Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2007 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 616 complaints filed for the 2007 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (98) Fuel Propulsion System (114) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (50) Trailer Hitches (2)
Electrical System (81) Fuel System Gasoline (32) Power Train (29) Steering (36) Unknown Or Other (31)
Electronic Stability Control (65) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (6) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (54)
Engine (34) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (4) Suspension (26) Visibility (44)
Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (39) Tires (17) Visibility Wiper (35)
Equipment (5) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (10)
Exterior Lighting (29)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 71
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/9/2018 - ST FRANCIS, WI
I HAD JUST GOTTEN ON THE INTERSTATE AND THE CAR STARTED AND CONTINUED ACCELERATING ON ITS OWN. I HAD THE WIPERS GOING; CRUISE WAS NOT TURNED ON OR SET, THERE WAS NOTHING OBSTRUCTING BRAKE OR ACCELERATOR PETALS. I TURNED THE LIGHTS TO AUTO THEN DOWN TO RUNNING LIGHTS THEN TO THE ON POSITION. JUST AT THAT MOMENT WHEN I PUT THE LIGHTS IN THE ON POSITION IS WHEN IT TOOK OVER THE ACCELERATOR. I TRIED STEPPING ON THE BREAK AND IT DID NOTHING AS THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. I MADE IT TO THE OFF RAMP TO GET OFF THE INTERSTATE IMMEDIATELY. I TRIED TURNING CRUISE ON THEN OFF AND DOWN SHIFTING. THEN I PUT IT INTO NEUTRAL AND IT STOPPED ACCELERATING BUT I STILL COULD NOT BRAKE. I STARTED TO PUSH ON THE EMERGENCY BRAKE AND WE STARTED TO SLOW DOWN UNTIL WE COASTED INTO A GAS STATION AND SHUT THE CAR OFF. I CALLED ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE AND WAS TOWED TO A GARAGE. I CALLED HYUNDAI SERVICE AND THEY TOLD ME IF NOTHING IS FOUND OR IT CAN'T BE FIXED THAT I SHOULD CONTACT CONSUMER AFFAIRS. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND OVER 50 COMPLAINTS FOR THIS SAME THING. APPARENTLY THIS HAS TO DO WITH THE FACT THAT THE THROTTLE CONTROL IS DRIVEN BY THE COMPUTER/ELECTRIC. BECAUSE OF THIS SOMETHING LIKE A POWER SURGE HAPPENS THAT CAUSES THE ACCELERATION AND THE BRAKES TO NOT WORK. IF THIS WOULD HAVE HAPPENED TO ME WITH MORE TRAFFIC, I WOULD HAVE CRASHED. IT APPEARS TO BE FINE NOW BUT I UNDERSTAND IT IS INTERMITTENT AND CAN'T BE DUPLICATED; THEREFORE, HYUNDAI WILL NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. THE FACT OF THE MATTER IS THEY DON+T KNOW WHAT TO DO. BUT IT DOESN+T CHANGE THE FACT THAT THIS CAUSES ACCIDENTS AND IS A SAFETY ISSUE. I AM NOW SCARED TO DRIVE MY OWN VEHICLE. COMPLAINTS/INVESTIGATIONS/RECALLS WERE FOUND ON: NHTSA.GOV, FORUM.EDMONDS.COM UNDERSTANDING ISSUE FOUND ON: SUDDENACCELERATION.COM

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/1/2018 - PENDLETON, IN
FUEL GAGE STOPPED REGISTERING FUEL IN TANK, EMPTY LIGHT IS ON, NO GUAGE MOVEMENT OF NEEDLE. HAVE TO GUESS ON AMOUNT OF FUEL IN TANK.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/29/2018 - GIBSONVILLE,, NC
I HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THE ESC UNIT. I CAN BE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AND THE RIGHT HAND FRONT BREAK WILL ALL OF A SUDDEN AT RADIUM GRAB AND JERK THE CAR TO THE RIGHT. THIS PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED AT SPEEDS RANGING FROM 35 TO 70 MPH. I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO THE HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP 3 OR 4 TIME TO GET THE PROBLEM FIXED AND HAVE SPENT $1,300.00 AND THEY STILL HAVEN'T FIXED THE PROBLEM. I AM BEING TOLD WE DON'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG. WE NEVER KNOW WHEN IT IS GOING TO HAPPEN AND I CAN ONLY HOPE THAT IT DOESN'T HAPPEN WHEN IN A SITUATION THAT IT CAUSES SOMEONE TO GET HURT OR KILLED. I HAVE ASKED THAT EITHER DISCONNECT THE ESC SYSTEM OR REVERSE IT SO THAT IT IS NOT ON UNTIL YOU NEED IT AND THE HYUNDAI SERVICE PEOPLE SAY THAT CAN'T BE DONE. I DO NOT BELIEVE THAT IS CORRECT BUT THEY ARE THE SMART PEOPLE ON THE CAR. I WILL TELL YOU THIS IF THIS PROBLEM CAUSES AN ACCIDENT THAT SOMEONE GETS HURT I WILL BE SEEKING AN ATTORNEY AND NOTIFYING THE INSURANCE OF THE PROBLEM AND THE FACT THAT HYUNDAI HAS NOT FIXED THE PROBLEM. PLEASE HELP ME WITH THIS PROBLEM. THANKS

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/21/2018 - GLOVERSVILLE, NY
+INTERMITTENTLY+ HESITATES TO ALMOST STALL ON MOVING FORWARD FROM STOP, AND +BUCKS+ WHILE MOVING STEADILY AT CONSTANT SPEEDS BELOW 40MPH. AVERAGE GAS MILEAGE HAS DETERIORATED FROM 19 - 20 TO 15 - 16. CAR HAS ALWAYS RUN ON MOBILE ONE AND REGULARLY SERVICED. CAR HAS STALLED WHILE IN MOTION ON OPEN ROAD!

View Details

STEERING

3/13/2018 - QUINCY, MA
I BOUGHT TGIS CAR IN DEC.2017 FROM A USED CAR DEALERSHIP..SHOETLY AFTER THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME DAYS LATER BROUGHT THE CAR BACK AND THE SALESMAN/OWNER SAID ITS THE GAS CAP..CAME ON 3 MORE TIMES..THEY KEPT SAYING ITS THE GAS CAP..WELL I TIGGTEN THAT CAP TILL IT CANT TURN.ANOTHER THING THE BACK END OF THE CAR MAKES BUMOING NOISES ESPECIALLY GOING OVER A BUMP!! IT FEELS LIKE BACK ENDS GOING TO FALL OFF..LAST WEEK MY W YEAR OLD GRANDDAUGHTER WAS SITTING IN HER CARSEAT BEHIND THE DRIVERSIDE,I WAS IN PASSENGER SEAT AND I HEARD A THUMP.I LOOKED MY GRANDDAUGHTER LOOKED SCARED..UHOH SHE SAYS.SHE DIDNT DROP ANYTHING..THE PASSENGER FRONT SEAT THE BACK OF IT FELL OFF!! WTH!!!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/13/2018 - QUINCY, MA
I BOUGHT TGIS CAR IN DEC.2017 FROM A USED CAR DEALERSHIP..SHOETLY AFTER THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME DAYS LATER BROUGHT THE CAR BACK AND THE SALESMAN/OWNER SAID ITS THE GAS CAP..CAME ON 3 MORE TIMES..THEY KEPT SAYING ITS THE GAS CAP..WELL I TIGGTEN THAT CAP TILL IT CANT TURN.ANOTHER THING THE BACK END OF THE CAR MAKES BUMOING NOISES ESPECIALLY GOING OVER A BUMP!! IT FEELS LIKE BACK ENDS GOING TO FALL OFF..LAST WEEK MY W YEAR OLD GRANDDAUGHTER WAS SITTING IN HER CARSEAT BEHIND THE DRIVERSIDE,I WAS IN PASSENGER SEAT AND I HEARD A THUMP.I LOOKED MY GRANDDAUGHTER LOOKED SCARED..UHOH SHE SAYS.SHE DIDNT DROP ANYTHING..THE PASSENGER FRONT SEAT THE BACK OF IT FELL OFF!! WTH!!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/13/2018 - QUINCY, MA
I BOUGHT TGIS CAR IN DEC.2017 FROM A USED CAR DEALERSHIP..SHOETLY AFTER THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME DAYS LATER BROUGHT THE CAR BACK AND THE SALESMAN/OWNER SAID ITS THE GAS CAP..CAME ON 3 MORE TIMES..THEY KEPT SAYING ITS THE GAS CAP..WELL I TIGGTEN THAT CAP TILL IT CANT TURN.ANOTHER THING THE BACK END OF THE CAR MAKES BUMOING NOISES ESPECIALLY GOING OVER A BUMP!! IT FEELS LIKE BACK ENDS GOING TO FALL OFF..LAST WEEK MY W YEAR OLD GRANDDAUGHTER WAS SITTING IN HER CARSEAT BEHIND THE DRIVERSIDE,I WAS IN PASSENGER SEAT AND I HEARD A THUMP.I LOOKED MY GRANDDAUGHTER LOOKED SCARED..UHOH SHE SAYS.SHE DIDNT DROP ANYTHING..THE PASSENGER FRONT SEAT THE BACK OF IT FELL OFF!! WTH!!!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/12/2018 - MOBILE, AL
SENSORS -ARE BAD. HAVE TO TURN OFF ESC TO KEEP FROM ABS PULLING ME OFF THE ROAD. FEELS LIKE BRAKES ARE FALLING OUT. SOMEONE ELSE I SAW SAID SHE HAD SAME ISSUE. I PAID OVER $2,000 TO GET BRAKES FIXED AT DEALERSHIP-NEVER FIXED ISSUE. I TURN OFF BUTTON ONLY GIVE ME A CHANCE TO DRIVE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/12/2018 - MOBILE, AL
SENSORS -ARE BAD. HAVE TO TURN OFF ESC TO KEEP FROM ABS PULLING ME OFF THE ROAD. FEELS LIKE BRAKES ARE FALLING OUT. SOMEONE ELSE I SAW SAID SHE HAD SAME ISSUE. I PAID OVER $2,000 TO GET BRAKES FIXED AT DEALERSHIP-NEVER FIXED ISSUE. I TURN OFF BUTTON ONLY GIVE ME A CHANCE TO DRIVE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/22/2017 - NOKOMIS, FL
CRANKSHAFT HARMONIC BALANCER BROKE APART WHICH CAUSED LOSS OF CONTROL: ( OF THE STEERING, BRAKES, LIGHTING, ETC. ) THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION AT A VERY LOW SPEED WHILE TURNING INTO A DRIVEWAY! FORTUNATELY I WAS ABLE TO IMMEDIATELY STOP AND SHUT OFF THE ENGINE WHICH PREVENTED EXCESSIVE DAMAGE FROM SHRAPNEL. IF THIS OCCURRED AT THE INTERSTATE SPEEDS, IT COULD HAVE PROVED CATASTROPHIC FOR MYSELF, PASSENGERS AND OTHER HIGHWAY TRAVELERS. MY CHECKING ONLINE DISCLOSED THERE ARE MANY OCCURRENCES OF THIS NATURE! UNFORTUNATELY I DID NOT TAKE PHOTOS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 71
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds