Auto Recalls for Consumers

OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE - 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 523 complaints filed for the 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (22) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Unknown Or Other (11)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (11) Seat Belts (52) Steering (177) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (50) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (3) Structure (11) Visibility (35)
Engine (27) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (33) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (73) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (3) Tires (13) Wheels (9)
Equipment (8) Latches Locks Linkages (4)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 47
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

6/28/2009 - PRESCOTT VALLEY, AZ
I WAS THE SECOND OWNER AND BOUGHT THE CAR IN FEBRUARY 2003. HAD TO REPLACE THE RADIATOR TWICE. KEPT HAVING TROUBLE WITH THE TEMPERATURE SHOWING HIGH. 06 BOUGHT A RADIATOR. SUMMER OF 08 GOING UP ESCONDIDO MTN TRAVELING TO CALIFORNIA... CAUGHT FIRE. HAD TO REPLACE THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD. ENGINE TEMP KEPT READING HIGH AND SERVICE COULD NOT FIND THE REASON WHY. REPLACED RADIATOR AGAIN AND TRAVELING TO NM MAY 2009 THE TEMP KEPT READING HIGH AGAIN AND I HAD TO PULL OVER AND THEN STAY IN SECOND GEAR WITH THE HEATER ON FULL BLAST. FINALLY HAD TO REPLACE THE VEHICLE. THE INTRIGUE WAS A VERY NICE CAR WITH LEATHER SEATS AND DROVE REALLY GOOD WHEN IT WAS WORKING CORRECTLY, BUT SINCE THE ENGINE FIRE I'VE HAD NOTING BUT TROUBLE AND MAINTENANCE REPAIRS. CAN I BE REIMBURSED AT ALL FOR ANY OF THOSE EXPENSES?

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

6/19/2009 - BURLINGTON, NC
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 09V116000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE CONTACT TOOK HIS VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR THE RECALL REPAIR, BUT THE PARTS WERE UNAVAILABLE. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE. THE CONTACT PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER AND EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE BEFORE THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 127,873.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

6/5/2009 - OLD ORCHARD BEACH, ME
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. WHILE DRIVING 3 MPH, THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE UNDER THE HOOD. THE CONTACT STOPPED THE VEHICLE AND EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE WITH A RAG. HE BURNED HIS FINGERS IN THE PROCESS. HE ALLOWED THE VEHICLE TO COOL DOWN AND NOTICED THAT IT STARTED BACK UP ROUGHLY. HE THEN TAPED THE TWO BURNED SPARK PLUGS. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 09V116000. THE DEALER REPAIRED THE SPARK PLUGS. THE MANUFACTURER HAS NOT BEEN NOTIFIED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 104,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

5/29/2009 - NEW CITY, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. A FEW MINUTES AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN THE GARAGE, IT CAUGHT FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED AND EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. A REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE FIRE OCCURRED IN AUGUST OF 2008. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER AND THEY STATED THAT THEY COULD NOT ASSIST BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS TOO OLD. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/17/2009 - EL CAJON, CA
CAR REFUSES TO START, LEAVING DRIVER HELPLESS. OCCURS INTERMITTENTLY WITHOUT WARNING. RESEARCH ON INTERNET IDENTIFIES THIS AS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH GM PASSLOCK. THIS IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS TO A VULNERABLE PERSON DEPENDENT UPON THE AUTOMOBILE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

4/15/2009 - MAROA, IL
MY SON WAS DRIVING THE CAR AND HE WAS AT A FRIENDS HOUSE WHEN THEY NOTICED SMOKE FROM UNDER THE HOOD. THEY OPENED THE HOOD AND THE ENGINE HAD CAUGHT ON FIRE.. THEY WERE LUCKY ENOUGH TO HAVE A 2 LITER BOTTLE OF SODA NEARBY AND MANAGED TO PUT OUT THE FIRE. HOWEVER NOT BEFORE EXTENSIVE DAMAGE HAD BEEN DONE. I WAS TOLD BY THE MECHANIC WHO FIXED IT, THAT IT LOOKS LIKE THE OIL CAUGHT ON FIRE POSSIBLY BY ARCING OF SPARK PLUGS?? I HAD OVER $300.00 IN DAMAGES. I JUST HEARD TODAY THAT THESE WERE RECALLED.. 04/14/09.. REPAIRED PARTS WERE SPARK PLUG WIRES, OIL DIPSTICK, OIL COVER.. THE ENGINE COVER IS STILL MELTED AND SMOKE DAMAGE IS STILL APPARENT UNDER THE HOOD.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

3/24/2009 - ROXOBEL, NC
CAR WOULDN'T START. HAD REPAIRED . COOLANT AND WATER LEAKING ONTO MANIFOLD EXHAUST. REPAIRED IN 2006. NOW IT IS LEAKING AGAIN. SAW RECALL ON '99 OLDS INTRIGUE. I HAVE A '98 INTRIGUE, COULD IT BE SIMILAR? THE RECALL FOR THE '99 IS DATED SEPT. 1998. THE REPAIR WAS A REPLACEMENT OF A GASKET IN THE MANIFOLD EXHAUST SYSTEM BUT IT TOOK SEVERAL HOURS TO REPAIR AND $730.00 . NOW IT IS LEAKING AGAIN. WHAT IS MY NEXT STEP?

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/17/2009 - DEARING, GA
THE EVENTS LEADING UP TO THE FAILURE IS JUST TURNING THE CAR ON. THE FAILURE IS THE DAYTIME/SIGNAL LIGHTS, IT OCCURS NOW UP TO 3 TIMES A WEEK. AFTER PUTTING A NEW LIGHT IN ITS PLACE WITHIN THE NEXT DAY THE LIGHT IS BURNING OUT AT THE CONNECTION PART. AS OF RIGHT NOW NOTHING IS BEING DON TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM BUT BUYING $5 LIGHT BULBS 2 TO 3 TIMES A WEEK.

View Details

STEERING

2/2/2009 - OCONOMOWOC, WI
FATHER IN LAW WENT INTO THE HOSPITAL AND ASKED US ( DAUGHTER AND SON IN -LAW) TO MOVE HIS CAR TO ARE HOUSE WHILE HE WAS GONE. I DROVE IT TO OUR HOUSE AND HAD A HARD TIME TURNING LEFT. I ASKED MY FATHER IN-LAW HOW LONG THIS HAD BEEN LIKE THIS AND HE SAID ABOUT 3 YEARS. I STARTED ASKING FRIENDS AND LOOKING ON THE INTERNET FOR SOME ADVICE ON WHY. I FOUND SEVERAL POSSIBLE CAUSES AND SOMEONE SUGGESTED THAT I CHECK FOR VEHICLE RECALLS. I FOUND ONE THAT FIT PERFECTLY, I CALLED THE OLDSMOBILE 800 NUMBER AND GAVE THE LADY THE CARS VIN # AND SHE SAID THAT ALTHOUGH THE CAR WAS LISTED THE VIN # WASN'T INCLUDED IN THE RECALL, BUT SHE SAID I COULD TAKE IT TO A GM DEALER AND THEY COULD INSPECT IT TO SEE IF IT FIT THE RECALL AND COULD BE ADDED I WENT TO THE DEALER AND THEY SAID THAT THE RECALL DIDN'T APPLY AND THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. SO I CALLED OLDSMOBILE BACK AND THEY SAID I WAS GIVEN INCORRECT INFORMATION. I WENT THROUGH ALL THE VEHICLE INFO AGAIN AND THEY SAID THAT THEY COULDN'T FINE THE RECALL AT ALL (I GOT IT OFF YOU WEBSITE RECALL #03082).

View Details

SEAT BELTS

12/11/2008 - BUFFALO, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SEAT BELT IN HER VEHICLE DID NOT FUNCTION PROPERLY. THE SEAT BELT WOULD NOT PULL OUT FROM THE HARNESS ON THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 170,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 47
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds