Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE GRAND CARAVAN - 2016 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 154 complaints filed for the 2016 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2016 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2016 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes (5) Unknown Or Other (41)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (25) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (48) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (1) Structure (40) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Seats (2) Suspension (1) Wheels (4)
Engine (10)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/20/2019 - JACKSON, MI
THE DRIVERS SIDE SLIDING DOOR IS STUCK IN THE CLOSED POSITION. IT WILL NOT LOCK OR UNLOCK EVEN MANUALLY. THE PASSENGER SLIDING DOOR IS NOW MAKING A GRINDING NOISE EVERYTIME THE FRONT DOORS ARE LOCKED OR UNLOCKED AND COULD FAIL SOON CAUSING MY CHILDREN TO BE LOCKED INSIDE THE VAN. ONLY 68,000 MILES ON THIS VAN AND THE REPAIR IS RIDICULOUSLY EXPENSIVE AROUND 1200 DOLLARS. NEEDS TO BE RECALLED. MAJOR SAFETY HAZARD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/15/2019 - BALTIMORE, MD
PASSENGER REAR SLIDING DOOR INTERMITTENTLY STOPPED WORKING. WOULD NOT OPEN, MAKE A BUZZING NOISE. TOOK TO DEALER TO HAVE IT DIAGNOSED. THEY SAID THE DOOR MOTOR WAS FAULTY AND COULD FAIL CLOSED LOCKING THE REAR PASSENGERS IN THE BACK SEAT. I HAD IT REPAIRED AT A COST OF $1300.00. A MONTH LATER THE DRIVER SIDE REAR DOOR FAILED CLOSED. I AM NOW LOOKING AT ANOTHER $1300.00 REPAIR. THESE ITEMS RE NOT COVERED BY THE EXTENDED WARRANTY

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

4/29/2019 - PEORIA, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SLIDING DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR MALFUNCTIONED AND WOULD NOT OPEN. UFTRING CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM (140 RADIO CITY DR, PEKIN, IL 61554, (309) 340-4594) STATED THAT THEY BELIEVED THE LOCKING MECHANISM WAS STUCK AND MENTIONED THAT THE CONTACT'S WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 31,260.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

4/29/2019 - PEORIA, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SLIDING DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR MALFUNCTIONED AND WOULD NOT OPEN. UFTRING CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM (140 RADIO CITY DR, PEKIN, IL 61554, (309) 340-4594) STATED THAT THEY BELIEVED THE LOCKING MECHANISM WAS STUCK AND MENTIONED THAT THE CONTACT'S WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 31,260.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/25/2019 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
THE DRIVER SIDE SIDE DOOR STOPPED WORKING. IT CANNOT BE UNLOCKED EVEN MANUALLY, TRAPPING PASSENGERS INSIDE IF IT IS THE ONLY EXIT POINT. LOCK WILL NOT ENGAGED TO UNLOCK THE DOOR.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

4/18/2019 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
TWO DAYS AGO, THE DRIVER SIDE REAR SLIDING DOOR FAILED TO UNLOCK OR OPEN, EITHER WITH THE KEY FOB OR VARIOUS BUTTONS/HANDLES. THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR LOCK MADE A BUZZING NOISE WHEN IT LOCKED. TODAY, THE PASSENGER SIDE SLIDING DOOR STOPPED WORKING. I TOOK IT TO MY MECHANIC. HE SAID BOTH LOCKING MECHANISM MOTORS WERE BURNED OUT AT A COST TO REPLACE OF $1900. THE FIRST DOOR STOPPED WORKING WITHOUT WARNING, THE SECOND ONE MADE A BUZZING SOUND FOR A DAY OR TWO WHEN LOCKING OR UNLOCKING. THERE WAS NO IMPACT OR ROUGH ROAD DRIVING INVOLVED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/18/2019 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
TWO DAYS AGO, THE DRIVER SIDE REAR SLIDING DOOR FAILED TO UNLOCK OR OPEN, EITHER WITH THE KEY FOB OR VARIOUS BUTTONS/HANDLES. THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR LOCK MADE A BUZZING NOISE WHEN IT LOCKED. TODAY, THE PASSENGER SIDE SLIDING DOOR STOPPED WORKING. I TOOK IT TO MY MECHANIC. HE SAID BOTH LOCKING MECHANISM MOTORS WERE BURNED OUT AT A COST TO REPLACE OF $1900. THE FIRST DOOR STOPPED WORKING WITHOUT WARNING, THE SECOND ONE MADE A BUZZING SOUND FOR A DAY OR TWO WHEN LOCKING OR UNLOCKING. THERE WAS NO IMPACT OR ROUGH ROAD DRIVING INVOLVED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/17/2019 - BULL SHOALS, AR
I WAS DRIVING HOME AT NIGHT, AROUND 35MPH. ALL OF A SUDDEN THE TRANSMISSION AND RPMS WENT OFF THE CHARTS, ALL THE WAY UP TO 7000RPMS, ANY SORT OF ACCELERATION BY TAPPING THE GAS PEDAL CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO MALFUNCTION. I HAD MY DAUGHTER IN THE CAR AND TRIED TO GET PULLED OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND GET THE VEHICLE STOPPED. ONCE I GOT IT STOPPED IT WAS UNDRIVABLE AT THIS POINT AND HAD TO CALL A TOW SERVICE. MY LOCAL MECHANIC DEEMED IT TO BE THE TRANSMISSION PUMP WENT OUT WHILE I WAS DRIVING. NO WARNING, NO LIGHTS, NOTHIHG. NOW THE VAN IS AT THE DODGE DEALER FOR INSPECTION. I WAS TOLD THAT GRAND CARAVANS HAD A RECALL ON TRANSMISSION PUMPS BETWEEN THE DATES OF JULY 31, 2015 AND APRIL 18,2016 (MINE WAS MANUFACTRURED OCTOBER 2015) EVEN THOUGH IT FALLS IN THOSE DATES, MY VIN# WAS NOT ATTACHED TO THE RECALL. (S44 IS THE RECALL NUMBER, ALSO THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER IS 16V461000) THIS WAS A SERIOUS MALFUNCTION, AND COULD HAVE BEEN MORE SERIOUS IF I WOULD HAVE BEEN DRIVING JUST A LITTLE FASTER. AT ONE POINT, THE VEHICLE KEPT ACCELERATING WITHOUT THE GAS PEDAL BEING PUSHED. WE WERE LUCKY I WAS ABLE TO GET THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. ONCE THE VAN WAS SHUT OFF, THERE WAS A BURNING ODOR COMING FROM THE VEHICLE. I HAVE LOOKED AND FOUND SEVERAL OTHERS WITH THE SAME ISSUE AS MINE, WHO WERE NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL AND SHOULD OF BEEN. HOPEFULLY AN INVESTIGATION WILL OPEN SOON, BEFORE SOMEONE GETS SERIOUSLY INJURED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/16/2019 - BULLSHOALS, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY WITHOUT WARNING. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, THE VEHICLE STARTED TO SLOW DOWN WHILE TRAVELING UP A HILL. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO COAST THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CONTACT PLACED THE SHIFTER INTO PARK AND POWERED OFF THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED, BUT A BURNING ODOR WAS PRESENT AROUND THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT POWERED OFF THE ENGINE AGAIN AND HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION PUMP FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER AND WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED CASE NUMBER: 58391588. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/16/2019 - BULLSHOALS, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY WITHOUT WARNING. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, THE VEHICLE STARTED TO SLOW DOWN WHILE TRAVELING UP A HILL. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO COAST THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CONTACT PLACED THE SHIFTER INTO PARK AND POWERED OFF THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED, BUT A BURNING ODOR WAS PRESENT AROUND THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT POWERED OFF THE ENGINE AGAIN AND HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION PUMP FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER AND WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED CASE NUMBER: 58391588. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds