Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE GRAND CARAVAN - 2016 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 154 complaints filed for the 2016 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2016 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2016 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes (5) Unknown Or Other (41)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (25) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (48) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (1) Structure (40) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Seats (2) Suspension (1) Wheels (4)
Engine (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/15/2019 - PEMBROKE PINES, FL
THE CAR WAS PARKED IN THE PARKING LOT AT MY SON'S DAYCARE. I WENT TO OPEN THE PASSENGER SIDE REAR SLIDING DOOR WITH THE KEY FOB, AND THE DOOR DID NOT OPEN. IT WAS FULLY FUNCTIONING THAT SAME DAY, AND NOW THE DOOR IS STUCK IN THE LOCKED POSITION. I CANNOT UNLOCK THE REAR SLIDING PASSENGER DOOR MANUALLY OR WITH THE KEY FOB. SO, I AM UNABLE TO ACCESS THAT SIDE OF THE VEHICLE AT ANY TIME TO HELP BUCKLE/UNBUCKLE HIS CAR SEAT OR TO OPEN THE DOOR IN AN EMERGENCY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/15/2019 - LEXINGTON, SC
THE LATCH SYSTEM IN MY SLIDING DOORS ARE GOING OUT. APPARENTLY THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH DODGE VANS, ESPECIALLY 2016 MODELS. I ONLY HAVE 58K ON THE VAN AND HAVE ONLY OWNED IT 2 YEARS. I MAINTAIN THE VAN WELL. THIS IS RIDICULOUS. A LOUD BUZZING SOUND OCCURS ANYTIME I PUSH ANY BUTTONS OR EXIT THE VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/14/2019 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
OWNED DODGE GRAND CARAVAN RT 2016 ONE YEAR SLIDING DOOR ON DRIVER SIDE STOPPED WORKING FROM ONE DAY TO NEXT. THEN DRIVING DOWN HILL FROM FREEWAY, BRAKES MADE A LOUD SCREECHING SOUND AND THE WHOLE VAN WAS SHAKING I THOUGHT I WAS GONNA LOOSE CONTROL I REPLACE NEW BRAKES AND DRUM ITS BETTER BUT STILL SHAKY GOING DOWN HILL. AFTER MONTH OF OWNING THE CAR I COULD FILL A LIL MISFIRE WHEN I GIVE A LIL GAS BUT JUST THOUGHT ITS AN RT HAS POWER. WELL RECENTLY MY VAN BEEN IN THE SHOP TWICE FOR THE SAME PROBLEM CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON SHOWS ITS MISS FIRING (IGNITION COILS) AND SPARKPLUGS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. WELL WE REPLACE ALL SPARK PLUGS AND 1 IGNITION COIL BECAUSE THE OTHER COILS WERE STILL GOOD. THINGS WERE GOOD AND DROVE AROUND FOR 3 WEEKS THEN CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES AGAIN. CODE STILL SHOWS IGNITION COIL NEED TO BE REPLACE. THIS TIME REPLACE ALL 6 IGNITION COIL, GUESS WHAT I JUST PICKED UP MY VAN TODAY AND 10 MIN OF DRIVING BACK HOME CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AGAIN. TOOK IT BACK TO THE MECHANIC IT STILL MISS FIRING IGNITION COILS. I ABOUT READY TO THROW THIS VAN AWAY. THIS VAN IS ONLY 3 YEARS OLD HOW COULD IT POSSIBLY HAVE THIS MUCH PROBLEMS. IN ADDITION WHEN I TURN ON MY SIGNAL LIGHT ON TO GO RIGHT OR LEFT MY WIPERS WILL GO OFF TOO.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/14/2019 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
OWNED DODGE GRAND CARAVAN RT 2016 ONE YEAR SLIDING DOOR ON DRIVER SIDE STOPPED WORKING FROM ONE DAY TO NEXT. THEN DRIVING DOWN HILL FROM FREEWAY, BRAKES MADE A LOUD SCREECHING SOUND AND THE WHOLE VAN WAS SHAKING I THOUGHT I WAS GONNA LOOSE CONTROL I REPLACE NEW BRAKES AND DRUM ITS BETTER BUT STILL SHAKY GOING DOWN HILL. AFTER MONTH OF OWNING THE CAR I COULD FILL A LIL MISFIRE WHEN I GIVE A LIL GAS BUT JUST THOUGHT ITS AN RT HAS POWER. WELL RECENTLY MY VAN BEEN IN THE SHOP TWICE FOR THE SAME PROBLEM CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON SHOWS ITS MISS FIRING (IGNITION COILS) AND SPARKPLUGS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. WELL WE REPLACE ALL SPARK PLUGS AND 1 IGNITION COIL BECAUSE THE OTHER COILS WERE STILL GOOD. THINGS WERE GOOD AND DROVE AROUND FOR 3 WEEKS THEN CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES AGAIN. CODE STILL SHOWS IGNITION COIL NEED TO BE REPLACE. THIS TIME REPLACE ALL 6 IGNITION COIL, GUESS WHAT I JUST PICKED UP MY VAN TODAY AND 10 MIN OF DRIVING BACK HOME CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AGAIN. TOOK IT BACK TO THE MECHANIC IT STILL MISS FIRING IGNITION COILS. I ABOUT READY TO THROW THIS VAN AWAY. THIS VAN IS ONLY 3 YEARS OLD HOW COULD IT POSSIBLY HAVE THIS MUCH PROBLEMS. IN ADDITION WHEN I TURN ON MY SIGNAL LIGHT ON TO GO RIGHT OR LEFT MY WIPERS WILL GO OFF TOO.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/14/2019 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
OWNED DODGE GRAND CARAVAN RT 2016 ONE YEAR SLIDING DOOR ON DRIVER SIDE STOPPED WORKING FROM ONE DAY TO NEXT. THEN DRIVING DOWN HILL FROM FREEWAY, BRAKES MADE A LOUD SCREECHING SOUND AND THE WHOLE VAN WAS SHAKING I THOUGHT I WAS GONNA LOOSE CONTROL I REPLACE NEW BRAKES AND DRUM ITS BETTER BUT STILL SHAKY GOING DOWN HILL. AFTER MONTH OF OWNING THE CAR I COULD FILL A LIL MISFIRE WHEN I GIVE A LIL GAS BUT JUST THOUGHT ITS AN RT HAS POWER. WELL RECENTLY MY VAN BEEN IN THE SHOP TWICE FOR THE SAME PROBLEM CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON SHOWS ITS MISS FIRING (IGNITION COILS) AND SPARKPLUGS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. WELL WE REPLACE ALL SPARK PLUGS AND 1 IGNITION COIL BECAUSE THE OTHER COILS WERE STILL GOOD. THINGS WERE GOOD AND DROVE AROUND FOR 3 WEEKS THEN CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES AGAIN. CODE STILL SHOWS IGNITION COIL NEED TO BE REPLACE. THIS TIME REPLACE ALL 6 IGNITION COIL, GUESS WHAT I JUST PICKED UP MY VAN TODAY AND 10 MIN OF DRIVING BACK HOME CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AGAIN. TOOK IT BACK TO THE MECHANIC IT STILL MISS FIRING IGNITION COILS. I ABOUT READY TO THROW THIS VAN AWAY. THIS VAN IS ONLY 3 YEARS OLD HOW COULD IT POSSIBLY HAVE THIS MUCH PROBLEMS. IN ADDITION WHEN I TURN ON MY SIGNAL LIGHT ON TO GO RIGHT OR LEFT MY WIPERS WILL GO OFF TOO.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/12/2019 - BREWSTER, NY
BOTH LEFT AND RIGHT PASSENGER SLIDING DOOR LOCKS CAN JAM IN THE LOCKED POSITION MAKING IT IMPOSSIBLE TO OPEN THE DOOR. THIS HAS HAPPENED RANDOMLY TO EACH DOOR WITH NO KNOWN CAUSE. THIS COULD BE A SERIOUS SAFETY PROBLEM IF PASSENGERS CANT EGRESS IN AN EMERGENCY AND IT COSTS SEVERAL HUNDRED DOLLARS TO FIX.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/11/2019 - NEWBURY, VT
3 YEAR OLD VAN, PURCHASED NEW, LESS THAN 100K MILES, TRANSMISDON DIED & CAR IS OUT OF WARRANTY. NO HELP FROM DODGE OR DEALERSHIP.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/10/2019 - LONGMONT, CO
DRIVER SIDE SLIDING DOOR IS STUCK IN LOCK POSITION AND CANNOT BE MANUALLY OR OTHERWISE UNLOCKED FROM THE INSIDE OR OUTSIDE. JUST HAPPENED ONE DAY NOTHING SPECIFICALLY TRIGGERED THE DOOR TO BE STUCK. THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/10/2019 - FRONT ROYAL, VA
BOTH THE DRIVER SIDE AND PASSENGER SIDE REAR POWER SLIDING DOORS WILL NOT OPEN MANUALLY OR VIA THE POWER BUTTONS ON THE KEY. THE DRIVER SIDE REAR DOOR DID STOPPED OPENING AT 38K MILES AND THE PASSENGER SIDE REAR DOOR STOPPED WORKING AT 46K. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AS WE HAVE CHILDREN IN CARSEATS, AND WE CANNOT OPEN THE DOORS TO REMOVE THEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/8/2019 - GREENBACKVILLE, VA
RET+D FROM A WEEK LONG TRIP INTO MY DRIVEWAY, READY TO UNLOAD CLOTHES, ETC. DRIVER SIDE SLIDING DOOR WOULD NOT ACTIVATE, NOR COULD I OPEN IT MANUALLY. TRIED, TRIED, TRIED - BOTH MANUALLY AND WITH KEY FOB & WITH BUTTON ABOVE DASH, TO NO AVAIL. IN EARLY AM LEFT MILITARY FACILITY LODGING IN INDIANA - NO PROB. TOOK TO LOCAL HERTRICH DEALER POCOMOKE CITY, MD. INDICATED +ACTUATOR+ AT A COST OF OVER $700. DECIDED TO CHECK RECALL POSSIBILITY AS A TRUE SAFETY PROBLEM IF MY GREAT GRAND CHILDREN WERE INSIDE. STARTED COPYING ALL THE 2019 COMPLAINTS ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT OUT OF 222 COMPLAINTS THE LARGE MAJORITY ARE RELATED TO THIS PROBLEM. SURELY DODGE SHOULD PUT OUT A RECALL. SUDDEN, UNEXPECTED, HAD BOUGHT 2016 DODGE AS USED CAR W/REMAINING WARRANTY. HAD TO FIX PASSENGER SIDE DOOR WHILE STILL UNDER WARRANTY BECAUSE OF A GROWLING SOUND IN MID 2017. HERTRICH DODGE CAN PROVIDE THOSE DETAILS. YES, I WANT THIS COVERED, AFTER SEEING ALL THE COMPLAINTS JUST IN 2019. WILL INFORM MY DODGE DEALER RE THIS COMPLAINT & AWAIT A RECALL SURELY! CAR HAS OVER 79K MILES. AT 81, DON+T NEED SOMEONE KILLED OR INJURED ON MY WATCH BECAUSE THEY CANNOT EXIT IN AN EMERGENCY! 7/2/19 - AM LVG LODGING FINE; HOME IN DRIVEWAY IT OCCURRED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds