Auto Recalls for Consumers

OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE - 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 523 complaints filed for the 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (22) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Unknown Or Other (11)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (11) Seat Belts (52) Steering (177) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (50) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (3) Structure (11) Visibility (35)
Engine (27) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (33) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (73) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (3) Tires (13) Wheels (9)
Equipment (8) Latches Locks Linkages (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

9/3/2014 - LEXINGTON, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RACK AND PINION FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/3/2014 - LENNON, MI
THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS ON THIS VEHICLE HAVE WORKED POORLY FOR YEARS AND ARE GETTING WORSE WITH TIME. FOR A LONG TIME, THEY WOULD JUST STOP. WE TOOK THE VEHICLE IN FOR REPAIR AND THE REPAIR MAN SIMPLY TIGHTENED A BOLT. FROM THAT POINT ON, WE DID THAT ON OUR OWN WHENEVER THE WIPERS STOPPED. NOW FOR THE PAST YEAR OR SO, THERE HAVE BEEN TIMES, JUST LIKE THE ONE LAST WEEK, WHEN MY HUSBAND WAS ON HIS WAY HOME FROM WORK AND THE WIPERS STOPPED AND WOULDN'T COME BACK ON AT ALL! HE WAS STUCK ON THE SIDE OF THE EXPRESSWAY, IN A HORRIBLE RAINSTORM, FOR 40 MINUTES. VERY UNSAFE. WE HAVE SPENT A LOT OF TIME, MONEY AND COUNTLESS WORRY ON THIS PROBLEM AND THINK IT SHOULD BE TAKEN CARE OF. WE WOULD LIKE TO GIVE THIS CAR TO OUR SON WHO IS LEAVING FOR COLLEGE IN A FEW MONTHS, BUT WORRY ABOUT THIS ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/1/2014 - NEW ROCHELLE, NY
IN 1998-99 I PURCHASED A NEW INTRIGUE. IN THE 2 YEARS IT WAS OWNED I HAD 6-8 EPISODES OF THE ENGINE SHUTTING DOWN WHILE DRIVING INCLUDING HIGH SPEED DRIVING. THE CAR WOULD SUDDENLY STOP WITH OUT WARNING AND COME TO AN EVENTUAL STOP. REPEATED TRIPS TO THE DEALER FAILED TO FIND A CAUSE. THEY SUSPECTED A FUEL LINE ISSUE BUT COULD NOT ID THE CAUSE. I SOLD THE VEHICLE AFTER 2 YEARS OF OWNERSHIP, LONG BEFORE I INTENDED TO DO SO.

View Details

STEERING

3/19/2014 - WAYNE, NJ
A FEW MONTHS AGO I WAS BACKING UP AND MY STEERING WAS VERY HARD TO TURN TO THE LEFT. I BROUGHT MY CAR TO A SERVICE STATION AND THEY TOLD ME THE RIVETS THAT HOLD THE ARM INSIDE THE RACK & PINION BROKE LOOSE AND THIS WAS THE REASON FOR THE HARD STEERING. REPAIR SHOP TOLD ME I NEEDED A NEW RACK AND PINION WHICH WAS VERY EXPENSIVE. I DID NOT HAVE THE MONEY TO REPAIR AT THE TIME. SINCE THEN THE STEERING HAS GOTTEN WORSE. I DID SOME INVESTIGATION ON GM'S RECALLS AND THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THE STEERING RACK & PINION 1. NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 03V527000 (STEERING) 2. GM'S RECALL ID #64476 :STEERING: RACK AND PINION PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF THIS RECALL IS VALID FOR MY CAR AND IF THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP WILL HONOR THIS RECALL [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ENGINE

3/11/2014 - SILVER SPRING, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVE APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE STARTED TO JERK WHILE SMOKE WAS EMITTED FROM THE REAR. ADDITIONALLY, THE ENTIRE INSTRUMENT PANEL ILLUMINATED CONTINUOUSLY. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN ONTO THE EMERGENCY LANE WHERE THE CONTACT OPENED THE HOOD AND A FIRE IGNITED FROM THE ENGINE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A SALVAGE YARD AND RULED AS DESTROYED. THE CONTACT LATER RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 09V116000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 168,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/13/2012 - LAKEWOOD, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER WHILE ATTEMPTING A LEFT TURN. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTICS. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE STEERING RACK WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THERE WAS A RECALL UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 03V527000 (STEERING:RACK AND PINION) THAT COULD HAVE BEEN RELATED TO THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,873.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/17/2012 - ROCHESTER, NY
I AM WRITING THIS FOR MY HUSBAND. MY DAUGHTER'S CAR (WHICH IS IN MY NAME) WAS PARKED IN HER DRIVEWAY FOR 3 WEEKS WHILE SHE WAS OUT OF THE COUNTRY. THIS MORNING APPROX. 10:30AM., TUE. 17TH. 2012, HER DAD WANTED TO GET IT CLEANED UP FOR HER BEFORE SHE CAME HOME TONIGHT. HER DAD PUT THE KEY IN BUT THE CAR WOULD NOT START. HE FIGURED THAT THE BATTERY WAS DEAD (THE BATTERY WAS ONLY A FEW MONTHS OLD). HE PULLED HIS VEHICLE NEXT TO THE 1998 OLDS INTRIGUE AND HOOKED UP THE BATTERY CABLES. WHEN HE WENT TO START THE INTRIGUE, THERE WAS A VERY LOUD BOOM (HE DESCRIBED IT LIKE AN M-80 GOING OFF) AND HE THEN SAW FLAMES!!! UNDERNEATH THE HOOD. HE RAN AND GOT A FIRE EXTINGUISHER TO PUT OUT THE FIRE. AS THE SMOKE CLEARED, HE SAW PIECES OF BROKEN PLASTIC/METAL ON THE DRIVEWAY IN FRONT OF THE CAR AND THE INTAKE MANIFOLD HAD BLOWN 10 TO 15 FEET INTO THE GARAGE!!! IF SOMEONE HAD BEEN STANDING NEAR THE FRONT OF THE CAR, THEY MIGHT HAVE BEEN VERY SERIOUSLY INJURED OR EVEN KILLED. MY HUSBAND TALKED TO A COUPLE OF PEOPLE HE KNOWS (ONE IS A MECHANIC), AFTER THE EXPLOSION, AND THEY HAD NEVER HEARD OF ANYTHING LIKE THIS HAPPENING TO A VEHICLE! I JUST THANK GOD NO ONE WAS STANDING IN FRONT OF THAT CAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/29/2012 - CONWAY, AR
RECALL ID 75918- ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING GMC OWNER CENTER, I OWN A 1998 OLDSMOBILE AND HAS HAD SEVERAL PROBLEMS WITH THE WINDOW REGULATORS FAILING, SIGNAL LIGHTS, ELECTRICAL, COOLING SYSTEM AND COOLANT WARNING LIGHT SINCE OWNING THE VEHICLE IN 2000. ENGINE AND GASKETS HAVE BLOWN, WATER TEMP HAS BLOWN AND AFTER COSTLY REPAIRS, THE LOW COOLANT LIGHT STILL GOES OFF AND ON. DEALERSHIP ALWAYS HAVE TO HAVE LIGHT ON TO DETECT ISSUES AND STILL NEVER DETECT ANYTHING. MY COOLANT AND LEVELS ARE ALWAYS CHECKED AND FILLED AND THE LIGHT STILL TRIGGERS ON AND OFF FOR AWHILE THEN RETURN ON AGAIN THROUGHOUT CAR HISTORY. IN 2008 MY COOLANT LIGHT WAS ACTING UP AND I HAD VEHICLE CHECKED OUT AND FLUIDS AT APPROPRIATE LEVEL. VEHICLE ENDED UP OVERHEATING ON INTERSTATE AND I HAD TO REPLACE WATER PUMP AND SOMETHING ELSE. LIGHT WENT OUT FOR AWHILE AND VEHICLE CHECKED OUT. IN 2009 LIGHT CAME ON AND VEHICLE CHECKED AND ALL FLUID LEVELS CORRECT. LIGHT STILL COMES ON AND BLINKS AND GOES OFF FOR AWHILE. SMELLS LIKE OIL OR SOMETHING BURNING IN CAR. I WAS ON CONSUMER RECALL SITE AND SAW THIS ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING RECALL FROM 2009 REGARDING THE SPARK PLUG WIRE RETENTION. I DON'T RECALL RECEIVING THIS NOTIFICATION. I BELIEVE THE LAST RECALL LETTER I RECEIVED WAS IN 2008 REGARDING THE STEERING. MY VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SHOP FOR THAT AND CHECKED OUT AT THAT TIME. CAN I STILL HAVE MY SPARK PLUG WIRE RETAINERS REPLACED FOR THIS RECALL?

View Details

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

2/29/2012 - CONWAY, AR
RECALL ID 75918- ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING GMC OWNER CENTER, I OWN A 1998 OLDSMOBILE AND HAS HAD SEVERAL PROBLEMS WITH THE WINDOW REGULATORS FAILING, SIGNAL LIGHTS, ELECTRICAL, COOLING SYSTEM AND COOLANT WARNING LIGHT SINCE OWNING THE VEHICLE IN 2000. ENGINE AND GASKETS HAVE BLOWN, WATER TEMP HAS BLOWN AND AFTER COSTLY REPAIRS, THE LOW COOLANT LIGHT STILL GOES OFF AND ON. DEALERSHIP ALWAYS HAVE TO HAVE LIGHT ON TO DETECT ISSUES AND STILL NEVER DETECT ANYTHING. MY COOLANT AND LEVELS ARE ALWAYS CHECKED AND FILLED AND THE LIGHT STILL TRIGGERS ON AND OFF FOR AWHILE THEN RETURN ON AGAIN THROUGHOUT CAR HISTORY. IN 2008 MY COOLANT LIGHT WAS ACTING UP AND I HAD VEHICLE CHECKED OUT AND FLUIDS AT APPROPRIATE LEVEL. VEHICLE ENDED UP OVERHEATING ON INTERSTATE AND I HAD TO REPLACE WATER PUMP AND SOMETHING ELSE. LIGHT WENT OUT FOR AWHILE AND VEHICLE CHECKED OUT. IN 2009 LIGHT CAME ON AND VEHICLE CHECKED AND ALL FLUID LEVELS CORRECT. LIGHT STILL COMES ON AND BLINKS AND GOES OFF FOR AWHILE. SMELLS LIKE OIL OR SOMETHING BURNING IN CAR. I WAS ON CONSUMER RECALL SITE AND SAW THIS ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING RECALL FROM 2009 REGARDING THE SPARK PLUG WIRE RETENTION. I DON'T RECALL RECEIVING THIS NOTIFICATION. I BELIEVE THE LAST RECALL LETTER I RECEIVED WAS IN 2008 REGARDING THE STEERING. MY VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SHOP FOR THAT AND CHECKED OUT AT THAT TIME. CAN I STILL HAVE MY SPARK PLUG WIRE RETAINERS REPLACED FOR THIS RECALL?

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/29/2012 - CONWAY, AR
RECALL ID 75918- ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING GMC OWNER CENTER, I OWN A 1998 OLDSMOBILE AND HAS HAD SEVERAL PROBLEMS WITH THE WINDOW REGULATORS FAILING, SIGNAL LIGHTS, ELECTRICAL, COOLING SYSTEM AND COOLANT WARNING LIGHT SINCE OWNING THE VEHICLE IN 2000. ENGINE AND GASKETS HAVE BLOWN, WATER TEMP HAS BLOWN AND AFTER COSTLY REPAIRS, THE LOW COOLANT LIGHT STILL GOES OFF AND ON. DEALERSHIP ALWAYS HAVE TO HAVE LIGHT ON TO DETECT ISSUES AND STILL NEVER DETECT ANYTHING. MY COOLANT AND LEVELS ARE ALWAYS CHECKED AND FILLED AND THE LIGHT STILL TRIGGERS ON AND OFF FOR AWHILE THEN RETURN ON AGAIN THROUGHOUT CAR HISTORY. IN 2008 MY COOLANT LIGHT WAS ACTING UP AND I HAD VEHICLE CHECKED OUT AND FLUIDS AT APPROPRIATE LEVEL. VEHICLE ENDED UP OVERHEATING ON INTERSTATE AND I HAD TO REPLACE WATER PUMP AND SOMETHING ELSE. LIGHT WENT OUT FOR AWHILE AND VEHICLE CHECKED OUT. IN 2009 LIGHT CAME ON AND VEHICLE CHECKED AND ALL FLUID LEVELS CORRECT. LIGHT STILL COMES ON AND BLINKS AND GOES OFF FOR AWHILE. SMELLS LIKE OIL OR SOMETHING BURNING IN CAR. I WAS ON CONSUMER RECALL SITE AND SAW THIS ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING RECALL FROM 2009 REGARDING THE SPARK PLUG WIRE RETENTION. I DON'T RECALL RECEIVING THIS NOTIFICATION. I BELIEVE THE LAST RECALL LETTER I RECEIVED WAS IN 2008 REGARDING THE STEERING. MY VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SHOP FOR THAT AND CHECKED OUT AT THAT TIME. CAN I STILL HAVE MY SPARK PLUG WIRE RETAINERS REPLACED FOR THIS RECALL?

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds