Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY - 2005 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 835 complaints filed for the 2005 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (156) Equipment (13) Latches Locks Linkages (60) Service Brakes Electric (2) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (63) Unknown Or Other (5)
Communications (3) Exterior Lighting (117) Parking Brake (2) Steering (125) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electrical System (161) Fuel Propulsion System (45) Power Train (36) Structure (39) Visibility (28)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel System Gasoline (44) Seat Belts (16) Suspension (25) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (38) Fuel System Other (5) Seats (4) Tires (26) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (50) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/11/2019 - ROCHESTER, MN
DURING A HEAVY TRAFFIC ON HWY THE ENGINE DIED CASING ME TO STOP IN THE MIDDLE NOT BEING ABLE TO MERGE RIGHT OR LEFT. AFTER SEVERAL MONTHS OF INVESTIGATION, I FOUND OUT THAT THE ELECTRICAL HARNESS THAT POWERS THE INJECTORS WAS NOT WELL INSULATED CAUSING THE WIRES TO MELT. THE ECU DIDN'T RECORD ANY CODES WHICH LED ME TO START THE REPAIR BY ELIMINATION. THE ECU WAS REPLACED AND PROGRAMMED BECAUSE NO CODES WERE REGISTERED. THE COIL PACK WAS REPLACED BECAUSE OF THE RANDOM FIRING LOSS. THE FUEL PUMP WAS REPLACED BECAUSE THE NEW SPARK PLUGS WERE COMPLETELY DRY, AND FINALLY AFTER REPLACING ALL SENSORS, THE HARNESS WAS CHECKED FOR CORROSION THAT WHERE I FOUND THIS SECTION OF THE HARNESS MELTED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/30/2019 - ST PETERSBURG, FL
UPON BLACKING OUT WHILE BEHIND THE WHEEL OF THE 2005 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY TRAVELLING 40 MPH THE VEHICLE COLLIDED WITH 2(TWO) PARKED VEHICLES ON THE SIDE OF THE STREET. WHEN I CAME TO, I DISCOVERED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED I WAS UNABLE TO REMOVE MYSELF FROM THE VEHICLE DUE TO BEING PINNED BETWEEN THE DASH AND THE SEAT WHICH HAD SLID FORWARD WITH THE VEHICLE IMPACT, NO AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. I SUSTAINED MINOR INJURIES, WITH INJURIES TO THE FACE FROM HITTING THE STEERING WHEEL THAT REQUIRED SUTURES TO CLOSE IN ORDER TO HEAL CORRECTLY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/11/2019 - SAN BERNARDINO, CA
SIMILAR TO RECALL CAMPAIGN ID 14V343000: MY VEHICLE WHILE IN MOTION HAS EXPERIENCE ENGINE SHUTOFF. THIS SUBSEQUENTLY DISABLES POWER STEERING, BRAKES, AND AIRBAGS. TWICE, IN AS MANY WEEKS, THIS HAS OCCURRED ON CITY STREETS.

View Details

STEERING

4/11/2019 - SAN BERNARDINO, CA
SIMILAR TO RECALL CAMPAIGN ID 14V343000: MY VEHICLE WHILE IN MOTION HAS EXPERIENCE ENGINE SHUTOFF. THIS SUBSEQUENTLY DISABLES POWER STEERING, BRAKES, AND AIRBAGS. TWICE, IN AS MANY WEEKS, THIS HAS OCCURRED ON CITY STREETS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/11/2019 - SAN BERNARDINO, CA
SIMILAR TO RECALL CAMPAIGN ID 14V343000: MY VEHICLE WHILE IN MOTION HAS EXPERIENCE ENGINE SHUTOFF. THIS SUBSEQUENTLY DISABLES POWER STEERING, BRAKES, AND AIRBAGS. TWICE, IN AS MANY WEEKS, THIS HAS OCCURRED ON CITY STREETS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/1/2019 - EL CAJON, CA
VEHICLE WAS IN A SEVERE FRONTAL ACCIDENT AND THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/31/2018 - SPRINGFIELD, IL
HELLO, I CURRENTLY HAVE A MECHANICAL ISSUE WITH MY 2005 CHRYSLER TOWN & COUNTRY. IF I FILL THE GAS TANK UP COMPLETELY, THE ENGINE WILL STALL. THIS POSES A SAFETY RISK, AS A SUDDEN STOP ON THE HIGHWAY OR CITY ROADS CAN TURN ME INTO AN OBSTACLE AND ACCIDENT RISK. CHRYSLER REFUSES TO REPAIR MY VEHICLE. UPON FURTHER INVESTIGATION, THERE IS A CHRYSLER SERVICE BULLETIN FOR THE EXACT ISSUE THAT I'M HAVING. YOU CAN VIEW IT AT THE FOLLOWING LINK: HTTPS://STATIC.NHTSA.GOV/ODI/TSBS/2016/SB-10074652-2280.PDF IN THE DOCUMENT ABOVE, IT STATES THAT IT COVERS MDH 0901XX VEHICLES BUILT ON OR AFTER 09/01/2003, OR MDH 0331XX VEHICLES BUILT ON OR BEFORE MARCH 31, 2004. MY VEHICLE IS AN MDH 0901XX, AND IT IS BUILT AFTER 09/01/2003. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER, AND THE TECHNICIAN DIDN'T UNDERSTAND WHAT THIS MEANT. THE MDH FORMAT IS MMDDHH WHERE MM IS THE MONTH, DD IS THE DAY, AND HH IS THE HOUR. EXAMPLE: MDH 100819 DECODES AS: 10 = TENTH MONTH (OCTOBER) 08 = EIGHTH DAY 19 = NINETEENTH HOUR (7 PM) MY VEHICLE'S MDH IS 0901XX. IT WAS BUILT IN 09/2004. AND OF COURSE, IT'S HAVING THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM THAT THIS NHTSA-ISSUED SERVICE BULLETIN ADDRESSES. BUT THE DEALER TECHNICIAN STILL REFUSED TO SERVICE MY VEHICLE. VEHICLE IS ELIGIBLE TO BE REPAIRED UNDER THIS WARRANTY EXTENSION (15-YEAR/UNLIMITED MILES, ACCORDING TO THE DOCUMENT ABOVE). I CAN PROVIDE YOU WITH THE DOOR STICKER AND ANY OTHER INFORMATION YOU NEED TO VERIFY THIS. CAN YOU PLEASE HELP ME SCHEDULE MY REPAIR AT LANDMARK CHRYSLER IN SPRINGFIELD, IL? FEEL FREE TO EMAIL ME OR CALL ME AT ANY TIME REGARDING THIS MATTER. IF I AM UNABLE TO ANSWER THE PHONE, PLEASE LEAVE A VOICEMAIL AND I WILL RETURN YOUR CALL PROMPTLY. THANKS, RASHMIN

View Details

STEERING

12/26/2018 - MONROE, MI
LOST MY POWER STEERING AT 70MPH ON I75, TRAVELING FROM OHIO TO MICHIGAN, CHRISTMAS, WITH MY FAMILY IN THE CAR. THE WHEEL ON THE RT HAD SOME WOBBLE IN IT, BUT I WAS ABLE TO GET THE VEHICLE STOPPED WITH VERY LITTLE STEERING LEFT. STEERING FLUID ALL OVER UNDER THE VEHICLE. I LOOKED IT UP ON LINE, AND FOUND THAT THIS IS A NOTORIOUS PROBLEM WITH THE 2005 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY, WITH A $1300+ REPAIR BILL. HAVE THERE BEEN CRASHES BECAUSE OF THIS? IS THERE A RECALL ON THIS? WHY NOT? WE WERE VERY LUCKY THIS TIME.....

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/17/2018 - FAIRFIELD, OH
AFTER REFUELING THE VAN STALLS AT LEAST ONCE BUT MAY STALL UP TO THREE TIMES. THE ENGINE SURGES IN RPM BEFORE STALLING. RESTART AFTER A STALL CAN SOMETIMES BE DIFFICULT. I HAVE LET THE VAN IDLE FOR SEVERAL MINUTES AFTER REFUELING BUT IT DOES NOT STALL WHILE STATIONARY. IT USUALLY OCCURS WITHIN A MINUTE OF OPERATION ON THE STREET AND GENERALLY WHILE PULLING OUT OF THE GAS STATION LOT ONTO THE ROADWAY. ONCE THE CAR HAS BEEN DRIVEN FOR A FEW MILES THERE ARE NO OTHER OCCURRENCES OF STALLING UNTIL IT IS REFUELED AGAIN. THE ISSUE USED TO BE INFREQUENT A FEW YEARS AGO BUT IS NO OCCURRING AFTER EVERY REFUELING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/1/2018 - RANCHO CORDOVA, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY AND MY VAN DIED.I WAS LUCKY THERE WASN'T ANYONE HURT.IT DIES WHEN I MAKE A RIGHT TURN.I CAN'T AFFORD TO TAKE IT TO A SHOP.IM DISABLED AND I NEED MY VAN. FOR DRS APPOITMETS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds