Auto Recalls for Consumers

OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE - 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 523 complaints filed for the 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (22) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Unknown Or Other (11)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (11) Seat Belts (52) Steering (177) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (50) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (3) Structure (11) Visibility (35)
Engine (27) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (33) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (73) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (3) Tires (13) Wheels (9)
Equipment (8) Latches Locks Linkages (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/29/2012 - CONWAY, AR
RECALL ID 75918- ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING GMC OWNER CENTER, I OWN A 1998 OLDSMOBILE AND HAS HAD SEVERAL PROBLEMS WITH THE WINDOW REGULATORS FAILING, SIGNAL LIGHTS, ELECTRICAL, COOLING SYSTEM AND COOLANT WARNING LIGHT SINCE OWNING THE VEHICLE IN 2000. ENGINE AND GASKETS HAVE BLOWN, WATER TEMP HAS BLOWN AND AFTER COSTLY REPAIRS, THE LOW COOLANT LIGHT STILL GOES OFF AND ON. DEALERSHIP ALWAYS HAVE TO HAVE LIGHT ON TO DETECT ISSUES AND STILL NEVER DETECT ANYTHING. MY COOLANT AND LEVELS ARE ALWAYS CHECKED AND FILLED AND THE LIGHT STILL TRIGGERS ON AND OFF FOR AWHILE THEN RETURN ON AGAIN THROUGHOUT CAR HISTORY. IN 2008 MY COOLANT LIGHT WAS ACTING UP AND I HAD VEHICLE CHECKED OUT AND FLUIDS AT APPROPRIATE LEVEL. VEHICLE ENDED UP OVERHEATING ON INTERSTATE AND I HAD TO REPLACE WATER PUMP AND SOMETHING ELSE. LIGHT WENT OUT FOR AWHILE AND VEHICLE CHECKED OUT. IN 2009 LIGHT CAME ON AND VEHICLE CHECKED AND ALL FLUID LEVELS CORRECT. LIGHT STILL COMES ON AND BLINKS AND GOES OFF FOR AWHILE. SMELLS LIKE OIL OR SOMETHING BURNING IN CAR. I WAS ON CONSUMER RECALL SITE AND SAW THIS ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING RECALL FROM 2009 REGARDING THE SPARK PLUG WIRE RETENTION. I DON'T RECALL RECEIVING THIS NOTIFICATION. I BELIEVE THE LAST RECALL LETTER I RECEIVED WAS IN 2008 REGARDING THE STEERING. MY VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SHOP FOR THAT AND CHECKED OUT AT THAT TIME. CAN I STILL HAVE MY SPARK PLUG WIRE RETAINERS REPLACED FOR THIS RECALL?

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/6/2012 - GREENSBORO, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT OIL WAS DRIPPING ONTO THE MANIFOLD ABNORMALLY, CAUSING SMOKE TO BE RELEASED FROM THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED AND ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT HER VIN HAD NOT BEEN INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 09V116000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CURRENT AND THE FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 140,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/23/2011 - ELKTON, MI
THE CONTACT OWNED A 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED AND SHUT OFF WHEN THE ENGINE ENGULFED INTO FLAMES. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS SHUT OFF FOR APPROXIMATELY THIRTY MINUTES PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT APPEARED ON THE SCENE TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 180,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/17/2011 - CLEVELAND , OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER VENT RELEASED SMOKE WHILE DRIVING. THE CONTACT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND FOUND FLAMES IN THE ENGINE AREA. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FLAMES AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S HOME BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

8/11/2011 - BASCOM, FL
1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO SAFETY RECALL ON VEHICLE THAT CAUGHT FIRE THE CONSUMER STATED SHE RECEIVED A SECOND RECALL NOTICE ON JUNE 8, 2011 REGARDING A POSSIBLE ENGINE FIRE. HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE NOVEMBER 2, 2007. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. PRIOR TO THE FIRE, THE CONSUMER EXPERIENCED SEVERAL OTHER PROBLEMS WITH THE VEHICLE, SUCH AS; TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS, THE DASH/STEERING INSTRUMENT PANEL AND CRUISE CONTROL COMPARTMENT WOULD BECOME EXTREMELY HOT.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/11/2011 - BASCOM, FL
1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO SAFETY RECALL ON VEHICLE THAT CAUGHT FIRE THE CONSUMER STATED SHE RECEIVED A SECOND RECALL NOTICE ON JUNE 8, 2011 REGARDING A POSSIBLE ENGINE FIRE. HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE NOVEMBER 2, 2007. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. PRIOR TO THE FIRE, THE CONSUMER EXPERIENCED SEVERAL OTHER PROBLEMS WITH THE VEHICLE, SUCH AS; TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS, THE DASH/STEERING INSTRUMENT PANEL AND CRUISE CONTROL COMPARTMENT WOULD BECOME EXTREMELY HOT.

View Details

STEERING

6/30/2011 - GAYLORD, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD BECOME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE DEALER ADVISED THE CONTACT TO BRING THE VEHICLE IN FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS AWARE OF THE FAILURE. NO REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 135,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

6/15/2011 - KINGWOOD, TX
1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. DECEMBER 23, 2009, HUSBAND WAS LEAVING WORK AROUND 3:30 PM AND WHEN HE CAME TO A STOP SIGN HE NOTICED THE VEHICLE SMOKING, AND THEN NOTICED A SMALL FIRE. NO VEHICLE ISSUES PRIOR TILL. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED AND FIRE PUT OUT. THE VEHICLE HAS ENDURED YET ANOTHER ISSUE. WE LEFT IT WITH A MECHANIC AND $1300 THAT SAME DAY; HE CLAIMED THE CAR WAS REPAIRABLE. HE COULD NEVER DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF FIRE. WE ARE TRYING TO PERUSE LEGAL ISSUES WITH THE MECHANIC BECAUSE HE NEVER RESPONDED TO US NOR DID HE REPAIR OUR VEHICLE AND KEPT OUR MONEY. WE DID NOT RECEIVE THE RECALL NOTICES TILL RECENTLY, NOR DID WE KNOW THERE WAS A RECALL ISSUE INVOLVING SMALL ENGINE FIRES. I AM A DISABLED VETERAN AND AT THE TIME WAS PREGNANT. WE ENDURED A LOT OF HEARTACHE DUE TO NO VEHICLE THAT FOLLOWING YEAR. IS MY SITUATION A LOST CAUSE OR CAN YOU STILL HELP ME WITH THE ISSUE? UNKNOWN ENGINE FIRE.

View Details

STEERING

6/14/2011 - LEXINGTON, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED AND THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE MANEUVER THE WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS ADVISED THAT THE STEERING RACK AND PINION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THERE WAS A RECALL UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 03V527000 (STEERING:RACK AND PINION) BUT THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED BY THE MANUFACTURER THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 153,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/8/2011 - HOPKINSVILLE , KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH OR HIGHER, THE VEHICLE WOULD START SHAKING VIOLENTLY AND MAKING A LOUD NOISE. SHE ALSO MENTIONED THAT WHILE DRIVING DURING INCLEMENT WEATHER THE VEHICLE WAS HARD TO STEER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 03V527000 (STEERING:RACK AND PINION). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 78,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds