Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2007 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 616 complaints filed for the 2007 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (98) Fuel Propulsion System (114) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (50) Trailer Hitches (2)
Electrical System (81) Fuel System Gasoline (32) Power Train (29) Steering (36) Unknown Or Other (31)
Electronic Stability Control (65) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (6) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (54)
Engine (34) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (4) Suspension (26) Visibility (44)
Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (39) Tires (17) Visibility Wiper (35)
Equipment (5) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (10)
Exterior Lighting (29)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 71
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/8/2017 - MOUNT PROSPECT, IL
BOTH FUEL GAUGE SENDING UNITS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AT 91,000 MILES. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND IMPROPER/INACCURATE FUEL GAUGE READINGS PROMPTED THE REPAIR WHICH COST OVER $400 AT MY LOCAL MECHANIC. PER THE MECHANIC AND INTERNET RESEARCH, THIS ISSUE SEEMS TO BE PREVALENT WITH PRE-2010 SANTA FE MODELS AS HE RECENTLY REPLACED ANOTHER SET OF FUEL GAUGE SENDING UNITS IN A SANTA FE. CLEARLY NOT NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/8/2017 - MOUNT PROSPECT, IL
BOTH FUEL GAUGE SENDING UNITS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AT 91,000 MILES. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND IMPROPER/INACCURATE FUEL GAUGE READINGS PROMPTED THE REPAIR WHICH COST OVER $400 AT MY LOCAL MECHANIC. PER THE MECHANIC AND INTERNET RESEARCH, THIS ISSUE SEEMS TO BE PREVALENT WITH PRE-2010 SANTA FE MODELS AS HE RECENTLY REPLACED ANOTHER SET OF FUEL GAUGE SENDING UNITS IN A SANTA FE. CLEARLY NOT NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/4/2017 - MISSION VIEJO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. AFTER DRIVING A SHORT DISTANCE, THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL WARNING INDICATOR ALSO ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING, WHICH PRODUCED FAILURE CODES FOR THE FUEL SENDERS AND BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V113000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC, EXTERIOR LIGHTING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/4/2017 - MISSION VIEJO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. AFTER DRIVING A SHORT DISTANCE, THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL WARNING INDICATOR ALSO ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING, WHICH PRODUCED FAILURE CODES FOR THE FUEL SENDERS AND BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V113000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC, EXTERIOR LIGHTING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/4/2017 - MISSION VIEJO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. AFTER DRIVING A SHORT DISTANCE, THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL WARNING INDICATOR ALSO ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING, WHICH PRODUCED FAILURE CODES FOR THE FUEL SENDERS AND BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V113000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC, EXTERIOR LIGHTING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/3/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V472000 (AIR BAGS), BUT THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED AFTER THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/2/2017 - MEMPHIS, TN
WHEN STARTING OUR 2007 HYUNDAI SANTA FE YESTERDAY, THE "ESC OFF" LIGHT APPEARED ON THE DASH. I TRIED TO PRESS THE BUTTON TO SEE IF IT WOULD ENGAGE, BUT IT HAD NO REACTION. I SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF AND WAITED A WHILE AND RESTARTED AND THE LIGHT WAS GONE. HOWEVER 10 MINUTES LATER WHILE DRIVING 73 MPH ON THE HWY, THE "ESC OFF" LIGHT CAME BACK ON AND SUDDENLY THE FRONT END FELT LIKE IT WAS PULLING AND BEGAN TO MAKE SORT OF A WHISTLING SOUND LIKE THE BRAKES WERE RUBBING ON SOMETHING. IT ALSO FELT LIKE THE REAR END WAS FISH TAILING. WE STOPPED AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE AND THE LIGHT WENT OFF AGAIN. WE STARTED BACK ON THE HWY AND AGAIN SHORTLY INTO THE DRIVE, SAME ISSUE. WE DROPPED THE SPEED DOWN TO 60 / 65 AND GOT OFF THE INTERSTATE AND TOOK SIDE ROADS HOME. I LOOKED UP SOME OF THE INFORMATION AND SAW OTHERS HAVING THE SAME ISSUE AND A RECALL FOR A STOP LAMP SWITCH, BUT WHEN CALLING HYUNDAI AMERICA THEY SAID THAT MY VEHICLE IS NOT PART OF THAT RECALL, SO AT THIS POINT WHAT'S CREATING THE PROBLEM IS UNKNOWN. I FELT THIS NEEDED TO BE REPORTED BECAUSE THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN, NOT ONLY THE PULLING OF THE VEHICLE THAT CAUSED US TO DECELERATE, BUT THE INSTABILITY OF THE REAR END COULD HAVE EASILY CREATED A MAJOR WRECK IMPACTING ME, MY FAMILY AND THOSE AROUND US.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/26/2017 - ASHEBORO, NC
TURN SIGNAL COLUMN, TURN SIGNAL RAPID CLICKING, TURN SIGNAL DOESN'T TURN OFF, SMOKE FROM STEERING COLUMN.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/25/2017 - OAK LAWN, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DEALER SERVICED THE VEHICLE BY PROVIDING COATING ON THE FRONT AND REAR AXLES OF THE FRAME. HOWEVER, THE MAIN PORTION OF THE FRAME (FROM FRONT TO BACK) HAD EXTENSIVE RUST, CORROSION, AND HOLES. THE MECHANIC NOTIFIED THE TECHNICIANS AT THE DEALER, BUT THEY FAILED TO NOTIFY THE CONTACT AND PROVIDE FURTHER COATING TO THE FRAME. THE MANUFACTURER INDICATED THAT THE RUST AND CORROSION WERE TOO EXTENSIVE TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THEY MAY PROVIDE A BUY BACK OR A TRADE IN OPTION. THE CONTACT HAD NOT YET RECEIVED A RESPONSE FROM THE MANUFACTURER REGARDING A SOLUTION. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/13/2017 - BAY POINT, CA
WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH ON A TWO LANE HWY MAKING MY WAY TO THE MAIN HWY THE CAR LOST ALL POWER, WAS UNABLE TO ACCELERATE. I PUT CAR IN NEUTRAL WHILE TRYING TO STEER THE CAR OFF THE ROAD. THE POWER STEERING WAS ALSO OUT, VERY HARD TO STEER. AFTER PULLING OVER I PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND TRIED STARTING THE ENGINE. IT STARTED UP, I DROVE HOME IN THE SLOW LANE SO IF IT HAPPENED AGAIN I WOULD BE CLOSE TO THE SHOULDER. THIS WAS VERY SCARY, NOW I'M AFRAID TO GO ANYWHERE. AFTER SEARCHING GOOGLE TO SEE IF I COULD FIND SOMETHING THAT MAY HAVE CAUSE THIS, I READ ABOUT A RECALL THAT MAYBE THE PROBLEM. I BELIEVE MY CAR HAS ALREADY HAD THE RECALL REPAIRED BUT FEEL IT MAYBE DEFECTIVE AGAIN.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 71
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds