Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1580 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment Adaptive (3) Seat Belts (6) Steering (339) Unknown Or Other (69)
Back Over Prevention (1) Exterior Lighting (17) Seats (8) Structure (24) Vehicle Speed Control (141)
Electrical System (160) Fuel Propulsion System (63) Service Brakes (136) Suspension (9) Visibility (56)
Electronic Stability Control (33) Fuel System Gasoline (42) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (75)
Engine (408) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Power Train (478)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 157
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

6/20/2019 - PIPERSVILLE, PA
THIS VEHICLE WAS SUBJECT TO A SAFETY RECALL (19S07/19V-075) FOR INTERMITTENT FAILURE OF THE OUTPUT SPEED SENSOR (OSS) CAUSING UNINTENDED DOWNSHIFT TO FIRST GEAR. I HAD THE DEALER REPROGRAM THE POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE AS PER THE RECALL. THIS DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. I HAVE SEEN THAT A NEW RECALL WAS ISSUED (19S19) FOR SIMILAR FORD TRUCKS BECAUSE THE ORIGINAL RECALL DID NOT COMPLETELY RESOLVE THE PROBLEM. UNFORTUNATELY, THIS NEW RECALL DOES NOT APPLY TO MY TRUCK. MY TRUCK STILL SOMETIMES UNEXPECTEDLY DOWNSHIFTS TO FIRST GEAR EVEN AFTER THE INITIAL RECALL REPAIR WORK WAS COMPLETED. I AM CONCERNED THAT THIS WILL CAUSE ME TO LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. PLEASE INVESTIGATE WHETHER THE INITIAL RECALL (19S07/19V-075) COMPLETELY RESOLVED THE PROBLEM (IT DID NOT IN MY CASE) OR WHETHER ADDITIONAL RECALL WORK IS NEEDED AS WITH 19S19.

View Details

STEERING

6/18/2019 - HOLT, MO
STEERING BINDS WHEN TURNING, BOTH WHEN GOING INTO A TURN AND RETURNING TO CENTER (STRAIGHT). MOST NOTICEABLE ON CITY STREETS. I MUST USE EXTRA ARM STRENGTH IN BOTH MANEUVERS. PROBLEM FIRST NOTICED ABOUT 2 YEARS AGO. HAS GOTTEN PROGRESSIVELY WORSE SINCE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/14/2019 - GOODYEAR, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTED IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC, DECELERATED AND LOST POWER. WHEN THE CONTACT APPLIED MORE PRESSURE TO THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, THE ENGINE SHUDDERED AND THE VEHICLE HESITATED VIOLENTLY. ALSO, THE CHECK ENGINE AND MULTIPLE UNKNOWN WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. AFTERWARDS, THE VEHICLE RETURNED TO NORMAL; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED THE NEXT TIME THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO RODEO FORD (13680 W TEST DR, GOODYEAR, AZ 85338) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE COMPUTER NEEDED TO BE REPROGRAMMED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALER AND WAS INFORMED TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE TWO HUNDRED MILES. THE CONTACT COMPLIED AND THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AGAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER A THIRD TIME WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT A TUNE UP WAS NEEDED. THE CONTACT PERFORMED THE TUNE UP HIMSELF AND THE VEHICLE FAILED AGAIN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 171,600.

View Details

STEERING

6/11/2019 - ANCHORAGE, AK
WHILE DRIVING THE TRUCK ON THE CITY ROAD I MADE A U- TURN AND THE STEERING SKIPPED. I DROVE IT THE NEXT DAY ON THE CITY ROAD AND THE STEERING GOT WORSE AND THE TURN BLINKERS FAILED TO COME ON. THEN 2 DAYS LATER, WHILE PARKED, I ATTEMPTED TO BACK OUT OF THE DRIVE WAY AND THE STEERING IS COMPLETELY GONE AND SQUEALS INSISTENTLY. THE TRUCK IS EQUIPPED WITH A EPAS (ELECTRONIC POWER ASSIST STEERING) SYSTEM WHICH HAS FAILED. IN DOING RESEARCH ON LINE, THERE IS A CONSISTENT PROBLEM WITH THE EPAS SYSTEM AND I AM SURE I'M NOT THE ONLY COMPLAINT. IF THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE, THEN IT SHOULD BE ADDRESSED AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. MY TRUCK IS NOW SITTING IN MY DRIVEWAY UNDRIVABLE.

View Details

STEERING

6/3/2019 - BEND, OR
JUST AFTER ENTERING A HIGHWAY, I NOTICED I HAD NO POWER STEERING AT ALL (WITH DASH DISPLAYING "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT"....HAD THIS HAPPENED JUST MINUTES EARLIER, I COULD HAVE GONE OFF A CLIFF. I PULLED OVER AND SHUT IT OFF. I RESTARTED TRUCK AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE IT HOME AT A VERY SLOW SPEED IN CASE I LOST P/S AGAIN. WHAT THE HECK FORD!!

View Details

STEERING

5/29/2019 - FLORIEN, LA
WHILE BACKING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER STEERING AND WARNING CAME UP ON THE VIEW SCREEN SAYING TORQUE ANGLE SENSOR FAULT. AFTER PULLING VEHICLE BACK INTO THE DRIVEWAY AND TURNING OFF THE KEY THE SYSTEM OPERATED NORMALLY, EXCEPT THERE WAS A LOT OF SLACK IN THE STEERING AND SOME PULSING WHEN STEERING AT SLOW SPEED. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO FIRESTONE TO HAVE IT CHECKED AND WAS TOLD I WOULD HAVE TO HAVE IT CHECKED AT THE DEALERSHIP. ON THE WAY THERE, IT LOST POWER STEERING AGAIN WHILE TURNING ONTO A BACK STREET. I SHUT OFF THE VEHICLE AND RESTARTED IT. THIS ALLOWED ME TO DRIVE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP. THEY PUT IT IN THE SHOP AND I WAS TOLD THAT I WOULD HAVE TO HAVE THE ENTIRE POWER STEERING UNIT REPLACED. THE SERVICE ADVISOR TOLD ME WHEN I PICKED THE VEHICLE UP THAT IT HAD MALFUNCTIONED ON HIM WHILE TAKING IT INTO THE SHOP.THE PART WAS AROUND $1,600. WITH LABOR, ALIGNMENT AND TAXES, IT COST OVER $2,400 TO GET THE VEHICLE BACK. I HEARD THAT THE 2014 MODEL VEHICLES HAD A RECALL FOR THE SAME ISSUE, BUT MINE WAS NOT COVERED BECAUSE IT WAS A 2011 MODEL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/29/2019 - GENKINS, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTED AND FAILED TO SHIFT. IN ADDITION, THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS LATER TAKEN TO BRUCE WALTERS FORD LINCOLN KIA (LOCATED AT 302 S MAYO TRAIL, PIKEVILLE, KY 4150, (606) 444-2200) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE OUTPUT SHAFT SPEED SENSOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT PRESENTED THE DEALER WITH A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 19V075000 (POWER TRAIN). THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED BY THE DEALER THAT IT WAS NOT A RECALL, BUT A WARRANTY AND THERE WOULD BE A CHARGE FOR THE REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO THE REPAIR FEES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

STEERING

5/28/2019 - KELLER, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT EXTRA STRENGTH WAS REQUIRED TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL. IN ADDITION, THE STEERING SEIZED A FEW TIMES, WHICH CAUSED THE CONTACT TO PULL OVER. ONCE THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED, IT OPERATED NORMALLY; HOWEVER, "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAILURE" APPEARED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT SCHEDULED A DIAGNOSTIC APPOINTMENT FOR MAY 29, 2019 WITH FIVE STAR FORD RICHLAND HILLS (6618 NE LOOP 820, NORTH RICHLAND HILLS, TX 76180, (817) 500-0096). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,150. THE VIN WAS INVALID.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/26/2019 - JOLIET, IL
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, TRUCK DOWNSHIFTED WHILE GOING APPROXIMATELY 70MPH. I WAS ABLE TO PUT THE TRUCK IN NEUTRAL SO IT DID NOT DO DAMAGE TO THE ENGINE AND SO I DID NOT LOSE CONTROL. A WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON THE DASH, DISPLAYED TRANSMISSION PROBLEM. THEN WRENCH WENT AWAY. PULLED OVER ON THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY, WHILE IN PARK, RPM'S WERE SITTING ABOVE 1500. TURNED THE TRUCK OFF FOR A FEW MINUTES, ATTEMPTED TO CAUTIOUSLY DRIVE AGAIN, RAN FINE FOR A FEW MINUTES AND DID THE SAME THING AGAIN. WAS ABLE TO GET THE TRUCK TO A FORD DEALERSHIP, THEY STATED IT WAS DUE TO MOLDED LEAD FRAME.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/22/2019 - BELLAIRE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHIFTED INTO FIRST GEAR ON ITS OWN. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND POWERED OFF THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE NORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BILL MARSH FORD (LOCATED AT 408 W MILE RD, KALKASKA, MI 49646, (231) 258-9192) WHERE THE TRANSMISSION WAS UPGRADED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, THE ENGINE PERFORMED AS IF IT WERE MISFIRING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE AND TIMING CHAIN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. AFTER LEAVING THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND WHILE AT A STOP SIGN, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS LATER TAKEN TO ANOTHER INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE REPLACED THE TIMING CHAIN ON HIS OWN, BUT NOT THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS LATER TAKEN TO BILL MARSH FORD GAYLORD (LOCATED AT 1928 OTSEGO AVE, GAYLORD, MI 49735, (989) 732-6737) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE VALVE ON THE LEFT BANK FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO THE REPAIR FEES AND STILL REMAINED AT THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE CONTACT WAS REFERRED TO NHTSA. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 157
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds