORD OF LONDONDERRY (33 NASHUA RD, LONDONDERRY, NH 03053, (603) 434-4141) WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/12/2019 - GRAND ISLAND, NE
I EXPERIENCED A SUDDEN SHIFT INTO 1ST GEAR AND A BLUE WRENCH COME ON THE DASHBOARD WHILE GOING 65 DOWN THE HIGHWAY. THIS OF COURSE WAS NOT SAFE AND I WAS ABLE TO CONTROL VEHICLE AND STOP IT. SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF AND TURNED IT BACK ON AND ABLE TO FINISH MY DRIVE. AFTER THIS HAPPENED 2 MORE TIMES, I CONTACTED DEALERSHIP TO SEE IF THERE WERE ANY KNOWN ISSUES. LOOKING AT MY VIN THEY SAID THERE WAS NOT. SO I TOOK TO MY MECHANIC AND THEY REPALCED THE OSS AND LEAD WIRES TO THE TRANSMISSION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/12/2019 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 19V075000 (POWER TRAIN). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. COGGIN FORD JACKSONVILLE (9650 ATLANTIC BLVD, JACKSONVILLE, FL 32225, (904) 567-3782) WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/11/2019 - LOUISVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING, THE CONTACT EXITED THE VEHICLE TO RUN AN ERRAND. THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY SWITCHED INTO REVERSE AND CRASHED INTO A BUILDING. THE MANUFACTURER INITIALLY PROMISED TO PAY FOR THE REPAIRS AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO A FORD DEALER TO GET AN ESTIMATE. TRI-COUNTY FORD (4032 COMMERCE PKWY, BUCKNER, KY 40010, (866) 417-0262) WAS CONTACTED AND KNEW NOTHING ABOUT THE ARRANGEMENT. WHEN THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER BACK, THEY RENEGED ON THE OFFER TO PAY FOR THE REPAIRS. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 19V075000 (POWER TRAIN). THE VEHICLE WAS STILL DRIVEABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/8/2019 - GRAND JUCTION, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHEN THE CONTACT SLOWED THE VEHICLE DOWN TO DRIVE OVER DRAINAGE DIPS IN THE ROAD, THE TRANSMISSION INDEPENDENTLY SHIFTED INTO FIRST GEAR WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THIS EVENT CAUSED A JARRING JOLTING EFFECT WHILE DRIVING. WESTERN SLOPE AUTO (2264 US-50, GRAND JUNCTION, CO 81505, (970) 243-0843) STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL ON THE VEHICLE AND COULD NOT ASSIST. THE MANUFACTURER ECHOED THE DEALER AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA TO FILE A COMPLAINT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/7/2019 - ZELIENOPLE, PA
I RECIEVED A SAFETY RECALL NOTICE 19S07/NHTSA RECALL 19V-075 CONCERNING A RECALL TO REPROGRAM THE POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE TO PREVENT UNINTENDED DOWNSHIFIT TO CORRECT INTERMITTENT AILURES OF THE OUTPUT SPEED SENSOR THAT MAY RESULT IN AN UNINTENDED DOWNSHIFT TO FIRST GEAR. THE PROPOSED CORRECTION IS INADEQUATE, SINCE IT DOES NOT ADDRESS THE ROOT CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM, THAT IS, INTERMITTENT FAILURE OF THE OUTPUT SPEED SENSOR. I REQUEST THAT THE NHTSA REQUIRE FORD MOTOR COMPANY TO CORRECT THE ROOT CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM, THAT IS, THE DEFECT EXISTING IN THE OUTPUT SPEED SENSOR THAT MAY CAUSE UNINTENDED DOWNSHIFTS, SINCE FAILING TO CORRECT THE ROOT CAUSE OF THE ISSUE AND MERELY INSTALLING A SOFTWARE PATCH WILL NOT RESULT IN PROPER OPERATION OF THE VEHICLE, POTENTIALLY IMPAIRING FUEL ECONOMY AND/OR PROPER FUNCTION AND SAFETY DURING SPECIFIC DRIVING CONDITIONS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/5/2019 - LEAGUE CITY, TX
TRANSMISSION - OUTPUT SPEED SENSOR IS FAULTY. HAD A RECALL, SAID THE TRANSMISSION MODULE NEEDED REPROGRAMMING, HOWEVER THIS DID NOT FIX ISSUE OF DOWNSHIFTING TO 1ST GEAR AND UNABLE TO SHIFT OUT OF. ALSO HAPPENS TO 3RD AND 5TH. OTHER 2012'S HAVE LEAD FRAME ASSEMBLY REPLACEMENT WHICH TAKES CARE OF FAULTY OUTPUT SPEED SENSOR, MY RECALL OF RE-PROGRAMMING HAS ALL THE SYMPTOMS OF THE LEAD FRAME RECALL BUT IS JUST OUTSIDE THE MANUFACTURE DATE AND NOT INCLUDED

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 130
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds