Auto Recalls for Consumers

OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE - 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 523 complaints filed for the 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (22) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Unknown Or Other (11)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (11) Seat Belts (52) Steering (177) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (50) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (3) Structure (11) Visibility (35)
Engine (27) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (33) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (73) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (3) Tires (13) Wheels (9)
Equipment (8) Latches Locks Linkages (4)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 47
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/8/2010 - WYNDMERE, ND
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. HE STATED THAT AFTER PARKING THE VEHICLE HE NOTICED THAT THERE WAS OIL LEAKING.HE ALSO NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM UNDERNEATH THE HOOD.THERE WERE FLAMES THAT CAUSED THE ENGINE AND THE WHOLE FRONT END TO BURN. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED AND THEY STATED THAT THEY WOULD SEND SOMEONE TO DIAGNOSE IT. THERE HAVE BEEN NO REPAIRS DONE TO THE VEHICLE. THERE IS A RECALL, NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 09V116000 COMPONENT: ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING.THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 215000. UPDATED 5/20/2010 UPDATED 06/17/10

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/2/2010 - BROOKINGS, SD
INTAKE MANIFOLD FAILURE ON A 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE, COOLANT LEAKED INTO OIL CAUSING A HYDROLOCK. THIS COULD HAVE EASILY CAUSED THE ENGINE TO EXPLODE IF I HAD BEEN ON AN INTERSTATE. SUPPOSEDLY THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE VEHICLES ACCORDING TO THE MECHANIC. THIS LEAK CAN ALSO CAUSE A FIRE. I HAD TO HAVE REPAIRS CONDUCTED TO THE TUNE OF MORE THAN 2K.

View Details

STEERING: RACK AND PINION

11/10/2009 - SAN JOSE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE SHE COULD NOT MAKE LEFT TURNS. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN TAKEN TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES, BUT NO REPAIRS WERE MADE. HER VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER WAS EXCLUDED FROM RECALL# 03V527000, (STEERING:RACK AND PINION). SHE WAS IN THE PROCESS OF CONTACTING THE MANUFACTURER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

8/4/2009 - ALTOONA, PA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 09V116000 AND HAD THE VEHICLE REPAIRED ACCORDINGLY. THE REAR SEAT BELTS WERE RECALLED AND REPAIRED AS WELL. AFTER THE REPAIR, THE SEAT BELTS BEGAN TO MALFUNCTION AGAIN. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER TO SEE IF THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH THE REPAIR WORK AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED TO BE INSPECTED BY THE DEALER. THE CLIPS THAT WERE APPLIED MAY BE PREVENTING THE SEAT BELTS FROM RELEASING FROM THE RETRACTOR. THE DEALER ADDED A COVER PIECE TO THE RETRACTOR, BUT IT DID NOT REMEDY THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT FEELS THAT THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE THE REAR SEAT BELT CANNOT BE USED. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 144,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 143,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

8/2/2009 - GREAT FALLS, MT
THERE WERE NO EVENTS LEADING UP TO THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT FIRE ON MAY 29TH AT ABOUT 10:00PM. EXCEPT THAT PRIOR TO THE INCIDENT WHENEVER THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN THERE WAS A BURNING ODOR INSIDE THE VEHICLE. WE HAD A RECALL DONE ON THE VEHICLE THAT WE THOUGHT WOULD CORRECT THE BURNING ODOR BUT IT HOWEVER DIDN'T FIX THAT. THE RECALL NUMBER WAS 09047. WE HAD A SMALL ENGINE COMPARTMENT FIRE IN MAY OF 2007 BUT THERE WASN'T ANY DAMAGE. HOWEVER, WITH THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT FIRE OR THERMAL EVENT AS GM CALLS IT THERE WAS MAJOR DAMAGE TOTALING THE VEHICLE AS WHEN THE OIL DRIPS DOWN ON TO THE HOT EXHAUST MANIFOLD THERE WAS NO WHERE FOR THE OIL TO DRIP DOWN TO THE GROUND SO THEREFORE IT RESULTED IN A FIRE. THE RECALL #09047 DID NOTHING TO SOLVE THE BURNING ODOR SMELL OR AN ENGINE COMPARTMENT FIRE. THE VEHICLE DID HAVE SMALL AMOUNTS OF SMOKE THAT WOULD COME OUT OF THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT WHEN IT WAS DRIVEN STARTING 6 MONTHS PRIOR TO THE FINAL ENGINE COMPARTMENT FIRE ON JUNE 29, 2009. THEN AFTER THE RECALL WAS DONE WAS WHEN WE STARTED NOTICING THE BURNING ODOR OR SMELL WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/21/2009 - MUKILTEO, WA
I RECEIVED A LETTER IN MAY STATING THAT GM WAS RECALLING MY CAR FOR POSSIBLE ENGINE FIRES (RECALL 09047). I CALLED THE NUMBER PROVIDED AND WAS ROUTED TO ONE OF THE LOCAL DEALERS, WHO TOLD ME THAT THEY COULDN'T DO ANYTHING WITH IT UNTIL LATE JULY OR AUGUST AND TO CALL BACK FOR AN APPOINTMENT THEN. YESTERDAY, 7/20/09, MY CAR BURNED TO A CRISP. ACCORDING TO THE FIREMEN, IT WAS AN ELECTRICAL FIRE THAT STARTED UNDER THE HOOD SOMEWHERE AND IT BURNED SO HOT AND SO FAST THAT THEY WERE UNABLE TO SALVAGE IT. THE FIRE ENGINES ARE KEPT LITERALLY A BLOCK AWAY FROM WHERE THE FIRE OCCURRED. THEY RESPONDED WITHIN MINUTES AND STILL THE ENTIRE ENGINE CONTENTS FRIED RIGHT UP. MY CAR IS A TOTAL LOSS. TODAY I HAVE SPENT JUST OVER TWO HOURS ON THE PHONE WITH GM CUSTOMER SERVICE, I HAVE HAD TO ESCALATE THE CALLS TWICE AND CALL BACK TO THEM TWICE AND ONCE TO THE LOCAL DEALER AND ALL ANYONE WILL SAY IS THEY WILL CONTACT ME WITHIN 5 BUSINESS DAYS AND TO SAVE THE VEHICLE SO THEY CAN INVESTIGATE IT. I HAVE NOWHERE TO STORE THIS CAR IN IT'S CURRENT STATE. IT IS A MAJOR FIRE HAZARD-ESPECIALLY WITH OUR CURRENT WARM WEATHER/DRY CONDITIONS AND IT'S FULL TANK OF GAS. GM INFORMED ME THAT IF I MAKE THE DECISION TO HAVE IT MOVED TO A JUNK YARD TO TAKE LOTS OF PICTURES BEFORE THAT HAPPENS. I INFORMED THEM THAT I CANNOT KEEP THE VEHICLE HERE, DUE TO IT'S FIRE HAZARD TO THE OTHER RESIDENTS ON MY BLOCK-THEIR HALF A MILLION DOLLAR HOMES AND THEIR VEHICLES THAT ARE PARKED IN THE SAME AREA.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

7/21/2009 - MUKILTEO, WA
I RECEIVED A LETTER IN MAY STATING THAT GM WAS RECALLING MY CAR FOR POSSIBLE ENGINE FIRES (RECALL 09047). I CALLED THE NUMBER PROVIDED AND WAS ROUTED TO ONE OF THE LOCAL DEALERS, WHO TOLD ME THAT THEY COULDN'T DO ANYTHING WITH IT UNTIL LATE JULY OR AUGUST AND TO CALL BACK FOR AN APPOINTMENT THEN. YESTERDAY, 7/20/09, MY CAR BURNED TO A CRISP. ACCORDING TO THE FIREMEN, IT WAS AN ELECTRICAL FIRE THAT STARTED UNDER THE HOOD SOMEWHERE AND IT BURNED SO HOT AND SO FAST THAT THEY WERE UNABLE TO SALVAGE IT. THE FIRE ENGINES ARE KEPT LITERALLY A BLOCK AWAY FROM WHERE THE FIRE OCCURRED. THEY RESPONDED WITHIN MINUTES AND STILL THE ENTIRE ENGINE CONTENTS FRIED RIGHT UP. MY CAR IS A TOTAL LOSS. TODAY I HAVE SPENT JUST OVER TWO HOURS ON THE PHONE WITH GM CUSTOMER SERVICE, I HAVE HAD TO ESCALATE THE CALLS TWICE AND CALL BACK TO THEM TWICE AND ONCE TO THE LOCAL DEALER AND ALL ANYONE WILL SAY IS THEY WILL CONTACT ME WITHIN 5 BUSINESS DAYS AND TO SAVE THE VEHICLE SO THEY CAN INVESTIGATE IT. I HAVE NOWHERE TO STORE THIS CAR IN IT'S CURRENT STATE. IT IS A MAJOR FIRE HAZARD-ESPECIALLY WITH OUR CURRENT WARM WEATHER/DRY CONDITIONS AND IT'S FULL TANK OF GAS. GM INFORMED ME THAT IF I MAKE THE DECISION TO HAVE IT MOVED TO A JUNK YARD TO TAKE LOTS OF PICTURES BEFORE THAT HAPPENS. I INFORMED THEM THAT I CANNOT KEEP THE VEHICLE HERE, DUE TO IT'S FIRE HAZARD TO THE OTHER RESIDENTS ON MY BLOCK-THEIR HALF A MILLION DOLLAR HOMES AND THEIR VEHICLES THAT ARE PARKED IN THE SAME AREA.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/17/2009 - GLADSTONE, MO
CAR REFUSES TO START, LEAVING DRIVER HELPLESS. OCCURS INTERMITTENTLY WITHOUT WARNING (MORE FREQUENTLY OVER TIME). RESEARCH ON INTERNET IDENTIFIES THIS AS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH GM PASSLOCK. ALTHOUGH A COMMON PROBLEM IT IS UNCLEAR WHAT THE PROBLEM REALLY IS - SEEMS THE SOLUTION IS TO HAVE THE SYSTEM REPLACED BY THE DEALER. THIS IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS TO A VULNERABLE PERSON DEPENDENT UPON THE AUTOMOBILE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/10/2009 - BOURBONNAIS, IL
I HAD BOUGHT A 98 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE AROUND THE MIDDLE OF JANUARY FROM A PRIVATE OWNER OUT OF THE CLASSIFIEDS. ABOUT 2 WEEKS LATER, THE DAY I GOT INDUCED TO HAVE A CHILD, MY CAR HAD STARTED A FIRE IN THE HOSPITAL PARKING LOT. THEN IN MAY, I GOT A SAFETY RECALL NOTICE IN THE MAIL. I WANTED TO KNOW WHAT EXACTLY I CAN DO TO FIX THIS PROBLEM, WE HAD TO JUNK THE CAR BECAUSE IT WAS NOT FIXABLE. I DO STILL HAVE THE TITLE THOUGH.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

6/30/2009 - FLINT, MI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND THEY STATED THAT THE UPPER AND LOWER INTAKE MANIFOLDS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT HAS HAD THE PART REPLACED ON THREE DIFFERENT OCCASIONS, WHICH ORIGINATED WITH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATING. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 117,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,363.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 47
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds