Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2009 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 282 complaints filed for the 2009 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (3) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (17) Tires (11)
Electrical System (36) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Exterior Lighting (12) Power Train (30) Steering (27) Vehicle Speed Control (49)
Engine (31) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Seat Belts (4) Structure (31) Visibility (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seats (8) Suspension (4) Wheels (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

7/19/2019 - BELTON, MO
RECENTLY, WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, BOTH THE ABS LIGHT AND BRAKE LIGHT CAME ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL OF MY TRUCK. THE MESSAGE CENTER DISPLAYED A READING OF CHECK BRAKE SYSTEM. THE BRAKES BEGAN TO HAVE A PULSATION TO THEM AND THE TRUCK JUST DID NOT WANT TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP. I TOOK MY TRUCK TO A MECHANICAL SHOP WHERE THEY CHARGED ME TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM CAUSING THESE SYMPTOMS. THEIR FINDINGS WITH THE DIAGNOSTIC CHECKS REVEALED A FAILED ABS MODULE. NO REPAIRS HAVE BEEN MADE. THE TRUCK HAS BEEN PARKED IN OUR DRIVEWAY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/28/2019 - ATHOL, MA
ACCELERATOR PEDAL SENSOR STICKS UNDER ACCELERATION. VERY DANGEROUS. IT'S HAPPEN 5 TIMES TO ME. 21,196 MILES ON THE TRUCK. I HOPE THIS TRUCK DOESN'T KILL NO ONE SOME DAY. I HAVE COPYED THIS PAGE FOR MY RECORDS AND SENDING COPIES TO THE PEOPLES LAWMAKERS STATE AND FED. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/19/2019 - KINGSVILLE, MO
ABS MODULE DEFECTIVE IN THE TRUCK, POWER STEERING GOING OUT. RPM MODOLE NOT WORKING.

View Details

STEERING

6/19/2019 - KINGSVILLE, MO
ABS MODULE DEFECTIVE IN THE TRUCK, POWER STEERING GOING OUT. RPM MODOLE NOT WORKING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/19/2019 - KINGSVILLE, MO
ABS MODULE DEFECTIVE IN THE TRUCK, POWER STEERING GOING OUT. RPM MODOLE NOT WORKING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/3/2019 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
THE REAR DRIVE SHAFT BETWEEN TRANSFER CASE AND REAR DIFFERENTIAL IS HELD BY A DRIVE SHAFT BRACKET/BEARING WHERE THE TOP OF IT IS WELDED TO THE FRAME CROSS MEMBER. DURING STOP AND GO TRAFFIC THE POORLY WELDED BRACKET CAME LOOSE. AS YOU CAN SEE FROM THE PICTURE THE WELD WAS POORLY DONE AND HAD NO PENETRATION INTO THE METAL. THE METAL WAS NOT TORN AT ALL AND BROKE COMPLETELY CLEAN OFF WHICH DICTATE A VERY POOR JOB ON THE WELD ITSELF. TO MAKE MATTERS WORSE THIS PART IS BASICALLY A DUAL SHARP BLADES AT THE WELD BREAK, CONNECTED TO THE DRIVE SHAFT AT FAST RPMS WOULD TAKE LITTLE TO NO TIME TO PUNCTURE AND IGNITE THE NEAR BY FUEL TANK. AS I WAS TRAVELING AT SLOW SPEEDS I WAS ABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE RIGHT AWAY. IF THIS BREAK OCCURRED AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS I FEEL THAT IT WOULD HAVE EASILY PUNCTURED THE FUEL TANK AND IGNITED THE FUEL CAUSING CATASTROPHIC FIRE AND PROBABLE EXPLOSION THAT COULD CAUSE INJURY OR DEATH.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/17/2019 - LATHROP, CA
DRIVING ON A CITY STREET WHEN THE ENGINE SUDDENLY SHUT DOWN AND QUIT RUNNING. I WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED BY A SEMI TRUCK AND ONLY AVOIDED A MAJOR ACCIDENT BECAUSE I HAD ROOM TO GO TO THE RIGHT AND THE SEMI HAD ROOM TO SWERVE AROUND ME ON THE LEFT. WHEN I HAD IT TOWED TO THE FORD DEALER THEY INFORMED ME THAT IT WAS A MELTED FUSE BUT THAT THEY WERE ALREADY AWARE OF THE PROBLEM AND HAD A "FIX" KIT IN STOCK AND THE REPAIR PROCESS ALREADY DOCUMENTED TO REROUTE THAT FUSE. THIS MEANS THAT FORD IS AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM AND I PRESUME WAS JUST WAITING FOR SOMEONE TO DIE BEFORE ISSUING A RECALL.I HAVE THE REPAIR ORDER AVAILABLE IF NEEDED. WHEN I CONTACTED FORD DIRECTLY THEY INFORMED ME THERE WAS NO RECALL AND THEREFORE I WAS RESPONSIBLE FOR THE ENTIRE $650.00 COST AND DID NOT SEEM TO CARE ABOUT THE POSSIBILITY OF A MAJOR ACCIDENT WHEN THE ENGINE SUDDENLY STOPS RUNNING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/6/2019 - GLENNVILLE, GA
THE TRUCK IS SHUTTING OFF WHILE DRIVING AND AT ALL SPEEDS. MY HUSBAND HAS TO PULL AND RESET FUSE 27 TO ALLOW THE FUEL PUMP TO RECIEVE POWER. THIS HAS PUT MY HUSBAND IN DANGEROUS SITUATIONS AS IT HAS HAPPENED IN HEAVY TRAFFIC ON TWO LANE HIGHWAYS. WE ARE REQUESTING A SERVICE VOUCHER BE SENT TO OUR LOCAL DEALER TO FIX THE PROBLEM WE UNDERSTAND HAS ALREADY HAD A BULLETIN SENT OUT FOR. IT IS A FORD ISSUE AND WE WOULD APPRECIATE THIS BEING REMEDIED. WE WERE QUOTED A PRICE OF AROUND $300 TO CHANGE OUT THE RELAY THAT IS CAUSING THE ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/1/2019 - GLENNVILLE, GA
THE TRUCK IS SHUTTING OFF AT ANY POINT IN TIME AND PUTTING MY HUSBAND AND OTHERS IN DANGER AS IT HAS HAPPENEND WHILE GOING DOWN BUSY ROADS AND THE HWY. HE HAS TO GET OUT AND REINSERT THE FUSE.IT HAS ALSO FAILED TO START UNTIL THE FUSE IS REINSERTED. IT HAS BLOWN FUSES. THIS IS UNDER RECALL IN OTHER VEHICLES FUSE 27. FUSE 8 WAS ALSO CAUSING PROBLEMS AND IT HAS BEEN REPLACED. WE HAVE SINCE LEARNED OF THE SERVICE BULLETIN. IT IS A PROBLEM WE FEEL SHOULD BE COVERED BY FORD WHICH HAS BEEN QUOTED AS BETWEEN 250$ AND 300$. WE ARE REQUESTING A VOUCHER FOR REPAIR BE SENT TO OUR LOCAL DEALER FOR THE REPAIR. THANK YOU FOR YOUR ATTENTION TO THIS MATTER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/21/2018 - DEFIANCE, OH
GAS GAUGE SUDDENLY DOESN'T REGISTER CORRECTLY. ONLY SHOWS APPROXIMATE THREE QUARTERS TANK WHEN TANK IS FULLY FILLED. WHEN REGISTERING ONE QUARTER TANK ONLY TAKES $15- TO $16 TO REFUEL. REPAIR SHOPS HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO DETERMINE CAUSE. WHAT CAN BE THE CAUSE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds